Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Kensington Fly Boots

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12292

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Finally, fly boots that stay upright! Can be used to protect wounds, as a covering over leg wraps, and for added protection when shipping.

Favorite Features

  • Three VELCRO® Brand closures keep boot secure on leg
  • Heavy fleece to help prevent rubs
  • Nylon support piece for reinforcement and structure
  • Exclusive USA made 2002 TEXTILENE ® Mesh is specially formulated to withstand fading, fire, mildew, soiling and wear and tear 

Sizing It Up

Boots measure 15" high and 12" in circumference.
Pair.

Imported.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Why We Love This Give your horse full ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Give your horse full neck protection from the flies with the Kensington Protective Neck Rug! Favorite Features Protection to up to 78% of UV rays in addition to biting insects Lined with 70 denier nylon to ...
    A fly mask that lasts! The Kensington Fleece ...
    Description:
    A fly mask that lasts! The Kensington Fleece Fly Mask is constructed of the innovative, extremely durable, fully breathable mesh Textilene fabric, a breathable mesh fabric that's vibrant and durable. It's made to withstand tough outdoor use. The densely woven ...
    UltraShield Green Natural Fly Repellent Gel uses Geraniol ...
    Description:
    UltraShield Green Natural Fly Repellent Gel uses Geraniol and six fly-fighting natural oils to protect ears, face and other areas such as the underline from biting flies. This eco-safe gel also provides a barrier that protects cuts and abrasions from ...
    Fly protection has never been more beautiful! The ...
    Description:
    Fly protection has never been more beautiful! The fabric of the Kensington Polymax Fly Sheet shimmers in the sunlight and provides durable protection against biting insects. Ultra breathable, the sheet keeps your horse comfortable in the summer heat. The Kensington ...
    The Kensington Fly Masks with Removable Nose features ...
    Description:
    The Kensington Fly Masks with Removable Nose features double fastening VELCRO Brand closure with heavy elastic neck strap for safety and double eye darts for maximum room in the eye area. Favorite Features Full mesh coverage of the ears, lined ...
    Is your horse tired of stomping in the ...
    Description:
    Is your horse tired of stomping in the field all summer long to keep the bugs off his legs? Protect his legs from pests with the SmartPak Deluxe Fly Boots! Favorite Features Airmesh body allows for maximum airflow and breathabiliy ...
    Protect your horse from poll to tail this ...
    Description:
    Protect your horse from poll to tail this summer with the SmartPak Classic Fly Sheet! Made from a soft polyester fabric, this fly sheet is fully breathable and does not restrict your horses natural movements. With built in UV protection, ...
    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Kensington Fly Boots is rated 4.3333 out of 5 by 207.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad Purchase I bought theses two years ago looking for a nice fly boot for my paint who is VERY sensative to flys. He gets hives and bleeds where he gets bitten. These boots tore and within a week and on the second day my horse had been rubbed raw and started bleeding by the third day. They fell off all the time and i would not buy again.
    Date published: 2012-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Boots I've purchased other fly boots including Cashel which tore apart. these stay up and fit by 16.3 TB mare perfectly
    Date published: 2012-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I LOVE these. I purchased them primarily for the reason that they came in purple.. not because I "needed" fly boots. But anyway, they turned out to be wonderful! I keep them on my mare 24/7 and they stay on!!! She had to have her shoes off a few days early before her farrier appt, and with stomping eliminated, she didn't chip her hooves.
    Date published: 2012-07-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very tough, but some horses just Do. Not. WANT. These are great fly boots--tough, well-fitted, don't sag--but my gelding was convinced someTHING had attached itself to both hind legs and stomped, kicked, stomped, kicked etc. for days. Sometimes he got them off, sometimes he didn't. I adjusted them, tweaked them, etc. and kept waiting for him to get used to them, but it just was not happening. Since I bought these to keep him from stomping and kicking and risk hurting himself...well...the hind ones are now on-hand spares. Incidentally, he does not act like this with any other sort of boot/wrap on his hind legs, so there must be something about them that strikes him as icky.The front boots are great and stay on as long as I keep them doused in McNasty, heh. He is a playful boy, and despite taking these off every other day (when the spray wears off), they remain in excellent condition, just a bit dirtier.
    Date published: 2012-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic (& Snazzy!) Fly Boots! I owned some Roma fly boots and was unimpressed. They crunched down, always looked dirty (white), and then the tabs started breaking off, so I replaced them with the Kensingtons. I LOVE them!! They stay up SO much better- very minimal scrunch- and the smart blue looks great on my big gray gelding. They are a bit snug on him, but he is a 17 hh boy. I'm now curious about the Kensington fly sheets :)
    Date published: 2012-07-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great quality I love Kensington products, and these flyboots are a great addition to my mare's wardrobe. They are durable, the velcro is high quality and they do the job they were intended to do - keep the flies off so she doesn't stomp her feet to bits.
    Date published: 2012-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No regrets, all four horses much more relaxed The stomping has stopped, I have peace of mind knowing the horses are comfortable.
    Date published: 2012-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly boots! These are the best fly boots I've ever used. They never rub my very sensitive-skinned chestnut mare, and she seems very comfortable in them. They have plastic stays in them so they don't fall down or slouch.My mare wears them 24/7 and is pasture boarded, so if you want tough fly boots that won't rub or slouch, these are the boots for you.I will say I think they run a little small. My mare wears pony-sized polos and splint boots because she has very short legs. These fit her just fine. So they might be a little too short on tall horses.
    Date published: 2012-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable Kensington FlyBoots I have tried most available fly boots for horses. Kensington consistently draws me back every time. These fly boots fit most horses and can be used for two or more seasons. They are an effective method to prevent/reduce the continual stomping associated with flies on horses legs and greatly reduce loose and missing shoes.
    Date published: 2012-07-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Would recommend these So far these flyboots have been holding up really well. They stay up and don't twist and I don't have to adjust them at all.
    Date published: 2012-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly boots ever They stay up, they don't rub my TB's sensitive skin, they reduce stomping, they protect his lower legs from various pasture scrapes, and they look adorable (blue plaid). Also, they LAST. I have two pair and after FIVE YEARS one just has a little hole in it.
    Date published: 2012-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from KENSINGTON FLY BOOTS GREAT These fly boots are the best on the market. They are made of good quality, sturdy mesh that stay up on horse's legs. They also have a nice fleece padding on top and sides plus wide velcro straps. They are the only fly boots I will use now.
    Date published: 2012-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them!! Very durable and stay upright. Helps keep shoes on by decreasing amount my horse stomps flies.
    Date published: 2012-06-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Check sizing Thought I ordered draft size fly boots for my Clyde...they fit my shetland
    Date published: 2012-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kensington Fly Boots I needed to replace my old Kensington fly boots that were a bit worn after several years of use. I tried another brand of fly boots that were less expensive and came in a set of 4, but they did not work at all, so I returned them and purchased some more Kensington fly boots as replacements.These boots actually do what they say, they don't sag down around their fetlocks and the material is good quality.They are a little more expensive than the other brands, and I wish they came in a set of 4, rather than having to buy two sets of 2, but the extra expense is definitely worth it. I've used Kensington products for many years and have never been unhappy with anything I have purchased. Highly, highly recommend.
    Date published: 2012-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Fly Protection I have not only the flyboots but also the fly sheet, neck cover and fly mask. My horse is totally protected from insects day and night. He is highly allergic to flies and these are fantastic products and very easy to wash. Just spray off with the hose!
    Date published: 2012-06-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from They're great! My horse and I just love his new boots! I got 2 pairs so I could put them on all 4 legs. The flys are horrendous this year, and were just driving him nuts! I do rotate his boots once a week to cut down on a little rubbing, but that's a small price to pay for the relief he gets. My friend got a few pairs for her pastured horses, but is not having quite as good of luck with them. The exposed velcro attracts stickers and cheat grass, and they don't stay up as well. But they're still better than nothing. I would really recommend them to people who have stabled horses or ones that are on a dry lot.
    Date published: 2012-05-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the material, durable, not scratchy and fit perfectly!
    Date published: 2012-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more stomping! The flies have been TERRIBLE this year, despite fly predators, twice a day cleanup and covered manure compost bin, 8 stink bags and various other fly traps. My horse was stomping holes in the ground even with fly spray on until I put these fly boots on him. They are holding up well, even with him rolling. I put them on in the morning and take them off at night. They don't slip, they're cushioned nicely and his legs don't get hot or sweaty. Love them!I also got him the matching fly mask, holds up great also, doesn't come off and finally no more red eyes!
    Date published: 2012-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love these! easy on and easy off, my quarter horse loves grazing without getting bit and having to stomp around to shake flies off!! Only tip I would add that a "pair" of these is two, not four, so must order two pairs to cover four legs!
    Date published: 2012-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beware of rubs! I've never used fly boots before, but the season is already bad, so I thought I'd give it a try!These have been holding up well, but I notice the boots on the right side of my horse showed signs of wear/abuse...I don't discriminate between fron and back, so whichever boot is on his front right leg gets rubbed by his face! This causes the weave to shift around some, and can turn the boot on his leg. Still works, though! And the boots do an excellent job of staying upright, due to the plastic boning down the front. Love 'em!
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from They are OK These fly boots have been on my leopard app for about a month now. So far they are doing their job, but are already showing lots of signs of wear. I'm not sure they will make it through the whole summer. They also do leave sore spots if you leave them on too long (but any fly boot will do that). Absolutely no problems with my horse removing them or losing them.THE GOOD: cute pattern, attractive design, good quality velcro, and don't flop (at least so far)THE BAD: it seems like the mesh will wear out quickly.
    Date published: 2012-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from quite good Very good coverage bottom could be larger. On a bigger boned horse the bottom will not close
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Fly Boots!! I bought these for my 6 year old paint gelding. The flies get really bad here in Kansas. (Atleast at my ranch it does!)The boots have to be broken in before they fit right. (I guess most things do.)At first, my horse didn't like them, so he'd take them off. Till we did some more ground work with them on.I still use fly spray, but the boots do help his legs.They are a great purchase & are still durable even though they've been through a lot! (Mud, thick grass, water, etc...)These are great boots & an excellent purchase!Just make sure you break them in!
    Date published: 2012-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice! I bought these for my OTTB mare who got 'rub' spots on her ankles this summer. She kept rubbing the scabs off, so I tried these & they worked great! They let the air in, but kept the bugs off; she wore them for 4 days straight (I checked them each day & re-adjusted as necessary) until the scabs could really get hard. She lives outside with 2 other horses & is rough on stuff, but these held up really well. I will use them next summer as fly-boots. Love the green/brown plaid!
    Date published: 2011-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more stomping! I bought these for my horse to wear in the corral during the day as he is always standing around, stamping his feet to keep the flies off. These boots are easy to put on, stay in place and most importantly, eliminate the stomping. A great purchase.
    Date published: 2011-09-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to put on and fit adjsutments are good. Have been using for maybe 2 months and the mesh fabric is starting to fray. Still serviceable but I wonder how much life they have left.
    Date published: 2011-09-16
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from terrable I purchased 2 paires of these boots, one for each horse. the right boot from each pair is torn apart at the seam
    Date published: 2011-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THESE! The Best out there! I moved my TB to Minnesota from California this summer and the bug situation was quite a shock to him. Consequently, he would stomp all day and I was worried he would make himself lame. I went to my local tack store and bought a 4 set of boots there which lasted a barely overnight. He is turned out in a paddock for part of the day and absolutely shredded these one and ripped some of the velcro tabs off. I was frustrated by this as they were about $35. I was hesitant to order the Kensington ones due to price but they are FABULOUS! He has had them on for 3 months now and not a single rip or tare! they stay up and protect his whole lower leg and fetlock! As the stay up the stay clean and the straps are super durable! Just great!
    Date published: 2011-09-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for outdoor horses I have these on all my horses. they don't stomp and thus don't get so much chipping on their hooves. Its definitely a must have for a barefoot horse that's outside 24/7. Ive never had a problem with them slumping or slouching, getting rubbed off, or torn. Ive had my pairs for years and they're still going strong as the day i bought them. Ive seen people put them on far too loose and have problems with them. make sure you put them on somewhat tight, and they overlap a little bit, or they're going to fall down.
    Date published: 2011-09-04
    • 2016-02-07T15:00CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_21, tr_186
    • loc_en_US, sid_2292, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.