Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Harwich Padded Dressage Bridle by SmartPak

Harwich by SmartPak
- Item #17220
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather that’s vegetable tanned. With an innovative padded crown design that allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area. Superb craftsmanship is reflected in the fine details and stainless steel hardware. An excellent value. Available exclusively at SmartPak.

Padded ½” browband and ¾” padded flash noseband. 5/8” cheek pieces with hook stud closure. Roller buckles on caveson. Complete with 5/8” x 57" rubberized web reins.

Harwich Cheek Pieces by SmartPak and Harwich Padded Dressage Browband available for replacement pieces.

Sizing

Available in sizes Cob, Full or Oversize.
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Why We Love This The Kavalkade Quentin Dressage ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Kavalkade Quentin Dressage Bridle features a softly padded noseband and anatomically shaped head piece. The noseband runs over the headpiece in order to reduce pressure at the horse's poll. This bridle has an embossed straight leather browband. Key Features ...
    "The Piaffe Dressage Bridle has a uniquely shaped ...
    Description:
    "The Piaffe Dressage Bridle has a uniquely shaped noseband – that is wider across the front of the nose, and tapers in on the sides. The Piaffe features a padded uni-crown headstall – for poll pressure relief, a 1 3/4” ...
    "The Wellfleet Comfort Contour Fancy Dressage Bridle is ...
    Description:
    "The Wellfleet Comfort Contour Fancy Dressage Bridle is crafted from the finest English leather available and thoughtfully designed with the comfort of your horse in mind. This bridle is made with SmartPak’s exclusive Comfort Contour Technology and features an anatomically ...
    "Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among ...
    Description:
    "Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. Impeccably crafted, innovative bridle. Ultra soft ...
    Why We Love This ?The Black Oak economy ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This ?The Black Oak economy Larkspur Dressage bridle combines exceptional value, with the quality craftsmanship & details KL Select products are known for. The Larkspur features a clear crystal browband that adds sparkle and dresses up the ...
    "The Micklem Diamante Competition Bridle with English Leather ...
    Description:
    "The Micklem Diamante Competition Bridle with English Leather combines the unique design of the original Micklem Competition Bridle with high quality English leather and stylish details. Micklem bridles are designed to fit the horse's skull and prevent uncomfortable pressure points. ...
    "Following the success of the Plymouth line, SmartPak ...
    Description:
    "Following the success of the Plymouth line, SmartPak is proud to introduce the Plymouth Elite. The Plymouth Elite takes all of the wonderful features of the Plymouth line, and adds additional enhancements such as a true padded monocrown, buckle closures, ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Harwich Padded Dressage Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 123.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Bridle! I received it about 2-3 weeks ago and it is so soft and fit perfectly! (I got the Cob size for my little TB mare). Definitely highly recommend!
    Date published: 2016-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle for the cost Soft leather that wasn't ridiculously stiff for the first few weeks. Well made fits great, not a fan of the reins but the bridle is great.
    Date published: 2016-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value I have several of these bridles and they are wonderful standards in tack room. Very affordable and complement finer heads well.
    Date published: 2016-12-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super Comfort My horse loves this new bridle. The old one was tight and heavy leather. She is a Dutch Warm blood and needs a little extra space at the brow band she got it with the new one. It is soft and lightweight, I am happier to know she is finally comfortable.
    Date published: 2016-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Bridle This bridle fits my horse perfectly! He looks so handsome in it. I really like that it isn't bulky and that the leather is soft. l think it looks more expensive than it was. Very easy to adjust as well.
    Date published: 2016-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle for reasonable price Needed/wanted a new bridle to match my new saddle. This was a great deal - also on sale. I love the mono-crown and the padded nose/crown/brow bands. I feel like it's more comfortable on my horse. Nice and soft right out of the bag. I'm still getting used to the rubber reins (tend to like leather/laced ones), but not a big deal.
    Date published: 2016-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice bridle Third time was a charm. The full size fits him. The leather is great.
    Date published: 2016-10-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle This is a very well made bridle that I would highly recomend. Sadly, I had to return mine because it didn't fit my horse. I would say that it runs a little big, so think of it more for a small horse/large cob. My horse is generally a cob....
    Date published: 2016-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome purchase! Bought this several months ago and very pleased with this purchase!
    Date published: 2016-09-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bridle for the price I bought this bridle for my new baby horse. I didn't want to spend much on him in case his needs change down the road. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality. Nice leather, fits well (better than the Plymouth elite I have for my other horse).
    Date published: 2016-08-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good Find! Over all I thought this was yet another superb product from Smartpack! There are a few things which need improvement, but given the price point you can't bet it. The mono crown headstall was the selling piece for me. That was the reason why I bought the bridle. GREAT feature! You can't find the same bridles for starting less than $250. Some things that need improvement (and this is said with a grain of salt):* The leather is a bit stiff out of the package but give more wear and a good conditioning that should get better over time. *LOVE the webbed reins, but wish they were 100% leather...not a combination of leather and cloth.*My horse is between sizes. TB/Perch. Horse too small and oversize was a touch too big but I ended up keeping this size for his comfort. The flash attachment is ridiculously large. Must be sized for a Budweiser Clydesdale!
    Date published: 2016-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Harwich Padded Dressage Bridle This is a beautiful bridle that's worth every penny. My mare likes that it's padded and very comfortable. The removable noseband allowed me to substitute a hackamore in its place. Leather is good quality, and the color is a gorgeous espresso.
    Date published: 2016-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and supple! Bought this bridle a couple of weeks ago and it's exactly what I needed. Fits beautifully. Reins are a little stiff, but that's just due to being new. Overall, quality is excellent!
    Date published: 2016-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple yet well- constructed This is a sturdy and well-made bridle The leather is clean and crisp. Fits well, especially for my thoroughbred who usually requires a smaller cob sized bridle.
    Date published: 2016-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE this bridle! I absolutely love this bridle. It's gorgeous, soft and supple right out of the box, and fits my pony so well. For the price, the quality is unbeatable. I'm so pleased with this purchase!
    Date published: 2016-03-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice padding on noseband and crown Bought this as a Christmas gift. Chose this bridle because of all the padding
    Date published: 2016-01-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Arabian-Friendly I'm torn writing this review, because I loved the bridle. For $130, the leather is of good quality and I love the padding and crown feature. All very, very nice. I want to keep it! But I can't.I have an Egyptian Arabian with very fine features, and we've tried all of the SmartPak-brand dressage bridles with no luck. Looks like we need to go with custom pieces. I ordered this in a cob size and we're at the top of every hole with a need to punch 2-3 more holes...just not willing to go there. So if your horse sounds like mine, I'd recommend you keep shopping for something more suited for the features of an Arab.
    Date published: 2015-07-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from throat latch in weird spot Bought this bridle and started to assemble and realized that the throat latch was where the buckle for the bit was...it was cut backwards.
    Date published: 2015-06-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hmm not bad! Padded nicely. I conditioned the bridle with some effax leather balm and it's super soft. Unfortunately, one of the cavesson keepers broke when I first adjusted it, but I think it's worth keeping anyway. The browband on this horse size (17") was way too big on my guy, so I'll have to buy the normal 15.5" separately. The other pieces seem to fit correctly. My first smartpak purchase! I'll be back for more :)
    Date published: 2015-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Quality Recommended to me by others. Very nice quality and comfortable for my horse. Glad I decided on this one.
    Date published: 2015-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wears Well I purchased this bridle at the retail store upstairs in the addict, at first I was going to order it online but then took a ride out there and was so happy I did! What a great find for 50% off!!I have had it for well over a year now and it looks great still and has worn nicely, I do wipe down my tack after every ride and this bridle along with the buckles has just gotten nicer with age. Very soft and suple. I love it so much I purchased a cob size yesterday! Upstairs in the addic again!
    Date published: 2015-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bridle!!! We are very happy with the quality of this bridle and our horse seems to love it, too! The padding is very nice and it was soft right out of the bag! We ordered the COB size for our Arabian gelding and it fits great!
    Date published: 2015-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for price I got this bridle last week and have only ridden in it once. It was soft right out of the bag and the padding is really nice. The flash seems to run a bit large- might have to punch a hole in it, but otherwise the bridle fits great. The reins are good quality although mine did not come with the martingale stops pictured.
    Date published: 2015-03-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice bridle! I'm very happy with this purchase. Definitely the best value for the money that I have found.
    Date published: 2015-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bridle EVER!! I LOVE this bridle!!! I have it for almost 2 years and it has held up perfectly! I use it daily and the only thing that has happened over the past 2 years is the cheek pieces has gotten a tiny bit stretched! The leather is unbelievably soft and supple unlike any other bridle I have ever tried. I HIGHLY recommend this bridle!!
    Date published: 2015-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful bridle Really nice on my warmblood. My dressage trainer says it will her new bridle to recommend to clients.
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Some nice features, reasonable price I was underwhelmed by this bridle. The padding on the browband was barely there, I would call it "lined" rather than "padded". Padding was a bit cushier on the crown and noseband. The stitching was tight and even and the bridle fit my pretty typical Arab better than many. The width is fairly fine and will really look nice on a refined, pretty head (not that really wide look that can overwhelm some horses). The leather came out of the bag quite stiff but I would expect it would soften up and it looked as if it would wear well. For the price, it is nice but I think I will invest in a more expensive bridle.
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Harwich Padded Dressage Bridle This is absolutely the best quality bridle for the money I ever owned! The leather is soft and supple, the padding on the nose and crown bands is perfect and having the wide, padded crown band under the more narrow piece of leather is much appreciated by my horse. I would highly recommend this bridle to any dressage rider.
    Date published: 2014-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2014-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and fit for the price! Beautiful bridles! I bought two cob sized for my Morgans and they fit beautifully! They are made in India so that might deter some people but I used leather cleaner and then a conditioner on them before using them and they are really beautiful! Another great Smartpak product!
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    • y_2017, m_1, d_22, h_19
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_120
    • loc_en_US, sid_7220, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders