Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Gallop Color Enhancing Shampoo

Carr & Day & Martin Ltd
- Item #17140
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Gallop Color Enhancing Shampoo contains cleaning agents, color enhancers, and optical brighteners to clean and intensify natural coat color and sheen. Ideal for show preparation.

16.9 oz bottle. Chestnut & Palomino, Grey, Black, or Bay.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Quic Colour shampoo creates deeper colour, stunning highlights ...
    Description:
    Quic Colour shampoo creates deeper colour, stunning highlights and snow white markings. - Intensifies all natural colors within coat. - Creates deeper color and metallic highlights. - Excellent stain remover, snow white markings. - Effective on all colors, but Quic ...
    Say goodbye to the shampoo that keeps leaving ...
    Description:
    Say goodbye to the shampoo that keeps leaving your horse's coat dry and full of residue and hello to Calm Coat&trade Premium Shampoo! This top quality shampoo leaves the hairshaft completely clean, glossy, and free of residue and harsh foreign ...
    Voted a top pick for color enhancement by ...
    Description:
    Voted a top pick for color enhancement by the Horse Journal, EquiTone is essential for rejuvenating sun-damaged hair and adding dimension and highlights to dull, dried out coats, manes and tails. A premium color enhancing shampoo that colors, cleans and ...
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Gallop Color Enhancing Shampoo is rated 4.614 out of 5 by 57.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sparkling Shine! I have chestnut mare and wanted to give the Gallop shampoo a try based on the good reviews and I was not disappointed! While it did not change or enhanced her coat color per say, like some of the other reviewers mentioned, it certainly made her coat super soft and the shinniest it has ever been! I have used the EQyss products line before with great results, but this one will definitely make your horse's coat show-ready! I've had many other boarders ask me what I use to keep her coat so soft and so shinny!An added bonus: because her coat is now so sleek, it seems to reppel dust and dirty and it has cut down on our grooming time! I use a small amount on a sponge and work it on her coat, let it sit while a do the other side and it rinses off easily. The bottle is a bit pricey, but considering the way I'm applying it, I think it will last me a while!
    Date published: 2015-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Stuff! I use the bay shampoo on my mare before shows. She is already a nice chocolatey color, but this stuff really adds a nice finish to her coat. I dilute it in a bucket before application, let it sit for a bit, and then rinse really well. I wouldn't say that it changes her color (it isn't meant to do that) but you can see a nice finish. Her coat color seems richer, softer and shinier. It also smells really good. I like it better than some of the other color enhancer shampoos I've used.
    Date published: 2014-10-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Soft and Shiny I used this for the first time last weekend and my horse has never been so soft and shiny! The only thing is that I am afraid its not going to last very long, because I have a pretty big horse and it doesn't come with that much product.
    Date published: 2014-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brings out the color in my horse I love Gallop Enhancing Shampoo. I have a chestnut mare and she has natural highlights in her tail when I wash her with this shampoo she just shines and to me sparkles. I also get compliments when I take her to horse shows, trial ride or hunt meets because of this product. When I had my bay gelding I used the proper shampoo on him and he looked great.
    Date published: 2014-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shampoo!! I bought the black and grey and love them both! Fantastic product. Will purchase again
    Date published: 2014-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not Grey, Not White, But Silver!! I've reviewed this product before, but this was for the chestnut color. I used they grey shampoo earlier this week. I diluted it when I applied it to his body, just squirted it in a bucket full of water and sponged it on. It sat for maybe 5 minutes and did not turn him blue! So happy about that! He was white, white, white!! It even pulled out his dark brown "flea-bitten" spots on his shoulder. Sky's tail is white at the top, then changes to black and then to grey again. But it's not exactly grey, instead it was identical to Georgia red clay! I scrubbed a generous amount into his tail and let it sit for about 2 minutes. It did not come out perfectly, but a majority of his tail as a beautiful silver sheen!! I knew that this product worked wonders, BUT I did not know that is was this fabulous on the FIRST USE!!! I am in total love with this product! Every bath Sky gets from now on will be with this shampoo! The BEST shampoo...ever!!!
    Date published: 2014-02-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't really help bleached coat I bought this for my mare who is a bleached out bay. It MAY have deposited a little color but not really noticeably. I bought 2 bottles. It is rich and thick, just not really much change in color.
    Date published: 2013-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely works! I have the chestnut/palomino and bay colored shampoos from this line. I love them, and I think they work! They also make the horses' coats super soft which is an added bonus. I forgot to get a photo of my bay horse after I used this on him, but I have a few photos of my favorite lesson horse that I bought the chestnut colored shampoo for. These pictures are from a few weeks after he had his bath, and he is still super shiny, and his color looks great! I plan on buying the black colored shampoo for my pony soon.
    Date published: 2013-07-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from smells great, didn't notice a difference I'm a sucker when it comes to fun things for my horse. His summer coat is a lovely red bay color. I thought it'd be fun to try a color enhancing shampoo. This stuff smells great and made his coat super soft, but I didn't notice any color enhancement. Still, it's a nice shampoo and I'll use it until it's gone - just won't buy another bottle.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Works great! I bought this for my dark brown, almost black mare who sunbleaches really badly. Gave her a bath and noticed results the same day! I've used it twice since purchase and my mare is now a nice deep color again instead of her blotchy multicolor. I wish the bottle were a little bigger for the price, but would definitely purchase again since it worked so well on her!
    Date published: 2013-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Love this product. I ride chestnut geldings and their coats are very shiny and super super soft after their bath. I'd like to think it also enhances the color but it could be that they are just really clean :) It does not dry out the sensitive skin of my redheads either and the smell is very pleasant. Softness lasts for about a week.
    Date published: 2013-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent shampoo I've only used the bay color, but it had amazing results. It highlighted all the different shades in my horses coat. The horse pictured had reddish hues in his coat and this shampoo brought them right out. I recommend this to anyone. I have used QuickColor as a cheaper alternative and it did not get the job done like this did. I just wish it came in a bigger bottle for the price.
    Date published: 2012-12-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice shampoo, but didn't enhance black coat The shampoo did its job and cleaned my black horse well, but I did not notice any difference between it and much cheaper shampoos that clean just as effectively when it came to enhancing the horse's black coat. So not a bad shampoo for getting a horse clean, but don't expect it to enhance your horse's black coat any more than a regular quality shampoo.
    Date published: 2012-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE it! I loved this shampoo. Made my bay's coat really shine. The quality was very good, and this product (along with ShowSheen) was perfect for our competition season. She looked gorgeous, and the judges thought so, too (:
    Date published: 2012-10-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gallop Color Enhancing Shampoo Good Shampoo. Doesn't stain hands as others, but also doesn't completely cover in one use. It does better after several baths and in conjunction with a feed-thru color-enhancing agent such as Black as Knight.
    Date published: 2012-09-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps my black mare in the summer I think it works better than quic black for my black mare to help darken her coat from the summer sun!
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Golden shine This gave my "new penny" chestnut a golden gleam. He shines even in the shade. This is a great product for light chestnut horses. I don't have a palomino but I'll bet it works well for them too.
    Date published: 2012-08-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dunno about color, but fantastic for softness! Okay, disclaimer. I have two golden champagnes, so it's kind of hard to improve on their color. However, this certainly makes them look clean and dazzling, and their coats are always soooo soft. It also has a very nice floral scent. Just wish it came in bigger bottles!
    Date published: 2012-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I got this shampoo for my chestnut and buckskin and LOVE it. Made them both soft and vibrant. I am sure to always use it before a show. Just got a new bay and have ordered the version for him.
    Date published: 2012-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I recently bought this product for the dark bay mare that I ride. We had a jumper show to do and I wanted to enhance her beautiful dappled coat. The night before, I put a line of this down her spine and scrubbed it in with a stiff brush. I put a bit more on my scrubber to get her legs. This shampoo isn't as concentrated as I wanted it to be, but it rinses cleanly and cleans well. The next day, her coat was deep and beautiful! I was amazed with some of the pictures that a friend took! I will definitely be buying this shampoo again.Also, I love Smartpak's customer service. The woman was very nice on the phone :) Thanks, Smartpak!
    Date published: 2012-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! This is a really nice shampoo. I bought it for my flaxen chestnut gelding to bring out his rich golden coat. It really did an excellent job as far as cleaning his coat and, I will admit, brought out a super nice, rich shine. Did it 'enhance' his color? Not really. But it did such a good job cleaning out all the grime and dirt, without drying out his coat, I still give it 5 stars, but 4 on value. Another reason why I really like this shampoo is because one day I ran out of mine and used it on myself. I loved it!! Just like on his coat, it really did an awesome job of cleaning without drying and the silkiness was awesome! No residue, easy to rinse out. Recommend it as a great coat shampoo. (Note: for his pure white mane and tail I will never use anything but Eqyss Premier Shampoo - but for a great coat shine - I like this)
    Date published: 2012-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best shampoo out there! I've used this shampoo on all my horses for the past few years. I've used it on a black horse with great results. It gave him a nice dark coat with almost a purple sheen when the light hit him just right. I've used it on bay horses and it really helps bring out the deeper reds in their coats. I just recently got a chestnut and have used it on him with great results as well. I love the smell and it makes them incredibly shiny and soft without having to use a conditioner! I would highly recommend it!
    Date published: 2011-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Got this, and got so much more! I bought this the week before my first horse show for my bay arab, hoping it would help enhance his coat just a little bit. When i first got this, and washed him with it for the show, i didnt notice anything other that a really soft coat, but at the show, he was beautiful!!! i looked back at videos and pictures, and his coat was just glowing!!! no show sheen needed! love love love this shampoo!
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bay Color Shampoo I used this and only this shampoo on my horse before going to a show. I hadn't given her a bath in SO long because she is new and I was worried she wouldn't react well to the water. I was amazed by the results! She was shiny and SOFT. I had a friend come up to me and ask, "is it possible for a horse to even be that soft?". I am definitely going to use this shampoo again and again, and for sure repurchase when I run out. You do not have to use that much and it gets them super clean!!!
    Date published: 2011-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Shampoo Excellent shampoo, worked well and a noticable difference by the second washing!! A great product and value!
    Date published: 2011-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best shamppo ever! I just recently moved from Australia where I used this product to wash my horse weekly in the summer months. I have used it for years, and was so excited when I found out that SmartPak sold it! The colour enhancing certainly works on my chestnuts and makes their coats richer and shinier, but it also smells absolutely delicious and cleans them thoroughly and well! I'll always use this as a regular shampoo and for show prep. Everyone always comments on my horses smelling like berries (I use the bay one, as my chestnuts are copper/liver) and their 'incredible' coats!Would recommend this to everyone, you won't regret it!
    Date published: 2011-08-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A must have! I just recently bought this after using the QuikBlack shampoo on my dark bay mare..The QuikBlack turned her red..So I bought this to "undo" the red and it works REALLY well. I love the smell of it. You barely have to use any to see fab results! I'll never leave home without this shampoo for show!
    Date published: 2011-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING!!!!!!!!! This is the best shampoo ever!!!!! I use it on my chestnut arab and he comes out sparkling and shiny and soft and did I mention shiny??!! Great for shows and everyday use. Yep, I know I'm making a statement there, but guys come on. You could be paying $15 like I did before I found SmartPak. All in all, AMAZING!!!!!!!!!
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Color Shampoo I Have Found I have a very dark bay horse that in the summer bleaches out to the most disgusting burnt color. I have tried a few color-enhancing shampoos, such as Quick Black but I did not think it really worked. The Quick Black seemed somewhat harsh, his coat did not feel soft and conditioned afterwards but rather dry. I love the Gallop Color for black horses because not only does it make him look darker and bring out the rich tones but it also smells amazing, lathers great, rinses easily and leaves his coat not only smelling great but soft, shiny and sleek. It definitely doesn't dry out his coat and seem as harsh as other products and it yields greater results. As the summer goes on we will see how it continues to perform!
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the results! I was really happy with the shine it gave my chestnut mare's coat. Even her white star was brighter! Not crazy about the way it smells though.
    Date published: 2011-06-10
    • 2016-04-28T15:50CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_53
    • loc_en_US, sid_7140, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders