Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Kensington Protective Sheet

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12294
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Kensington Protective Sheet provides maximum protection from biting insects, cuts, and rubs.  This sheet provides protection for up to 78% of UV rays.

Favorite Features

  • 1000 x 2000 denier 
  • Withstands fading, fire, mildew, soiling and wear and tear, even in the most severe weather condition
  • Lined shoulders keep the sensitive horse's shoulders free from rubs
  • Includes elastic leg straps
  • One adjustable belly surcingle and two leg straps  

Made in the U.S.A.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse

Customers Also Shopped For
Soft but tough technical polyester mesh allows for ...
Description:
Soft but tough technical polyester mesh allows for maximum air flow to keep your horse cool in the summer, whileProtecting your horse from flies and sun bleaching. Favorite Features Provides 70%+ UVProtection Adjustable belly wrap Freestyle Tail Flap offer full ...
This finely woven fly sheet offers comfortableProtection against ...
Description:
This finely woven fly sheet offers comfortableProtection against flies and insects. The unique zebra print design is theorized to add additionalProtection against flies by utilizing patterns in nature thought to confuse and dissuade insects. Favorite Features Finely woven material Belly ...
Mesh panels provide cool summerProtection against the sun ...
Description:
Mesh panels provide cool summerProtection against the sun and all types of insects. Favorite Features 270 g polyester fabric Twin chest straps Hidden front surcingle Adjustable and removable leg straps Gusseted shoulders provide freedom of movement Generous tail flap for ...
The Mio Fly Sheet is made from an ...
Description:
The Mio Fly Sheet is made from an ultra breathableSoft knitted polyester fabric with UVProtection to keep your horse cool andProtected from the sun and bugs all summer long. Favorite Features Classic Horseware cut with patented front leg arches Integrated ...
Horseware Ireland introduces the greatest innovation in fly ...
Description:
Horseware Ireland introduces the greatest innovation in fly sheets! The Amigo BugBuster provides No-Fly ZoneProtection from flies, mosquitoes, ticks and fleas. Unlike many conventional insect repellents, which can have a strong odor and other unfavorable characteristics, No-Fly Zone insectProtection is ...
This sheet does a great job ofProtecting your ...
Description:
This sheet does a great job ofProtecting your horse from flies and dirt. Ideal for warm weather, your horse will stay cool and clean in the barn without sweating.Favorite Features 11 oz. medium weight nylon mesh Closed front Adjustable nylon ...
It is the ultimate armor toProtect your horse ...
Description:
It is the ultimate armor toProtect your horse from the pests of summer! Lightweight mesh sheet with oversized tail flap and removable neck rug provides a layer of physicalProtection from poll to tail to keep bugs off your horse.Favorite Features ...
out of 5
92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Kensington Protective Sheet is rated 4.65158371040724 out of 5 by 221.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! This fly sheet is very effective at keeping flies from biting. The fabric is durable. The fit is perfect and I love the color pink on my mare. I would highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool and effective. The Riders Intl sheet my gelding was wearing had a belly band, neck piece, and very small mesh. It was too hot. This sheet lets the breeze through and has a larger mesh while still providing protection. Since there is no belly band I smear Belly Balm on his belly and he is all set.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! We bought one of these for my mom's horse because she tends to be sensitive to bugs, as well as wanting to keep her black coat as black as possible. It's held up wonderfully for the last two summers. She stays pretty cool on the hotter days, and seems to be comfortable in it. We liked it so well, we've just ordered more for our other two horses!
Date published: 2016-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Liked sheet so well ended up ordering four sheets and neck guards all purple Kensington.
Date published: 2016-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality fly sheet that's breathable. I bought this sheet on a recommendation from my fellow stable mates. Now 4 ouf us have Kensingtons. They are durable but light weight and seem to keep the horse cool. The material doesn't lay completely flat on the horse so air can circulate. Also the bugs cans bite through it. Great product worth the money.
Date published: 2016-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Sheet This is the best fly sheet on the market! It's the most durable I have used! I like the option of pink color for my black mare. It looks great!
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good fly blanket This fly sheet was highly recommended by the barn. I like the color and it fits my horse well. The material seems to be durable but a little stiff. So far I have used for 2 weeks on the horse and it seems to hold up well.
Date published: 2016-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gelding cannot destroy this! My TB gelding is extremely hard on his winter blankets - I was hesitant to use fly sheets on him in the past, but ghe bugs have been terrible this year, so we had no choice! Fortunately, this sheet has held up well in 24/7 turnout. No amount of rolling, bucking, galloping, or other equine shenanigans can damage any of the SmartBlue items (he routinely lives in the mask and sheet - we'll add the neck cover and boots if the bugs are really bad). No signs of rubbing, shifting, or sweating as well, but I still check him every day. All in all, a great investment!
Date published: 2016-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good sun block I like this fly sheet for Arizona as it has good air flow and sun blocking.It only took one round of some bucking in a pole pen turn out for one of the back leg straps to rip right off.Seems to keep the little gnats off which I Love!
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tough sheet I've had this sheet for 2 summers. It's extremely durable!I like the way it fits but my growing boy is in need of one size larger.I've been reading reviews on other fly sheets only because I find this one to be about too hot on 80 degree ( plus) days.If you're in a very hot climate I wouldn't suggest it.
Date published: 2016-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it The Kennsington fly sheet is the one I have used for years. I've only tried 2 others, and wasn't happy with the material...either to heavy and hot, or too flimsy and tore fast. This sheet is durable and just the right weight to do it's job. It's easy to clean and lasts more than one season, tho I always grab a spare to have on hand. The matching neck rug is a must, and wonderful too. Fits true to size.
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall great sheet!! I have had mine for 3 years and its just now starting to go. The fabric is starting to disintegrate, Colorado is very harsh on things! He is in turnout all day with lots of friends who play with others blankets and we have scrub oak. The sheet has tiny holes, but has never ripped. The the neck cover does twist. It fits by 16.3 warmblood cross but not by 15.2 TB cross (it rubs right on her withers).
Date published: 2016-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable, horse stays cool, no rubbing, great value Lasts and lasts on my 24/7 pasture horse (granted, he's not very destructive). Doesn't rub his sensitive skin. Keeps him black for months through the early summer in the blistering Texas sun as well as keeping off flies and protecting him from the pointy rocks he likes to roll on. Even when it's 100 degrees, he seems cooler with this on than without. One caveat: the elastic leg straps don't stay tightened. I simply sewed them in place, since I don't need them to be adjustable for one horse.
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Sheet on the Market This fly sheet was more than I had wanted to spend but knowing the durability of kensington products I sprung for it. I do not regret a single cent I spent on this sheet. It fits my warmblood perfectly and stays in place even in turnout. Being black, my boy actually stays cooler in this not to mention it spares me of having to spray him with expensive harmful chemicals. It has made it through this season without a scratch and I expect to last many more.PS the plaid looks quite snazzy
Date published: 2016-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly sheet Nearly everyone at my barn uses these--because they are as tough as you can expect in a fly sheet. Also, the Kensington warranty rocks! They are more breatheable than you would think (though I did order the light sage color, which I think helps) and double as a great way to keep dust and light rain off so that horses stay cleaner. Runs pretty true to size but I think (like buying jeans!) they are a bit inconsistent from sheet to sheet--I ordered two, exactly the same size and color. One was bigger than the other and one had a fleece and one a quilted wither. (??) The quilted is much nicer!!
Date published: 2015-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this sheet! I purchased this back in June for my two year old filly. She kept breaking out in hives from inscect bites and the fly spray only did so much. Shes a 15 hand breeding stock paint -- I measured her out to 72 inches, ordered it in size 72, and received a sheet true to size!I read previous reviews stating that the Smartpink and Smartblue sheets weren't as well made as the original Kensington colors. I ordered it in Smartpink anyway and am happy to announce that my very naughty, and rambunctious filly (much to her dismay) was totally unable to put a single tear in it.In short: adorable, true to size & durable. I would definitely recommend to a friend!
Date published: 2015-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable I bought this to replace a torn one, but I goofed and ordered too small. Or maybe it is the neck rug that is making it short.
Date published: 2015-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly sheet Love the color and fit on my small horse; like the way the neck attaches to the sheet; looks like it will be more durable than others I've had and hopefully won't rip at the shoulders
Date published: 2015-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable My mare is hard on her mesh fly sheets. But I think this one is going to last. Great quality.
Date published: 2015-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always looks like new I only buy this brand of fly sheetIt is durable and keeps my horses clean.It is superior to any flysheet I have ever tried.It is rather heavy when it is hot outside.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Slides Unfortunately, the sheet did not stay in place and slid and pulled on shoulders.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent fly sheet I have used Kensington Protective Sheets for many years and have never been disappointed. They are useful, durable and attractive. When hauling in extreme heat, we have wet the horses down and put the fly sheet back on - it seemed to slow the evaportation down and kept the horses a little more comfortable in the trailer.
Date published: 2015-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! I bought a 78 and had to send it back and get an 80. But that wasn't a hassle at all. They received the 78 quick and processed the return and I had my 80 in a matter of days. Very happy with the size and cut. Fits my girl like a glove.
Date published: 2015-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kensington quality at a great pricd Great fit, versatile sheet. Love Kensington products!
Date published: 2015-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's sturdy and it fits! I don't know which was more important to me when I bought this sheet - something to protect my mare from other horses' bites when in the turnout paddock, or something that wouldn't rub the hair off her chest like other brands' sheets have in the past. Fortunately for me, the sheet has exceeded my hopes in both departments. It is roomy in the shoulders but not too big in the neck. The fabric feels very strong, and after four weeks of use, there are no bite marks or holes. The leg straps are reinforced and when I adjust them, they stay adjusted at that same length. Several other horses at the barn already had Kensington fly sheets, so I tried their sheets on my horse to get an idea how sizes would run. Despite measuring my horse at 77", a 74" sheet appeared to fit her well. I ordered a 74” sheet via telephone, after the SmartPak rep said it’s common for fly sheets to run a little large.
Date published: 2015-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kensington Fly Sheet Overall I'm really please. I do think that the sizing is a little larger than other size 74 sheets/blankets I have purchased. It's large on my mate.
Date published: 2015-07-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My horse's blanket size is 72 and I read that these run a bit small so I got her a 74 inch. It was still about 2 to 3 inches too small. This blanket is also not very breathable. My horse sweats in it a lot so I have to take it off regularly to let her cool off.
Date published: 2015-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful fly sheet! This is a great sheet, very well made, sizing is 100% true. Fits extremely well. Material is heavy enough to not rip, shred or otherwise be wrecked!. Very breathable so horses stay cool while wearing it. An excellent value if you're looking for a quality fly sheet.
Date published: 2015-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Sheet ever! I bought this sheet 2 years ago and my horse was trying to tear it apart but it stayed to gather very well is very durable!
Date published: 2015-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love color!!! I have 3 of these want more . Durable fit well and awesome colors
Date published: 2015-05-26
  • 2016-09-27T12:15CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_201
  • loc_en_US, sid_2294, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders