Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Kensington Protective Sheet

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12294
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Please Note- Select Colors Only On Sale

Why We Love This


The Kensington Protective Sheet provides maximum protection from biting insects, cuts, and rubs.  This sheet provides protection for up to 78% of UV rays.

Favorite Features

  • 1000 x 2000 denier 
  • Withstands fading, fire, mildew, soiling and wear and tear, even in the most severe weather condition
  • Lined shoulders keep the sensitive horse's shoulders free from rubs
  • Includes elastic leg straps
  • 2 adjustable belly surcingles

Made in the U.S.A.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Kensington Protective Sheet- Select Colors Only On Sale! is rated 4.6263 out of 5 by 198.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy! This fly sheet runs small compared to WB. My 15.3H QH normally wears a 72 but I had to purchase an 80. Which is nbd, but it would have been nice to know that they aren't equivalent in size to WB. I had to return 2x..Otherwise, I'm very pleased! It's a beautiful sheet and very durable to withstand playful pasture mates.
    Date published: 2014-05-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Returning Bought this sheet years ago and only used it a couple times because it is so stiff and hot in comparison to the Beval fly sheets. They have a bit of stretch, belly bands, and neck covers included and they're a lighter color. This sheet would be more suitable for a horse that destroys fly sheets easily but even then it's still hot and you have to buy a neck cover to avoid bleaching. Not one of my favorite products but thanks to the happiness guarantee I can buy with confidence.
    Date published: 2014-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the one I bought this to replace the WB fly sheets I tried, which ran very large and fit oddly. This sheet is much better, fits well, no rubs, and looks great. I did try the neck cover, but ended up returning it. No problem with it, just decided my horses didn't really need it.
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT FLY SHEET! I have used this now for about a year and it has held up great! Very durable, it has no holes or any tears! My horse doesn't mind it at all....I have a big quarter horse and so I had to buy the biggest size and it fit him great!
    Date published: 2014-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was lucky enough to catch this fly sheet on sale. The fit is really nice, my horse is normally an 81 (I think I had to get an 82 in this) and it's not big on him at all. It is a nice thick sheet so I feel that it would be durable. I have not tried to turn out in it yet because I am not sure if his pasture mates are blanket taggers or not. Otherwise I am very pleased with the quality of this blanket and plan on purchasing the matching fly mask.
    Date published: 2013-10-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love how durable, but lightweight and breathable these sheet are. I also love the assortment of colors! I have seen other "cuts" for Kensington sheets on other websites, and I wish Smartpak had them because this one is really big on my horse's shoulders. The only reason I gave it a 4stars instead of 5 is that in order to get the correct length for narrow TB, I had to get one that hangs really low on her shoulders and it rubs. Runs larger= runs wide. I will purchase another one of these sheets when hers gets torn up, but I will have to get one with a more "European" cut. I also would like one with a tail flap.
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I own this sheet and one from Schneider's. I like this one because it weighs less and come in a variety of colors. However, I wish it had a tail flap and adjustable shoulder straps. This sheet is cut a bit too wide for my narrow Thoroughbred and hangs a bit lower on her shoulders than I would like. The length is good, but the surcingle still hangs several inches below her belly, even on the tightest adjustment.
    Date published: 2013-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good! My horse has been wearing this fly sheet in turnout for about 6 weeks now. Cheaper ($40) fly sheets have not lasted nearly as long. Mesh fabric is durable and rugged; buckles and straps are of good quality. Nylon lined shoulders keep my mare's soft summer coat from rubbing off. Sizing seems just right. The sheet is contoured for a good fit and she seems comfortable wearing it all the time. Can't comment on UV protection because my mare's black coat was already beginning to lighten in the sun when I purchased this product. It hasn't faded any more, that's all I can say. So far, I am pleased with this fly sheet. It seems that you get what you pay for in fly sheets.
    Date published: 2013-07-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fly sheet These are really nice fly sheets, fit horses well. Only issue is if you have trees and horse rubs on trees it does cause some shredding and /or holes in fly sheet.
    Date published: 2013-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My "go to" fly sheet During our summer months, my horses are out in their field 8 hours per day wearing this sheet. My recent purchase is to replace one that is starting to wear out after 3 seasons on a rambunctious horse. This sheet stays in place, dries fast if we get a quick rain shower, does not rub and keeps their coats just beautiful.
    Date published: 2013-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the money! I love these fly sheets! My two boys are hard on their clothes but the Kensington sheet is surviving, and doing so in a stylish way.
    Date published: 2013-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredibly durable I am extremely impressed with this fly sheets durability. My boy has been wearing this for just under a month and it doesn't even have a snag on it. The last fly sheet I had was the soft fabric type and it didn't last very long. It was torn to pieces within 2 months. The purple is pretty attractive but I'm very disappointed that it doesn't have a matching neck cover. The biggest downside is the cut. It is definitely styled for a stock type horse. It doesn't fit my TB well. It gives him rubs high on the shoulders, but the durability makes up for it.
    Date published: 2013-07-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from fly sheets I am having continuous problems with my horses breaking the hardware on the Kensington products. I think that I'm going back to the BigD ones which have lasted for years. The fit is really good on these though for my Thoroughbred/App and Rocky Mountains. I also like the color choices so I can recognize which sheet belongs on each horse.
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best fly sheet I absolutely love this fly sheet! I've been using it for almost two years on my OTTB gelding. He is on pasture board, and plays with the other horses often. There are no tears in this sheet! After year 1, I do have a couple areas where you can tell another horse has pulled on it and the "threads" are slightly separated....but it is absolutely bomb-proof. Still wearable, and you'd have to strain to see any damage.
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you like Baker fly sheets, you'll like this I'm a big fan of Baker fly sheets because they fit my Saddlebreds well, wear like iron and do not have those annoying tail flaps. I tried this one because, hello, it's purple and it has dees for attaching a neck cover, which is my biggest complaint about Baker. The Kensington fits very similarly to the Baker, but the hardware is even a little nicer. My 15.1 ASB measured a 78 to center tail, but wears a 74 in Baker, so I split the difference and ordered a 76. The 76 fits him nicely, but the 78 would have been fine too as the 76 is a tad short. He's been wearing it for several weeks now with no rubs and very little wear. I'd buy it again.
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from if you must have a fly sheet this is it We have never had much luck with fly sheets, most of them never survive the week in our very active turnout. Our new mare is so bothered by flies, we had to try something. We are now at three weeks, she wears it every day, and it looks like it will go the distance. The sheet is heavier than most, but the quality is excellent and our mare is so much happier.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow. Just wow. I needed a fly sheet for my horse since all the horses in pasture were beating him up, and he was practically bald. (Which isn't good for shows)He is also the type of horse who loses fly masks in a day. The fly sheet still looks brand new, and I am very happy with it.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this sheet I have a 1600lb draft horse that is difficult to fit because he is smaller than most drafts, yet broader than "large horse" breeds. He also is out on pasture 24/7. I have used this brand for years and even with him wearing it 24/7 during spring/summer the most wear marks it has are near the flanks. It rarely gets rips and if it does they don't "run". Protects against biting bugs in the humid summers. The shoulders never get rub marks and the sheet's UV protection keeps him from bleaching out. The mesh texture allows air through it. When it gets dirty I put it in the washer and it comes out great. Highly recommended for durability and horse's comfort. Definitely worth the price.
    Date published: 2013-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I absolutely love this fly sheet! I bought the Smart blue on sale for my black gelding, and he looks so wonderful! It does not rub him at all, and is not too thick but durable. It has a large opening for the neck so he doesn't get pinched when he grazes. I could not be more happy with it. Smartpak resolved my problem with my old sheet and accepted it back because it fit my gelding very poorly- I could not ask for a better company or sheet!
    Date published: 2013-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavy duty & worth the money This is the third Kensington sheet I've purchased. I still have the original two that are in great shape, I just needed something a little smaller for another horse. They fit the Morgan's great, do a good job with sun protection and are heavy duty! I would'n't waste my time on any other cheaper brand as my horses are tough on their clothes. Love these sheets.
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this sheet! Bought this sheet after my horse ruined his first one in eight days... was recommended this and it is great! Super durable, my horse has worn it for about three weeks now and there isn't a scratch on it! I would recommend this sheet highly if your horse is pastured with horses that like to destroy clothes, like mine is! I rated it a 4* value because I would have rather paid a little extra and have the belly guard included, rather than having to purchase the belly guard separately. I also wish it had a piece to cover the dock of the tail like some sheets do. Other than those small complaints, I love this sheet a lot!
    Date published: 2013-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sheet for pasture kept horse My mares are kept in their own 3 acre pasture 24/7 so I needed something that was very durable and wouldn't fade in the Texas sun. I bought the SmartPurple Protective Sheet and the matching Fly Mask for my grey mare and it looks amazing on her. The purple color is very deep and rich which makes it stand out in contrast to her grey coat. My bay also looks just as GORGEOUS in this sheet.I wanted to add the following details in hopes that it may help others. My mare is AQHA Hancock Bred and stands right about 15h. I measured her with a sewing tape at her widest points from center of chest, all the way around the biggest part of her barrel, to center of her tail and it came to 78 inches. I ended up ordering a size 76 because her other winter blanket is a 74 so it just seemed that a 78 would be too large. The 76 fits her PERFECTLY!I highly recommend this sheet to anyone and everyone, not only for its durability, but because it feels good to have the best dressed pasture horse in the neighborhood. :-)
    Date published: 2013-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! I've been using this for about a month now and I love it. The flies have not yet come out in full force so it is being used more as a sun shield/light weight sheet. The fit is perfect on my warmblood. It has been washed and hung to dry a few times and still looks brand new. I ordered it in Smartpink and my mare looks gorgeous in it!
    Date published: 2013-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Screen porch for your horse! I bought this fly sheet because my daughter's horse is mildly allergic to fly sprays AND is super attractive to all kinds of insects. We picked the SmartPlaid because my daughter loves it, and the prices are reasonable. Our horse is super happy with the fly sheet. We've had a very wet spring here, and the bugs are now out in force. With her mesh sheet and her fly mask, she is her own walking screen porch. She grazes quite happily while her pasture-mates come in and stand in their stalls to escape the bugs. Sadly, the SmartPlaid fly mask is too small for her giant head and rubs her eyes, but the sheet is super cute and does the job.
    Date published: 2013-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful and functional I purchased this sheet to help keep my horse clean during a show, and it did just that. The fact that it is stylish, fits true to size, and a rich shade of purple justs adds icing to the cake. I recommend this fly sheet to anyone who wants to protect their horse and also possible help keep it clean.
    Date published: 2013-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Sheet On The Market I just purchased my second Kensington Protective Sheet. The only reason I had to replace the first is that my horse outgrew it! He wore his original sheet for four years and it held up great! It washed well at the end of each season and stood up to his playing with friends and sleeping in the dirt. It never faded and I never had to replace the straps. I love the color selections and the way the blanket fits. When brand new, they are a little stiff but after a few days they "warm" up to a custom fit. I highly recommend this sheet!
    Date published: 2013-04-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from nice looking, BUT the protective sheet material began to fray at the shoulder within the first week of wearing. Not what I expected from a higher price highly rated on durability sheet. Its very sharp looking, and fits well.
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only thing that works This is the only thing that works on my mom's very destructive quarter horse. We have very mild weather in winter and our horses are pastured. This is the only blanket my mom's horse can wear without ruining it in the winter. If he gets just a little bit hot he is destroying/removing his blankets. This offers the right amount of protection for him without him wanting to rid himself of it warms up during the day.It also is great for my 1983 Gelding, he can wear it 24/7. He has very sparse hair and I always worry about his skin getting irritated by bugs and or all the birds that like to sit on his back and use it as a toilet. He loves it, when we brought out a new one he got all excited and happy, reaching for it over the gate. He hates parting with it when it needs laundering.The only reason we had to replace the last one which we had for 6+ years is our idiot pasture mate took it off the fence after I hosed it off to clean it. She stuffed it in this area where critters gnawed holes in it, by the time I found it where she put it.
    Date published: 2013-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for horses in turnout! My 2 year old was constantly carving up his back while playing with his pasture mate and exploring in the woods. This sheet is amazing because it let him grow back hair on all his scabs and prevented any new ones from forming. I had one problem where there was a defect in the stitching and the piping detached from part of the sheet after a month. I immediately called SmartPak and the customer service representative was wonderful helping me sort it all out. I just sent it back to them and I got a brand new sheet in the mail shortly after. I love this line so much that I ordered his blanket this year in the Thinsulate SmartBlue as well. It looks very handsome on black horse
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite fly sheet This fly sheet in smart blue is absolutely eye catching as well as the best ive had to get the Job done. It's approaching winter and with a light weight fleece or cooler under it you can even turn it into a light weight blanket. Definitely would recommend others to purchase this product!
    Date published: 2012-10-19
    • 2015-08-29T13:26CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_179
    • loc_en_US, sid_2294, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.