Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Deluxe Top Load Hay Bag

Classic Equine
- Item #11741
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

 

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Deluxe Top Load Hay Bag is extra large, making it easy to load and allowing your horse convenient access to hay.

Favorite Features

  • Easy-to-fill
  • Hook-&-loop top closure to prevent hay from being pulled out of the top
  • Long adjustable strap with snap to make it easy to hang almost anywhere
  • Durable poly front and back
  • Mesh bottom for ventilation
Poly.
Imported.

Sizing It Up

18” deep, 24” long, 9” wide.
Fits up to 4 average sized flakes of hay.


*Hay nets and bags should always be hung at a sufficient height to avoid the risk of entanglement. To withstand the pulling and chewing associated with a hay net in use, the materials are extremely durable and will not give under pressure. As a result, it’s important to ensure hay nets and bags are safely secured and won’t become loose as the hay is consumed.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Hay Net Hanger is a practical holder ...
    Description:
    The Hay Net Hanger is a practical holder with a versatile range of uses from hanging hay bags to salt blocks in the stall or paddock. No more painful knots! Now you can simply hang your hay bags. Rounded off ...
    The Easy Load Hay Net and Hanger is not ...
    Description:
    The Easy Load Hay Net and Hanger is not only uncomplicated, which marks this product's specialty, but it is also made with premium workmanship. Double braided ropes guarantee longevity and hard wearing properties. The extra strong rope for hanging and the sturdy ...
    Feed your hay smarter with the SmartPak Small ...
    Description:
    Feed your hay smarter with the SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net! With smaller openings than an average hay net, this hay net restricts access to the hay inside so your horse will slow down and enjoy his hay longer, and ...
    High quality, heavy duty, Cotton Rope Hay Net ...
    Description:
    High quality, heavy duty, Cotton Rope Hay Net with natural fiber cotton. Perfect for horses on the go. Comes with rope to hang in stall. 42 inches long. Hole Dimensions 6"x6" *Hay nets and bags should always be hung at ...
    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Deluxe Top Load Hay Bag is rated 4.5667 out of 5 by 90.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Durable The haybag lasted all of 10 days. I purchased it to be used as a daily feed bag to keep hay off the floor of an 'enthusiastic' eater. material did not hold up to the job. Back to Roma brand. Sorry.
    Date published: 2015-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with product Allows for my horse to eat hay in turn out and in stall keeping the hay off the ground and slowing down her eating
    Date published: 2015-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Well made, easy to use, good value. I have used this hay bag in my horse's stall and in the trailer and it is exactly what I had hoped it would be. Definitely recommend.
    Date published: 2015-09-01
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Use Caution! I loved this hay bag when I bought it as my horse is a slob. I hung it just as the pictures had shown ( even a little higher). We had it less than a week and my 27 yr old horse got his foot caught on the bag and nearly broke his leg trying to free himself and ripped his shoe off in the process. Luckily I have great barn staff who witnessed the incident and were able to free him. Now he is sore and has a giant chunk missing from his foot. This thing needs quick release clips or something so that this doesn't happen! I will absolutely not be using this product ever again for any of my horses.
    Date published: 2015-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easily bored, mouthy, easy keeper loves it! My horse is what the title says. He loves eating more than anything and he loves to chew on things around the stall. I could never before hang a halter out of his stall or he'd have his head through and chewing it. Hence my purchase history of two leather halters in less than a year lol. This bag holds up to his destructive ways! Also, if I take this hay bag or any other hay bag away, he will not eat the hay on the ground and just reach for look for it. This is great for the busy horse. I also bought the small hole hay net by Smartpak because I didn't know if this would restrict his quick eating enough. It does! I use it with orchard grass hay right now and it holds four flakes very well with minimal fallout. It expands at the top and is much easier to fill than the small hay nets (which I still like btw). This one looks prettier too ;)
    Date published: 2015-07-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not good at all. Should be more for a short travel I ordered a slow feed bag and this is what they sent. Not at all slow feed. Was ripped in 4 days
    Date published: 2015-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for the horse show! My horse tends to get nervous at horse shows. I usually like him to eat the hay from the ground, but he tosses it about in the stall at shows. I bought this for the last horse show and it was perfect for his stall. Easy to hang, easy to fill with adequate hay, and easy for him to eat out of (without having the work like with a slow feed hay net). He ate more hay and was able to settle in better at the show.
    Date published: 2015-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality! What a great hay bag. The quality for the price was extremely better than I expected. It holds a good amount of hay. It was one of those purchases, I was sure glad I made once it arrived. Ordering a second one for travel days so it will be packed in the trailer.
    Date published: 2015-05-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Needs work for 5 stars Had to replace two of the attaching rings and clips after less than 2 weeks of use. If the bag had these 3/8" clips which I purchased at the hardware store $2.29 ea the bag would be 5 stars
    Date published: 2015-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hay net!!!!!! This is the easiest hay net I have ever used. Easy to fill and easy to hang. No hassles
    Date published: 2015-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy, easy to use Love this bag. It's my second one. Doesn't slow a hungry eater down but it's perfect for keeping most the hay off the floor which is my goal :)
    Date published: 2015-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great feature Love this product..I use it in the paddock during turnout to keep the hay contained. Ponies love pulling hay out of bag and keeps the paddocks neat especially during a windy day
    Date published: 2015-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well constructed, well designed hay bag I needed a replacement for old worn-out wide-mouthed hay bags that held 3-4 flakes each... others I'd tried held only half that. I was hesitant about trying this one, but am so glad I did. It's built off a well-thought out idea with double straps that can be configured an endless # of ways to fasten the hay bag wherever you need it... and I sling it over my shoulder or cross-body if I'm carrying multiple things to a stall. The way the top closes is particularly well-designed... kind of like a wide mouthed purse that both "magnet snaps" and has a fold over fastener... but just to be clear, there are no magnets on the hay bag, it's all Velcro... but very sturdy Velcro. It is not a slow feeder design, the 8 openings are not designed to slow a hungry pony down, but the design works out great for my OTTBs who need all the hay I can get into them, lol. I think, unless you REALLY NEED a slow feeder hay bag, this is definitely a product to consider.
    Date published: 2015-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought this for winter when my horse wastes a lot underfoot in the mud. So far, seems very well made, easy to fill. Two flakes very easy to accommodate
    Date published: 2015-01-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to load My horse likes this feeder because he can pull hay from it easily. The barn owner thinks he pulls out too much and hay still gets wasted. But with a small hole bag my horse lost weight and became anxious, so for me this bag is much better.
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hay bag Great hay bag, strong, holds a decent amount of hay, great value. So far very happy!
    Date published: 2014-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to fill, seems durable Got it to keep my horse from wasting hay, and it's doing the job. It's easy to fill, and it looks like it'll last. We have it hung with a couple of snaps to 2 screw eyes in the wall so it stays in place.
    Date published: 2014-08-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It sure looked good I purchased this hay bag to help reduce the amount of hay my horse ate off of his bedding. He loved the bag and it has a nice carpet bag style design and is easy to load. After 2 weeks one of the rings where the hanging strap attaches disappeared and on week 3 the horse removed the dowling rod that is in the top of the bag.Although the horse seems to love eating out of the bag he can shake the hay out of the square holes on to the floor really easily which was what I was trying to avoid.
    Date published: 2014-07-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love It This bag holds a surprisingly amount of hay! It is easy to load, love the opening, straps are easy to use. Love it!
    Date published: 2014-04-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Less waste than with hay nets I really like this hay bag. I only give it four stars because there is a strip of Velcro between the sides of the opening which causes the opening to collapse during loading if not all of the hay is added at once making it somewhat awkward. The horses don't waste as much hay with this bag since the access is divided into 8 sections and they have to slow down to pick it out. The hanging straps are sturdy nylon with metal snaps. There is a closing flap with Velcro which is appropriately placed and easy to use.
    Date published: 2014-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Deluxe" is right! Yeah! Love our hay bag! So tired of going through hay bag after hay bag! This one has large enough holes so no need for destruction!Thank you!
    Date published: 2013-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bag Great bag, long lasting. I haul my horses weekly these bags are in constant use and put up with a lot of abuse. I just replaced my first one purchased 5 years ago.
    Date published: 2013-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from well made right size and well made, can fit 2 to 3 leaves of bermuda hay in it, great for trailer use too
    Date published: 2013-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this hay bag! Perfect for horses hows! Holds just enough to last my OTTB at an all day show. Easy to hang,and stuff(which is definitly important!)
    Date published: 2013-04-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just OK This is a good bag and the best I could find for the price, but not my dream bag. I would like smaller holes, about half this size. I would prefer one strap, two straps just make double work. But it is sturdy, easy to load and holds a good supply of hay and it's not expensive.
    Date published: 2013-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hay bag yet I have been using these hay bags for 3 months now and they are holding up very well. Much easier to fill than the small hole nets. Even tho the squares are much larger the horses still have to pull the hay out. I think the nets were just too frustrating for my horses especially my die-hard cribber who has worn his front teeth down to the gum line. The stitching across the squares did pull apart on one tho, maybe Classic Equine might consider using a heavier thread. Other than that I am very happy with them.
    Date published: 2013-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy This is a nice, sturdy hay bag, the Biscuits (dwarf Minis) are enjoying eating their hay out of it!
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made hay bag This is a well made hay bag and easy to fill. However, you can really only put in 2 flakes at a time. Unfortunately it did not serve our purpose. We wanted something that would keep the hay off the floor of our horse stall. This helped, but since the holes are big, hay still dropped out. We switched to a small hole hay bag, which worked much better. It did not work for us, but it is still a very good product, depending on what you want it for.
    Date published: 2012-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable Hay Feeder This feeder is more than durable. It survived my horse!
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made, perfect size. I bought this hay bag a few months ago and it has held up wonderfully. My mare uses it with morning and night hay, and it has withstood.It has two straps to hang the bag, which keeps it from shifting around too much and they have really held up. It doesn't slow down hay consumption, but if you want a hay bag for shows, to hang in the paddock or stall, it's perfect.
    Date published: 2012-11-05
    • 2016-05-03T15:17CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_84
    • loc_en_US, sid_1741, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders