Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Kensington Fleece Fly Mask

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12290
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

A fly mask that lasts! The Kensington Fleece Fly Mask is constructed of the innovative, extremely durable, fully breathable mesh Textilene® fabric, a breathable mesh fabric that's vibrant and durable. It's made to withstand tough outdoor use. The densely woven PVC strands enable this fabric to be heat-sealed while the high UV performance ensures protection and long lasting color. This fabric provides years of reliable relief against the sun, wind and dirt. Plus, the Textilene® fabric is fully recyclable.
Favorite Features

  • Double eye darts for maximum room around the eyes and added safety
  • Heavy duty double locking VELCRO® Brand Closure and elastic neck strap will ensure a correct fit and will keep the mask on and in place
  • Fleece around the nose and neck will keep your horse comfortable
  • Provides 73% UV protection

Sizing It Up

Small (Large Pony/Yearling)
Medium (Arab/Cob)
Large (Horse)
X-Large (Warmblood/Small Draft)

Kensington Fleece Fly Masks run slightly large, so if you think your horse may be between sizes, please size down.


You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Kensington Fleece Fly Mask is rated 4.7464 out of 5 by 138.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value but not durable or well sized This is a well-made mask that is comfortable and rinses out easily. I have one horse with a history of cancer who has to wear a mask all year during day light hours; he is happy and comfortable in this mask and drops his head as soon as he sees it so I can put it on. They do not, however, hold up for more than one season for most of my horses. The eye darts which give ample room for the eyes are the vulnerable point, tending to shred. The fleece along the jaw line also will separate from the mesh if a determined pony pulls on the mask (have lost two this way). There also are sizing issues -- The largest size sold which is supposed to fit a horse up to 1800 lbs is too small for my Percheron cross -- who is more like 1200 lbs. Nevertheless, b/c of the comfort, the UV protection, and the attractive appearance I will continue to buy a set every season for the 4 of my 5 horses these masks fit.
    Date published: 2015-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favorite fly masks I bought these fly masks for my two Arabian horses and absolutely love them. Super durable, the velcro is of high quality, there is elastic around the bottom too so there is give if they get snagged on anything. Got them embroidered with their names and the quality is fantastic. My mare absolutely hates any fly masks with ears, and this is one of the only masks she loves and doesn't rub off her head within an hour of putting it on. So glad I read the reviews and chose this mask. My gelding has never given me a hard time about any fly mask I put on him, but I'm still glad for the high quality of this mask - oh, and the mud brushes right off without pulling, like some lower quality brands do.
    Date published: 2015-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this mask The velcro is super sticky and I love the color. The fuzz keeps her hair from rubbing off.
    Date published: 2015-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Durable! My horse and his fellow field mates are tough on fly masks'. They would shred all the other brands. Ears/ no ears. Expensive/ cheap -- it didn't matter it would get shredded. I was buying a new one at least once a month-- until I got this Kensington. I bought it late in the season last year and it lasted 3 months and I still have it and plan to use it again this summer. I am buying a new one just incase for a back up.
    Date published: 2015-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality and good fit I bought this for a mare recovering from cataract removal surgery who benefits from sun and wind protection. It has worked very well. She is comfortable and vision through the mask is good, which is why I tend not to use fly masks. It fits well, but is not too snug, and the velcro closure is not flimsy. I followed the fitting advice that the sizes run large, and ordered the Cob/Arab for my Argentine mare who has a small head.
    Date published: 2015-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality My horse suffered an eye injury last year so he always has to wear a fly mask when he gets turned out. This mask is made of quality material. It is durable, the fleece is soft and there is plenty of room around his eyes. My guy is a Morgan with a small head but I always get a size too big. Fly masks should not be snug on your horse...there should be plenty of room for those long eyelashes and those beautiful big eyes. Fly masks are not just for the summer either...If you horse suffers from any kind of eye issues, you should use a fly mask. It provides protection from the wind, debris and from the hay.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I was disappointed. I purchased one of these, loved the color. My friend put in an order so I added another. All three of these masks did not last 2 weeks before the material around the eyes developed pulls and tears. I have had much better result with other fly masks. Just liked the color.
    Date published: 2014-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from favorite fly mask Only fly mask I like. Not too close to eyes, perfect fit, great color choices and good, strong and wide enough velcro strap. For my horse the no ears one is perfect.
    Date published: 2014-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice fit, strong mesh and fashionable This fly mask is made to last. My horse is not a destructor, but the mesh quality is good, the fit is good, and straps are good.
    Date published: 2014-09-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sturdy but has some rough edges The mask itself is made of sturdy, relatively substantial mesh which is not too stiff. The fleece is good, too. Except that it does not line all the edges & the one edge that is not fleece lined (just behind the ears) is rubbing my thin-skinned gray mare to the point where I can no longer use it. I'll sew my own fleece on & I'm sure it will be fine to use after her hide grows back. But be aware if you have a nearly hairless or sensitive horse, they may get rubbed.
    Date published: 2014-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Donkey Loves Fleece Bought to match Angel's Smart Pink fly outfit, sheet and boots. Her horse buddy dresses in Smart Blue
    Date published: 2014-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No rubs and It fits! After continually having to push the eye section back out of my horse's eyes with some other fly masks I've used on my gelding, I've not had to do this with the Kensington Fly Mask with the double darts. My gelding would rub his face and the trouble would begin when the eye sections would start rubbing the area around the eyes. I'm pleased to say the Kensington Fly Mask has caused no rubbing thus far. And the medium size fits my 14.3 hand Sulphur Springs Mustang's head perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit for my Straight Egyptian Arabian It is hard to find things that fit my Straight Egyptian Arabian - and masks are no different - I was very pleased with the double sided Velcro - it makes fitting it for him perfect.
    Date published: 2014-07-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from very durable material the kensington fly mask material seems more durable than other flymasks, and nit is realy easy to clean . my horse tested daily, by rolling in mud and it sttaiyed on and cleaned up in minutes. I also like the strength and design of the mask velcro.
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great mask that stays on!! I brought this mask a few weeks ago. My current mask was being taken off my horse by his pasture buddy. This one fits great although it came up a little small. I have an Arabian so got the Arabian size. He is a larger Arabian and it was just a little small but still works. I am so impressed as it has been staying on him really well. Rather than putting my other mask back on 5 plus times a day. This one is staying on. I am so excited and really happy with it. Can't recommend it enough.Give it a try.
    Date published: 2014-06-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Weird sizing!!! I love the Kensington fly masks- they have an elastic bit to the velcro strap which helps to get them snug without being too tight. They also hold up very well, however beware of the sizing. I ordered a medium thinking small = pony, medium = horse, large must = warmblood/ draft. Boy was I wrong! Medium = 500-700 lb Arabian!! A more descriptive size would be much appreciated.
    Date published: 2014-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a mask that lasts! I bought this mask two years ago and it is still in perfect condition! It is currently on a mare that is consistently outside with younger horses. The Velcro stays secure and there are no signs of fraying or damage from the younger horses. However, it does run big! I got the X-large for a warmblood mare who comfortably wears an oversize bridle and it is almost to big.
    Date published: 2014-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bodhi - My mini Yearling doesn't fit him. Does Kensington make masks for minis, it's the best I've seen so far?
    Date published: 2014-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jasper - My 12 hands pony. The yearling size fits him perfectly. Very good quality.
    Date published: 2014-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Name stitched on it Smartpak is the only place (I know of) that will stitch the horses name on the mask. The young lady who took my call was so helpful about the colors and I got a purple one with yellow stitching. Looks beautiful and of course these are the best wearing masks on the market.
    Date published: 2013-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Mask! I got this for my pony with uveitis/glaucoma who needs to wear a mask year round. The supermasks tend to get a little frayed and unraveled after a while, and I think the Kensington mask is better made.  The fleece is really thick and soft, and it covers all the edges of the mask.   I got a medium, and it just barely fits my 14 hand pony, so I'd definitely equate the medium to a cob size.
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy horse! I am very happy with this fly mask. My quarter horse has a very large jaw, and standard fly masks don't fit him well. The elastic in this one allows for a very good & comfortable fit. I love the colors too and it's very well made. Would definitely recommend!
    Date published: 2013-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2 Darts keeps it away from their eyes! My 17h boy is sometimes in between Horse and WB sizes, the XL size seems to fit him fine, although the top around the ears is quite loose. What I'm thrilled about is the the double dart design actually does lift the material away from his eyes better. I've tried the Cashel and the Supermask with both the mesh is sitting so close to his eyes his eyelashes stick through. I got the smart sage color is I love too.
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks good and durable Bought this for my daughters new pony who has to have pink everything. My daughter loves it, it is very solidly made and her pony has yet to shake or rub it off on a tree.
    Date published: 2013-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and stylish My horse is a small-ish warmblood (~15-2) with a very refined head. I initially bought the small, thinking that was for a small horse, but the box noted that it was "yearling" size, and it was way too small. Returning it was very easy. The medium was a better fit, although not much room for error. It looks great and seems very comfortable and durable.
    Date published: 2013-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Mask This is a very cute fly mask, and it was so affordable. It's also very well made. My mare loves it!
    Date published: 2013-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Fly Mask This is the best fitting fly mask my paint gelding has ever had. It also looks really nice on him. He has worn other brands but managed to lose them in short order. He has not gotten out of this one yet and it seems to be wearing well. I bought another one to keep on hand because I liked the first one so much.
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I had originally bought this mask in a large, as the previous XL Kensington I bought was huge on my 18.2 guy. However, the XL fits him perfectly, and I love the cool purple color.
    Date published: 2013-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Keeper! The fly mask is durable, comfortable, and super cute! I ordered the SmartPink fly mask for my pony and have no regrets. It's a keeper!
    Date published: 2013-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a fly mask my houdini can't escape My young Thoroughbred is the master of getting fly masks off his face - I've tried using zip ties, baling twine, duct tape, etc. to keep them on. Never makes it through his overnight turnout. Until the Kensington SmartPurple mask. The double velcro, combined with the elastic, keeps it in place. i can tell that he has been trying to rub it off, but it stays put. Hurray.
    Date published: 2013-06-09
    • 2015-08-26T12:55CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_124
    • loc_en_US, sid_2290, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.