Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Harwich Padded Dressage Bridle by SmartPak

Harwich by SmartPak
- Item #17220
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather that’s vegetable tanned.  With an innovative padded crown design that allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area.  Superb craftsmanship is reflected in the fine details and stainless steel hardware.  An excellent value. Available exclusively at SmartPak.

Padded ½” browband and ¾” padded flash noseband. 5/8” cheek pieces with hook stud closure.  Roller buckles on caveson.  Complete with 5/8” rubberized web reins.

Black with Black Padding. Cob, Full or Oversize.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Picture perfect gifts! North Carolina textile artists weave ...
    Description:
    Picture perfect gifts! North Carolina textile artists weave your favorite photographic image into a cozy one-of-a-kind photo throw. Full-colorthrows are jacquard woven, hand-finished and sweater-soft. Woven with over 8 miles of richly colored yarns that retain their color and clarity ...
    This beautiful screen weave cotton/poly mesh is the ...
    Description:
    This beautiful screen weave cotton/poly mesh is the ideal item to keep horses clean and cool in their stall or while waiting ringside. Let everyone know what barn your beautiful horse is from with custom embroidery! A must have for ...
    Pre-shrunk 8.5 oz 100% cotton day sheet material ...
    Description:
    Pre-shrunk 8.5 oz 100% cotton day sheet material provides superior durability with rich colors that won't fade. The matchingsupplex lined shoulders allow for uninhibited shoulder movement and the faux beaver at the withers adds even more richness to this spectacular ...
    Show off some bling in the ring with ...
    Description:
    Show off some bling in the ring with Schockemoehle's best-selling dressage bridle, the Sports Paris Snaffle Bridle! Favorite Features Made of the finest leather for elegant quality that lasts Wide pull back caveson Curved browband with square crystals for an ...
    Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest ...
    Description:
    Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship.The Wellfleet Fancy Stitch Padded Halter by SmartPak is elegant and exquisitely detailed,featuring extra fine stitching and supple rich leather. Carefully crafted to ...
    The outer material is 1000 denier Dupont Cordura. ...
    Description:
    The outer material is 1000 denier Dupont Cordura. This blanket has 300 grams of insulation, fur friendly taffeta lining, high bias surcingles, detachable elastic leg straps, faux beaver at the withers,doublebucklefront closure witha detachable tail loop. Sizes 48 - 84. ...
    Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest ...
    Description:
    Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tannedNorth Americanbridle leather available and expert craftsmanship.Favorite Features Designed to evenly distribute pressure throughout the girth area Ensures the girth'sSoft padding stays flush against horse's barrel Wider mid-section ...
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Harwich Padded Dressage Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.5754716981132075 out of 5 by 106.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice quality I purchased this bridle to use with a crystal browband. The keepers are the correct size, so they stay in place. The padding is sufficient, without being too bulky and the leather although a little stiff at first, is breaking in nicely. Really my only complaint is that the throatlatch strap is long, I am using the last hole for my horse (she does have a smaller face) and there would be no room to punch another hole.
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle but throat latch is huge I ordered the Cob size for a 13.2hh Welsh with an average head. It fit him close to the tightest hole, but was too big for our 14.1 dainty headed Welsh. The quality of this bridle is wonderful considering the price. It's leather quality is similar to my Americana bridle and much better than my Collegiate bridle. The bridle was not clunky, like some dressage bridles look on a cob sized horse/pony. Also, I love the rubberized web reins - thin and grippy. Everything looked and felt wonderful but the throat latch was so big it drooped down to almost touch the buckle of the caveson. So even though it fit one of my ponies, I had to unfortunately return the item because of the oversized throat latch. There was no pony size for me to try or I would have tried that.
    Date published: 2012-10-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bridle for the money I just started dressage and with buying everything needed it adds up fast. Ordered this one and it fit my horse perfectly. He is not a warmblood, but has a larger sized head. I have never had a padded bridle before and don't think I would order an unpadded one again. I think the padding is much more comfortable for my horse. It was stiff at first, but now that I've oiled it twice, it is much better. I have only had it a couple of weeks, so it should be perfect soon. The last keeper on the cavesson is fixed in place and it would be nice if it could be moved like the others. Since I buckle it more towards the tighter end of the holes, there is a long piece of the end flopping under his chin.
    Date published: 2012-10-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This bridle is nice quality, but one of the parts were too small for my mare. The nose band was way to small but the flash was just right as was the rest of the bridle.
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Bridle I had never purchased a bridle from Smartpak and was very impressed with the quality of this product. Very nice leather, true to size, very supple. Just LOVE it! Great value and didn't break the budget.
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my second purchase of the Harwich bridle--my mare also has the h/j fancy stitched version. I love this one just as much as the first one. Leather is supple, and it is very well made. I especially like the padded crown, and I think she does too. You will NOT find a better bridle in this price point.
    Date published: 2012-09-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from time will tell I'm new to the horse owning and tack buying game so I don't know if this bridle is great value for the money or not (I've never owned a $300-$500 bridle for example). However, this bridle fits well (although the first time putting it on my mare was difficult to adjust since the straps were so stiff, especially the noseband strap through the crown piece), the padding is nice, and it looks good on her. I have oiled it almost weekly to supple it up as much as possible. Durability remains to be seen as I've only owned it for a few months. All in all, I think it was a good purchase for the reasonable price.
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice working bridle for the price. The leather is soft enough and I really like the way the bridle is designed for comfort for the horse.
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle for Schooling or Shows I love this bridle. I now own two, one in cob size and one in horse and both are excellent. Like any leather, if maintained and cared for, these bridles seem to improve with use. In particular, I love the wide, padded head stall. I do think that the flashes are too long though, on both sizes, in comparison to the cavesson. Also, as mentioned by others, the keeper on the throatlatch is too small out of the bag, but it does open up with use and oil.
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and versatile This Bridle is very well made and good quality. I expect many years of use. Versatile. The ability to remove/add the flash is a plus. Big plus... I got it on sale.
    Date published: 2012-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice bridle I really liked the bridle once someone assembled it for me. It seems very comfortable for my horse and I liked the grippy reins. I wish there had been assembly instructions. I could not assemble it without a great deal of frustration. I am a novice rider still learning to manage the equipment. It is very well made for the price paid.
    Date published: 2012-08-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Buy I own a friesian and I got the normal horse size and I had some doubts if it would fit him but it did! It did need a bit of oiling when it first arrived. But it does fit nice! I would defiantly recommend this to anyone!
    Date published: 2012-07-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits hard to fit horse Smart Pak staff helped us fit our very hard to fit mare. After trying 3 bridles from competitors, Smart Pak staff measured their bridles and helped us fit her on the first try!Thanks so much!
    Date published: 2012-06-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Unfortunately Returned I was very excited by the leather quality and couldn't wait to try this on my 17 hand Appendix. Once it was on I was not so excited. The horse size was too small and the oversize was just bizarre - the whole bridle fit him crooked? An adjustment one place messed it up elsewhere. I don't need a fancy bridle and can't use a crank or flash with this guy. The Plymouth Elite is my next try! Did experience great, quick customer service!
    Date published: 2012-05-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value for school, not show This is a terrific purchase for a schooling bridle. The leather quality is a good value for the price. I did have a major issue with the dye on my original bridle fading after the first conditioning. SmartPak kindly exchanged the bridle, but even the replacement still had some minor fading. For that reason, not something I would trust for show, but a terrific, durable bridle that looks very nice at home. I found the fit to be true to size.
    Date published: 2012-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle for the price! I love this dressage bridle. Looks great on the grey mare it was purchased for (horse size fits her well - she is 16H). The leather is supple right out of the box. I've conditioned it several times and now it really feels great. I also LOVE the web reins it came with. My only wish is that it came without a flash.
    Date published: 2012-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it I have looked at bridles in tack stores that were over twice the price of this bridle and think this one may be better. Love the reins. Also thought the cob size might be a little big on my 14 hand Connemara but it fit perfectly so maybe it runs a little small. It fit on the middle hole on all the pieces on my pony.
    Date published: 2012-04-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fantastic bridle! I had bought a different bridle and when it arrived it was much to big so I decided to upgrade the bride and buy a smaller size. The fit is perfect and it was soft and supple right out of the package and ready to use - I am very happy with it!!
    Date published: 2012-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Steal of a deal I agonized over what bridle to purchase and picked this one. Not disappointed at all. Such great quality for the price. Good enough to school with and I think it will work for the local shows I plan on doing this year and next. Soft and comfortable right out of the box.The only big question is how it will stand up over time. I wish there was a n/a option in the rating.
    Date published: 2012-03-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent Bridle For The Price This bridle looks nice for the price, a bit stiff and not a big fan of the rein quality, but for the price it is a nice bridle. Also had to punch quite a few holes in the flash even for my big guy, but that wasn't a big deal.
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality for price the padding is very nice and soft for such an inexpensive bridle- the leather is a little stiff at first but not bad for price point- flash seems to run big but you can easily punch holes in it to adjust- only thing im not a fan of is the rubberized webbed reins- would rather have regular webbed reins but that is just a matter of personal preference
    Date published: 2012-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy & perfect fit for my mare! I bought this bridle for my 5 yr. old Dutch WBxTrakehner mare. She measures 46" from one corner of her mouth over her head to the opposite corner of her mouth, 26" around the jaw (where the noseband would go), and 16" ear to ear (browband). This bridle fit her PERFECTLY! The crownpiece buckles line up perfectly to her eye -- if she grows any more I've got room in this bridle, the noseband isn't too big or too small, and the browband doesn't make the crownpiece cramp her ears.The quality of the leather is lovely. Came out supple from the box. One cleaning/conditioning later the leather is even more supple, but still sturdy.I've only had the bridle for a couple weeks, but I'm guessing it will last me quite awhile.
    Date published: 2012-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle I wanted a bridle with a padded poll and no crank. This is a great bridle, especially for the price. The throatlatch is very big but otherwise it's perfect.
    Date published: 2012-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking bridle My husband bought this for me to replace my older mare's $30 bridle. The leather is soft and pliable and appears to be excellent quality. Is nice enough that I'll also use it for showing along with day to day schooling.
    Date published: 2012-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome every day bridle! Bought this bridle for an every day bridle due to price and previous reviews. This product is well made and reminds me of bridles twice the price. Fits our new Hanoverian mare like a glove!!
    Date published: 2011-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top quality bridle! The SmartPak "Harwich" Dressage Bridle is a high quality, great looking and most importantly proper fitting bridle. I am very pleased with it and the price was very resonable.
    Date published: 2011-11-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle for the price Quality bridle, with padding for the poll area seen in more expensive bridles. Leather nice, but needs softening to put together the first time. Fits my Arabian's small sized cob head!
    Date published: 2011-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Bridle I was lucky enough to win this bridle from a contest, but I would absolutely have paid for it! I was very pleasantly suprised! The quality and suppleness of the leather is amazing, and the construction is top notch. I only gave a durability and fit 3 stars because I havent used it yet, or even tried it on my horse. :)
    Date published: 2011-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Bridle I'm very happy with this bridle. It fit my draft cross very well (oversize) and it was soft from the beginning and has just become softer with cleaning, use and oiling.
    Date published: 2011-10-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great quality Great quality product. Size runs small. Have an Arabian mare, ordered Cob size and it did not fit. The throat strap was too long on both the Cob size and the Large size that I exchanged it for. Local tack shop did alterations on the strap and it works fine now. Love, love, love the reins! Recommend these to all my friends.SmartPak customer service is by far the best I have ever dealt with. They deserve praise for their excellent service!
    Date published: 2011-10-03
    • 2016-07-23T10:38CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_103
    • loc_en_US, sid_7220, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders