Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Kensington Fly Boots

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12292
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Finally, fly boots that stay upright! Can be used to protect wounds, as a covering over leg wraps, and for added protection when shipping.

Favorite Features

  • Three VELCRO® Brand closures keep boot secure on leg
  • Heavy fleece to help prevent rubs
  • Nylon support piece for reinforcement and structure
  • Exclusive USA made 2002 TEXTILENE ® Mesh is specially formulated to withstand fading, fire, mildew, soiling and wear and tear 

Sizing It Up

Boots measure 15" high and 12" in circumference.
Pair.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Kensington Fly Boots is rated 4.3135 out of 5 by 185.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Boots These boots worked great for my Arabian. He is 15.2 hh and they are a perfect size, although I don't think that they will fit my 16.3 hh Thoroughbred. My Arab likes to chew everything, and these seem to be very durable. He also likes to take boots off, and these have not came off yet. I bought a different set last year that had a twisting issue, which ended up making his legs swell, these did not have that issue and they stand up well.
    Date published: 2014-07-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wouldn't stay on The product looked exactly as expected. However, it was impossible to keep them on in the pasture. After a couple of days, it was obvious they were loose, so we tightened them a little higher (over the knee). However, in 3-4 days, they were covered in mud and sagging, and a day later one came off in the pasture, shredded.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They stay up! I bought these for my 15.1hh TB mare because the flies bother her legs so much that she is constantly stamping her feet. The instant I put these on she stopped and seemed so much more comfortable. I tried them for about 5 hours the first time and went back to the barn to check and they were still on and hadn't sagged one bit. I plan to have these on her 24/7 this summer as they make a huge difference in her comfort and I am pretty confident they aren't going to sag.
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from horrible fit and don't last long at all These are horrible. They are made for ponies or something tiny. I have a walking horse and they are way to short to cover the leg and not wide enough to go around comfortably. The fit is bad too. They don't stay up and are constantly falling down near the cornet band no matter how tight or loose I make each strap. Total waste of money. They didn't even last 2 weeks before holes appeared; where usually my horse can have a 4 leg set last over 2 fly seasons. I will never purchase again. I will have to do dome research to find my brand that I love but the local shops don't carry anymore.
    Date published: 2014-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Nice I've had a set of four for two years. They held up very well for these years, until of my horse landed in a bad living situation and the boots were destroyed due to the amount of horse-skirmishes and mud. Yet, in all the mayhem of those weeks, Only one boot was ripped to the point where I had to fix it. I meerly hemed the bottom cloth up to meet the mesh higher, and the boot functioned perfectly. They're good quality for what you want, and come in cute colors to boot!
    Date published: 2014-05-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice boots Just got them today, so not sure on durability, but they fit pretty well, seemed to slip down when I asked him to trot around, but I put some bell boots on and that seemed to help them stay up :)
    Date published: 2014-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! These stay up well and help keep my horse comfortable by keeping the flies off his legs. Fit well and quality construction.
    Date published: 2013-10-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked Great. May not last as long as I wish... I bought these a couple of months ago and i have been very pleased with fit. They not only fit well, but they stay on and don't sag down the leg. I had two pairs, and used them on two different horses: the flyboots look great on one horse (the quiet one), and show some definite sign of wear on the other horse (more active). The wear is such that the weave is getting loose around the fetlock. They are still usable, but may not last more than one summer or a summer and a half. I still like them and would buy them again because of the way they fit and stay put.
    Date published: 2013-10-18
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worsst fly boots ever Nothing good to say about this product. After one day of use, one of the plastic stays broke. By day three, the mesh started to pull apart and the back of my horse's fetlock was rubbed raw. Never again!!!!
    Date published: 2013-08-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from good purchase Bought theses fly boots seem to rip easy had to return already only after a few days ....have tp see how long second pair last
    Date published: 2013-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly boots! I just recently bought my second set after having the first ones probably over 6 years ago. It's taken forever for my oldest horse to actually put holes in these I couldn't easily fix by using a nail to push the fibers back over. I also use them to keep his socks clean the night before a show. Keep him comfortable and clean all at the same time.
    Date published: 2013-08-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent protection I am quite happy with these boots. I have a mare that has a knee that is starting to give her a little pain now and then and these keep her from having to stamp flies. The furry liner does a good job at not attracting seeds from weeds/grass in the pasture. They stay up well if you get the middle strap secure above the fetlock. The mesh is coming away from the stitching in a couple places, but it has not affected the protection.
    Date published: 2013-07-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent, soft, light fly sheet I am very happy with this Rambo fly sheet. It is light, airy and comfortable for my mare. She has not wanted to wear the past ones, so I thought I would try it. It has a couple snags from trees that have not affected the integrity and I love the neck piece. I did buy one size up from what she measures.
    Date published: 2013-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have in my Barn I bought these as back up fly boots after purchasing a more expensive pair that were supposed to be my main boots. However, these have turned out to be my favorites. They are holding up well and are easy to put on and take off. My mare has worn them 24x7 except when I'm riding. The second I take them off she starts stomping to shake off what I suspect are imaginary flies. I would've given them a rating of 5 rather than 4 for value if they had come in sets of 4 rather than 2.
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice flyboots Both of my horses wear these, and the three horses of my friend do, too. The flyboots seem to be of good quality and so far have held up well. The horses don't mind wearing them at all.
    Date published: 2013-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kensington fly boots These flt boots are the ideal item to have during fly season for your horse.They stay up, love the fleece around the edges, and stay on.Have recommended to my friends. Exc. product and made in the USA.
    Date published: 2013-07-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from They still sag :-( These are ok, better than others. Unfortunately, they still sag, not sure any fly boot will not!
    Date published: 2013-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly boots They are great. They stay up all day, cover all of the leg and the coronet band so the flies don't annoy my horse. No stomping the flies with these on. They are flexible enough that there are no rubs on my horse's legs. They do not wash well tho.
    Date published: 2013-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome for the price I bought these boots for my 15.3 Appendix and they fit him perfectly. He is really sensitive and HATES flies. They held up really well over the last year, and my horse isn't always kind to them. Sure they don't always stay on place but you can't really expect that from boots made of this material.
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fairly expensive for two boots. If you have a big boned horse they will be way too small. They fit my 15'2 mare but don't go around my 17 hand warmblood.
    Date published: 2013-06-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from One size fits most, not all. I gave these only 3 stars because one size does not fit all. I bought these for my 16.3 hh warmblood mare but they did not work for her. They were too small. However, they work great on my 15.2 hh quarter horse gelding. I haven't had them long, but they seem to be very well constructed. If you have a larger horse these may not work for you. I would love these if they would make some in larger sizes.
    Date published: 2013-04-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good Product Got these for my painted beast and they've been VERY helpful. When I got him in September, the fly bites on his legs were so bad it felt like fungus as he had given up stomping at them. I'm on my second season with my first set, he wears them on all four, just about 24/7 May-October, except in the rain. He did get one small rub on a hind fetlock, but nothing concerning. Worn out in a few areas and sag after a while, but 95% coverage is still very beneficial.
    Date published: 2013-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product My horse had blood dripping from his legs because of flies and other insects biting him.These boots keep the flies off him, they don't slip and he looks quite comfortable in them.
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very effective I got these boots to cover a leg wound on the ankle. I was told that fly boots don't hold well during turnout. This pair of fly boots is still standing up perfectly and is very effective is covering a leg wound. The boots are still in very good condition. When they get dirty, I hose them with water and they dry very quickly.
    Date published: 2012-11-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fly Wraps I was disappointed with these boots. The first pair of these I had, lasted two summers. This pair didn't even make it a month before I had to start patching them. I threw them away after 3 months of use. They were used on the same horse so I am blaming the wraps, not the horse. I can buy less expensive wraps that will only last a few weeks.
    Date published: 2012-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy Nasty end of summer flies were driving my sensitive skinned girl "buggy". Her stomping was driving ME mad, so these leggings were a lifesaver for both of us. Also shipping from smartpak is always timely and usually I receive my order before I receive notification it has shipped.
    Date published: 2012-10-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disapointed! I have a set of Roma fly boots that are great, so I thought I would get fly boots for my other Paint horse. I quickly found out that the Kensington boots cost twice as much as the Roma. I only got one pair of the red boots (looked nice on those white legs). They are very stiff, so they didn't wrap nice around the legs. I only used them a couple of times and the stitching on the velcro is coming out. I have not had to wash them yet so I do not know how they wash. I would recommend the Roma over these. The Roma have been washed many times and they are still great. The paint horse that I use them on just stands there and waits for his Romas to be put on. I will replace the Kensingtons with Romas. Much better product.
    Date published: 2012-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hard wearing, fits little Tb legs These are the first set of boots that I've found consistently stay on my horse's rather thin Thoroughbred legs. They last 1-2 years for me with daily use before the bottoms basically are worn away. Decent value for the money for me.
    Date published: 2012-10-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from pretty and good quality, but wish they were longer I needed these to cover a wound just under my horse's hock and they are much too short for a tall horse's back leg. To improvise, I stacked them and turned the top one upside down.
    Date published: 2012-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely the best fly protection! I have 3 horses that are wearing the same set(s) of Kensington Fly Boots for the 3rd season! I love that the boots stay up, and the velcro stays closed despite stomping. These boots wash up nicely and do not snag.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    • 2015-05-28T10:04CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_166
    • loc_en_US, sid_2292, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.