Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Deluxe Top Load Hay Bag

Classic Equine
- Item #11741
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Deluxe Top Load Hay Bag is extra large, making it easy to load and allowing your horse convenient access to hay.

Favorite Features

  • Easy-to-fill
  • Hook-&-loop top closure to prevent hay from being pulled out of the top
  • Long adjustable strap with snap to make it easy to hang almost anywhere
  • Durable poly front and back
  • Mesh bottom for ventilation
Poly.
Imported.

Sizing It Up

18” deep, 24” long, 9” wide.
Fits up to 4 average sized flakes of hay.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Deluxe Top Load Hay Bag is rated 4.6203 out of 5 by 79.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable hay bag I like this hay bag- it is easy to load, has nice straps, clips, and velcro closure on top, and is made of heavy duty material- I am using it for my food motivated mini, but none the less, it seems like it's here to last. I only gave it 4 stars on value because who wouldn't like to buy something for even less than they already paid :)
    Date published: 2011-12-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice but Bulky I like this hay bag because it hold a large supply of hay BUT it is quite long and takes up the window view in the trailer for the horse. Overall I like it because of the easy access to the hay (the many openings) for the horse and the style allows less loss of hay out of the bag.
    Date published: 2011-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase of this type Works great in stalls as well as convenience to carry. I have a difficult Warmblood who is aggresive with any hay hold. This works great and he likes it too.
    Date published: 2011-10-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I purchased a similar hay bag from a different retailer and within two weeks it was trashed. This hay bag is very durable, holds a lot of hay, is well ventilated, and stays closed on top so my horse can't pull the hay out of the top and make a mess! The only downside is that the little tab on the back to attach it to the wall only lasts a few days before coming unstitched, but as long as you don't want to hook it to the wall then the hay bag is still perfectly usable. Once they find a sturdier way to attach that little tab on the back this hay bag will be a perfect 5 stars! The first time the tab came unstitched SmartPak sent me a new hay bag as soon as I called and sent me a shipping label to ship back the old one, so I know they're working on solving this minor problem.
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and easy to load Love these haybags - easy to load and seem to stand up to lots of abuse. They hold quite a bit of hay as well...
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product This hay bag is so easy to use it's crazy. I can't believe how many times I've strugged to stuff hay into other types of bags, and with this bag a flake of hay just drops right in. Awesome!
    Date published: 2011-08-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from doesn't hold up well Used it for this first time last weekend. It worked well but the tab on the back, that holds it to a post, has already torn off. Because this bag was so expensive I expected it to hold up through a season, at least. Otherwise it works pretty well.
    Date published: 2011-07-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great- for a non-destructive horse I've had this hay bag for about 6 months now, and I used it about twice a month with my Appy; ONLY for short 1-hour long rides in the trailer. He has Completely trashed it to the point that the bars that hold it open are bent, the strap has almost completely ripped off and he has also almost completely torn the front netting off. It was perfect for the first few trailer rides, and now it's just being used to store additional flakes of hay for travel.
    Date published: 2011-06-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well Made If I hadn't heard about the NibbleNet, I would be 100 percent satisfied. However, I have this hay bag as well as a NibbleNet. When I am traveling and reach for a hay bag...I reach for a NibbleNet. The only difference is smaller squares to not waste hay. Really does help with that...but, my second choice is this bag! Hoping SmartPak carries NibbleNets soon!
    Date published: 2011-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hay Bag Love this hay bag!!!! I tried several & while my horse isn't destructive, the others weren't tough enough & not quite big enough. Easy to fill, hang and manage. You will love it!
    Date published: 2011-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only Hay Bay I'll Use This hay bag truly is the best I've ever owned. It's easy top-loading feature is great. The square holes are just big enough to let my skinny TB eat a decent amount of hay, without wasting it. I love the adjustable straps with snaps--they make attaching this bag to nearly any horsey surface a snap. We even use this in his stall at shows.
    Date published: 2011-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hay Bag I purchased this hay bag to use in the trailer and at horse shows. It is great! Very easy to fill, holds a large amount of hay, and the horses waste less hay than with a traditional hay net. It also doesn't flip around backwards like other bags I have tried. I like it so much that I got a second one.
    Date published: 2011-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hay Bag The bag is a great size and fits more than enough hay for trailering. It is easy to load and the adjustable straps are a good idea. The construction is sturdy. Only request: make it available in more colors!
    Date published: 2011-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reduces Waste This bag is great for eliminating spillage and with hay prices up that is a real plus!
    Date published: 2010-12-23
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from ripped in one day Both of my horses ripped these in one day. It didn't suprise me that much with the one, but my old semi-retired gelding tore the thing apart.
    Date published: 2010-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Nice This bag is so easy to load and hang up. Well thought out design and rugged enough for my big oaf warmblood! I had bought a fun stripey one for my daughter and had to get one for myself after seeing the quality.
    Date published: 2010-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So much better than a hay net! I bought two of these to use in our new trailer. I have only used them once, but it is so much better than worrying about whether my horse is caught in a hay net. Time will tell if they hold up. They are so easy to load, carry and hang. I will never use a hay net again!
    Date published: 2010-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase I'm really glad I bought this bag. Was tired of fighting to get hay nets untied and wanted to use something different, but also regulate how much hay my horse was eating. This bag is a cinch to load and hang, and there's a lot less wasted hay on the ground.
    Date published: 2010-04-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from one problem Large enough to hold four flakes but stitching on one side came apart in the first week and had to be be resewn. My horse is hard on his feeding equipment and this does help to prevent his scattering his hay all over his stall.
    Date published: 2010-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from the BEST hay bag out there why it this the best?* easy to access the hay through large holes, but not so big that hay falls out* nice mesh bottom that keeps the hay from falling out but lets dust and such through* hangs flat against the trailer wall, giving your horse more head room as needed* fits 2, maybe even 3 flakes if needed* two clip straps for a wide variety of hanging options no matter where you decide to put it* VERY durable material* totally affordable and will last forever
    Date published: 2010-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable Hay Bag If you want a durable hay bag, this is it! Holding up better than any other hay bag I have owned, and sturdy construction makes it easy to load hay.
    Date published: 2010-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great but back strap broke in a day This is a good quality hay bag and I love it, my horse loves it, but the small tab that is used to secure the bag was broken off in one day. This should be more sturdy, as it is used to brace against the horse's pull. Other than that, this is a good product.
    Date published: 2010-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Easy to fill and hang!!! Sooooo much better/safer that a nylon net!! Wish it would hold a little more. 3-4 regular flakes is max for this bag. Would buy again.
    Date published: 2010-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love the bag, but... I love this hay bag for shows! Its easy and convenient to fill- and it is easy to fit a lot of hay in them. I like it a lot better than regular hay nets. It also seems to make less waste as it stays in the bag well- whereas in the nets it falls out everywhere.I have had it and used it for 3 solid years, it held up OK. If you have a horse who is hard on things, or young it wears a lot faster. On mine, the poles at the top ripped through the end seems. Leaving them poking out, and potentially dangerous for my horse.I love the bag, but I wish the construction was a little more heavy duty.
    Date published: 2010-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definite good buy After discovering that my horse had pulled his net down and caught his leg during our drive, I swore that I would never hang another hay net. this has short enough straps that if hung from the roof of the trailer, it will remain high and out of the way. The load compartment is super easy to use. I would definitely tell friends about this.
    Date published: 2009-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Large and easy to use! This hay bag is the best I have used. So much easier to fill than the net bags. It fits between 3-5 flakes (almost a 1/4 bale), depending on your bale size. The windows reduce waste and the top straps make it easy to carry and hang anywhere.
    Date published: 2009-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Bag I love how easy this bag is to fill and how much hay I can put in it. We do lots of trail rides and sometimes the horses are in the trailers for hours so it gives them plenty of hay and lays flatter so it doesn't block my slant partitions in the trailer from opening while loading or unloading horses. I saw much less waste on the trailer floor, I might have packed too much hay in because my horse had to pull a bit harder to get the hay out but with it being flat backed it didn't twist and fell right back into place when he pulled the hay. Nice mesh bottom which also allows some air to the hay. My other bags would mildew at the bottom if we were in damp or wet conditions and had to hold hay for several days.
    Date published: 2009-12-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice design This is a nicely-designed hay bag. It's easy to fill, easy to hang, and keeps the horses busy without the cumbersome nature and sag/tangle risk of haynets. I'll be interested to see how it holds up over time.
    Date published: 2009-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Works I've tried many other hay bags, hay nets, and corner feeders for my gooseneck trailer. This one really works. My horse pulls hard at the hay in the bag. With the others, it would all come out at once and I'd be picking it up off the ground or the floor of the trailer. Hardly any waste with this one and it doesn't spin around.
    Date published: 2009-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome feed bag I love this bag. There are enough holes towards the bottom so my horse can eat all his hay and not tear the bag trying to get to the bottom bits.
    Date published: 2009-07-02
    • 2015-05-25T10:35CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_74
    • loc_en_US, sid_1741, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.