Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Kensington Fly Boots

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12292

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Finally, fly boots that stay upright! Can be used to protect wounds, as a covering over leg wraps, and for added protection when shipping.

Favorite Features

  • Three VELCRO® Brand closures keep boot secure on leg
  • Heavy fleece to help prevent rubs
  • Nylon support piece for reinforcement and structure
  • Exclusive USA made 2002 TEXTILENE ® Mesh is specially formulated to withstand fading, fire, mildew, soiling and wear and tear 

Sizing It Up

Boots measure 15" high and 12" in circumference.
Pair.

Imported.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Why We Love This Give your horse full ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Give your horse full neck protection from the flies with the Kensington Protective Neck Rug! Favorite Features Protection to up to 78% of UV rays in addition to biting insects Lined with 70 denier nylon to ...
    A fly mask that lasts! The Kensington Fleece ...
    Description:
    A fly mask that lasts! The Kensington Fleece Fly Mask is constructed of the innovative, extremely durable, fully breathable mesh Textilene fabric, a breathable mesh fabric that's vibrant and durable. It's made to withstand tough outdoor use. The densely woven ...
    UltraShield Green Natural Fly Repellent Gel uses Geraniol ...
    Description:
    UltraShield Green Natural Fly Repellent Gel uses Geraniol and six fly-fighting natural oils to protect ears, face and other areas such as the underline from biting flies. This eco-safe gel also provides a barrier that protects cuts and abrasions from ...
    Fly protection has never been more beautiful! The ...
    Description:
    Fly protection has never been more beautiful! The fabric of the Kensington Polymax Fly Sheet shimmers in the sunlight and provides durable protection against biting insects. Ultra breathable, the sheet keeps your horse comfortable in the summer heat. The Kensington ...
    The Kensington Fly Masks with Removable Nose features ...
    Description:
    The Kensington Fly Masks with Removable Nose features double fastening VELCRO Brand closure with heavy elastic neck strap for safety and double eye darts for maximum room in the eye area. Favorite Features Full mesh coverage of the ears, lined ...
    Is your horse tired of stomping in the ...
    Description:
    Is your horse tired of stomping in the field all summer long to keep the bugs off his legs? Protect his legs from pests with the SmartPak Deluxe Fly Boots! Favorite Features Airmesh body allows for maximum airflow and breathabiliy ...
    Protect your horse from poll to tail this ...
    Description:
    Protect your horse from poll to tail this summer with the SmartPak Classic Fly Sheet! Made from a soft polyester fabric, this fly sheet is fully breathable and does not restrict your horses natural movements. With built in UV protection, ...
    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Kensington Fly Boots is rated 4.3333 out of 5 by 207.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Idea, hate the rubs I've used the before on other horses without any problem and tried a new pair on the new chestnut OTTB. The flies drive him nuts and he spends all day constantly stomping. These stay on very well however they rubbed him raw on this fetlocks to the point blood was seeping through the mesh. Poor baby. I took them off for a number of days to let the rubs heal then tried again. More rubs. He is now wearing men's tube socks with the toes cut off. I'd recommend the durability but question the fit.
    Date published: 2015-08-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from They stay on, at least. I bought this for my mare's fly sensitivity, two pairs. Effective, but they tend to slouch and crinkle and rub a bit. Not the worst product, though. Combined with some fly spray, they deter the biting and allow her legs to heal well.
    Date published: 2015-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These stay up! I bought them for my senior Appy, who has managed to stomp himself lame a couple times this summer. Got the first set for his back legs, and was so happy with how they hold up and don't move I just ordered another set for his fronts. They stayed on through some deep mud too. I didn't have any problems with them rotating or sliding down. Bit of caution though, my appy has really big fetlocks in the rear and these were just on the edge of fitting. His fetlocks are between 12.75-13 inches around. I was disappointed that they only came in sets of 2 instead of 4. I bought the first box thinking it was 4 and it wasn't. (My fault though, missed that part in the description.) So it makes it more expensive than some of the other brands, but the trade off is they work!
    Date published: 2015-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Work well and no rubs I got these for a mare who has scratches. One of the treatment meds had the potential to cause photosensitivity, so I needed fly boots to cover near pasterns without rubbing or causing more irritation there. These have worked very well. I bought two pair, for fronts and hinds. Sizing is good, she is a 16.2 Oldenburg and they fit nicely. I scrub them with a chlorhexidine solution to clean them a couple of days a week. The flies have really gotten annoying at this time of year, so I just ordered another set of two pairs for my other horse. They stay in place well with a plastic stay in the strip of fleece that runs the length of the boot. Very happy with this purchase. Like all the Kensington products, they are durable, have not faded, and match the fly sheets and fly masks my horses wear.
    Date published: 2015-08-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Have held up well! I bought these about as month ago for one of my mares who is very sensitive to flys. I was a little worried about how they would hold up as she tends to play hard in the pasture and is turned out 24/7. They have held up better then I thought they would!
    Date published: 2015-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They stay up!!! I bought some hind boots last year for my old retired TB who is very intolerant of the flies! They worked great so got fronts for him this year too and a pair for my other TB - they are turned out in them 10 hours a day and they are rarely out of place when we bring them in from the pasture
    Date published: 2015-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality Love my new fly boots, very durable material stay on well!!
    Date published: 2015-07-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gets the job done! My gelding has arthritis in his knee and these help greatly when trying to keep flies at bay!
    Date published: 2015-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Colorful practicality! My horses are fashionably stylin' in their colorful new Kensington fly boots. With the constant rains this season in the Midwest, these are as beautiful as they are functional. Applause, applause!
    Date published: 2015-06-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from WOW !!!!!! My horse has very thing skin and the flies love her and bite her till she bleeds and she is constantly stomping. I LOVE these boots She has worn them for two months now and they do not to budge on her legs despite the running around,bucking and rolling. She no longer stomps at the flies.
    Date published: 2015-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm so happy I took a chance on these fly boots!!! I was a little skeptical about these boots being able to stay up and not slide down my horse’s legs and cause discomfort, but I decided to give them a try because of the reviews. I’m so happy I did because they stay on nicely! They feel a little stiff coming out of the package, but they soften after a few days. There are no wear marks on my horse and there is no indication that they are bothering him in anyway. There are zero bug bites of any kind in the areas the boots cover. Usually when a product like this lasts more than 24 hours on this horse, I consider it durable! The durability tests that I have witnessed thus far are, running with his buddies, rearing and playing, and he’s been through the woods that are on the property. These boots even stayed on when he took a swim in the water tank! I plan to buy more pairs w/my next Smart Pak order to take advantage of the free shipping!
    Date published: 2015-06-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Purchased these to hopefully save feet once fly-stomping season begins on a mare that got tender feet last year. Others have said fly boots are a big help. Took a few days to get one adjusted correctly so it did not fall down. Both still twist somewhat but no biggie.
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very effective boots for a good price My horse was having problems with the biting flies on his legs. He was stomping non stop and very irritated. These boots have eliminated the problem. The material is sturdy and stays up well on his legs. I have used them daily for about 4 weeks and they seem to hold up fine (though he is not rough on them). The boots fit him well with room to spare (16.2 fine bone horse). My only improvement would be that these boots came in different length options. I'd like a longer/taller boot to cover more of his lower leg, but overall they work well.
    Date published: 2015-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great I bought this a month ago for my mare that gets scratches on her socks. They stay put and are very durable. I haven't had any problems with them sliding down her legs and the first week she stomped a lot until she got used to them. They fit her just right, she's a 1200lb QH. Not sure how they would fit a smaller boned horse though. I'm very happy with my purchase.
    Date published: 2015-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They get the job done I've used Kensington fly boots for years now. I've tried other, cheaper brands on occasion, but keep coming back to Kensington. I find that they last better if I hose them off when I remove them at night and flatten them out to remove the creases. I don't spend a lot of time at it, but I pull on them and hang them on the fence to dry.
    Date published: 2015-06-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from nice boot but does not hold up I have not had the a month and they are already coming apart at the seem and the fleece seems to rub if there is any moisture on the legs.
    Date published: 2015-05-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable These boots are easy to put on and fit comfortably. They keep the flies away from the whole lower leg
    Date published: 2015-05-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from No Sag, But Rubbed TB Ankles And Mesh Disintegrate I thought these were a sure thing when purchased, as they stated they had a lifetime warranty. Within 3 months, all the mesh around the ankles of both pairs I bought had broken/fallen apart and the fabric rubbed my TB's wussy skin.
    Date published: 2014-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, the right product for FL weather! Tried other fly boots but these, by far, are the best for the Florida climate. They are not lined so they don't create heat and they do stand up. Both my 30+ mare and active 6-year-old gelding wear them all day w/o rubs or falling down.
    Date published: 2014-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great so far! I bought these after my vet recommended some fly boots, because my mare's hind legs were swelling in reaction to the bugs. They've been great so far, but I do have to fasten the bottom strap well above her fetlocks and slide them down so they sit on top of the joint. Otherwise she winds up walking on the bottom edges.I have the matching pink fly sheet and mask too!
    Date published: 2014-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Held up great, even with a naughty foal! These boots exceeded my expectations. I finally had to retire my pair after a year-- they survived that long on a Dutch Warmblood broodmare in pasture through two mischievous nursing foals who both seemed to love removing velcro straps. One of the three straps on one boot did get torn off a couple months ago, and that boot finally ended up a play toy between two foals after being removed this last time, may it RIP. However, I still have the one remaining boot on the mare... Figure it's better than nothing! These really helped eliminate stomping, which is incredibly important for broodmares who have foals sleeping at their feet. Great product!
    Date published: 2014-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Upside down is better! I"ve been using these all summer on my 15.2 Missouri Fox Trotter. They definitely keep the flies off his front legs and are wearing really well. I keep them on him with the exception of our rides. They are really big but I've found that if I turn them upside down so that the fluffy part is on the bottom, they son't sag as much. And if they do, it's more gentle as they fall. But I do have to wrap a side inside the other for them to be secure.
    Date published: 2014-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly boot I have had almost every fly boot out there and none of them hold up as long as these do. They fit my 14.2 appy and my 17.1 Oldenburg. I havehad them for about two months now and theu are great.
    Date published: 2014-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Boots These boots worked great for my Arabian. He is 15.2 hh and they are a perfect size, although I don't think that they will fit my 16.3 hh Thoroughbred. My Arab likes to chew everything, and these seem to be very durable. He also likes to take boots off, and these have not came off yet. I bought a different set last year that had a twisting issue, which ended up making his legs swell, these did not have that issue and they stand up well.
    Date published: 2014-07-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wouldn't stay on The product looked exactly as expected. However, it was impossible to keep them on in the pasture. After a couple of days, it was obvious they were loose, so we tightened them a little higher (over the knee). However, in 3-4 days, they were covered in mud and sagging, and a day later one came off in the pasture, shredded.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They stay up! I bought these for my 15.1hh TB mare because the flies bother her legs so much that she is constantly stamping her feet. The instant I put these on she stopped and seemed so much more comfortable. I tried them for about 5 hours the first time and went back to the barn to check and they were still on and hadn't sagged one bit. I plan to have these on her 24/7 this summer as they make a huge difference in her comfort and I am pretty confident they aren't going to sag.
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from horrible fit and don't last long at all These are horrible. They are made for ponies or something tiny. I have a walking horse and they are way to short to cover the leg and not wide enough to go around comfortably. The fit is bad too. They don't stay up and are constantly falling down near the cornet band no matter how tight or loose I make each strap. Total waste of money. They didn't even last 2 weeks before holes appeared; where usually my horse can have a 4 leg set last over 2 fly seasons. I will never purchase again. I will have to do dome research to find my brand that I love but the local shops don't carry anymore.
    Date published: 2014-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Nice I've had a set of four for two years. They held up very well for these years, until of my horse landed in a bad living situation and the boots were destroyed due to the amount of horse-skirmishes and mud. Yet, in all the mayhem of those weeks, Only one boot was ripped to the point where I had to fix it. I meerly hemed the bottom cloth up to meet the mesh higher, and the boot functioned perfectly. They're good quality for what you want, and come in cute colors to boot!
    Date published: 2014-05-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice boots Just got them today, so not sure on durability, but they fit pretty well, seemed to slip down when I asked him to trot around, but I put some bell boots on and that seemed to help them stay up :)
    Date published: 2014-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! These stay up well and help keep my horse comfortable by keeping the flies off his legs. Fit well and quality construction.
    Date published: 2013-10-22
    • 2016-02-08T13:52CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_21, tr_186
    • loc_en_US, sid_2292, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.