Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Harwich Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle by SmartPak

Harwich by SmartPak
- Item #17215
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather that’s vegetable tanned.  With an innovative padded crown design that allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area.  Superb craftsmanship is reflected in the fine details and stainless steel hardware.  An excellent value. Available exclusively at SmartPak.

Favorite Features

  • Crafted in rich Hazelnut leather with dark brown padding on the crown, noseband and browband
  • Fancy stitch ¾” completely padded noseband and ½” padded brow band
  • 5/8” cheeks with hook stud ends and stainless steel hardware with roller buckle on caveson
  • Complete with 5/8” raised fancy stitched laced reins

Imported

Sizing It Up

Size: Cob, Full, O/S

Color: Brown  w/ Dark Brown Padding

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Wellfleet Monocrown Wide Noseband Hunter Bridle is our ...
    Description:
    Wellfleet Monocrown Wide Noseband Hunter Bridle is our favorite choice for Hunter and Derby horses! Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Designed to alleviate pressure on the sensitive ...
    The Rodrigo Fancy Stitched Wide Noseband Bridle is ...
    Description:
    The Rodrigo Fancy Stitched Wide Noseband Bridle is created from Rodrigo Pessoa's competition-proven designs and then meticulously crafter from hand-finished American leather. Rodrigo bridlework is created with attention to detail that distinguishes top horseshow equipment. Trendy fancy stitched 1.25" wide ...
    Wellfleet Monocrown Hunter Bridle is a traditional and ...
    Description:
    Wellfleet Monocrown Hunter Bridle is a traditional and classic choice! Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Designed to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area, the redesigned genuine ...
    Made in Italy. Supreme quality and durability, synonymous ...
    Description:
    Made in Italy. Supreme quality and durability, synonymous with the exceptional comfort they offer to the rider and the horse. These characteristics are proven each day by the great riders who have always chosen the precision and technology offered by ...
    Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest ...
    Description:
    Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship.The Wellfleet Fancy Stitch Padded Halter by SmartPak is elegant and exquisitely detailed,featuring extra fine stitching and supple rich leather. Carefully crafted to ...
    The Rodrigo Fancy Stitched Padded Bridlewas created from ...
    Description:
    The Rodrigo Fancy Stitched Padded Bridlewas created from Rodrigo Pessoa's competition-proven designs and then meticulously crafted from hand-finished American leather. Rodrigo bridlework is created with attention to detail that distinguishes top horseshow equipment and will make you stand out in ...
    Following the success of the Plymouth line, SmartPak ...
    Description:
    Following the success of the Plymouth line, SmartPak is proud to introduce the Plymouth Elite. The Plymouth Elite takes all of the wonderful features of the Plymouth line and adds additional enhancements such as a true padded monocrown and raised ...
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Harwich Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.75 out of 5 by 248.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft out of the box I bought this about a month ago and love it!! It is soft right out of the box and doesn't need to be broken in at all. It is very easy to put together and the stitching gives it that elegant look for an adorable price.
    Date published: 2016-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle I got this a month ago, the leather came out of the box supple and was easy to put together I rode in it the day I got it and it fit my horse really well.
    Date published: 2016-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible! I bought this bridle last June and it was incredible for my show season! I haven't ridden in it since I returned to college but it held up wonderfully over the summer. I rode in it almost every day and showed in it every weekend. I had girls with 300 dollar bridles complementing on it. One even said she had wished she had bought mine instead of her 250 dollar bridle. I love that the crown piece threads through. So much more comfortable for my horses pole. It never rubbed him the wrong way and looks and feels like a bridle that would be double the price!
    Date published: 2016-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely bridle I purchased this bridle in OS fits Percheron X well and easily adapted to because of supple leather. I believe it will wear well and be in use for years to come.
    Date published: 2016-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Impressed! I just received the bridle yesterday, so I can't comment on durability, but it is beautiful. I was a little worried about sizing after reading some comments, but it fits my pretty standard 16 h TB perfectly, I mean like it was made for him. The leather was soft and supple out of the box and MUCH darker than in the picture, everyone who has seen it at the barn has commented on how nice it is (especially for the price). The fancy stitch is gorgeous and the construction is super solid. Assembly is a breeze and gets even easier with a quick oiling. Overall, I am so impressed with this bridle!
    Date published: 2016-02-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fits weird and crooked I bought this as a show bridle for my APHA gelding that can wear a cob if neededbut don't love it the leather is rubbing off and not a good quality and it fits tiny and doesn't sit straight on his head with the cavason strap in place.
    Date published: 2016-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much better quality than I expected! I was in the market for a new show bridle and decided to try out the Harwich Padded bridle. Worst case, I could return it if I didn't like the leather or fit. The leather is much nicer than I expected. Very soft right out of the box. Nice color as well.Some have issues with the throat latch being too long but I did not find that to be a problem. My horse does have a large jowl though. The cavesson could be an inch or two longer for him. This bridle will stay at my house and come out for shows only. I believe it will last a long time. Photo is from the second time it was used.
    Date published: 2016-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice bridle! Very nice bridle! Good quality, supple leather. Doesn't need to be oiled before use. The throat latch is very long and has to go on the last hole! Otherwise it fits my OTTB well.
    Date published: 2016-02-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Schooling bridle I've had this bridle almost a year. It is good for what it costs, particularly with the SmartPerks and USEF discounts. I showed in it last season and aside from weird sizing, I had no complaints. However, it just hasn't held up the way I'd hoped. The leather is starting to look cracked despite proper care and storage and the figure 8 noseband has stretched noticeably. I'll have to downgrade it to schooling quality this season and show in something else.
    Date published: 2016-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Compliments at the barn! My horse was overdue for a bridle upgrade and this lovely, well priced Harwich did not disappoint! The padded leather on the nose and brow bands is nice for her and the reins are nice for me. Rich chestnut brown color will match many quality saddles.
    Date published: 2016-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, unique bridle Really love the look of this bridle. It has a classic hunter look with a twist with the intertwining cavesson. The horse size fits my 15 hand quarter horse nicely, and I love the thicker noseband. The padding is great throughout all the pressure points, and the fancy stitching on the noseband, browband, and reins are a nice touch. The color was beautiful and the leather was supple right out of the box. I also purchased the matching standing martingale and they make a beautiful pair. Definitely recommend this bridle and will purchase more in the future.
    Date published: 2016-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The reviews are right: Best bridle for the money The reviews are unanimous. This is a lovely, supple, high quality bridle for a fraction of what you might expect to pay. With a little neatsfoot oil it darkened to a nice havana brown. Fits my TB perfectly, and the monocrown is comfortable for him. You can't possibly get a better bridle for the money.
    Date published: 2016-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Harwich Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle by SmartPak Very nice quality for the cost. Soft leather and it looks great on the horses.
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Quality, Seems more comfortable. The picture lead me to believe it would be more of an oakbark color, it's much darker for those of you hoping for the same. However I do love this bridle, its padding and affordability are great. Does have a very long throat latch though.
    Date published: 2016-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Love this bridle. My boy seems to like it too which is what matters most. The padding is very soft and the leather very nice. I got it on sale and it was a great buy.
    Date published: 2015-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Leather is amazing looks expensive. nice soft leather, beautiful color. I love it
    Date published: 2015-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Bridle; Odd Sizing I JUST got this bridle in the mail and have yet to use it so far so I can't peak in durability or anything, but I can say that this bridle is stunning. The color is a dark brown originally with a rich auburn tint, almost brightening it rather than leaving it to bore the eye with simple brown. I was cautious at first simply because some of the reviews said it was quite a bold orange out of the box, but I can personally say that the color is absolutely stunning, so stunning that I don't even believe hot oil will be required in the process of oiling. The color is simply PERFECT.The stitching is lovely and the padding is really, really nice, and I personally love the updated crown piece as I can already tell that the removed pressure is going to do well with my young one that loves to have his head. The only quirk I see (And I'm not complaining) would be the odd sizing. The browband is quite large, and though I'm not concerned about it, it simply has an odd look to it, and as other reviews have mentioned, the throatlatch is HUGE. On the highest hole, it still looks gawky next to the rest of the bridle. But, the good part about this bridle in my opinion is that it is very adjustable. I used to (And still sometimes do) ride a 17.2hh OTTB with an oddly large head, whereas my current project is a 16.3hh QH with a large yet petitely-framed skull. This bridle is a dream to adjust and it doesn't give you a headache when doing so, which makes me personally very excited to use it.I truly think this bridle is gorgeous and it could be used for schooling or showing, and I might even be using it for both. It is definitely worth the price and even with the odd sizing, the Harwich Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle still gets 5 stars from me.
    Date published: 2015-12-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sizing is weird Both of my horses normally wear a full sized bridle and the size fits them great, but this bridle is a little wonky. It has HUGE throatlatch, it doesn't fit with the bridle at all. The browband is very large too and there's about a 1 inch gap between it and my horse's head. The crown is also very long, and you can see in the picture that the brownband doesn't meet up correctly with the crown piece. The noseband runs across the crown which looks nice, but one of the keepers sewn into the crown can be felt underneath on the padded part that rests on the poll. Its not very well thought out and might bother sensitive horses or dig into the poll if a leverage bit is used. Was bought as my show bridle, but I'm only going to use it for schooling or locals. Nice leather, padding and details, but the overall design needs some work.
    Date published: 2015-12-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bridle for the money! This is a solid bridle for the price. I originally bought it as a show bridle, though have since been using it for schooling and might end up getting a nicer one for shows, but it's fine to show in as well. The throatlatch is oddly very long - I had to punch an additional hole it in and I still wish I could take it up higher.
    Date published: 2015-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle This bridle is excellent I really wouldn't recommend it to anyone looking for nice send me less expensive bridle. It was soft right out of the package as you probably already know and personally I used no oil on it and it adjusted to my horses face just fine. I have used this bridle about for a good week and a half and there has been no wear.
    Date published: 2015-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice bridle, especially for the price Well padded and rather supple right our of the box. I had to exchange the regular size for a cob and there were some inconsistencies in the quality. It cleans up nicely and overall a good bargain. I ride a 14.2 Appaloosa and she required the cob size.
    Date published: 2015-10-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good buy so far, but runs big! Wanted a nice bridle without paying $300, so I picked up this baby during a 10% off sale. The bridle showed up in pretty nice shape-the leather was supple and didn't seem to have a nasty layer of coating that needed stripping off. It also didn't have scuffs and dents in some places like the $60 Plymouth dressage bridle I'd purchased. I'm slowly getting it darker, but the picture provided does show the original color mine arrived with.The ONLY issue I've had with it is that it seems to run large. I have two paint mares-one 14.2hh and one 15.1hh. Neither have super refined heads, but they do wear "small" horse(500-800lb.) halters. For most of the stock horses I've been around (non-appendixes), this is normal. I ordered a "full" sized bridle, and the throat latch is HUGE, even on the last hole, the cheek pieces are on the last or second to last hole, and the caveson holder is also on the last or second to last hole. The browband is also looser than I'd prefer. However, it wasn't so huge that I felt the need to hassle with returning it (and I'd already oiled it)! So next time, I'll order a cob!Can't speak for the longevity of this bridle yet, but it seems like it will last well!
    Date published: 2015-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bridle I've only used this bridle a few times but so far, I love it. It is beautiful and the padding makes it quite comfortable for my horse. The reins were a bit stiff but with some conditioning they softened right up.
    Date published: 2015-10-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle came out of package very supple as advertised. Only issue is that the throat latch is too long. Added some extra holes, but couldn't get it short enough. My daughters trained tied it in a know, but obviously can't show like that.
    Date published: 2015-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bridle This is an absolutely stunning bridle that I get many compliments on. Economically priced, you would never guess from looking at it. My second of this exact bridle, I will continue to buy SmartPak designed products as their quality, affordability, and craftsmanship is unmatched.
    Date published: 2015-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality, great price! I am so impressed with the quality and finish of this bridle - my other show bridles are an ADT and Aramas, and this is definitely comparable to both. The leather is soft and pliable, not plasticky, and it's just a very nice-looking bridle. Can't beat the price, either.
    Date published: 2015-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOOOVE this bridle! This bridle came out of the box soft and supple. It's gorgeous and I've gotten a lot of compliments on it. It looks so fancy & the price was great!
    Date published: 2015-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality bridle Love this bridle for the price. The leather is nice soft, higher-quality leather. Love the fancy stitching and the braided reins which are included.
    Date published: 2015-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made for the money. Excellent value. I would recommend it.
    Date published: 2015-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Bridle! I got this bridle last December for my cobb sized guy. I love the flash option as I have needed one and also had times when I haven't needed one! The bridle was very attractive and moderately supple just out of the box. There has been a little discoloration on the noseband (probably rubbed from cheek pieces) but barely noticeable. The reins were a little thick for my liking, but overall great bridle for the price.
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    • 2016-05-27T16:09CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_231
    • loc_en_US, sid_7215, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders