Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Equi-Spot Fly Control

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13412
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Equi-Spot Fly Control kills and repels houseflies, stable flies, face flies, horn flies, eye gnats and ticks on horses. Also aids in the control of horse flies, deer flies, mosquitoes and black flies on horses. Equi-Spot Fly Control is waterproof and sweatproof! Each package contains 3 x 10 ml tubes. Apply 5 ml along back line, 1 ml to top of forehead and 1 ml to the back of each leg. Do not re-apply for 14 days. Not for use on foals less than 12 weeks old. Contains 45% permethrin. 

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Equi-Spot Fly Control is rated 4.1385 out of 5 by 130.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Three people at my barn recommended this product to me so I recently purchased it for my horse and I love it. It seems to really help keep the bugs off so far!
    Date published: 2015-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for ticks! Bought this beginning in May when the ticks just start acting up on Long Island and I'm happy to say this is the BEST for stopping the tick bites. My OTTB has no problem with the application. I apply every 10-12 days instead of the 14 because I feel that it wear off a bit.
    Date published: 2015-06-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Effective but my horse hates it... It is always a fight to put this on my horse but I know it works so I do it! He hates the smell and how it trickles so I do it right before taking him back out to pasture. One thing that does not make sense about this product is they tell you percentages to put on different parts of the horse's body but I have no idea how you could possibly figure it out while you are trying to get this on a moving horse. It would be better if there were lines on the outside of the product showing how much should be emptied on each part.
    Date published: 2015-06-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worse than flies I recently purchased this item for my thin -skinned APHA gelding that breaks out in little hives from bug bites. I thought this would be great to add in addition to fly spray, sheets, masks, etc. Boy was I wrong. I placed a few dots on his leg first and immediately he began lifting his leg up and setting it down. Up down up down until I washed the product off. To double check I put a drop in his hip. Immediately he began swishing his tail at it and trying to bite the area. I washed it off immediately and he looked back at me and sighed, obviously thankful I got this awful stuff off him. I don't care how good it is at repelling bugs, this stuff bothers him much more than they ever have.
    Date published: 2015-06-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not sure what will work this year. I have used this in the past but this year after finally getting rain, well, it isn't working quite as well as it has in the past. It has killed the ticks, that I do know. I will still recommend it as it does work sometimes.
    Date published: 2015-06-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good fly control One mare I keep over in a neighbor's pasture just to keep their retired horse company, and the flies can get horrendous. She's a big thoroughbred, 16.3 and built like a warmblood, so I use 1.5 tubes on her. One whole tube from poll to tail, and half of a second one on her legs as directions say to apply. The remaining half I put on the legs of the other horse. Works really well, and does last most of 2 weeks unless you get some really, really heavy rain or a couple days of steady rain. I use this all summer in addition to a fly mask to help keep her comfortable.
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to Apply It's easy to apply and quick to use. It's hard to judge it's long term effectiveness for flies, but it has kept ticks off my horse since I've started using it.
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Very Well This product works so well. My horses had bad problems with ticks, so I purchased this product. I went from finding multiple ticks on my horses daily, to not seeing any ticks on them AT ALL!! The only problem, is that one of my horses was tender the day after I applied it. But it still works great on him, too!
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed feelings ... I have mixed feelings about Equi-Spot for 2 reasons: (1) I do think it works but does not last 2 weeks. The reality of riding in hot weather is that we hose off our horses after the ride ... so perhaps it lasts about 9-10 days. (2) The little containers are clever and clearly, efficient. However, there's a learning curve to getting the liquid onto my horses legs and not on my hands. There's a fair bit of waste. My horse is in Florida ... maybe it would work better in a climate with less humidity.
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from did not work put my horses out in pasture and the flies and ticks were terrible. put this on and went back the next day and they were covered in flies. did not notice any difference at all. waste of money
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Make sure you do a test-spot When using this product PLEASE make sure you do a test spot on your horse. I bought this product on sale, and ended up having to pay a vet bill because my horse had an allergic reaction to it. He had very sensitive huge hives all along his neck and back where this product was placed. I believe it works in terms of insect repellant because I did see a noticeable difference in the amount of insects on him, but unfortunately I cannot use it.
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product really works I've used Equi-spot for a number of years. I never see a fly in my barn. I don't see flies on my horses. It works well for our mosquito problem and even helps with ticks. Occasionally during a rainy period when the giant horse flies get vicious, I may have to add a little bit of spray once in a while. But, I really don't know anything that keeps those giant horse flies off.
    Date published: 2015-06-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from What a mess! There is no possible way to apply this without getting it everywhere. When you snap the applicator to open it, it leaves a sharp edge that annoys the horse when you try to apply to the back of the legs. Thankfully none of the horses I tried it on is a kicker - but one came close with this. Not sure it did any good at all. We are not heavy into fly season yet. I was hoping to see a difference, even early so I knew whether or not to continue. Based on my experience, I will not use it again - too messy, little change in fly status.
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Reaction to product The product arrived quickly, however my horse had a reaction to the product and was EXTREMELY itchy, throwing his body into the wall and swishing his tail like crazy. We had to rinse him off with different products for 4 days before he finally started settling down and seemed to be better. Smartpak customer service was amazing and took the products back. I know 2 other horses that had no reaction to this product, I think it just depends on the horses skin sensitivity
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! The flies can get really bad here in MI so decided to give this a try. I've used on only 3 of our horses first so I could get an idea of how well it works. The 3 with are definitely swishing/stomping less than those without so I am happy. I don't want to use on nursing mares but once the babies are weaned in a week or so they'll be getting this treatment too.
    Date published: 2015-06-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprised! I bought this for the buy 5 get one free, and to give it a try. Well, we were surprised how well it worked at keeping the flies off the horses, for the advertised 2 weeks. On the grays be sure to but UNDER the mane, did leave a bit of a residue, but was great on the big black import who is deathly afraid (still) of fly spray. Plus once every two weeks! pretty pleased with this, not going to lie....
    Date published: 2015-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! This seriously works for keeping flies off. Way better than fly spraying them! And it lasts! With regular hosing off, I reapply about every 3 weeks.
    Date published: 2015-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! I started putting this on my horse over a month ago and I very happy with the way the product is working. Where I board my horse and ride there are a lot of ticks and so far I have found none on him. I will continue using this product through the summer and into fall.
    Date published: 2015-05-26
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from BUYER BEWARE I recently moved my horse to a new barn that has grass turnouts so I bought this product to maybe decrease the amount of ticks he would collect while in the long grass. I had heard good things from my friend who tried this on her horse who was pasture boarded, she said it didn't completely get rid of the bug bites and ticks but it definitely did make a difference. So I applied some and within two minutes he was already scratching and rubbing himself on the sides of his stall. I wasn't sure if it was normal or not at first but I started getting concerned that he was going to rub his tail out. I had to give him bath, washing him twice, making sure to scrub the areas where there was product applied. I noticed that his coat had faded/burned to a red against his dark bay in the spots I put the product on. I'm not sure if I'm the only one who has this problem but I definitely would test it on a small area and wait a hour or so before applying it to the whole body, especially if you have a thin skinned horse, in my case a thoroughbred. I am very disappointed in what it did to him, maybe some less harsh chemicals would help. Even though it does protect from bugs it's not worth the discomfort that your horse might experience. Also I'm not too happy that I spent $15 on it and now I have to give it away:/ . Overall I would by pass this product and invest in some fly boots and a fly sheet if you are too concerned about bugs pestering your horse.
    Date published: 2015-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing alternative to daily fly spray! I have used this product on my horse a few times, and it is amazing!!! It is an amazing alternative to daily fly spray when I can't get out to the barn. Living in Sacramento when our summer months can be brutal and I feel bad when I can't get out there. This allows my boy to be comfortable and my mind at ease!
    Date published: 2015-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ease of use. Peace of mind. Equi spot lets me relax knowing my horses are protected. 5 minutes of my time is all it takes!
    Date published: 2015-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is GREAT for tick control Early in the season, when coming back from a trail ride, my horse had clusters of ticks on him. The bites really blew up on him, and I had to give him dex to get the swelling down. I read many reviews on many site about Equispot working for tick control, and they're all right ! Have not had one tick on him since I started using this product. We ride through woods that are heavily infested with ticks. I wish I could put it on myself ! Highly recommend this product !
    Date published: 2015-05-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Worth It! I bought this product and am sad to say that it did not work at all.
    Date published: 2015-04-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really works for ticks! I needed something to help keep ticks off my mare because she would come in with 2-3 on her per day. I read the reviews and decided to try this. It's been a week since I put it on my mare and I have not found any ticks so I believe it definitely works if you are looking for a tick preventative. I will continue using it. Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2015-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy application I like that I can apply this to my horse and she'll be protected from insects for up to 2 weeks. And it's not overly expensive.
    Date published: 2015-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Knock out ticks! I have been using this product for two years during the warmer season. Though I do NOT think it repels flies, I have not found a tick on my 3 horses since I began applying this product every two weeks. Unfortunately, I have to use 4-5 "doses" to cover 3 large horses every 14 days. This is rather expensive. Also, the packaging is lousy which means some of the product ends up spilling onto the ground/stall floor. I have twice reported these concerns to the manufacturer. Wear gloves while applying as you don't need concentrated insecticide on your skin! I will keep using this product as we are plagued by many ticks in Northerm Minnesota.
    Date published: 2015-04-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from No more flies I have been using this for a year and it does a great job for the most part. If it is really hot out it does not seem to last quite as long as it is suppose to. Saves a lot of time because you do not have to treat horses daily or weekly like other products.
    Date published: 2015-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awsome Product!!!! This product is great!!! This works great when you can be out at the barn every day! This product last for 2 weeks, way longer than fly spray. Way worth the money!!!!!
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great when pastured near water I've had my mare at a couple barns with water (river/lake) nearby, and that definitely makes the bugs worse. I've found much fewer ticks on her after using Equi-Spot than without it, and I don't feel as bad if I don't fly spray her as often.Several friends and I split the value pack and it's been great!
    Date published: 2014-09-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works for Biting Flies This works for those nasty little biting flies we get in Montana. This alone is the reason I spend the money on this. These nasty buggers can eat up your poor horse’s chest, face and neck in no time. It helps against the horse fly but doesn’t keep them away entirely, not sure anything really does. I like this because when my horses are out to pasture and I don’t get a chance to spray them they are still protected.
    Date published: 2014-09-08
    • 2015-08-26T13:16CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_116
    • loc_en_US, sid_3412, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.