Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Crusader Fly Mask - Standard - With Ears

Cashel Company
- Item #21540
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
Crusader Fly Mask was chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect Horse and Horse Journal. We couldn't agree more!

Favorite Features

  • Designed for comfort with soft durable materials and fully lined seams
  • Three hole cap for ears and forelock provides stability
  • Eye darts keep mesh well away from the eyes
  • Provides UV protection for sensitive noses for horses that sunburn easily 

Imported

Sizing It Up
Small Pony/Weanling
Large Pony/Yearling
Arab
Horse
Warmblood
Draft

 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Crusader Fly Mask - Standard - With Ears is rated 4.5526 out of 5 by 76.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fits great! Breathable! Well made! Overall great product !
    Date published: 2015-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the embroidery I've ready reviewed this wonderful fly mask, but wanted to add a photo for those of you considering getting it embroidered. It turned out really cute- everyone at the barn comments on how nice it is!
    Date published: 2015-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well, soft ear material Using another brand, by the end of fly season the tips of my horses ears are rubbed a bit hairless and the material at the eye creases is really frayed. I usually can not get a full 2 seasons from it. So far the Crusader is working well, I have not seen flys or gnats get under it, it has stayed put through head rubbing on trees and while rolling and the ear material is very soft while feeling sturdy. So far I am very happy with it.
    Date published: 2015-05-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Second time on and my horse was able to rip one of the ear pieces off on a tree limb.
    Date published: 2015-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from By far the most comfortable and durable fly mask. I've gone through just about every fly mask made and these are the best by far. They fit better and are very adjustable. The long-nose version is the only thing that effectively protected my bald-face mare's nose from sunburn. Easier to keep on too. It's worth paying a little bit more.
    Date published: 2015-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elcellent Protection This mask is excellent for protecting against UV and is very strong and durable.
    Date published: 2015-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves it so do I! I put this on my horse the other day because the Sun been out and bugs are just know coming out to. My horse loved it look really cute comfortable and stylish! I think what really make it so much better is the forlock opening keeps the hair out of his eyes! I also liked that there isn't fuzy fleece on the outside for comfort that he easily tears off with other fly mask. I has a nice soft fabric that you can tell is more comfortable and does not itch! All around this fly mask is well made and durable!
    Date published: 2015-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The do-all fly mask I have tried several fly masks in the past, but now I only use The Crusader. It is durable with it's double Velcro closure that eliminates barn friends pulling it off. The mesh used for the ears is very breathable and soft. If there is any weak point on them it would be the ears as the light material makes them more susceptible to tears, but I have only had that happen to one and I still wouldn't change that material. Perhaps the biggest thing I like about the Crusader is that it is flexible and light so as to not cause any rubs. Another brand I tried had a heavy duty trim which I noticed rubbed my horse's nose. Living in a hot climate, I can also say that when I take my horse's Crusader off he is still cool underneath. It does run a bit large, however I just trim the Velcro tabs and it fits perfectly. Highly recommend this product!
    Date published: 2015-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holds up in any weather My horse has to wear a fly mask year round due to an eye problem. This is by far the toughest mask out there.
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good quality product 'horse' size fit my 15 hand mare very well, maybe a little large. the fabric is soft but seems durable, no rubs on the nose or crown. I like that it is contoured over the eyes. I'm very happy with this fly mask!
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from True to size Love this fly mask and so does my horse. True to size. I purchased the Arabian size and it actually fits correctly!
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from well made-hard to destroy We use these for our horses that are on full time turn out and they work great!
    Date published: 2014-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product I bought the large pony size for my 12h pony that usually wears a pony/arab/yearling size depending on brand. Great fit for him, the eye darts are placed perfectly to not rub. :)
    Date published: 2014-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and Great Fit! I bought one of these two years ago for my OTTB mare - the horse size fit her perfectly even with her donkey-ish ears. No rub marks on her face and her ears were bite free. It also decreased the incidence of her runny eyes. She's worn it for three summers and it just now needs replacement - durable product! I did routine maintenance on it though, washed once weekly, cleaned the ears, and brushed out the velcro and stitching.
    Date published: 2014-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and works well. I bought two of these last month for my two American Quarter Horses. I had to get Warmblood sizing for one of them as he has a large head for a Quarter Horse and it fits him perfectly. I definitely recommend getting the mask with ears. My boys' ears are completely free of insect bites and irritation now. I had them monogramed also and love the extra touch. I didn't need to but it makes me happy! I haven't rated the product for durability because at this point I don't know how they'll hold up. But they seem to made very well.
    Date published: 2014-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from so far so good! I definitely wanted ears covered and I am very satisfied with this fly mask. I have only used it for a few weeks, but I believe it will hold up well.
    Date published: 2014-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it! I just recently bought this fly mask, but everyone at my barn has one but none with the ears except mine. The quality is amazing and they hold up very well. From all day turnout to just a couple of hours they do their job. They don't rub the horses face and they won't come undone. The only problem I have with my fl mask is that I bought a Standard size instead of Warmblood so it fits a bit snug but not to tight. The ear part is made of a sort of spandex material luckily because my horse has giant ears so they are barely fitting :) but they would fit a normal size ear horse perfectly. (All my bonnets are stretched out for this big guy).. All in All I would recommend this product to anyone and everyone!!
    Date published: 2014-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I have a hard-to-fit Chincoteague pony (13hh, around 700lbs), and the Large Pony/Yearling size fit him perfectly! Most masks are too big or too small, and this one was just right! He's only been wearing it for about a month, but so far it's held up nicely.
    Date published: 2014-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fly mask I have been buying Crusader fly masks for over 20 years. They last forever even with repeated washing in the clothes washer and dryer. After 15 years one of the masks finally wore out and I had to replace it. Liked the newer improved and stretchy fastener.
    Date published: 2014-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from happy with my purchase, ordered an "Arabian" due to a finer head shape and it fit great. Very durable
    Date published: 2014-07-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Small Horse Size Fit is Off Cheyenne appears to be in the middle of the Small Horse size and the Horse size. The horse size is too big on her cheeks, and the small horse size appears to fix the cheek issue, but somehow remains really loose on the top. Twice she has worn it and twice it has popped off her ears and fallen to be stuck halfway off of her. In general, he quality of these masks has fallen a lot over the years. It might be time for me to try different brands again.
    Date published: 2014-07-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fell apart in <1 week Bought two of these, one for each horse...BOTH were completely destroyed in less than a week. Ears had so many holes in them after a week that they are just hanging off now. The mesh over their faces have also come apart. SO disappointing. They are back to their old masks that have lasted years--had purchased the new ones, as they had a free monogramming sale. Bummer.
    Date published: 2014-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Envy of the barn This is the best fly mask I have ever owned. No rips or tears & my mare has yet to pull it off. Only downside is the sizing is a little large Velcro wise.. Other than that it keeps bugs out and is very easy to brush dirt off of. I also added the custom embroidery and it turned out fantastic. Lots of compliments of how cute the mask turned out!
    Date published: 2014-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from the horses can't get Crusader's off as easy as som We bought all new fly masks this year. The Cursaders seem to last longer than other brands. (we've tried a few) I got the embroidered name on each of them and my granddaughter thinks that's pretty neat
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Clever horse always rubs off Great qualityExcellent value unfortunately my clever 20 year old always rubs it off.
    Date published: 2014-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves this fly mask and the fit was great. My horse can be difficult to fit, but this fly mask fit was perfect!
    Date published: 2014-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits very well I like the way it is padded around my horses nose so he does not get rubbed
    Date published: 2014-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonder fly mask Loved the fit and the embroidery! The coverage is great for fly protection since my boys ears are sensitive
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Declining quality I have 3 of these masks with ears that I rotate; two are on their third year, and one is just a couple months old. The old ones are still OK, but the new one is somewhat shredded: the ears got holes in the first two weeks and one is now hanging almost off the mask. I'm guessing Cashell's subcontractors for fabric and sewing in China have substituted cheaper means for these expensive masks.Other horses at the barn have this mask and the ears are too short for most of them, including mine.On the plus side, my new mask is still better than my last Supermask II with ears, which within a few weeks became an eye hazard.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and light I love this soft mask with great ear covers,two Velcro straps, plenty of room, and a fore lock opening.. Better yet my mares love it. They dive in. I love the personalized names I got for free too.
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    • 2015-05-22T08:40CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_71
    • loc_en_US, sid_11540, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.