Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Herm Sprenger KK Ultra Aurigan Loose Ring - 16mm

Herm Sprenger
- Item #17105
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Herm Sprenger KK Ultra Aurigan Loose Ring provides an incomparable precise contact between rider and horse. KK Ultra Bits were developed after extensive research at the Veterinary University in Hanover, Germany. The results revealed some new findings: the interior volume of the mouth is less than previously thought and the palate is smaller and flatter. Therefore, the space left for a bit is quite limited. KK Ultra bits take advantage of the research and of the exceptional sensitivity of the tongue by shortening the link and turning it 45 degrees. These two changes caused the link to rest fully on the tongue without squeezing or pinching it. With the link resting fully on the tongue the sense of touch is utilized and clear instructions can be passed through the reins.

Favorite Features

  • Adapted to the anatomy of the horse’s mouth for clearer communication
  • Limited pressure put on the palate
  • Made from Aurigan which has high oxidation properties and provides a pleasant taste to encourage chewing activity and easy acceptance of the bit
  • 85% copper, 4% silicon and 11% zinc

Sizing It Up

  • 70mm stainless steel rings. 16mm thickness

You Might Like
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Herm Sprenger KK Ultra Aurigan Loose Ring - 16mm is rated 4.9355 out of 5 by 31.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the KK Ultra bits This is the 4th Sprenger bit I've bought- they're spendy but I've been happy with them for all my horses, so the new boy gets one too. I like the ergonomic center link for gentle, clear, pain-free communication.
    Date published: 2014-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expensive, but completely worth it! I bought this bit about 8 months ago, and I love it! I ride a horse that is not willing to connect to the bit, but he loves his loose ring now! You definitely need to clean them with the HS metal cleaner, though. Overall, this is a great product!!
    Date published: 2014-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expensive, But Worth It These bits last forever if you take care of them, and the comfort of the horse is so, so important. The way these bits are designed makes them worth the price!
    Date published: 2013-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bit These are the best, I have used this bit on many horses and it works wonderfully on pretty much all of them unless they simply don't like loose ring bits.While it costs a pretty penny it is worth it, my horse liked to ignore me at times when using other bits the same diameter, and was also loose ring. But with this one he doesn't ignore me and takes it into his mouth without issue.
    Date published: 2013-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful but $$$ Very Expensive, not sure why, but my sensitive horse relaxes and goes softly in it. One of those items that we ignore the price to buy to treat our horses well.
    Date published: 2012-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from pricey but worth it unfortunately Smartpak does not carry all available sizes so had to return and purchase elsewhere but Smartpak was extremely helpful in working through sizing issues and return
    Date published: 2012-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good quality These bits are pricey but I definately noticed a difference in my horse's acceptance of the bit.
    Date published: 2012-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent bit! arrived in a timely fashion when others put the bit on back order. smart pack had bit in stock. my horse loves the bit and is much calmer and more relaxed than with an eggbutt snaffle
    Date published: 2012-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are all I seem to use. I have several of these---They are my staple snaffles.
    Date published: 2012-03-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best Bit Ever You can't get a better bit than this. I have better rides in this bit than any other bit I have tried. My horse is more flexible, and accepts the bit easily. The quality of the bit is outstanding, I only gave 3 stars for value, because the bit cost more than my entire Dressage bridle! I will never ride in anything but a Sprenger KK Ultra bit. My horse is a 5 1/2 and I ordered a 5 3/4 after reading reviews, and ended up having to exchange it for a 5 1/4. For some reason they don't make this bit in a 5 1/2, so order the next size down if your size is not available.
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Revolutionary! When I started looking for a new bit, I asked this fellow rider how she liked her Herm Sprenger bit. She said, it revolutionized her riding. I figured she exaggerated a little bit, but gave it a try and got one of my own. My gelding not only accepts the bit, but stretches into the bit and is more relaxed than ever before. With confidence I can proclaim that this bit indeed revolutionized my riding as well! Worth the money !!!
    Date published: 2012-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice bit My horse accepted this bit right away with no problems at all. I had to exchange the first one I ordered though. It was too big and I had to go a size down. It's expensive but the quality is there. I hope it will be the last bit I have to buy.
    Date published: 2011-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice bit My horse took to this bit right away. He should for the price! I have used happy mouth bits in the past so this was a big purchase for me. Overall, I am very pleased with this bit.
    Date published: 2011-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product My horse thinks this bit is wonderful...and that's enough for me!
    Date published: 2011-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality Bit Very high quality bit. Nice feel in horses mouth, lots of nice foam created from chewing the bit. Very pleased with this purchase.
    Date published: 2011-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Bit, Very Pleased Excellent quality. Pleased with the Aurigan mouthpiece. Would choose again.
    Date published: 2011-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 4th horse using this bit! I have had this bit, or variations on the theme, on 4 different horses. My 8 yo mare has a remarkably soft mouth, and she tolerates this like a dream. My old schoolmaster had a mouth like a brick from being worked solely in the double bridle for YEARS before I got him, and he responded to this bit quite nicely. Polishes up great for shows, with a little soap and water, and HS Diamond Paste!!
    Date published: 2011-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely beautiful bit... ...particularly for young warmbloods in training. I only wish they weren't so pricey, but the quality is excellent.
    Date published: 2010-12-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the bit, hate the price This bit helps me and my horse so much. I use it for dressage, and my horse likes it a lot better than any other bit I've tired. Its steep price is its only drawback, but I think its worth it.
    Date published: 2010-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BOTH horses love it Both go well in this bit. The 19 year old has been using it for years. Tried on my young guy and another has been ordered.
    Date published: 2010-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best These bits are simply the best. Fit, quality, and value are unprecedented.
    Date published: 2010-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Bit Horses really seemed to enjoy this bit, both the structure and material. They are more subtle and willing in the jaw and appear more happy to go right to work.
    Date published: 2010-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth Every Penny This bit is worth every penny. Our large pony often leaned on his old bit and pulled on our 11 year old daughter arms. This bit keeps him from doing that. It also rewards him when he is in the proper position, by giving to him, even if our daughter hasn't felt it yet. This has help get him much more obedient. I would recommend this bit to anyone who does dressage.
    Date published: 2009-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth Every Penny! The Herm Sprenger KK Ultra Bits are worth every penny! I was hesitant that throwing more money into a bit would really make a difference, but the KK Ultra Loose Ring has really helped me keep my horse's mouth soft and sensitive. Even when I have to get tough with him, I know it's not hurting his mouth or palate because it is specially shaped and jointed. This bit is so well made - the rings slide so easily never stick or get caught, which also helps me be more forgiving on my horse's mouth. I love the two-tone metal, and after using the Herm Sprenger Diamond Paste, it looks like brand new even after two years of daily use.
    Date published: 2009-04-25
    • 2015-08-30T15:10CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_29
    • loc_en_US, sid_7105, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.