Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Harwich Padded Dressage Bridle by SmartPak

Harwich by SmartPak
- Item #17220
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather that’s vegetable tanned. With an innovative padded crown design that allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area. Superb craftsmanship is reflected in the fine details and stainless steel hardware. An excellent value. Available exclusively at SmartPak.

Padded ½” browband and ¾” padded flash noseband. 5/8” cheek pieces with hook stud closure. Roller buckles on caveson. Complete with 5/8” x 57" rubberized web reins.

Harwich Cheek Pieces by SmartPak and Harwich Padded Dressage Browband available for replacement pieces.

Sizing

Available in sizes Cob, Full or Oversize.
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "THE BRIDLE THAT STARTED THE BITLESS REVOLUTION! SAFE, ...
    Description:
    "THE BRIDLE THAT STARTED THE BITLESS REVOLUTION! SAFE, GENTLE, EFFECTIVE CONTROL AND CLEAR COMMUNICATION Dr Cook's Bitless Western Headstall features an independent rein straps and a smooth, comfortable noseband that provides a clear, pain-free signal and instant release. Although The ...
    "Burlingham has added a Western flair to their ...
    Description:
    "Burlingham has added a Western flair to their proven Deluxe Tack Trunk, by adding a hand woven Mayatex designed padded seat. The ""Western Deluxe"" is complete with Tote Tray, Trunk Divider, Dry Erase Board, Dry Erase Pen, Mirror, Bandage Net, ...
    "The number #1 choice on the A Circuit! ...
    Description:
    "The number #1 choice on the A Circuit! Edgewood Original leather goods are made with the finest vegetable-tanned leather in the U.S. The fancy stitch, high-profile square raise, deep rich chestnut color and clean, careful workmanship combine for a striking ...
    "Stripes for Jump Poles are available in nine ...
    Description:
    "Stripes for Jump Poles are available in nine bright, beautiful colors. These stripes are thicker than most stick-on stripes available. The 8 ml. Thick vinyl helps resist the abuse of every day use. The color is not printed on the ...
    "Artists and craftsmen with years of experience and ...
    Description:
    "Artists and craftsmen with years of experience and pride produce traditional vinyl products with your custom colors. Outfit your stall with this Phoenix West Cable Stall Guard, all while containing your horse inside the stall. Choose your vinyl and border ...
    "NRHA Champion, Stacy Westfall, demands tack that performs ...
    Description:
    "NRHA Champion, Stacy Westfall, demands tack that performs as well as it looks. For a premium, high end look, Weaver took their oiled ProTack and added floral conchos and buckle bit ends to suit Stacy's needs and style. Ideal for ...
    Forever etched in your memory A lasting, professional-quality ...
    Description:
    Forever etched in your memory A lasting, professional-quality memorial at a very affordable price. Crafted for indoor/outdoor use as a garden stone, placed beside an urn or displayed anywhere you want a special reminder of your dog. Our fine-grain black-finish ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Harwich Padded Dressage Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 123.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit for my quarter horse. I bought this bridle a month ago and am very pleased with the leather and fit for my quarter horse. He is 15.1h and has a somewhat smaller head, but not a cob size. I have tried other bridles and they have been too big. This works great! The cheek strap is a good fit as well as the brow band. I might have to punch a hole in the flash, but that is minor. I especially like that the nose band does not overwhelm his face like some others. I thought the leather was pretty supple, but as I have cleaned and conditioned it, the bridle has gotten more supple. I am very pleased with this bridle and so glad I bought it!
    Date published: 2014-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from First Bridle This is a great bridle for the money! I got the cob size first because my horse's head is in between sizes. The cob size was too small. I called Customer Service and they were able to give me the measurements I needed to get the right size. I should have called first. SmartPak's Customer Service is AMAZING!!!
    Date published: 2014-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful I really like this bridle. It fits my horse perfectly. The leather is great, the detailing is classy, love the padding. Totally would buy this again. It is quality for the price.
    Date published: 2014-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful bridle, great value I've been in the market for an inexpensive dressage bridle and this one did the trick. The leather was a bit stiffer than I expected when I first took the bridle out, but a quick saddle soap/conditioning and I was in good shape. After a few uses the leather has softened and molded to my horse. I have a fine-boned TB, other bridles he usually wears a cob, but he needed a full in this bridle. I love the wide nose-band and the black-on-black padding, he looks extremely handsome. The reins are very thin but I like the leather nodes - they help me keep my rein length steady and even.
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle! I have had this product for around 2 years! The bridle is fantastic and fits true to size. The leather is soft right out of the bag. The only problem that I had was about 8 months in a keeper on the bit attaching piece came loose. The problem was resolved quickly by SmartPak's awesome customer care and I now use that bridle (with a little bit of electrical tape ;) ) and another of the same bridle for showing dressage. 
    Date published: 2013-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle! I recently bought this bridle because I needed a black bridle to match my new saddle but I was looking for something that didn't look TOO dressage-y, as I am an eventer and wanted to use it for all three phases. This bridle looks fantastic on 7 year old OTTB gelding and doesn't look too big on his face. The leather is soft and of good quality and he seems to be more comfortable in it than in my HDR that I used prior. The bridle is very adjustable and I was able to size it perfectly to his face. The reins are great too because they are webbed and rubberized so they have that no slip grip that comes in handy when doing cross country and were even comfortable enough for me to use without gloves. I have very small hands so I cannot ride with the big, bulky rubber reins that most eventers use, so these are perfect! Everyone keeps asking me where I got it and if it was expensive. I really love this bridle and would absolutely recommend it.I would have given it higher ratings but I have only had it for about three weeks so I can't speak for durability just yet.
    Date published: 2013-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it This is by far the best bang for your buck. With the padded crown piece and soft leather, I would totally recommend it. If you are looking for a well priced dressage bridle go with this one.
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seemed OK to me, but my TB Hated It When I received this bridle I wasn't impressed, but I wasn't dissatisfied either -- it seemed like an OK bridle that would work just fine for schooling. Although, I do think the quality of the leather on my SmartPak Plymouth Elite is much better than the Harwich. I also like the reins that came with my Plymouth Elite much, much more than the reins that came with the Harwich. I did try to use it on my TB gelding a few times, but every time I did, he absolutely hated this bridle. He tossed his head around, started grinding on the bit, then began rearing -- which is completely out of character for him. I ended up returning the bridle, and at the suggestion of a friend bought a different bridle from another company. He does like the new bridle, but honestly, I wish I had just bought another Plymouth Elite! I gave this 4 out of 5 stars because I really do think its an OK bridle, it just didn't work out for my horse. Would I recommend this bridle to someone with a super sensitive horse? No. Would I recommend this bridle to someone with a less sensitive horse? Yes.
    Date published: 2013-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought for Schooling used for Showing! I don't like to buy bridles without touching the leather and examining the quality first-hand so I was really pleased when I had a chance to view it at Kentucky Rolex this year. I purchased it for a schooling bridle and ended up adding a nice Nickel Clincher Broadband to it for showing. I have a Fjord with a course Horse sized head and this just looked fabulous on him. Agreed the noseband is a bit stiff at first but I imagine it will supple with use and conditioning. I also found the throatlatch ample which can be a concern for Fjords. I'd say it's an AWESOME deal for the price and a bridle I look forward to using daily.
    Date published: 2013-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle for the price Very nice leather and details on this bridle for the price. Looks like a more expensive bridle. Honestly hard to tell the difference between this bridle and the $400 bridle it hangs next to!So happy with this, we recommended it to a friend and the love it too.
    Date published: 2013-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another quality SmartPak item! Very similar to the Plymouth Dressage Bridle (including the same great reins - my new favorite style!), but with a wider noseband for the coarser-headed horse and even more soft padding. Regarding some comments about the stiffness - yes it was a little straight fresh out of the bag (like I'd expect), but softer enough than most bridles I've had (besides the Plymouth Dressage) that I rode in it only once before showing in it and the fit was quite acceptable. I prefer this stiffness and a little bit of conditioning to overly-soft bridles that don't hold up :-)
    Date published: 2013-05-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works nicely I would love it if the nose band was softer and not so stiff that it cuts into his nose but he is such a good boy that I don't put it tight.
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice I thought this was a great product for the money but would have been more happy if the nose band was not so stiff.
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bridle I have not had this bridle long, but for my B-day I was given a brand new Bates Innova dressage saddle and pretty much anything to go along with it. I LOVE IT! My friend recommended it (With two horses, and my level of showing, I was not in budget for a $300 plus bridle, after my saddle, pad(s), and girth purchases (and a bit too die for), so I took advantage of my Smart Pak %10 discount since I purchase supplements. After cleaning it, and using Effax Lederbalsam X2 it IS like butter. It wasn't butter out of the box, but for new leather, it was NOT bad. I love that the headpiece has just one piece touching my boy's poll. My friend has an Oldenburg with a long thin face, and mentioned that the throatlatch is super long, and I was all set to send it back if that was the case. She keeps hers for showing, and loves it so much she just deals with it being so long; in fact, she was the one who told me to purchase this one! I'll use mine for EVERTHING so I wasn't prepared to do that, had the fit been off, BACK it would have went. But I have an Anglo Arab with JOWLS, so the throatlatch was perfect. We are NOT on the last hole. My only wish is that the noseband's second latch that holds the strap is MOVEABLE. It is not, and while I don't latch and unlatch mine always, I could see this ripping as others say, not to mention we all have different horses with various sized noses! This is a well made bridle worth the price. Clean it well and with Lederbalsam (the Effax line is my choice) upon receipt and then a couple more times, and it is a bridle for those on a budget. No one will know it's not a SUPER expensive bridle. The reins are half cloth, half rubber with grips all along them too. NICE. I DO NOT regret my purchase!
    Date published: 2013-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Bridle This bridle is of exceptional quality for the price! I love everything about it!
    Date published: 2013-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle! I am really happy with this bridle! I didn't want to break the bank, but wanted something that would work for both training and show settings. The "horse" size fits my 16.1 Hanoverian/TB perfectly and the leather is soft and supple. I highly recommend this piece of tack to any horse owner who is on a budget!
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value, nice touches I've had this bridle for over a year. I use it at least twice a week to school and it cleans up great for shows. The leather is nice and soft. The oversize fits my draft cross with plenty of room to spare. It looks like the price has gone up a little, but still a good value for the money.
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surpasses Expectations! After reading the reviews for several different Dressage bridles, I decided to order the Harwich bridle - I was very encouraged by all of the positive feedback and have been very happy with other Smartpak brand purchases. I have to say that after receiving the bridle, it has definitely surpassed my expectations! The leather is very high quality, and is very soft right out of the package. I love the feel & smell of it. Both the nose & brow bands are very nicely padded. One of the reasons that I chose the Harwich bridle is the unique crown design, to relieve pressure on the poll area - my horse that I specifically purchased this for is very sensitive, and I thought this would be a nice bridle - the crown design is definitely different, but I really like it. I did first order a Full size, but had to return for an Oversize. My horse that I purchased the bridle for is a Dutch WB/TB cross & is 17.3 hands - he is very lean and had a pretty refined head (not a large Warmblood head), and he is a hard to fit right at the edge of Horse & Oversize. The Full size did fit, but I had the cavesson piece on the very last hole, and the noseband sat a little higher than I wanted--also, the noseband would only just buckle on the last hole. Thanks to Smartpak's great free returns, I was able to order the Oversize and send back Full with no problem. One more thing to mention...I LOVE the reins that come with this bridle. They are canvas with little "bumpers" on them (my favorite style), BUT the canvas part has a rubber-like texture mixed in with it that helps achieve a great grip on the reins while riding. I feel like I got a much more expensive bridle than what was actually on the price tag - you've really outdone yourself this time, Smartpak!
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice quality I purchased this bridle to use with a crystal browband. The keepers are the correct size, so they stay in place. The padding is sufficient, without being too bulky and the leather although a little stiff at first, is breaking in nicely. Really my only complaint is that the throatlatch strap is long, I am using the last hole for my horse (she does have a smaller face) and there would be no room to punch another hole.
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle but throat latch is huge I ordered the Cob size for a 13.2hh Welsh with an average head. It fit him close to the tightest hole, but was too big for our 14.1 dainty headed Welsh. The quality of this bridle is wonderful considering the price. It's leather quality is similar to my Americana bridle and much better than my Collegiate bridle. The bridle was not clunky, like some dressage bridles look on a cob sized horse/pony. Also, I love the rubberized web reins - thin and grippy. Everything looked and felt wonderful but the throat latch was so big it drooped down to almost touch the buckle of the caveson. So even though it fit one of my ponies, I had to unfortunately return the item because of the oversized throat latch. There was no pony size for me to try or I would have tried that.
    Date published: 2012-10-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bridle for the money I just started dressage and with buying everything needed it adds up fast. Ordered this one and it fit my horse perfectly. He is not a warmblood, but has a larger sized head. I have never had a padded bridle before and don't think I would order an unpadded one again. I think the padding is much more comfortable for my horse. It was stiff at first, but now that I've oiled it twice, it is much better. I have only had it a couple of weeks, so it should be perfect soon. The last keeper on the cavesson is fixed in place and it would be nice if it could be moved like the others. Since I buckle it more towards the tighter end of the holes, there is a long piece of the end flopping under his chin.
    Date published: 2012-10-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This bridle is nice quality, but one of the parts were too small for my mare. The nose band was way to small but the flash was just right as was the rest of the bridle.
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Bridle I had never purchased a bridle from Smartpak and was very impressed with the quality of this product. Very nice leather, true to size, very supple. Just LOVE it! Great value and didn't break the budget.
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my second purchase of the Harwich bridle--my mare also has the h/j fancy stitched version. I love this one just as much as the first one. Leather is supple, and it is very well made. I especially like the padded crown, and I think she does too. You will NOT find a better bridle in this price point.
    Date published: 2012-09-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from time will tell I'm new to the horse owning and tack buying game so I don't know if this bridle is great value for the money or not (I've never owned a $300-$500 bridle for example). However, this bridle fits well (although the first time putting it on my mare was difficult to adjust since the straps were so stiff, especially the noseband strap through the crown piece), the padding is nice, and it looks good on her. I have oiled it almost weekly to supple it up as much as possible. Durability remains to be seen as I've only owned it for a few months. All in all, I think it was a good purchase for the reasonable price.
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice working bridle for the price. The leather is soft enough and I really like the way the bridle is designed for comfort for the horse.
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle for Schooling or Shows I love this bridle. I now own two, one in cob size and one in horse and both are excellent. Like any leather, if maintained and cared for, these bridles seem to improve with use. In particular, I love the wide, padded head stall. I do think that the flashes are too long though, on both sizes, in comparison to the cavesson. Also, as mentioned by others, the keeper on the throatlatch is too small out of the bag, but it does open up with use and oil.
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and versatile This Bridle is very well made and good quality. I expect many years of use. Versatile. The ability to remove/add the flash is a plus. Big plus... I got it on sale.
    Date published: 2012-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice bridle I really liked the bridle once someone assembled it for me. It seems very comfortable for my horse and I liked the grippy reins. I wish there had been assembly instructions. I could not assemble it without a great deal of frustration. I am a novice rider still learning to manage the equipment. It is very well made for the price paid.
    Date published: 2012-08-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Buy I own a friesian and I got the normal horse size and I had some doubts if it would fit him but it did! It did need a bit of oiling when it first arrived. But it does fit nice! I would defiantly recommend this to anyone!
    Date published: 2012-07-28
    • y_2017, m_1, d_18, h_15
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_120
    • loc_en_US, sid_7220, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders