Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Deluxe Top Load Hay Bag

Classic Equine
- Item #11741
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Deluxe Top Load Hay Bag is extra large, making it easy to load and allowing your horse convenient access to hay.

Poly.
Imported.


*Hay nets and bags should always be hung at a sufficient height to avoid the risk of entanglement. To withstand the pulling and chewing associated with a hay net in use, the materials are extremely durable and will not give under pressure. As a result, it’s important to ensure hay nets and bags are safely secured and won’t become loose as the hay is consumed.
Favorite Features
  • Easy-to-fill
  • Hook-&-loop top closure to prevent hay from being pulled out of the top
  • Long adjustable strap with snap to make it easy to hang almost anywhere
  • Durable poly front and back
  • Mesh bottom for ventilation

Sizing

18” deep, 24” long, 9” wide.
Fits up to 4 average sized flakes of hay.

What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Big D Arena Show Bags are the perfect ...
    Description:
    "Big D Arena Show Bags are the perfect way to transport and store your expensive show items. These bags are designed and built to provide excellent protection for your tack and accessories. Made in the U.S.A."
    "Big D Carry All Bags are the perfect ...
    Description:
    "Big D Carry All Bags are the perfect way to transport and store your expensive show items. These bags are designed and built to provide excellent protection for your tack and accessories. Made in the U.S.A."
    "The Canvas Personalized Tote Bag is the perfect ...
    Description:
    "The Canvas Personalized Tote Bag is the perfect size to carry all your equestrian essentials! The price includes optional embroidery- customize the bag however you would like, just select ""Get Started"" above!"
    "400 denier and Cordura nylon coat bag will ...
    Description:
    "400 denier and Cordura nylon coat bag will fit most show coats, frock coats, and hunt coats. 38"" long and 24"" wide with a full width pocket in front. Choose a nylon, trim, piping, and text or monogram (optional) color. ...
    "The All Around Deluxe Halter/Bridle Bag is perfect ...
    Description:
    "The All Around Deluxe Halter/Bridle Bag is perfect for transporting and storing your quality leather halters and bridles! This bag also includes convenient pockets for storage and double hooks to make it easy to hang almost anywhere. Imported."
    "Travel in style with the new Noble Outfitters ...
    Description:
    "Travel in style with the new Noble Outfitters Helmet Bag. This semi-structured bag with wall padding will protect your helmet while on the road. Designed from durable 600 denier, 100% polyester canvas, this helmet bag features a full zipper opening ...
    "The Noble Outfitters Signature Tall Boot Bag is ...
    Description:
    "The Noble Outfitters Signature Tall Boot Bag is as durable as it is stylish! The Noble Outfitters Signature Collection Bags feature high-end equestrian touches any rider would appreciate, including havana brown full grain leather handles and brass hardware. Imported"

    Reviews

    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Deluxe Top Load Hay Bag is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 101.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Convenient and perfet for stall use I am happy with how the bag is working for my pregant mare. It allows her to eat large mouthfulls of (which she is happy with!) while preventing her from wasting hay. Although two of the small metal rings that attach the handles to bag broke off that was easily fixed with bailers twine.
    Date published: 2016-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hay Bag This hay bag is so easy to fill and it holds a lot of hay! I would like one for each horse!
    Date published: 2016-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this hay bag! Easy to use, well made, straps make it easy to use in my trailer.
    Date published: 2016-07-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not durable I bought 4 of these bags for use in my stalls a week ago and I am already down to one. All were hung at chest height or above, and I had Nibblenets in the exact same location with no issue for 4 years straight. One young horse managed to get her leg into an opening (not sure how she pawed that high?) Another mare pulled down on hers and the metal ring ripped right out of the nylon loop and ripped it. It also ripped all the way down the side of the bag too. In the third case, the horse also pulled on it somehow, got the velcro flap opened up, and the bar that gives stability to the top opening snapped in two, even though the bag itself was still intact and hanging fine. I don't think these bags were meant for big horses in a loose box stall or paddock. Maybe in a trailer where they can't move it around or rip it? Very dissapointing in the quality, and it would be better if the holes for hay were smaller to prevent an over exuberant young hoof from going through. Back to Nibblenets for me! I should have known that you get what you pay for.
    Date published: 2016-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love love love These are great!!!! So easy to fill and carry! They hold about 3 flakes. So much easier to fill than old fashioned hay nets. They seem to be pretty sturdy.
    Date published: 2016-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the size I bought this a few weeks ago and love the durable fabric, size and my horse lived it!!
    Date published: 2016-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wastes less hay! I bought these for use in the trailer. They are a little bit cumbersome to use as I intended, but I made it work. They seem well made and sturdy. I really like the design, as it is easy to load hay into, and the squares are small enough that there is less wasted hay that drops while they are eating.
    Date published: 2016-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to load - easy to eat from Love this hay bag! Tried one and am now ordering another. It's easy to load up and really keeps the hay from being tromped on and wasted. The Velcro is very strong and durable.
    Date published: 2016-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from murphyloves it
    Date published: 2016-02-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple, convenient, and easy to use. I have seen others at my barn use traditional hay nets which tend to be a pain to fill. I really like the design of this product. It is easy to fill with several flakes of hay. Also, my horse has no trouble eating from it.
    Date published: 2016-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! This bag s very well made. It will last forever! Love it!
    Date published: 2016-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from durable I bought this a couple of months ago and love it. It has held up to many feedings. Love it so much i just bough three more as gifts ;-)
    Date published: 2015-10-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Durable The haybag lasted all of 10 days. I purchased it to be used as a daily feed bag to keep hay off the floor of an 'enthusiastic' eater. material did not hold up to the job. Back to Roma brand. Sorry.
    Date published: 2015-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with product Allows for my horse to eat hay in turn out and in stall keeping the hay off the ground and slowing down her eating
    Date published: 2015-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Well made, easy to use, good value. I have used this hay bag in my horse's stall and in the trailer and it is exactly what I had hoped it would be. Definitely recommend.
    Date published: 2015-09-01
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Use Caution! I loved this hay bag when I bought it as my horse is a slob. I hung it just as the pictures had shown ( even a little higher). We had it less than a week and my 27 yr old horse got his foot caught on the bag and nearly broke his leg trying to free himself and ripped his shoe off in the process. Luckily I have great barn staff who witnessed the incident and were able to free him. Now he is sore and has a giant chunk missing from his foot. This thing needs quick release clips or something so that this doesn't happen! I will absolutely not be using this product ever again for any of my horses.
    Date published: 2015-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easily bored, mouthy, easy keeper loves it! My horse is what the title says. He loves eating more than anything and he loves to chew on things around the stall. I could never before hang a halter out of his stall or he'd have his head through and chewing it. Hence my purchase history of two leather halters in less than a year lol. This bag holds up to his destructive ways! Also, if I take this hay bag or any other hay bag away, he will not eat the hay on the ground and just reach for look for it. This is great for the busy horse. I also bought the small hole hay net by Smartpak because I didn't know if this would restrict his quick eating enough. It does! I use it with orchard grass hay right now and it holds four flakes very well with minimal fallout. It expands at the top and is much easier to fill than the small hay nets (which I still like btw). This one looks prettier too ;)
    Date published: 2015-07-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not good at all. Should be more for a short travel I ordered a slow feed bag and this is what they sent. Not at all slow feed. Was ripped in 4 days
    Date published: 2015-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for the horse show! My horse tends to get nervous at horse shows. I usually like him to eat the hay from the ground, but he tosses it about in the stall at shows. I bought this for the last horse show and it was perfect for his stall. Easy to hang, easy to fill with adequate hay, and easy for him to eat out of (without having the work like with a slow feed hay net). He ate more hay and was able to settle in better at the show.
    Date published: 2015-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality! What a great hay bag. The quality for the price was extremely better than I expected. It holds a good amount of hay. It was one of those purchases, I was sure glad I made once it arrived. Ordering a second one for travel days so it will be packed in the trailer.
    Date published: 2015-05-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Needs work for 5 stars Had to replace two of the attaching rings and clips after less than 2 weeks of use. If the bag had these 3/8" clips which I purchased at the hardware store $2.29 ea the bag would be 5 stars
    Date published: 2015-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hay net!!!!!! This is the easiest hay net I have ever used. Easy to fill and easy to hang. No hassles
    Date published: 2015-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy, easy to use Love this bag. It's my second one. Doesn't slow a hungry eater down but it's perfect for keeping most the hay off the floor which is my goal :)
    Date published: 2015-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great feature Love this product..I use it in the paddock during turnout to keep the hay contained. Ponies love pulling hay out of bag and keeps the paddocks neat especially during a windy day
    Date published: 2015-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well constructed, well designed hay bag I needed a replacement for old worn-out wide-mouthed hay bags that held 3-4 flakes each... others I'd tried held only half that. I was hesitant about trying this one, but am so glad I did. It's built off a well-thought out idea with double straps that can be configured an endless # of ways to fasten the hay bag wherever you need it... and I sling it over my shoulder or cross-body if I'm carrying multiple things to a stall. The way the top closes is particularly well-designed... kind of like a wide mouthed purse that both "magnet snaps" and has a fold over fastener... but just to be clear, there are no magnets on the hay bag, it's all Velcro... but very sturdy Velcro. It is not a slow feeder design, the 8 openings are not designed to slow a hungry pony down, but the design works out great for my OTTBs who need all the hay I can get into them, lol. I think, unless you REALLY NEED a slow feeder hay bag, this is definitely a product to consider.
    Date published: 2015-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought this for winter when my horse wastes a lot underfoot in the mud. So far, seems very well made, easy to fill. Two flakes very easy to accommodate
    Date published: 2015-01-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to load My horse likes this feeder because he can pull hay from it easily. The barn owner thinks he pulls out too much and hay still gets wasted. But with a small hole bag my horse lost weight and became anxious, so for me this bag is much better.
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hay bag Great hay bag, strong, holds a decent amount of hay, great value. So far very happy!
    Date published: 2014-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to fill, seems durable Got it to keep my horse from wasting hay, and it's doing the job. It's easy to fill, and it looks like it'll last. We have it hung with a couple of snaps to 2 screw eyes in the wall so it stays in place.
    Date published: 2014-08-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It sure looked good I purchased this hay bag to help reduce the amount of hay my horse ate off of his bedding. He loved the bag and it has a nice carpet bag style design and is easy to load. After 2 weeks one of the rings where the hanging strap attaches disappeared and on week 3 the horse removed the dowling rod that is in the top of the bag.Although the horse seems to love eating out of the bag he can shake the hay out of the square holes on to the floor really easily which was what I was trying to avoid.
    Date published: 2014-07-21
    • y_2017, m_5, d_19, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_94
    • loc_en_US, sid_1741, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders