Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

English Hackamore

Item #14412

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Our English Hackamore has 7 1/2" shanks. The English Hackamore has a fleece lined noseband to prevent rubbing. Adjustable curb chain. Please note, in the image, the leather portion of the hackamore has been oiled. When it first arrives, the leather is a light tan color. If you prefer a darker leather, add a coat of oil such as the Hydrophane Leather Dressing or Hydrophane Darkening Oil.

Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    English Hackamore is rated 4.283 out of 5 by 53.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Money well spent The only reason I did not give this all perfect stars is because quality is not 100%. Its good enough to use everyday, and will probably hold up it just feels like a plastic/leather mix and is VERY light in color. I am not riding for style and I don't care how different the color is or how I look... so I put it on my brown english hunter bridle and went off hacking around among people with 60k dollar horses and bridles that cost more then my horse, and I was pretty happy with it. Its easy to adjust and fit my average faced 17h gelding just fine. I read up how to adjust it and get the perfect fit and it fit pretty awesome. I was pretty close to selling my horse since he would just get so nervous he would start speeding up and get faster and faster, and in the hunter world that is not okay. I tried him in softer and softer bits and he would be amazing the first time then get annoyed when I would ask him to slow down, stop or go on the bit. Even asking with my voice he would get nervous thinking I was going to touch his mouth(previous owner had nasty hands). If I tired him out enough to relax and get him on the bit he would lean on it and not be very productive. I bought this on a whim and decided to try it out for the heck of it since I figured I already was resenting buying my horse what else could go wrong. I researched hackamores and everyone talked about how harash and strong they are, so coming into it I knew I had to be gentle. Even testing the hackamore on your leg you can tell that its easily able to apply alot of pressure, so make sure your not hanging on to your horses face, if your not then your all set. I put this on my horse and I felt like I bought a new horse. He was so relaxed because he didnt have a bit in his mouth he had nothing to worry about, he listened to my voice commands and was to quiet, a slight lift of the reins and he went into a nice frame. I never had to pull on the reins or anything. Amazing transfermation. I read alot online that hackamores can be hard to steer in, but my horse listens to my legs pretty well so slight to no rein was needed to navigate around the lesson going on and jumps in the arena. My horse seemed happy and relaxed knowing that nothing was in his mouth or annoying him, it got him to stop being nervous because he knew nothing could happen. Even staying soft with a soft bit he would still get nervous. I bought this on a whim like I said and almost returned it before trying it after reading how "cruel" "harsh" "strong" and "experienced" you need to be to use a hackamore. If you have steady hands and a good seat your all set. You don't need to be a pro you just need to realize the pressure it can put out. I put it over my leg folded up and pulled and it made me have a great understanding of how it worked and the pressure. The nose band did not rub my horse and he is a pretty sensitive guy. Best 26 dollars I have spent, saved me from the hardship of selling my horse because I finally can enjoy him instead of feeling like hacking is a chore.
    Date published: 2011-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous, what a difference My little QH gelding and I have been fighting quite a bit lately as he's learned to lock his jaw on his normal bit--this hackamore completely eliminated that problem. He usually has a very hard time staying off his forehand, and I have a hard time riding him from behind, but the hackamore made him sit on his hocks before a jump and he went beautifully. I've used it before, but only intermittently and for trails or pleasure riding--will definitely be using it quite a bit more =)
    Date published: 2011-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase I love this Hackamore, because the fear of hurting my horse's mouth is gone. I hated putting in the bit, I was nervous and due to that stress, I was tense and always hurt my horse. I almost quit ridimg, because I didn't want to put the bit and it was a hasstle to always ask for help. This Hackamore works great and I have been riding every day again. There is realy not that much difference for the horse, it is actually nicer and steers just as well.
    Date published: 2011-01-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Tester I keep this on hand to try on horses I suspect would go well in a hackamore. I recommend upgrading to a nicer quality once you've figured out what you're doing.The metal has some rough edges and looks cheap/thin. The leather is poor quality and does oil funny. However, I've had the same hackamore for almost five years, so it's lasted moderate use.
    Date published: 2010-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 12 on a 10 scale I am very pleased beyond Reproach with this product, this company, and their prices.Found what I was looking for, and after some serious price comparisons with other stores, this had the best price on my product by far. I have NO regrets, just Perma-Grin....:D
    Date published: 2010-04-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for I had another hackamore for my TB that just wasn't getting the job done. I was suggested this by a clinician and it has worked much better than my previous one. I would highly recommend it! Also great to have for the lazy Sunday trail ride!
    Date published: 2010-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Solution! Wonderful control and comfort for my retired TB who has a misaligned jaw and is happy not to have a bit in his mouth any more! Not for beginners. Must have soft hands!
    Date published: 2010-01-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not what I expected The first thing I noticed about the English Hackamore when I opened the package was the incredibly pale colored leather which does not match any English bridles. From the picture, it appears to be a standard brown color, but even after oiling, it is still an odd color which will prevent me from being able to use it in a show.The other problem I had was with fitting. I had a difficult time adjusting cheek pieces to make the hackamore fit my mare's face correctly. I ended up putting it on a western nylon bridle because in an English bridle, I would have needed to buy a new one in a size smaller.Overall, I was disappointed with my purchase, but at least I can use it for schooling and trail riding.
    Date published: 2009-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Hackamore I bought this hackamore for my paint gelding who is having some gum inflammation and was fighting the snaffle due to pain. He is working very nicely in this hackamore. I'm thinking of buying another one for my other horse who is currently being ridden in a bitless bridle.The only dislike I had with this hack was that I had to punch new holes in my bridle because the existing holes had the hack sitting way too low on his nose. Other than that, it's working like a charm.
    Date published: 2009-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "pretty is what serves a useful purpose" This hackamore typifies this German saying "pretty is what serves a useful purpose" While the low quality, stiff, lightly colored leather and small fleece pad at first turned me off to this piece of equipment I have been converted into a fan. After two years of frequent use the leather is still very light but has held up beautifully (I had feared it would start to crack), the fleece pad stays right where it is supposed to, and the hackamore functions exactly like far more expensive models. While I can't say it is easy to fit, we have had to make several adjustments to get it close to the ideal position (it runs small and causes the cheek pieces to ride high, close to the eye) on the face of either of our horses yet it always works perfectly. For the price this little hackamore is a rock solid performer and works for our speedy McQueenie mare as well as our Pokie Little Puppy mare. I will never be without one in the tack room again.
    Date published: 2009-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I purchased this Hackamore approx. 1 month ago - it is great. Still breaking it in but great value compared to some of the others I was looking at.
    Date published: 2009-08-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from English Hackamore. The Hackamore is not the the same color as in picture, it is really light tan. I hope that with lots of neats foot oil it will darken.Very nice bit and really light weight too.Thanks.
    Date published: 2009-05-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from works very well, but small My horse hates all bits (low palate, fat tongue) but this works very well for him. He can be very strong but I have good control with this hackamore when I need it. I used darkening oil on mine and the color looks a lot better (kind of a reddish havana). It is a little small for him in that the bridle attaches too high up, so that the cheeks of the bridle hit a little close to his eye. I put a longer brow band on the bridle and that helped some. I haven't been able to find it in a larger size.
    Date published: 2009-03-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job! But big horses beware This english hackamore is a good way to put brakes on your horse. It does its job, especially with horses who completely ignore the bit (like mine). However for a horse with a large head it may not be big enough. I have a draft cross and I had to punch holes at the very end of each leather piece for it to fit my mare, and a horse sized bridal will normally fit her fine. Also the color of the leather is extremely light, it does not have the darker pieces on it like the pictures show. I would be impossible to get a english bridle to match.
    Date published: 2009-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brakes! As an event rider, I always value good brakes on my very forward mare. However, she gets tense and nervous with more severe bits, but she runs through the milder varieties. Someone suggested a hackamore - what a difference! She's relaxed and happy, but actually slows down when I touch the reins (minor miracle when galloping cross-country!) Took some getting used to, but I'm a big fan! This version has a very light colored, low quality leather but it certainly does the trick. Hopefully some oil will darken it up.
    Date published: 2007-03-15
    • 2016-02-07T15:06CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_50
    • loc_en_US, sid_4412, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.