Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

English Hackamore

Item #14412
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Our English Hackamore has 7 1/2" shanks. The English Hackamore has a fleece lined noseband to prevent rubbing. Adjustable curb chain. Please note, in the image, the leather portion of the hackamore has been oiled. When it first arrives, the leather is a light tan color. If you prefer a darker leather, add a coat of oil such as the Hydrophane Leather Dressing or Hydrophane Darkening Oil.

Imported.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high ...
    Description:
    "Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high tech plastics, making them soft, flexible, gentle and comfortable for your horse. The unique apple scent increases your horse's acceptance. Happy Mouth bits are non-toxic, flexible and long lasting with a stainless ...
    "A favorite with top trainers, Happy Mouth bits ...
    Description:
    "A favorite with top trainers, Happy Mouth bits are covered with a soft, flexible, yet extremely durable, apple-scented plastic which encourages acceptance and softness. Straight mouth bits have an inner core of twisted wire for more flexibility. The core of ...
    "The unique Apple Scented Mouthpiece encourages horses to ...
    Description:
    "The unique Apple Scented Mouthpiece encourages horses to accept the bit. Space age polymer provides a gentler bit for a happier horse."
    "A favorite with top trainers, Happy Mouth bits ...
    Description:
    "A favorite with top trainers, Happy Mouth bits are covered with a soft, flexible, yet extremely durable, apple-scented plastic which encourages acceptance and softness. The Happy Mouth Shaped Mullen Mouth Elevator has an inner core of twisted wire for more ...
    "Herm Sprenger KK Ultra bits are adapted to ...
    Description:
    "Herm Sprenger KK Ultra bits are adapted to the anatomy of the horse's mouth. KK Ultra Bits were developed after extensive research at the Veterinary University in Hanover, Germany. The results revealed some new findings: the interior volume of the ...
    "Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels ...
    Description:
    "Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels of training and competition. They are crafted from materials of the highest quality. Full cheek with Dr Bristol mouthpiece, slow twist with Copper mouth. Imported."
    "Every Lorenzini bit is unique. It is the ...
    Description:
    "Every Lorenzini bit is unique. It is the result of a treatment that makes it an original and unrepeatable element. Small differences enhance the handmade production- Smooth to the touch and in the horses mouth, the lightweight metal always has ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    English Hackamore is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 66.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish it was daker Everything would be perfect if it came darker. I've already oiled it twice with hydrophane and it's still very light (but I knew this would be my issue as soon as I bought it). Otherwise wonderful hackamore. Will have to buy a new one to show in but worth it for the experiment! My new jumper prospect loved it. REALLY like the short shanks. Will probably replace the curb chain with leather because he's sensitive but he rides great in it!
    Date published: 2012-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the price I bought this for one of my jumpers who we wanted to try it on. It is a great hackamore to start with because it gives you pleanty of woah but isnt as harsh as the more expensive ones. Good quality parts for the price and if you keep it clean it looks show ready for a long time.
    Date published: 2012-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hackamore for the $$ I wanted to try a hackamore, but I didn't want to spend much. This is a terrific value. My horse seems to love it, so if I stay with a hack long-term, I will probably buy one to match my bridle, but, for now, this is great. A really affordable option that is safe and sturdy. I will say that I ordered one from a competitor that I was afraid to ride in. No such concerns with this Smartpak hack.
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This hackamore is awesome I was very skeptical that the hackamore would help with my horses chewing and open mouth while riding but he is now a totally different horse. He is happier, quiet, and relaxed when I ride.
    Date published: 2012-10-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product I bought this for my mare, cause I've been borrowing a friends. I really like it, the quality is good, and I use it at shows. The only thing I do not like is my bridle is a very dark brown color, and the hackamore is very light and does not match. I cannot get it the color it is in the picture.
    Date published: 2012-09-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from English Hackamore - good deal Got this to try on one of my mares - it's solid, basic looking, fits well and works just fine. Not the most gorgeous hackamore but definitely worth the price to give it a try.
    Date published: 2012-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from English Hackamore Fits perfect, quality is great just the color of the leather is lighter than in the pic but a little oil and you cant tell the difference
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect even for the price! Love this hackamore, I have never had any others or used one before, but we wanted to try one on my horse and this one was the cheapest out there and very good quality for the price!
    Date published: 2012-04-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from 1st time I've ever been disatisfied! I ordered this English Hackemore for my 17 yr. old daughter to use while her mare's small mouth tear was healing. She rode in the Hackemore on the flat then trotted to a small jump, after which, her horse began a collected canter. Without stress or warning, the leather snapped and she was suddenly w/out a bridle. At this point her horse took off running -- not a good situation. My daughter ended up on the ground but fortunately was only sore, uninjured. Her trainer (former Olympic eventing trainer) said the quality is "disgraceful" and not the usual Smartpak standard. I hope you replace this with a better quality Hackemore. Though the brand was not on the item, after further investigation, it looks like the Weathebeata Hackemore -- beware -- could have been tragic.
    Date published: 2011-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality Hackamore Good hackamore; however, wish it came in the color that is shown on the site. It comes in a very pale , almost pinkish color and must be dyed to match your bridle.
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product! I have had this hackamore for over 6 YEARS!! I love everything about this except how "bulky" it is, but by simply putting a halter fleece cover on the nose band it really does wonders!! my ONLY complaint is that this doesn't come in sizes, I have two morgan mares and their faces are too dainty for it and it doesn't tighten up enough for it to fit them properly, fit's my qh perfect though!
    Date published: 2011-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality Like others have said, the leather is stiff and light...I oiled with olive oil and it seems to be darker. Great product for the price though!
    Date published: 2011-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Money well spent The only reason I did not give this all perfect stars is because quality is not 100%. Its good enough to use everyday, and will probably hold up it just feels like a plastic/leather mix and is VERY light in color. I am not riding for style and I don't care how different the color is or how I look... so I put it on my brown english hunter bridle and went off hacking around among people with 60k dollar horses and bridles that cost more then my horse, and I was pretty happy with it. Its easy to adjust and fit my average faced 17h gelding just fine. I read up how to adjust it and get the perfect fit and it fit pretty awesome. I was pretty close to selling my horse since he would just get so nervous he would start speeding up and get faster and faster, and in the hunter world that is not okay. I tried him in softer and softer bits and he would be amazing the first time then get annoyed when I would ask him to slow down, stop or go on the bit. Even asking with my voice he would get nervous thinking I was going to touch his mouth(previous owner had nasty hands). If I tired him out enough to relax and get him on the bit he would lean on it and not be very productive. I bought this on a whim and decided to try it out for the heck of it since I figured I already was resenting buying my horse what else could go wrong. I researched hackamores and everyone talked about how harash and strong they are, so coming into it I knew I had to be gentle. Even testing the hackamore on your leg you can tell that its easily able to apply alot of pressure, so make sure your not hanging on to your horses face, if your not then your all set. I put this on my horse and I felt like I bought a new horse. He was so relaxed because he didnt have a bit in his mouth he had nothing to worry about, he listened to my voice commands and was to quiet, a slight lift of the reins and he went into a nice frame. I never had to pull on the reins or anything. Amazing transfermation. I read alot online that hackamores can be hard to steer in, but my horse listens to my legs pretty well so slight to no rein was needed to navigate around the lesson going on and jumps in the arena. My horse seemed happy and relaxed knowing that nothing was in his mouth or annoying him, it got him to stop being nervous because he knew nothing could happen. Even staying soft with a soft bit he would still get nervous. I bought this on a whim like I said and almost returned it before trying it after reading how "cruel" "harsh" "strong" and "experienced" you need to be to use a hackamore. If you have steady hands and a good seat your all set. You don't need to be a pro you just need to realize the pressure it can put out. I put it over my leg folded up and pulled and it made me have a great understanding of how it worked and the pressure. The nose band did not rub my horse and he is a pretty sensitive guy. Best 26 dollars I have spent, saved me from the hardship of selling my horse because I finally can enjoy him instead of feeling like hacking is a chore.
    Date published: 2011-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous, what a difference My little QH gelding and I have been fighting quite a bit lately as he's learned to lock his jaw on his normal bit--this hackamore completely eliminated that problem. He usually has a very hard time staying off his forehand, and I have a hard time riding him from behind, but the hackamore made him sit on his hocks before a jump and he went beautifully. I've used it before, but only intermittently and for trails or pleasure riding--will definitely be using it quite a bit more =)
    Date published: 2011-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase I love this Hackamore, because the fear of hurting my horse's mouth is gone. I hated putting in the bit, I was nervous and due to that stress, I was tense and always hurt my horse. I almost quit ridimg, because I didn't want to put the bit and it was a hasstle to always ask for help. This Hackamore works great and I have been riding every day again. There is realy not that much difference for the horse, it is actually nicer and steers just as well.
    Date published: 2011-01-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Tester I keep this on hand to try on horses I suspect would go well in a hackamore. I recommend upgrading to a nicer quality once you've figured out what you're doing. The metal has some rough edges and looks cheap/thin. The leather is poor quality and does oil funny. However, I've had the same hackamore for almost five years, so it's lasted moderate use.
    Date published: 2010-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 12 on a 10 scale I am very pleased beyond Reproach with this product, this company, and their prices. Found what I was looking for, and after some serious price comparisons with other stores, this had the best price on my product by far. I have NO regrets, just Perma-Grin....:D
    Date published: 2010-04-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for I had another hackamore for my TB that just wasn't getting the job done. I was suggested this by a clinician and it has worked much better than my previous one. I would highly recommend it! Also great to have for the lazy Sunday trail ride!
    Date published: 2010-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Solution! Wonderful control and comfort for my retired TB who has a misaligned jaw and is happy not to have a bit in his mouth any more! Not for beginners. Must have soft hands!
    Date published: 2010-01-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not what I expected The first thing I noticed about the English Hackamore when I opened the package was the incredibly pale colored leather which does not match any English bridles. From the picture, it appears to be a standard brown color, but even after oiling, it is still an odd color which will prevent me from being able to use it in a show. The other problem I had was with fitting. I had a difficult time adjusting cheek pieces to make the hackamore fit my mare's face correctly. I ended up putting it on a western nylon bridle because in an English bridle, I would have needed to buy a new one in a size smaller. Overall, I was disappointed with my purchase, but at least I can use it for schooling and trail riding.
    Date published: 2009-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Hackamore I bought this hackamore for my paint gelding who is having some gum inflammation and was fighting the snaffle due to pain. He is working very nicely in this hackamore. I'm thinking of buying another one for my other horse who is currently being ridden in a bitless bridle. The only dislike I had with this hack was that I had to punch new holes in my bridle because the existing holes had the hack sitting way too low on his nose. Other than that, it's working like a charm.
    Date published: 2009-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "pretty is what serves a useful purpose" This hackamore typifies this German saying "pretty is what serves a useful purpose" While the low quality, stiff, lightly colored leather and small fleece pad at first turned me off to this piece of equipment I have been converted into a fan. After two years of frequent use the leather is still very light but has held up beautifully (I had feared it would start to crack), the fleece pad stays right where it is supposed to, and the hackamore functions exactly like far more expensive models. While I can't say it is easy to fit, we have had to make several adjustments to get it close to the ideal position (it runs small and causes the cheek pieces to ride high, close to the eye) on the face of either of our horses yet it always works perfectly. For the price this little hackamore is a rock solid performer and works for our speedy McQueenie mare as well as our Pokie Little Puppy mare. I will never be without one in the tack room again.
    Date published: 2009-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I purchased this Hackamore approx. 1 month ago - it is great. Still breaking it in but great value compared to some of the others I was looking at.
    Date published: 2009-08-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from English Hackamore. The Hackamore is not the the same color as in picture, it is really light tan. I hope that with lots of neats foot oil it will darken. Very nice bit and really light weight too. Thanks.
    Date published: 2009-05-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from works very well, but small My horse hates all bits (low palate, fat tongue) but this works very well for him. He can be very strong but I have good control with this hackamore when I need it. I used darkening oil on mine and the color looks a lot better (kind of a reddish havana). It is a little small for him in that the bridle attaches too high up, so that the cheeks of the bridle hit a little close to his eye. I put a longer brow band on the bridle and that helped some. I haven't been able to find it in a larger size.
    Date published: 2009-03-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job! But big horses beware This english hackamore is a good way to put brakes on your horse. It does its job, especially with horses who completely ignore the bit (like mine). However for a horse with a large head it may not be big enough. I have a draft cross and I had to punch holes at the very end of each leather piece for it to fit my mare, and a horse sized bridal will normally fit her fine. Also the color of the leather is extremely light, it does not have the darker pieces on it like the pictures show. I would be impossible to get a english bridle to match.
    Date published: 2009-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brakes! As an event rider, I always value good brakes on my very forward mare. However, she gets tense and nervous with more severe bits, but she runs through the milder varieties. Someone suggested a hackamore - what a difference! She's relaxed and happy, but actually slows down when I touch the reins (minor miracle when galloping cross-country!) Took some getting used to, but I'm a big fan! This version has a very light colored, low quality leather but it certainly does the trick. Hopefully some oil will darken it up.
    Date published: 2007-03-15
    • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_22
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_62
    • loc_en_US, sid_4412, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 78ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders