Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Crusader Fly Mask - Standard - With Ears

Cashel Company
- Item #21540

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
Crusader Fly Mask was chosen as best fly mask by The Perfect Horse and Horse Journal. We couldn't agree more!

Favorite Features

  • Designed for comfort with soft durable materials and fully lined seams
  • Three hole cap for ears and forelock provides stability
  • Eye darts keep mesh well away from the eyes
  • Provides UV protection for sensitive noses for horses that sunburn easily 

Imported

Sizing It Up
Small Pony/Weanling
Large Pony/Yearling
Arab
Horse
Warmblood
Draft

 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Crusader Fly Mask - Standard - With Ears is rated 4.5538 out of 5 by 130.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These fly masks fit really well I have bought several of these fly masks over the years and really love them. We have the sweet itch midges really bad here in east Tennessee and the ears on this mask really save the horses. Love the opening in the middle for the forelock which helps to stabilize the mask. They do run about one size large. I have a 16.2 hand Hanoverian with a small head and I actually had to get a large pony size to fit him. It's important that the mask fits well so it will stay on.
    Date published: 2015-10-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Summer Life Saver! Fit well & durable. It did rub out some hair on my horse, but overall this fly mask is the best one out there.
    Date published: 2015-10-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product but stop "making it better" i have been using these for years, they are the best on the market. I do find that as the styles change so do the sizes, I have one horse who has gone from a warmblood size to a horse size and now I have a custom mask that is once again the wrong size (guess we are back to warmblood)the double velcro is a pain for those of us who must put on and off many fly masks in a day, it does not keep the masks on better and it take two hands when before the double velcro one hand could unmask the horse.
    Date published: 2015-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays on! I bought the small pony size for my 10.4 hh pony. The ears are a bit floppy but I was able to trim the Velcro so it fits around her face well. I also have this mask in a mini/foal size and it does fit her ears better, so if you have a mini horse I would recommend getting that size (I don't think sp has mini sizes currently) Since she is bigger I was able to get away with the small pony size. The best feature of this mask is the double closure- she is a Houdini with fly masks, but this one stays put! I also got it embroidered which adds a cute personal touch.
    Date published: 2015-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly mask! I had my mare's fly mask embroidered with her name in purple and it turned out great. I love the double velcro closure—it's a lot less likely to come off in the pasture!
    Date published: 2015-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks and works great! I bought this item about a month ago and I'm so glad I did! Love how it looks:) I bought the large pony/yearling size for my large pony and the Velcro is a little short but it still attaches and stays on well.
    Date published: 2015-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The ONLY one to use Soft, comfy, durable and fits great. This mask fits a wide variety of horses and takes a lot of punishment
    Date published: 2015-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great New Design I've used these fly masks for years -- and they have lasted me for years!! They are very rugged, fit well and most importantly leave a space between my horses eye and the mask. Just ordered one for my new horse and they are slightly redesigned... I especially like the elastic where you velcro it under the chin - allows for an even snugger fit. My old ones are black and the new ones are silver - I think that will probably be better to reflect the heat as well. I also use the quiet ride masks for riding - another great product.
    Date published: 2015-08-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fits nicely but could be stronger My older mare uses this fly mask - she's not one who usually destroys things so I was surprised when she came in with one ear missing from her fly mask. It didn't look like it had been ripped off as the material wasn't frayed - it just looked like it was missing! I have sewn it back on and continue to use it
    Date published: 2015-08-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice fit and durable I recently bought this fly mask and it fits my horse so well! He usually wears through them fast but this one is holding up really well as its super durable!
    Date published: 2015-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse would give this thumbs up if he could I bought the cob size for my new horse and worried, since he's an odd size and shape for most everything. Luckily, this fits him perfectly, and is soft on his skin at all the contact points. As far as I can tell, he had never had a fly mask on his head before -- by day three, he was ambling up and eagerly sticking his head in, with the ears fitting and falling in place like a glove. So far so good on durability, and has been very easy to clean.
    Date published: 2015-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are the best!! My boys wear their mask well, guess they've learned to appreciate them. Mine have lasted for years, well worth the money.
    Date published: 2015-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Variety of sizes! Thank you, Smartpak for carrying various sizes! The yearling/large pony fits our large pony perfectly. Cashel masks are soft and stay on well without being cumbersome.
    Date published: 2015-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Fit I got the draft size for my draft-cross mare with ample ears, and it fit perfectly. Bonus: it stays on.
    Date published: 2015-07-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable Bought this for my QH gelding. His field neighbor used to take off his fly mask ALL the time!! This one is a tad large on his refined QH head, but I can make it work. Plus it seems to be staying on! The ears have gotten worn a bit, probably playing halter tag too much. Overall, very durable!Plus I loved the free embroidery sale that was going on when I bought this item. Now he won't be mistaken for another horse because his name is right there on his nose!
    Date published: 2015-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly mask I have used! I love these fly masks, my horses seem to like them as well. My mare and one of my geldings managed to get them off, but other horses keep them on just fine. They are very well made and fit true to size (but if your horse has a more narrow head, I would likely get a smaller size). I also really love that the eyes are made to poke out so it prevents them from touching the horses eyes.
    Date published: 2015-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly Mask for Medical Reasons I have a 28 year old appendix quarter horse who has developed cataracts and I decided to try the Crusader Fly Mask because my horse needed a mask where not only would it keep the flies away but would also keep the sun rays during the summer and winter from bothering his already fading eyesight. Horses with cataracts have a sensitivity to the direct sun light and the Crusader Fly Mask has a gray mask that keeps the rays off of their eyes but still allows them to see where they are going. The black mesh fly masks hinder their fading eye sight even more.
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crusader Fly mask with ears Love the mask-fits well and stays in place without chafing. Wish I had gotten the long one.
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Odd fit I bought this product for my Thoroughbred and the material is great. However, the fit around his face is way too big. I bought the horse size as I figured a T-bred would have an average sized head. I can't get the Velcro to go tight enough without having too much hangover. I love everything rode about this except for the sizing. Bugs, dust, and dirt can still get up into his eyes because of this which kind of defeats it's purpose.
    Date published: 2015-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great protection I like the flymask with ears to keep small biting insects away. The eye darts are in the correct place for my TB and Appaloosa so it doesn't bother their eye lashes and cause head shaking. It did not fit my mustang, I'm still searching for him.
    Date published: 2015-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great on! Fits great and the materials are softer than the previous fly mask I had on Boomer. She seems to like it better.
    Date published: 2015-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits great! I bought the warmblood size with ears for my shire and it fits her perfectly! ! I have had a hard time finding a fly mask to fit her because draft sizes are too big. The monogramm also looks so nice too!
    Date published: 2015-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well I had a horse size one with ears but my horse had it off often. Ordered a new one in Arab size for my 15.1 QH and it stays on. The new mask also has a wider band over the top of horse's head so it stays under the halter crown piece now.
    Date published: 2015-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice fit I bought this to replace the same model after our goat cheese the ears off of the first one. Fits well, durable (unless you have goats) and doesn't rub. Who could ask for more?
    Date published: 2015-06-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice mask! I bought this mask several weeks ago - it is extremely buggy in Illinois right now. The mask does the job, no bugs or debri have gotten inside. The way the face portion is bumped out is really nice so that it doesn't cave in and bump their eyes. My only complaint is that the ears are a little big. Still fits though. Also, I took advantage of the free monograming and it looks beautiful.
    Date published: 2015-06-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Well made, Great Fitting Flymask! I purchased 3 of these flymasks for my horses, and couldn't be happier. They fit perfectly (2 Arabs and a TB), and are very well constructed of a soft, comfortable material. They even have a hole so you can push the horses' forelock outside of the mask, so it doesn't bother the horse! I also had my horses' names monogrammed onto their masks, and the embroidery came out beautiful! Thank you, Smart Pak!
    Date published: 2015-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves it. Bluesy loves her new fly mask. It goes on easy and stays on with no problems. A great deal all around.
    Date published: 2015-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Mask! I bought this for my mate with the embroidery and it is so cute! I love it on her. It stays put well.
    Date published: 2015-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly mask! Very well made fly mask. Very durable, should last a long time. It's great that the mask has an opening for the forelock, as opposed to some other fly masks with ears.
    Date published: 2015-06-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ears easily ripped This is a nice fly mask, however, after just 2 days of wear, the ears had holes in them. While this most likely happened from my mare rubbing, the amigo fly mask I had prior and the rambo mask I replaced this with did not develop rips in the ears.
    Date published: 2015-06-23
    • 2016-02-13T15:00CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_123
    • loc_en_US, sid_11540, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.