Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

French Style Cribbing Strap

Item #16437
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

 

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The French Style Cribbing collar is the highest quality at an affordable price. The French Style Cribbing collar is an effective deterrent against cribbing.

If selected, engraving will be on the crown.  Please allow an additional 1-2 days for engraving. 

Customers Also Shopped For
Washable maize fleece browband and jowl Miracle Collar ...
Description:
Washable maize fleece browband and jowl Miracle Collar Fleece Covers provide extra cushioning andProtection. Browband cover simply slips over Miracle Collar's browband. Jowl covers attach with self-gripping VELCRO Brand closures. Will fit medium and large Miracle Collars.
Agreat tool to help with weight management for ...
Description:
Agreat tool to help with weight management for the easy keeper, this muzzle limits your horse's intake of grass and hay without obstructing his ability to drink or breathe. This muzzle easily attaches to your own leather or breakaway halterwith ...
A great tool to help with weight management ...
Description:
A great tool to help with weight management for the easy keeper! This halter with built-in muzzle provides a comfortable way to limit your horse's intake of grass and hay without obstructing his ability to drink or breathe. Favorite Features ...
Looking for a muzzle that is lightweight and ...
Description:
Looking for a muzzle that is lightweight and humane, yet allows your horse to eat freely? The Cribbing/Free to Eat Muzzle Limits unwanted behavior, such as cribbing and biting, noteating and drinking. Ultra-lightweight aluminum grill and nylon webbing is resistant ...
TheOriginal Grazing Muzzle is a great tool to ...
Description:
TheOriginal Grazing Muzzle is a great tool to help with weight management for the easy keeper. The Grazing Muzzle attaches to your own leather or breakaway halterand includesfour adjustable hook-and-loop straps. To attach the grazing muzzle to your halter just ...
The Deluxe Grazing Muzzle is a combination grazing ...
Description:
The Deluxe Grazing Muzzle is a combination grazing muzzle and breakaway halter all-in-one. Favorite Features Unique design of the Deluxe Grazing Muzzle utilizes a plastic side-release buckle as its breakaway feature Durable rubber bottom with small opening limits grass intake ...
The Miracle Collar features a patented, anatomically correct ...
Description:
The Miracle Collar features a patented, anatomically correct fit which allows it to be worn comfortably and applies pressure only when the horse attempts to crib. As a result, horses can wear the Miracle Collar without pain or discomfort while ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

French Style Cribbing Strap is rated 4.220338983050848 out of 5 by 59.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stopped cribbing Recently started leasing a 22 year old TB who by the look of his teeth has been cribbing his whole life. He arrived in a Miracle Collar which he was cribbing right through. I put the French collar on, he went to the window to crib (where after only a month in his new stall he had already whittled away much of the board) tried to crib once, couldn't, and hasn't tried to crib on the window since. He was furious with us for the first couple days (we joked he was like a smoker coming off cigarettes), but he got over himself pretty quickly. Many reviewers mentioned it runs large, which I also found. He's about 17hh with a pretty thick neck from years of cribbing, and after 2 weeks it stretched out enough that I had to punch a new hole. Another boarder in our barn has also ordered the collar for her cribber and had equally good results.
Date published: 2011-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality Cribbing Strap I found this cribbing strap to be of good quality, rather wide, but not as effective as the miracle collar.
Date published: 2011-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Product for the Price This does stop my mare from cribbing. It is light weight, well made, and a good quality leather. It was way too big for her, so I had to punch 2 holes and cut off some of the excess leather from the end of the strap. I am not sure if it is too loose for her. It stops her from cribbing at the current setting, but the throat cup often slips to the side of her throat. Again, I am not sure if it is doing this because I had to rig the strap or if it is not tight enough. Still - it serves its purpose!
Date published: 2011-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well This strap has stopped my TB gelding's cribbing! No other collar worked, but this one stopped my gelding almost immediately! He tried to crib a few times with it on, but eventually gave up. Now he doesn't even try to crib when I take the strap off for short periods of time. I just ordered my second one because the leather stretched out (after a year of full time use), and there is no more room for me to punch a new hole. My horse is 16.1h, and the collar is way too big. I have to make my own hole, but it is right next to the wider part of the strap, so I guess I will have to buy a new one annually. However, the price is right and the strap works, so I will stick with it.
Date published: 2011-06-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not satisfied This collar did not work at all with my horse. It pulled his skin/hair - and my horse is very fit and young so it shouldn't of even happened. The collar would slip to the side even if I tightened it more and my horse would still crib with this collar on. I was not impressed at all so I went back to the Miracle Collar which works great!
Date published: 2011-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Collar...working so far! I have been using this collar on my 22 year old retired event horse for a few weeks now and it has stopped the cribbing. He was cribbing more and more this winter with the lack of grass and this has stopped it. He still tries to go to the fence and puts his mouth on it but can't crib. My husband is much happier now that CB isn't tearing up our new fence! He's a fairly big horse and I've got the strap on the 2nd to last hole so smaller horses will need holes punched for sure. I also love the fact it does not have to be SUPER tight to work. I feel like I am not strangling him with this collar. It has been holding up to the weather well since my horses live outside 24/7. No rubs marks, but will get mud chuncks between it and his hair so must be checked often when muddy out. Excellent product for a very affordable price!
Date published: 2011-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Buy I bought this cribbing strap after reading the reviews of other people. My mare is a bad cribber and I had a miracle collar on her, but she would crib anyway, all the time. I had put it so tight that it really bothered me to see her with it on, especially the browband area. I read that people had good results with the French Style cribbing strap. The price was inexpensive enough that I thought I would give it a try and if it didn't work out I wouldn't have spent a lot. This cribbing strap did work better then the miracle collar and has cut down her cribbing about 90%. She stills cribs sometimes but not for as long. I think that the collar could fit a little better, it seems big on my mare even on the last hole.
Date published: 2011-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was a skeptic but it works! I have an incredible Paint whose only vise is his windsucking. I hated putting a collar on him but have tried every spray to no avail. I worry he will suck in feed, choke, colic or ruin his teeth. With the strap on he does not attempt to suck. It is totally loose on his neck when he is eating and drinking and thinner and less obtrusive than other straps. When I take it off to brush him, he puts his head down and doesn't mind me putting it back on. Get this strap if your horse is a windsucker. You won't miss hearing that dreadful noise or worrying about his health anymore!
Date published: 2011-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am in awe! My horse is a severe cribber of 12 years. His cribbing had gotten so bad I was having his teeth filed every 2 months. Weaver's Miracle Collar did nothing but create gnarly rubs. After I began counting pennies to save for cribbing surgery, I tried this crib stopper, and it worked! My gelding is happy and healthy, my fences are looking better then they ever have and I am sure I'll be spending many more years with my crib-free gelding. If you've got a cribber who can't tear himself away from the fence, try this! I even got my boy's named engraved in the top, and it looks stunning. This is my go-to crib stopper! Best part is I can use my favorite cleaners to keep it looking tip top. Thanks, SmartPak for an affordable, functional product once again!
Date published: 2010-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprisingly effective My mare has been wearing this for a few months now, and so far, so good! She will try to crib with it on, but she can't, which means the device is doing its job. Unlike the other straps she has worn, this doesn't cause any rubs and fits very nicely, even without fleece. It's tasteful looking and well-made.
Date published: 2010-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This one works I have one of the worst cribbing horses on the planet. I have tried cribbing collars (Miracle collar, and Rusty Dare) as well as muzzles. She even cribs with the muzzles on. The others work if they are choking tight and the leather is brand new, then she starts in again. This French style collar works! I had to use the tightest hole to fit her so it gets a bit off center (does not seem to matter) because of the change in leather width at the top, but it works! She tries to crib and quits right away.The price is good too.
Date published: 2010-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME! We bought this for our new OOTB who is 5. He of course had a heart attack when we put it on since he had never worn anything like it, but I will say, no more cribbing! He still tries to put his teeth on the wood, but he certainly can't suck anything in anymore! LOVE IT!
Date published: 2010-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It This strap is a good value and a great strap! It stopped my boy in his tracks and so far, hasn't rubbed out any hair like the miracle collar did. He also doesn't mess around while I'm riding with this collar on. He used to push on the bit, no more!!
Date published: 2010-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! This collar is great! My boy tried cribbing right after I put it on and stopped just short. I'm so happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2010-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Great! I purchased the horse of my dreams 2 years ago. He is a very nice cutting horse, but because of his intense training and confinement, I bought him with his annoying "cribbing" habit. I tried absolutely everything there is to stop it and nothing worked. It is a nightmare to deal with it on a daily basis. I saw this collar and thought why not, I've tried everything else. It immediately got his attention when he attempted to crib with it on and gave up after a couple of times trying. It doesn't have enough holes in it to fit him properly, so new holes had to put in to get it tight enough. He can now be stalled with the rest of the horses and turned out with regular fencing in a paddock like a normal horse. I don't have to worry about where to put him because of his cribbing. It is safe for him to wear all of the time and doesn't restrict his movement. I hate putting anything on him at all, but at least this collar is comfortable, safe and effective. Finally, I found the answer to deterring this annoying habit without having him suffer at the same time.
Date published: 2010-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! So far this cribbing collar seems to work very well. We have used the Miracle collar in the past and our horse still cribbed. And the Miracle collar makes marks on her head and the sheepskin gets nasty after a while. The leather on the french collar is beautiful and it works great. They do tend to run big. I ordered a medium for our 15'2" grade quarter horse and we had to put an extra hole in.
Date published: 2010-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from French Cribbing Collar Works wonders for horse who wind suck as opposed to wood chewing.
Date published: 2010-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Cribbing Strap That Works! I am taking time to write this review for everyone out there who is in my situation. My horse is an imported warmblood. He is amazing in every way -- except for his cribbing. Very annoying. At home, during the summer months, he spends most of his time in a large pasture that is fenced with 4-strand elctro-braid fencing. As such, he has very little opportunity (and seemingly not as much desire) to crib. Winter, however, is a different story. I board him at a heated facility so that we can continue to train, year-round. His days are spent in a paddock; nights in a heated stall-barn. The paddock and stall both provide fabulous cribbing opportunities for the persistent cribber. His cribbing becomes both annoying and damaging during the winter months. Initially, I ordered the very expensive Equipe Cribbing Strap with sheepskin. Nothing but the best for my baby!! Apparently, however, the Equipe does not provide enough of a deterrent. In order to stop him from cribbing, it had to be buckled what I consider to be way-too-tight. My black beauty even developed a bald spot in his mane! I was NOT happy. I then decided to try the French Style Cribbing Strap -- based on other reviews by SmartPak customers. Yes, everyone, there is a Santa Claus! This thing actually works -- and it works without having to fasten it too terribly tight. I put it on my beloved horse and watched as he went to crib. He latched on, began to heave upward, and AHA!!!! He stopped short!! From what I can tell, this strap is much more effective than anything else on the market. I am also excited because other reviewers indicate that it does not cause bald spots. For all of you out there with a cribber, I hope my review helps. I hate that my horse has to wear something like this at all. But if he has to wear it, I want something that is both effective and does not damage his mane. I think this is it!
Date published: 2010-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Works I have a cribber and after 2 years using a Miracle Collar and dealing with rub spots, sores and cuts from the collar, out of need, I tried the French Collar. No cribbing, no sores and he s VERY comfortable with it on. Thanks
Date published: 2009-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Product I believe that the quality of this is excellent for the price. The leather is good quality. This is the first cribbing strap I have ever purchased. It stops my gelding from cribbing but the bottom does slide to the side of his neck a little. I cant keep it in the proper position. He does have a narrow neck so I am assuming that is the problem. Even when it is displaced it still keeps him from cribbing. I got mine engraved and its engraved into the leather. It looks really nice.
Date published: 2009-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Get's The Job Done I bought this to replace the existing French collar my horse had.Been using it for a few weeks now, no chafing and more importantly no cribbing. Collar seems to be holding up well to outside elements.. mud and rain. The leather/craftsmanship is mid quality.I looked at several "bargain" equine sites and found this to be the lowest price advertised.Good value for the price, very pleased!
Date published: 2009-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The only collar that works I've tried every cribbing device on the market. My belgian broodmare used to crib incessantly and due tue that she was always underweight. We used the miracle collar, the nutcracker collars, muzzles, etc. and nothing was satisfactory until we started using the French Style Cribbing Strap. It was the only collar on the market that made a difference for my mare. Not only did it make a difference with her cribbing but she didnt have any wear marks or need to wear any fleece!! I have now gone thru 3 or 4 collars and have used them with success on several other cribbers who have come and gone in the barn...all with happy results!! The only down fall I can find about this product is that if you have a horse with a very powerful neck over time the metal in the throatlatch will bend and sort of flatten...but at the affordable price SmartPak has this collar listed for I dont see that as much of a problem! Especially for something that works so well!
Date published: 2008-05-21
  • 2016-07-30T11:06CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_57
  • loc_en_US, sid_6437, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders