Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Effol Hoof Ointment - Green

Schweizer-Effax GmbH
- Item #20817

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

A valuable product for over 100 years, Effol Hoof Ointment - Green ensures healthy hoof growth and also has a disinfecting effect. 

Favorite Features

  • The combination of laurel and thymol effectively helps to protect against hoof diseases
  • Vaseline forms a water-repellent and dirt-repellent film, which protects the hoof against outside influences
  • Daily use can help put an end to brittle hooves

Contains: vaseline, laurel oil, thymol

Sizing It Up

500 ml

Made in Germany
 

 

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Caring, nourishing ingredients guarantee ideal, all-round protection for ...
    Description:
    Caring, nourishing ingredients guarantee ideal, all-round protection for healthy hooves. Promotes the elasticity of the hoof horn and makes even soft hooves very robust. Effol hoof oil is absorbed very quickly and gives a long-lasting shine. Favorite Features The practical ...
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Effol Hoof Ointment - Green is rated 4.84 out of 5 by 25.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy to use, poor results I was struggling to find Valentines Hoof Ointment, so I substituted this product to relieve the horses dry and chipping feet, from the exceptionally dry spring weather, to no avail. A full week of daily application yielded no change to frog, sole or hoof wall condition. Found Valentines in CA and after three application their feet have stopped chipping and frog pliability has returned.
    Date published: 2015-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! I've only ben using this on my horse for about two weeks, so its hard to tell if it is making a huge difference, but I love how easy it is to apply, and the nice sheen it gives his hooves. I would advise purchasing the accompanying brush and stand.
    Date published: 2015-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! Love love this product!! it was a great buy! and its so worth buying the brush fixture!
    Date published: 2014-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for warm & cold weather!! This hoof oil is awesome in hot weather and cold! It never freezes and never gets too mushy. Effol keeps the hoof moisturized longer than most other conditioners and doesn't just evaporate the second you get in the ring!
    Date published: 2014-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Improved Dryness I bought this product to use in conjunction with some other hoof products for a horse with poor hooves. Her coronary band was looking dry and flaky and I wanted to moisturize it in the hopes that that would help improve hoof quality. I noticed an improvement in the appearance of her coronary band. I have not had it long enough to say whether it will help with hoof quality. Should last a very long time as I am only applying to the coronary band every now and then.
    Date published: 2014-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof Product On the Market The best hoof product out there for moisture and conditioning. Even my farrier commented that my horses' hooves seem in better condition when I use it on a regular basis (bi-weekly, at most). Not messy, and scent is mild also.
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from smells great and no mess Love the texture (gel-like) as none of the product gets wasted. Get the the little brush with caddy for sure! Have seen some improvement as far as preventing cracks and evenness of hoof wall.
    Date published: 2014-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my horses hooves Only been using for a couple weeks but my mare's feet seem more conditioned already. This stuff stays where you put it so there isn't much waste like a liquid. It smells refreshing like a liniment.
    Date published: 2014-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product I've used this for years. It stays on and the jar last a long time.
    Date published: 2014-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have used for years I have used this product since getting my first horse over 10 years ago and even though I have used other products since then I always go back to Effol. It gave good growth to my rescue with severe club hooves and helped him more than any other product. My other horses have always had great feet that were strong and healthy and hold shoes thanks to using Effol. The tub lasts a long time as do most Effax products and can be applied with your hands (great for your skin too) or with a small paint brush if you don't buy the caddy Effax sells.
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Improves the hoovies. I used this when I lived in Germany and it kept my mares feet in great shape. So excited to see it for sale over here.
    Date published: 2014-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof Ointment on the Market I have been using Effol Hoof Ointment for many years now and will continue to do so. It is the best that I have found. Sometimes hard to find so I am happy that Smartpak carries it.
    Date published: 2013-04-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Effol hoof ointment I like the fact that this stuff is more like cuticle cream than it is a hood oil. I does give a shine to the hooves without dripping everywhere, but not the Mopp and Glow took of oil.
    Date published: 2013-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoof ointment! Have tried multiple hoof dressings but always go back to Effol. Does not smell, conditions hooves well and essentially no waste application. Lasts a long time. Wish Smartpak carried the large container.
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this product! I have a difficult time keeping my horse's hooves straight and this product really works!! It balances the hoof so its not just a moisturizer or a hardener so you only need one product in your tack box which is nice. I use it a few times a week and even my farrier noticed a difference in his feet. In the past I have used Keratex Hoof Gel but that stuff just seems way to toxic and it always makes a mess. Plus then you have to use a moisturizer other times. Get the brush caddy that attaches to the bottom of the container. It really works and keeps everything else from getting messed up from the brush. LOVE Effol products!!!!
    Date published: 2012-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really soaks in Soaks in much better than lot of hoof products and does nice job keeping hooves moisturized. I may buy the one with the applicator next time as its a little messy, but the scent is not bad like others.
    Date published: 2012-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hoof Product From Florida to New Jersey weather, this is by far the best hoof product ever. I apply this product before I ride and/or before I give my horse a bath. I get compliments on my horses hooves all the time and my farrier loves this stuff. Well worth the purchase. One container lasts me a few months and I use it almost everyday!
    Date published: 2012-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad SmartPak is carrying this! This is the greatest hoof ointment ever!!! It has super good for feet ingredients, and keeps the hoof moisturized for at least 24 hours after applying. I am just SO happy SmartPak is carrying this. It was the last product I was still having to get through Dover and pay their ridiculous shipping on!
    Date published: 2012-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from About time Smartpak I LOVE THIS STUFF!!!!!! my local tack shop closed down and i have not been able to find this anywhere. this is the best hoof ointment out there. it lasts a long time. i usually put it on with a small 2" paint brush and really rub it in with my fingers on the cornet band. really helps with the summer cracks. my only suggestion is, do not keep in the heat. it gets soupy and is a mess.
    Date published: 2012-07-30
    • 2016-02-05T14:56CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_24
    • loc_en_US, sid_10817, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.