Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

English Hackamore

Item #14412
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Our English Hackamore has 7 1/2" shanks. The English Hackamore has a fleece lined noseband to prevent rubbing. Adjustable curb chain. Please note, in the image, the leather portion of the hackamore has been oiled. When it first arrives, the leather is a light tan color. If you prefer a darker leather, add a coat of oil such as the Hydrophane Leather Dressing or Hydrophane Darkening Oil.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    English Hackamore is rated 4.2128 out of 5 by 47.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Solution! Wonderful control and comfort for my retired TB who has a misaligned jaw and is happy not to have a bit in his mouth any more! Not for beginners. Must have soft hands!
    Date published: 2010-01-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not what I expected The first thing I noticed about the English Hackamore when I opened the package was the incredibly pale colored leather which does not match any English bridles. From the picture, it appears to be a standard brown color, but even after oiling, it is still an odd color which will prevent me from being able to use it in a show.The other problem I had was with fitting. I had a difficult time adjusting cheek pieces to make the hackamore fit my mare's face correctly. I ended up putting it on a western nylon bridle because in an English bridle, I would have needed to buy a new one in a size smaller.Overall, I was disappointed with my purchase, but at least I can use it for schooling and trail riding.
    Date published: 2009-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Hackamore I bought this hackamore for my paint gelding who is having some gum inflammation and was fighting the snaffle due to pain. He is working very nicely in this hackamore. I'm thinking of buying another one for my other horse who is currently being ridden in a bitless bridle.The only dislike I had with this hack was that I had to punch new holes in my bridle because the existing holes had the hack sitting way too low on his nose. Other than that, it's working like a charm.
    Date published: 2009-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "pretty is what serves a useful purpose" This hackamore typifies this German saying "pretty is what serves a useful purpose" While the low quality, stiff, lightly colored leather and small fleece pad at first turned me off to this piece of equipment I have been converted into a fan. After two years of frequent use the leather is still very light but has held up beautifully (I had feared it would start to crack), the fleece pad stays right where it is supposed to, and the hackamore functions exactly like far more expensive models. While I can't say it is easy to fit, we have had to make several adjustments to get it close to the ideal position (it runs small and causes the cheek pieces to ride high, close to the eye) on the face of either of our horses yet it always works perfectly. For the price this little hackamore is a rock solid performer and works for our speedy McQueenie mare as well as our Pokie Little Puppy mare. I will never be without one in the tack room again.
    Date published: 2009-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I purchased this Hackamore approx. 1 month ago - it is great. Still breaking it in but great value compared to some of the others I was looking at.
    Date published: 2009-08-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from English Hackamore. The Hackamore is not the the same color as in picture, it is really light tan. I hope that with lots of neats foot oil it will darken.Very nice bit and really light weight too.Thanks.
    Date published: 2009-05-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from works very well, but small My horse hates all bits (low palate, fat tongue) but this works very well for him. He can be very strong but I have good control with this hackamore when I need it. I used darkening oil on mine and the color looks a lot better (kind of a reddish havana). It is a little small for him in that the bridle attaches too high up, so that the cheeks of the bridle hit a little close to his eye. I put a longer brow band on the bridle and that helped some. I haven't been able to find it in a larger size.
    Date published: 2009-03-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job! But big horses beware This english hackamore is a good way to put brakes on your horse. It does its job, especially with horses who completely ignore the bit (like mine). However for a horse with a large head it may not be big enough. I have a draft cross and I had to punch holes at the very end of each leather piece for it to fit my mare, and a horse sized bridal will normally fit her fine. Also the color of the leather is extremely light, it does not have the darker pieces on it like the pictures show. I would be impossible to get a english bridle to match.
    Date published: 2009-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brakes! As an event rider, I always value good brakes on my very forward mare. However, she gets tense and nervous with more severe bits, but she runs through the milder varieties. Someone suggested a hackamore - what a difference! She's relaxed and happy, but actually slows down when I touch the reins (minor miracle when galloping cross-country!) Took some getting used to, but I'm a big fan! This version has a very light colored, low quality leather but it certainly does the trick. Hopefully some oil will darken it up.
    Date published: 2007-03-15
    • 2015-08-30T14:33CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_44
    • loc_en_US, sid_4412, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.