Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Fleece Wither Pad

TuffRider
- Item #15499
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

This Fleece Wither Pad is an economical alternative to sheepskin and is perfect for schooling or riding in inclement weather.

Imported.

Favorite Features

  • White quilt with natural colored fleece
  • Measurements: 21½” spine
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Built to last, this saddle pad is an ...
    Description:
    "Built to last, this saddle pad is an investment in your horse's comfort. It contains 100% virgin wool which offers superior quality, wicking, cooling, and compression protection. The cut of the pad is specifically designed for horses with flatter or ...
    "The EcoGold Stabilizer™ Hunter Pad is a the ...
    Description:
    "The EcoGold Stabilizer™ Hunter Pad is a the ultimate pad for professional and show circuit riders who desire a sharp looking pad with all the bells and whistles. All parts are 100% breathable and provide the maximum protection from impact ...
    "This amazing pad supports the front of the ...
    Description:
    "This amazing pad supports the front of the saddle from collapsing in the area behind the shoulder as a result of muscle loss, ill saddle fit, or conformation. Strategic wedge placement fills in the void area, offering extra support. Works ...
    "Why We Love This LÉTTIA goes Western! We ...
    Description:
    "Why We Love This LÉTTIA goes Western! We bring our reputation for quality, attention to detail, and innovative ideas to products for the Western rider with features not found anywhere else! Add some glitz to your ride. Our original CoolMax ...
    "Specifically designed to support horses with muscle atrophy ...
    Description:
    "Specifically designed to support horses with muscle atrophy behind the shoulder blade. Supports the front of the saddle from collapsing in the area behind the shoulder as a result of muscle loss, ill saddle fit or conformation."
    "Perfectly shaped to provide a clean, nice contour ...
    Description:
    "Perfectly shaped to provide a clean, nice contour to your hunter saddle. The Ogilvy Friction Free Pad is the best solution on the market to avoid any back rubbing or friction. Made with the same specifications and comfort material as ...
    "The technology used to protect NFL players is ...
    Description:
    "The technology used to protect NFL players is now available to protect your horse. Introducing Toklat's T3 Felt Performance Pads with Superior Impact Protection.Extreme Pro-Impact features a ½” layer of impact absorbing Poron XRD® foam. This insert offers maximum impact ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Fleece Wither Pad is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 65.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Close contact show pad w/o much padding
    Date published: 2015-07-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product runs small Have not had a chance to use this product much so cannot comment on durability. It seems to be well made and is attractive. It does run quite small. I bought this to fit my dressage saddle and it is about 4 inches too short. It just about fits a pony saddle. So I would recommend this product but it will not fit average saddles. Pony only.
    Date published: 2015-04-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-03-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice pad for the price Good pad for the price. Would recommend to others.
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from You Get What You Pay For I received this half-pad in the mail and thought to myself, 'Wow, I got a great deal!' WRONG!!!!!!! This has held up nicely for like two weeks. It finally lost its 'fuzziness' after a month. BTW if you have a saddle size 17" or lower, the pad will be too big.Pros- Cheap, Good for Beginners (just starting out)Cons- Not Durable, Too big
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ehhh.... I bought this about 4 months ago and it's held up quite fine. Unfortunately, the pad lost all the shape and the 'fuzz' gets padded down after 3 weeks. It's ok if you're just starting out, but I would save up money to buy a decent half pad.
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING! I just got this pad today(can't rate the durability- My horse LOVES it. Amazing pad.The fleece is not yellow like in the photo- it is pure white. It goes great with my Union Hill AP saddle pad.Pros:Super softThe perfect size, and thicknessContours to the horseCons:The strap is not velcro, and is thinI like this even better than my sheepskin pad.
    Date published: 2014-11-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good value price great, quality good, measurements from front to back would be good in the product listing since it was hard to know if my saddle would fit, it is close but fits fine.
    Date published: 2014-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice thin pad for a tad extra when you need it This is a nice thin pad that isn't to bulky under the saddle. If you are looking for just a little extra in the wither this pad is great. For more lift to correct saddle fit for high withers it would be to thin for that. It fits fine under my 18" dressage saddle.
    Date published: 2014-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Would definitely reccomend This is a very nice pad, and it fits under my saddle perfectly!
    Date published: 2014-10-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Exactly as promised I purchased this half pad for an Isabel Wirth Wintec dressage saddle. I like how it fits way up in the gullet and I use it over two thin dressage pads on my 21 yr old mare. She is high withered. I would like it to cover a little more wither but it will do the job. Liked the fact it is washable.
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value for the price The article arrived quickly, packaged appropriately and nice material and easy to wash.
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Wither Pad Read some reviews that said this pad was thin, but I thought it was the perfect amount of padding to go with my saddle pads. It fits nicely under my saddle. I use it every time I ride (4x a week) and have washed it everyother week or so and it's holding up fine.
    Date published: 2014-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect half pad! This half pad is perfect for over a cotton saddle pad. It had just the right amount of fleece - not too much and not too little. It's super nice because it isn't too bulky and goes right up the gullet.
    Date published: 2014-06-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very small Fairly thin, but as expected for a product this cheap. Appears reasonably well-made. Unfortunately, it was several inches too short for my 17.5" forward flap cc saddle-- I think it would probably fit a 15-16" saddle max.
    Date published: 2014-04-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good addition to my saddle pad inventory I bought this because I was looking for a thinner fleece half pad to go with some square pads with extra padding in them. I bought it based on reviews that said it was pretty thin and actually, it's not as thin as I expected. I think it will work fine for what I"m looking for and it was a good price for what I wanted. I haven't used it yet, so am not sure of the durability, but it's an affordable price if I need to get another one at some point.
    Date published: 2014-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Total The Best!! This is the best withers pad ever!!! The price is great and it gives my horse the perfect support! It looks good with any other square pad too! I love it!
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't buy this I should have listened to the reviews. This wither pad is too thin to do anything. I'm on a budget, but instead of saving money by getting this wither pad I wasted money, because now I will have to buy a better one. I will probably never use this pad, it s just too thin. Waste of money.
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for If I just wanted an inexpensive half pad, this would be alright. But nothing about this pad is a "wither" pad! I'm sending it back, it's thin and it's not what I need.
    Date published: 2012-09-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not really a wither pad This is more of a half-pad than a wither pad. There is no opening at the seam which is what I expected. Of course, Smartpak was great about the return.
    Date published: 2012-07-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Looks nice, but way too thin! I bought this pad based on all the great reviews; I figured for $18 bucks you couldn't go wrong. For those of you looking for a half pad for "fashion" purposes, this pad LOOKS great and you should be pleased with it. However, my thoroughbred is lacking some muscle on his topline and just needed more padding overall. This pad is soooo thin it is worthless for a sore-backed horse. I ended up ordering a 3/4" Cashel Cushion and my horse loves it, he no longer gets back sore. I think this pad would be great if they doubled or even tripled the thickness, but "as is" I consider it a waste of money.
    Date published: 2012-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-04-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from extra layer of padding My saddle could probably use reflocking, but I figured I'd start with this very reasonably-priced pad to see if the targeted cushioning would make my horses any more comfortable. It does a fine job - not sure it technically changes the fit much, but it gives that extra layer of padding that I felt I was lacking. Does "ball up" and shed (on the front edge especially) as it wears, which didn't surprise me from synthetic sheepskin, and at this price I can treat it as replaceable when it loses its loft.
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wither Pad Excellent pad at a reasonable price.
    Date published: 2012-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great pad - great price My aging horse needed something to fill in the gaps between high withers and weight loss. This pad fit the bill. Works better than foam, and looks better, too!
    Date published: 2012-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice half pad My daughter really wanted a sheepskin half pad but was very pleased with this! It is well made and for the price...an excellent bargain! Great to help the shock of the saddle on the horse.
    Date published: 2011-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice wither pad This pad is well made, fits both my dressage saddle and my jumping saddle, and is easy to wash. I am very happy with the quality and price. I have used it for every day riding, thrown in the wash and used it for shows.
    Date published: 2011-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I bought this half pad because I needed a longer one to fit my new saddle and was on a budget. The pad looks and fits great. It is a thin pad, but that is what I wanted. It gives just enough padding to give some extra wither clearance. I cannot comment on the long term durability because I just got it, but it seems to be holding up well.
    Date published: 2011-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My gelding LOVES it. Bought this pad as an attempt to correct minor saddle fit issues. After many months of minimal/no work, my App gelding lost most of his muscle tone, especially his topline. So, my saddle no longer fits him quite right, and sinks down a bit on his withers. I found this pad, read the reviews, and for under $20 I definitely thought it would be a worthwhile purchase. Well, it has been! My gelding no longer "bunches up" when I put his saddle on, and his girthing issues are much diminished. He'll still swish his tail every now and again (I try to ride every other day, so I imagine I hit plenty of those "I just don't wanna" days), but he looks and feels a thousand times more comfortable. His movement isn't as guarded as it was; he'll extend and collect at all gaits in a way he hasn't in months. My only gripe is that it's a tad short. If the pad was an inch longer, it would be absolutely perfect. I have a 17" Collegiate dressage saddle. I can kinda of wiggle and stretc the pad the make it fit just right (it's gotten easier the more I've used it), but one extra inch would be fabulous :) That being said, I absolutely recommend this pad to anybody with minor fit issues. It's thick enough to add a little cushion (helps with muscle soreness) but not thick enough to cause huge changes in fit.
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    • y_2017, m_2, d_25, h_11
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_57
    • loc_en_US, sid_5499, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders