Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Horse Shave

Item #16209
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

 

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

This little gadget is amazing and it really works! If you get wriggly noses when trying to trim whiskers, then despair no more - ditch the scissors/clippers and use the Horse Shave Razor!

The Horse Shave is a very quick and easy way to remove all those unwanted whiskers from muzzles. It can also be used for removing any unwanted hair from the face and legs, plus removing bot fly eggs.

  • Remove Unwanted Whiskers and Hair From Muzzle
  • Safely Remove Long Hair Around Eyes
  • Removes Bot Fly Eggs
  • Set of 3

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Soft Rubber Curry Combs help remove mud and ...
    Description:
    Soft Rubber Curry Combs help remove mud and loosen matted dirt for quick grooming. Black, Blue Glitter, Pink Glitter or Purple Glitter. (Glitter makes grooming more fun!) Favorite Features Fits comfortable in your hand Durable Fun color options! Imported.
    Eqyss Avocado Mist is an oil-free, silicone-free leave ...
    Description:
    Eqyss Avocado Mist is an oil-free, silicone-free leave on conditioning spray that maintains the moisture balance within the hair shaft. Favorite Features Prevents the hair from becoming dry, brittle, and breaking off Shines and conditions the coat with a unique ...
    Professional show ring results. Provides perfect grip for ...
    Description:
    Professional show ring results. Provides perfect grip for tighter braids, neater bands and minimal stray hairs. Trains stand-up manes to lie flat and combs out without washing, allowing easier care for days after. 16 oz.
    Heavy denier nylon Portable Grooming Organizer with 2 ...
    Description:
    Heavy denier nylon Portable Grooming Organizer with 2 hook tack rack. Adjustable shoulder strap with clip. 14" pocket with zipper closure. Four 6" pockets, three 8" pockets and two bottom pockets (9" and 2"). Favorite Features Portable Plenty of storage ...
    Round, very firm rubber curry, features a molded ...
    Description:
    Round, very firm rubber curry, features a molded strap for easier grooming. Green. 4 " diameter. Rubber Hand Groomer effectively lifts out dirt and breaks up clumps of mud to deep clean. Easy to clean out Imported.
    A gentle, yet effective cloth designed to clean,Protect ...
    Description:
    A gentle, yet effective cloth designed to clean,Protect and promote healthy skin. The Dermacloth is an innovative concept in rinse-free cleaning and management of skin problems. Dermacloth is commonly used for rain scald, scratches, ringworm, girth itch, cracked hooves and ...
    Proof that the simplest designs can also be ...
    Description:
    Proof that the simplest designs can also be the most effective! Favorite Features Oval plastic curry brush with adjustable handlewill scrub deep down and remove caked on mud and loose hair, will help bring natural oils to the surface fora ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Horse Shave is rated 4.2381 out of 5 by 84.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this little thing! I had never used one of these before, and I love it! It's great on whiskers or anywhere else. From now on, it will be a staple in my tack box.
    Date published: 2015-03-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought the horse shaves to trim my horses muzzle. I love how convenient they are to use.
    Date published: 2015-02-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad Did not work, will not purchase again. Unhappy with product.
    Date published: 2015-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product!!! Its a must for horse shows for touch ups. Great product for the price!!
    Date published: 2014-08-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from each blade only good for one use I guess I shouldn't be surprised because they are so cheap, but each blade is only good for a maximum of one use. I actually had to use two to finish trimming my horse's whiskers the second time.
    Date published: 2014-08-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from dull I loved the original purple shavers. The Smartpak version is awful. They are dull and do not shave.
    Date published: 2014-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great Have a horse who hates the clippers. This product works great and is convenient.
    Date published: 2014-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome alternative these are really handy if your horse doesn't like clippers near their face like my horse does. I have a Percheron cross and she likes these much better, trims her whiskers and hair under her chin just fine!
    Date published: 2014-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great, great price These are so handy to keep in a tack box. They work great on bot eggs also.
    Date published: 2014-02-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for touch-ups These are perfect for muzzle maintenance in between times you get out the clippers. The quality does vary based on the batch, unfortunately, but I've never had one that doesn't cut; just ones that go dull quickly and then end up tugging at the whiskers. I much prefer to do the job with clippers but these are a good substitute.
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Agree! Bring back the purple ones! Blue ones didn't shave at all. Purple ones were awesome. Sad pony face :(
    Date published: 2013-12-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Where are the purple ones? The old brand/type were purple and they worked wonderfully. Like some of the other reviewers, the last batch I purchased was blue. They can't be that hard to make, but yes, the blue ones don't work at all. They're dull. Unless Smartpak starts carrying the purple variety again, don't buy these.
    Date published: 2013-11-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Whisker trim bummer I used to get the packs of the purple ones from Smartpak all the time. The last pack I ordered, though, was the Smartpak variety and they didn't work. At all. I tried all three, and even though my horse is kept trimmed up and doesn't have a big goat beard, they didn't touch a whisker. This is probably the one and only Smartpak item I've ever been very disappointed in. I now just grab a few when I'm at my local tack shop. 
    Date published: 2013-11-01
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't Even Waste the $6 I purchased these to shave my horses whiskers without the use of clippers. They do not work, do not even bother wasting the $5 or $6 to buy them. It's easier to just go to your local tack stop & pick up the $1.50 purple whisker shavers that everybody sells.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't buy! Either I got a bad batch, or these really don't work. I called to order the purple quick shave razors and thought that was what I was getting, but the SmartPak variety arrived. OK, how tough could they be to make? Well, I tried 2 of the 3 in my pack and they just didn't grab or trim the muzzle hairs at all, trying either direction of hair growth - unlike the ones I usually get. But when I called, SmartPak was great, as usual, about crediting me for them.
    Date published: 2013-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome chin trimming tool These are superb for trimming chin hairs, especially with ticklish horses that want to play with clippers. Easy to carry, inexpensive...I haven't used clippers for her chin in years. Thumbs up!
    Date published: 2013-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from horse shave are great products! I have been using these for a while, and they are great the morning after you've clipped your horses' muzzle, ears, etc... I always seem to miss somewhere!!! They stay pretty sharp, so that I have been able to get several uses out of one shaver, which is really nice! They're easy to pack along too- not like packing 2 sets of clippers, oil, etc. Great product, and I have recommended these to all of my friends, who now use them!!!
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Fragile Several of my family members tried to use these with no success. The first two tried broke at the top after two attempts.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Manufacturing Issue I've used this product or something similar before. However, this particular product does not work as well. The blade is not close enough to the edge so that it actually works. Therefore, don't bother with it. Save your money.
    Date published: 2013-03-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the best Out of all of these shavers, for some reason - these were not sharp enough and wouldn't get the whiskers.
    Date published: 2013-02-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dissapointed I have used a similar product that I purchased from my local feed and tack store. However, this product did not work at all. All three shavers were the same and would not cut my horses whiskers, which are not terribly long.
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not the Same, Nearly Unusable. I've always used the little purple shavers for one of my clipper shy horses. I ordered these for the first time from SmartPak, thinking they would be the same, and they look VERY similar, but are not quite the same. They aren't as wide or sturdy, and they just about don't shave the hair. I tried 3 of them from my pack of 6, and they all were terrible (left hair after multiple passes, bent, etc). Not sure if SmartPak just got a bad batch or changed suppliers, but the ones I received were pretty much unusable.Mine came loose in a plastic bag, not in the "Horse Shave" packaging I'm used to. I'm thinking perhaps a new manufacturer dropped the ball. I'll be ordering these elsewhere for now.
    Date published: 2012-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from How did we live without these? These little shavers are fantastic, I recommend them to everyone who needs to give their horse a quick shave whether they tolerate clippers or not. So easy and so quick.
    Date published: 2011-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great training aid These are great for training a horse to have their face/ears clipped my mare was nervous around clippers and for a while I would just run these over her muzzle and on her ears and it worked great! I always keep a couple of these around for in between clippings
    Date published: 2011-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Love! These are great little shavers that great for last minute touch ups at shows or for horses don't like their muzzles clipped. Highly recommend them!
    Date published: 2011-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kool Little Item This is a kool little item which is easy to use. Both of my horses do not seem to mind it, gentle & quick.
    Date published: 2011-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Quick! I bought these to use on my OTTB between proper shaves. He doesn't care about clippers and stands perfectly well for all the silly things I do to him, but I imagine that if you had a horse that wasn't as willing, these would be awesome. Very quick, just glides along the hair. I would say, though, to be better about changing the blades for your horse than you would when shaving yourself. :)
    Date published: 2011-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for "scaredy" horses! My OTTB is fearful of clippers of any sort. So when his whiskers were getting to look like an old man's I was desperate. I bought these and they work like a charm. They last for several uses and he does nothing when I use them on him!
    Date published: 2011-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from handy to have these around I am happy with these 'horse shavers'! small, lightweight and do the job easily and safely....nice to have them in my tack box to keep from getting the 'goat beard' look ...
    Date published: 2011-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy! Great little shavers, so easy to use. I can toss one in the grooming box to take to shows or pull one out for a quick shave at the barn. Beats unwrapping clipper cords, finding the right size clipper blade. So so so so easy and fast!
    Date published: 2011-06-15
    • 2016-05-25T17:36CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_75
    • loc_en_US, sid_6209, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders