Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Effax Leather Combi

Schweizer-Effax GmbH
- Item #11027

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

For the most thorough leather cleaning, Leather Combi is a great alternative to traditional saddle soap. Leather Combi's grease free formula penetrates leather and does not attract dust. With regular use, leather is non-slip, tear-resistant, smooth and insensitive to water and sweat.

Favorite Features

  • Grease Free
  • No dust attraction
  • Non-slip
  • Tear-resistant
  • Water and sweat resistant

Sizing It Up

500ml



Made in Germany.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Effax Leather Combi is rated 4.7317 out of 5 by 82.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favorite cleaner! I've tried a lot of tack cleaning products, but this is one of the best! I love the grippy feel it leaves behind on the leather and a little goes a long way!
    Date published: 2011-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic product I have been using this product religiously for the last 2 years on both my everyday tack and show tack. It works great.
    Date published: 2011-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Very BEST! This is the only product I use to clean my fine tack. It cuts through grease and dirt in a second, and doesn't leave ANY kind of a residue. I even use it on leather purses and boots (and my husband uses it on his harley saddle-bags!). Well worth the price as the water-like consistency goes a long way. Also has anti-evaporation top for when you're working on those long cleaning projects!
    Date published: 2011-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use, great smelling too! I use this after every ride in the summers, and it gets the summer sweat gunk off very well. I'll condition once a week at most. In the winters, I use Leather CPR, which conditions more, but cleans less. I'll break this out in the winters when I want a thorough clean and condition. It is so much easier and more pleasant to use than bar soap.
    Date published: 2011-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Leather Combi Best leather cleaner on the market. Leaves no greasy residue on your tack. Sweat does not stick to leather, like other cleaners. Can't say enough about this product. Love it and wouldn't use anything else.
    Date published: 2011-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effax Leather Combi Excellent product, cleans easily and without leaving left over residue on your tack. No rinse required!
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good cleaner/conditione I was used to very sudsy, tacky cleaners. I really like his stuff. It cleans much better (less elbow grease required!) without all the sudsy residue. It smells great and leave the leather clean and soft. It works well on older tack and newer.
    Date published: 2011-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Leather Cleaner & Easy To Use I like to squirt a little Leather Combi on a clean damp small sponge and work it into the leather. I squeeze the sponge out in a bucket of warm water and continue on.After I use it on my saddle and bridle, I come back and put a scant bit of Leather Balsam over all tack with a different sponge. Its from the same manufacturer and smells like honey. Yumm!
    Date published: 2011-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff! I use this nearly every time I ride. I clean my saddle, bridle and boots with this. It's easy to use and does a good job. My tack never feels sticky or dry.
    Date published: 2011-01-01
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from One of the worst leather cleaners Bought this because a friend swears by it, says its the best stuff in the world. Used it on all of my tack at least 3 or 4 times, it dried it right out. I'm still trying to save some of my leather from cracking too much to the point where I'll just have to throw it all away. It is also very soapy, I have to wipe it down with water many times, and even then I still feel like there is soap on it.
    Date published: 2010-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite! This is hands down my favorite tack cleaner; and I have tried them all!I use it after every ride on all my tack and it keeps everything supple, conditioned, oil & dirt free + it is super easy to use.For touch up conditioning, I use Belvoir pre-packaged wipes and for deep conditioning, I love Passier :)
    Date published: 2010-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite leather cleaner The Leather Combi is my favorite leather cleaner, especially because it is an all-in-one. I love that the alcohol in it takes the grime right off, and yet my tack never feels dry or "lacking" thanks to the conditioning oils. It makes my life way easier.I'm not sure that I would really ever need to do a follow-up conditioning step, but I do every two weeks or so simply because I feel like I am getting off too easy with this product. This regimen made a huge difference for my tack last winter when I lived in NJ, and I plan to keep it up.
    Date published: 2010-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice This works great on all leather and doesn't leave a greasy film or make it sticky like other leather cleaners/conditioners! I use this before shows and also own other Effax products, which by the way are my favorite tools for leather care! After using this, I'm never going back to Passier saddle soap and leather balsam! Also works great if you use a scub brush/toothbrush to apply it!
    Date published: 2010-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great product I use the Leather Combi on my dressage saddle. I poured it into a spray bottle and spritz my saddle all over then wipe it down every time I ride. Having the Leather Combi in a spray bottle eliminates any waste and spills. The Leather Combi makes my saddle very soft and supple. The leather looks great and I get a lot of compliments on the condition of my tack.
    Date published: 2010-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Tack Cleaner I was given my first bottle of leather combi as a Christmas gift, and I have been using it ever since. If cleans the tack, cuts thru the grim and dirt and leaves a nice cleaan surface to apply leather conditioner. I would recommend it to all as the best tack cleaner I have used.
    Date published: 2010-07-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, but not for really dirty tack This product was recommended by our tack shop and saddle fitter. It does a great job on "normal" tack, but doesn't remove dried sweat from my saddle after endurance training rides. It cleans other items well without leaving a sticky residue that attracts dust.
    Date published: 2010-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long Time Favorite! This cleaner has been a favorite of mine for years for quick daily wipe downs. I use it on leather halters daily and bridles and saddles after every workout. It leaves tack clean without making it dry. However this doesn't replace a conditioner or deep cleaner, so one should still occasionally clean tack with a good soap and conditioner.
    Date published: 2010-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from barn staple I prefer liquid cleaners as they are fast and convenient. I clean my tack after EVERY ride so I want something that cleans and supples at the same time. I've treid numerous liquid products and this is by far the best value.
    Date published: 2010-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff I really like this stuff. It cleans and conditions in one step for those of us who are too busy to spend hours cleaning tack. It even works on my muddy girths after Cross Country
    Date published: 2010-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the BEST! I love this stuff! I use it so much, especially with the Effol leatherbalm. I think these two as a pair are some of the best cleaners out there. I had this product about five months before I even got the conditioner and I was very happily satisfied! I would definitely recommend this product if you are looking for something to really pull all the dirt off your tack and make it soft.
    Date published: 2010-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more foamy mess I'm now on my third bottle of leather combi. My schooling bridle is almost 35 years old and looks great. The leather is soft and supple and my trainer says it's one of the cleanest in the tack room.
    Date published: 2010-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for everyday use This product is great for quickly wiping down tack after a sweaty workout. It breaks easily through caked on dirt and hair, without stripping the leather like some liquid cleaners do. I haven't noticed any darkening of tack from using this cleaner. It leaves tack clean and slightly tacky, but a little drier than I would like. Usually I'll just wipe some leather conditioner on it every few days though and the leather stays nice and soft. A good choice if you have to quickly wipe tack off after workouts.
    Date published: 2010-02-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from combi Works well on really dirty tack that has gotten gooey, but won't strip it dry. Easy on chapped hands.
    Date published: 2010-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Tack Cleaner I love this product. It is quick and easy to use, but makes my tack look as though I've been cleaning it forever. My tack is never too sticky and doesn't have the awful smell some other products leave it with. This is a must buy!
    Date published: 2009-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great cleaner This product is especially good for cleaning the saddle after riding a sweaty horse. In the summer months, in NC our horses sweat a lot when we work out and the saddles tend to get chalky and sometimes even collect some mildew. This cleaner works great for preventing that and adds no oil to the saddle. I keep a small sponge next to my tack rack and just wipe it underneath quickly after riding to protect my saddle.
    Date published: 2009-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have used LederCombi for 3 years! I love this product. It was recommended to me by the rep who sold me an Albion dressage saddle. I use it several times a week to completely strip the crud off of saddles and bridles. I condition with LederSoft as needed.
    Date published: 2009-09-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cleans well I used this product on two dirty bridles. With a little scrubbing, I felt the product did a decent job of removing the grime. Having never used it before, I did expect a bit more conditioned feel. However, I just followed up with a separate conditioner. Overall, it was very easy to use. I squirted some on a terry cloth rag and rubbed down the bridle. Because it's liquid, it didn't leave any residue in the holes of the bridle. However, it does have a strange smell.
    Date published: 2009-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! the only tack cleaner you will ever need. this is the best cleaner I have used and it also provides a NO SLIP grip to all leather. Not sticky at all.
    Date published: 2009-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT This is the best leather cleaner I have come across... It removes grime effectively AND leaves leather soft and supple.
    Date published: 2009-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy Love this product for quick and easy cleaning of my tack. Cuts throught the scurf and doesn't leave a greasy feel. The bottle last a long time, as well.
    Date published: 2009-07-10
    • 2016-02-09T14:52CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_75
    • loc_en_US, sid_1027, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.