Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Kensington Fleece Fly Mask

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12290
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

A fly mask that lasts! The Kensington Fleece Fly Mask is constructed of the innovative, extremely durable, fully breathable mesh Textilene® fabric, a breathable mesh fabric that's vibrant and durable. It's made to withstand tough outdoor use. The densely woven PVC strands enable this fabric to be heat-sealed while the high UV performance ensures protection and long lasting color. This fabric provides years of reliable relief against the sun, wind and dirt. Plus, the Textilene® fabric is fully recyclable.
Favorite Features

  • Double eye darts for maximum room around the eyes and added safety
  • Heavy duty double locking VELCRO® Brand Closure and elastic neck strap will ensure a correct fit and will keep the mask on and in place
  • Fleece around the nose and neck will keep your horse comfortable
  • Provides 73% UV protection

Sizing It Up

Small (Large Pony/Yearling)
Medium (Arab/Cob)
Large (Horse)
X-Large (Warmblood/Small Draft)

Kensington Fleece Fly Masks run slightly large, so if you think your horse may be between sizes, please size down.


You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Kensington Fleece Fly Mask is rated 4.7405 out of 5 by 131.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Donkey Loves Fleece Bought to match Angel's Smart Pink fly outfit, sheet and boots. Her horse buddy dresses in Smart Blue
    Date published: 2014-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No rubs and It fits! After continually having to push the eye section back out of my horse's eyes with some other fly masks I've used on my gelding, I've not had to do this with the Kensington Fly Mask with the double darts. My gelding would rub his face and the trouble would begin when the eye sections would start rubbing the area around the eyes. I'm pleased to say the Kensington Fly Mask has caused no rubbing thus far. And the medium size fits my 14.3 hand Sulphur Springs Mustang's head perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit for my Straight Egyptian Arabian It is hard to find things that fit my Straight Egyptian Arabian - and masks are no different - I was very pleased with the double sided Velcro - it makes fitting it for him perfect.
    Date published: 2014-07-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from very durable material the kensington fly mask material seems more durable than other flymasks, and nit is realy easy to clean . my horse tested daily, by rolling in mud and it sttaiyed on and cleaned up in minutes. I also like the strength and design of the mask velcro.
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great mask that stays on!! I brought this mask a few weeks ago. My current mask was being taken off my horse by his pasture buddy. This one fits great although it came up a little small. I have an Arabian so got the Arabian size. He is a larger Arabian and it was just a little small but still works. I am so impressed as it has been staying on him really well. Rather than putting my other mask back on 5 plus times a day. This one is staying on. I am so excited and really happy with it. Can't recommend it enough.Give it a try.
    Date published: 2014-06-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Weird sizing!!! I love the Kensington fly masks- they have an elastic bit to the velcro strap which helps to get them snug without being too tight. They also hold up very well, however beware of the sizing. I ordered a medium thinking small = pony, medium = horse, large must = warmblood/ draft. Boy was I wrong! Medium = 500-700 lb Arabian!! A more descriptive size would be much appreciated.
    Date published: 2014-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a mask that lasts! I bought this mask two years ago and it is still in perfect condition! It is currently on a mare that is consistently outside with younger horses. The Velcro stays secure and there are no signs of fraying or damage from the younger horses. However, it does run big! I got the X-large for a warmblood mare who comfortably wears an oversize bridle and it is almost to big.
    Date published: 2014-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bodhi - My mini Yearling doesn't fit him. Does Kensington make masks for minis, it's the best I've seen so far?
    Date published: 2014-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jasper - My 12 hands pony. The yearling size fits him perfectly. Very good quality.
    Date published: 2014-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Name stitched on it Smartpak is the only place (I know of) that will stitch the horses name on the mask. The young lady who took my call was so helpful about the colors and I got a purple one with yellow stitching. Looks beautiful and of course these are the best wearing masks on the market.
    Date published: 2013-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Mask! I got this for my pony with uveitis/glaucoma who needs to wear a mask year round. The supermasks tend to get a little frayed and unraveled after a while, and I think the Kensington mask is better made.  The fleece is really thick and soft, and it covers all the edges of the mask.   I got a medium, and it just barely fits my 14 hand pony, so I'd definitely equate the medium to a cob size.
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy horse! I am very happy with this fly mask. My quarter horse has a very large jaw, and standard fly masks don't fit him well. The elastic in this one allows for a very good & comfortable fit. I love the colors too and it's very well made. Would definitely recommend!
    Date published: 2013-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2 Darts keeps it away from their eyes! My 17h boy is sometimes in between Horse and WB sizes, the XL size seems to fit him fine, although the top around the ears is quite loose. What I'm thrilled about is the the double dart design actually does lift the material away from his eyes better. I've tried the Cashel and the Supermask with both the mesh is sitting so close to his eyes his eyelashes stick through. I got the smart sage color is I love too.
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks good and durable Bought this for my daughters new pony who has to have pink everything. My daughter loves it, it is very solidly made and her pony has yet to shake or rub it off on a tree.
    Date published: 2013-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and stylish My horse is a small-ish warmblood (~15-2) with a very refined head. I initially bought the small, thinking that was for a small horse, but the box noted that it was "yearling" size, and it was way too small. Returning it was very easy. The medium was a better fit, although not much room for error. It looks great and seems very comfortable and durable.
    Date published: 2013-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Mask This is a very cute fly mask, and it was so affordable. It's also very well made. My mare loves it!
    Date published: 2013-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Fly Mask This is the best fitting fly mask my paint gelding has ever had. It also looks really nice on him. He has worn other brands but managed to lose them in short order. He has not gotten out of this one yet and it seems to be wearing well. I bought another one to keep on hand because I liked the first one so much.
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I had originally bought this mask in a large, as the previous XL Kensington I bought was huge on my 18.2 guy. However, the XL fits him perfectly, and I love the cool purple color.
    Date published: 2013-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Keeper! The fly mask is durable, comfortable, and super cute! I ordered the SmartPink fly mask for my pony and have no regrets. It's a keeper!
    Date published: 2013-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a fly mask my houdini can't escape My young Thoroughbred is the master of getting fly masks off his face - I've tried using zip ties, baling twine, duct tape, etc. to keep them on. Never makes it through his overnight turnout. Until the Kensington SmartPurple mask. The double velcro, combined with the elastic, keeps it in place. i can tell that he has been trying to rub it off, but it stays put. Hurray.
    Date published: 2013-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Fly Mask I bought this particular fly mask to match my fly sheet. It's very nice, fit is great and have only had it a couple weeks but surely seems to be durable. I would recommend this brand, plus same brand fly sheet has been the best! Going on two years of daily wear in Florida.
    Date published: 2013-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very tough mask I read the reviews by others that said these masks ran large so to order a size smaller than normal. My quarter horse has an arab shaped head, and he wears arab halters and fly masks in other brands, so I ordered the medium mask. It high-watered on him! After I exchanged it for a large, it fits great. I love that is has a little piece of elastic under the jaw so the mask won't be too tight yet will still hold firm to his head to keep bugs off of him. I used to use Farnam Supermasks, but after this, I will only buy Kensington. The mesh is a lot thicker and is standing up to daily wear much better than the Supermasks have in the past. I am very impressed with the durability and construction of it, and he has not lost it once!
    Date published: 2013-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Fly Mask This flymask is very nice. I have a Haflinger with a small head and usually wears a cob size but with this fly mask she wears a regular horse size. It's very nice and the pink is perfect for my mare.
    Date published: 2013-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good My horse wears an arab in the Farnam Super Mask, and based on other reviews, I ordered the medium in the Kensington, but it was way too small. I just got the large and he has worn it for 2 days so I can't rate the durability yet. I do love that it has an elastic panel on the throat latch-I really like that it flexes with him and it won't be too tight. It seems to be very well constructed, and the mesh seems thicker than the Super Mask. So far, I am happy, and the Smart Purple is a very striking color on my bay.
    Date published: 2013-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I'll definitely be purchasing this mask again (when I need to). I got the purple and it looks fantastic on my dark bay horse. It holds up well, but the horse next to mine isn't bad about grabbing onto his mask, so I can't attest for the durability given a much more mouthy stall/pasture mate. I personally think it runs a tad big. I have a thoroughbred and he does have a kind of small and delicate head (he wears horse-sized bridles, though) so I went with the medium and it fits great. I feel like the large would be way too big.
    Date published: 2013-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stylish fly mask My mare looks so stylish in this mask. It fits well. Looks great.
    Date published: 2013-03-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Plaid makes an ordinary item more fun My horse has uveitis, so he wears a fly mask whenever he goes outside or we ride, for UV protection. The plaid is a nice way to add some fun to an otherwise "ordinary" product. He is a 17+ hand TB with a pretty big head, so I ordered the Large. I found this runs true to size. If you're in doubt, though, and you're between sizes, I would size up.I give this a 4 overall, though, just because I wish there were two separate holes for the ears, instead of just one large opening at the top. With one large opening, he might eventually find a way to remove the mask. However, we haven't had any problems with slipping or removal yet.
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from old style love the quality and fit as well as workmanship on mask but the style is last years model and there isn't a hole for the fore lock to come out only ears- the new style is as the photo shows with a large oval cutout but smartpak isn't selling the model in the photo
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Weird.. I got this fly mask in the wonderful catalog blowout area of the Smartpak store for literally $1! While the price was unbeatable, the fit of this flymask is plain weird. my mare has a smaller head for a thoroughbred, so i got the medium size and the bottom of the mask ends right under her eyes. while the qualty is very nice (kensington always is), it just didnt fit her well.
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Investment I have a draft Morgan cross and the fly mask fits him well . I was sceptical at first he has never worn a mask before and it was kinda pricy, but I am very happy I bought it. my horse is on pasture turn out so he is exposed to rain and shine and it has help up well. I also got it embroidered and it looks amazing I get compliments all the time . I took it off my horse the other day and he put his head down and slipped it back in so he is still wearing it . He is happy as well . I also purchased the fly boots and they started to wear after two weeks so I contacted kensington and they shipped a new pair that day, and that pair are wearing great .Kensington stands behind their products and they are well worth paying the extra buck .
    Date published: 2012-10-06
    • 2015-05-22T08:12CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_117
    • loc_en_US, sid_2290, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.