Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Kensington Breakaway Halter with Lead

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12322
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Kensington Breakaway Halter Set with Lead is stylish and functional!

Favorite Features

  • Triple stitch, 1” nylon webbing with padded nose band
  • Leather breakaway at buckle and snap at throat
  • Matching 9.5 ft. 5/8” poly lead adds a touch of fashion to your everyday halter 
  • Exclusive USA made 2002 TEXTILENE ® Mesh is specially formulated to withstand fading, fire, mildew, soiling and wear and tear
  • Brass plated snaps and hardware to insure maximum strength.

Sizing It Up

Small (Pony/Yearling)
Medium (Arab/Cob)
Large (Standard Horse)
XLarge (Warmblood/Small Draft)

Please note- sizes tend to run small. If your horse is a large cob, then you should consider ordering a large size halter. If your horse is a large horse, then you should consider order an XLarge size halter.

Halter Size...Crown Piece (ring to middle hole)...Cheek Piece...Nose Band...Throat Latch
Small...12 ½ "...5"...8"...10"
Medium...16 ½"...6 ½"...9"...13"
Large...18"...7"...11"...14"
XLarge...20 ½"...7"...11"...14"

Please note, all breakaways halters will release at different degrees of pressure under different circumstances.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Kensington Breakaway Halter with Lead is rated 4.4931 out of 5 by 144.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Halter I got this halter for my first horse, a 5 year old pinto. I figured if he spooks, or anything, it would be a good choice. The first week he was at our barn, he stepped on his lead rope and freaked out. The breakaway broke perfectly and also at the right time! I was very happy with the halter, aside from the fact that I then had to chase my horse around the farm to catch him! ;) I have had this halter for over a year, and we just replaced it, but only for a different color for Splash's Christmas present! (blue to red)
    Date published: 2013-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just recently purchased this halter and am very pleased with the quality. The red looks fantastic on my dark bay gelding and the padded noseband is really nice for him since he's always bumping himself. He does enjoy halter tag and I have yet to see if it will hold up to his games, but I am pleased so far.
    Date published: 2013-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kensington Breakaway Halter Halter fits well and is padded which is nice. Haven't had to wash it yet so I can't speak to that but seems durable. Lead line nice and very long.
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! I love this color on my mare! This halter is very durable and I love the padded nose.
    Date published: 2013-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter! Love this halter and lead rope set. Very good quality. I didn't love the price, but I have the rest of the smart pink collection and of course needed the matching halter. When I put it on my horse I was not disappointed and feel it was worth the money.
    Date published: 2013-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Halter Tag Winner If I added up all of the money I have spent on halters over the past 7 yrs I could buy another horse! My OTB likes to play over the fence with his buddies and this halter looks like it will withstand many games. Fit is perfect, love the padded noseband and while I love the purple color on my bay boy, I think Santa might bring him the blue as well!
    Date published: 2012-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful halters at a great value! These are some of the best looking halters I have ever purchased. I bought the black and the sage green and love them both. I'll probably get them in every color! I also needed lead ropes. So that fact that these came with matching lead ropes was a huge bonus. The lead ropes are long and soft, not course, stiff or short like many I find in the store. I've only had them a week, but I'm expect to be very pleased with them in the long run.
    Date published: 2012-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality and value I am very pleased with this product. The quality is obvious and it fits my horse beautifully. While he is almost 18 hands,his head is long but narrow and finely chiseled. Most halters are too wide for him or too short. The Kensington halter fits him perfectly and looks just great. It is nicely padded and I appreciate the safety of the breakaway feature. I have found the halter my horse will wear for life!
    Date published: 2012-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter Love this halter- it still looks snazzy after a month of use and is very well made. Wish it could be personalized!
    Date published: 2012-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive halter on my bay Love the blue on my dark bay mare! Very attractive halter and matching lead rope! Love it!
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter We use this halter for t/o and I just love it. The pink color combination looks super cute on my buckskin, and I really like the breakaway feature, as well. The cute plaid also hides dirt really well, which is a huge plus.
    Date published: 2012-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter This is a very beautiful halter that is well-made. It looks great on my horse and I received several compliments on it from barnmates. The checkered design hides the barn dust well and even though we use it every day, it looks new and clean.
    Date published: 2012-09-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great buy! Very cute halter and lead combination! I love the padded noseband. Great product for the price!
    Date published: 2012-09-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very pretty I love the look of this halter and it would be fantastic if it could be personalized! The halter itself is well made and sturdy!
    Date published: 2012-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Halter! I purchased this halter in large for my 16.2hh thoroughbred and it fit him absolutely perfect right out of the package! In the past, with nearly every halter I've bought for him, I've had to add holes around the nose piece due to his longer, narrower face. I love the padded nose band, which sits nicely and gives him some added protection without rubbing or leaving marks. The blue plaid is beautiful on him with his bay coloring and I would buy him another without hesitation when the time comes!I ordered a few extra breakaway pieces to have on hand, and immediately changed out the one that comes with the halter The replacement tabs are much stronger than the original and I haven't had to change it yet (he is pastured with 8 other geldings).I'm VERY pleased with this halter and the lead rope that comes with it. The quality of both are great and match nicely!Definitely 5 stars!!
    Date published: 2012-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I adore this halter. It is amazingly durable, safe, and the plaid colors are great! My pony has yet to lose his SmartBlue halter (knock on wood). It fits him perfectly (he is a larger pony, so the medium fits him to a tee), and I like how the safety release is a small leather piece on the side rather than up over the poll. It is very easy to replace. Great quality and a great price! Definitely purchase this for your horse!
    Date published: 2012-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Halter! I love the quality of this halter! Excellent purchase that lasts! I have bought two and am planning to buy a third for my horse. I bought the second to give him a color change in his "wardrobe". The noseband is a nice, soft leather so it doesn't rub. Everyone at the farm always compliments Doc on his halter.
    Date published: 2012-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Cute! I ordered the SmartPink halter/lead and it looks adorable on my palomino paint! It fits him perfectly (He's 16hh) and I ordered the Large, standard horse size. I like the material and the lead is very bright compared to other equipment in the barn. I only gave it 4 stars in value because even though its very cute, I still believe its a bit overpriced. I do love the kensington line though!
    Date published: 2012-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Love this halter in every aspect! Looks great and is very durable.
    Date published: 2012-04-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too Small This would have been a decent halter and lead but the cheek pieces are oddly short. The full size did not fit my horse. 16.3H warmblood
    Date published: 2012-04-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs Small I've had this halter for about a year now, but I only used it for about 8 months before making it a spare. I loved that it was a nice breakaway halter, and the quality is impeccable. But it does run small, and was pretty expensive. Very stylish though, I love the look - probably the most attractive, well made nylon halter I've owned.
    Date published: 2012-04-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice halter my daughter loves the coloreasy to clean the nylon & the padding seems adequate, good quality
    Date published: 2012-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best halter Really nice halter. i have had mine for 2 years now. it lasts great. good quality. i really like how its padded
    Date published: 2011-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Cute This halter set is really cute, a little expensive compared to other halter sets that are available but the other ones are not nearly as cute and quality is not as good. The throat latch is good quality and strong, seems like it will last a while. I would buy it again.
    Date published: 2011-12-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from breakaway for no trama drama nice halter, nose padding is nice but cracks pretty easily, main part of halter is very durable and easy to clean. I've used the halter for over a year and its been on pretty much for the entire time.(I have a mare no one but me can halter and is an escape artist). unfortunately for me the strap breaks if you look at it cross eyed. the leather break away is VERY thin, thinner then any other break away strap I've encountered or used. so the design for break away is good. looks fabulous with the bay coat of my arab though. also looks nice on a sorrel.
    Date published: 2011-09-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the look but not the price For the quality of the halter, i think the price is a little high. I love the design, but for the price i think it could be a little more durable and tough. Ive had mine for two years and it shows alot of wear, especially under the noseband . I love to stay with the "kensington theme", but the halter wore down quickly with use, where as the fly mask, boots, and sheet are tough as nails. For the higher price id like them to be a little more durable than the 25$ halters at tractor supply.
    Date published: 2011-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Buy! I bought this halter for my Arabian gelding in the light blue and I absolutely love it! He is black and the overlays are light blue/white/black plaid which looks great on him. Halter seems to be great quality, brass is nice and shiny and has not turned at all, although the brass on the lead line has started to a bit, after only a month, but it was free with the halter, so I'm okay with that. Some people were saying to order up a size but I disagree- my gelding usually wears a cob and the medium size was perfect for him and ran true to size. I also ordered the extra breakaway piece but don't see any problems in the construction, it should hold up fine as long as your horse is a frequent puller backer or head tosser. Definitely recommend!!!
    Date published: 2011-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from kensington breakaway halter w/lead This halter is exactly what I was looking for, stylist and safe at an affordable price.
    Date published: 2011-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definately a good buy I bought two of these halters after reading the other reviews, I'm glad that I did. They look beautiful and are made well. My mare did rear and pull away from the trailer and one of them broke (as it should have) I am not upset about it. I will be buying these for all of my horses soon, but I would definately invest in the replacement strap...never know what might happen :)
    Date published: 2011-07-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Disappointing 2nd time around... originally i ordered the Smart Blue O/S halter for my Oldenburg mare---fit beautifully, I was incredibly impressed with the good quality stitching and durability of the halter. Just recently i went to the Smartpak store and picked up the green color---looks great, but when i got home i saw that the lead rope was a disaster. one of the nylon strings (for lack of a better word) was defected (lumpy). I was very disappointed...i expected better quality.i love this combo set, my only complaint is that the leather tab seems to be a little bit thin/flimsy---especially when you have a 1200lb warmblood on the other end of the rope who thinks eating grass is more fun than going places with a human.
    Date published: 2011-06-18
    • 2015-08-29T01:55CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_131
    • loc_en_US, sid_2322, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.