Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Crusader Fly Mask - Quiet-Ride

Cashel Company
- Item #11218

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Allow your horse to relax with the Crusader Quiet Ride protecting his tender eyes and face. Eliminate insect-driven head tossing, with a much quieter (and safer!) ride.

Favorite Features

  • Same design and quality of the Cashel Crusader™ pasture fly mask
  • Can be worn over or under your bridle
  • Will not impair your horse's vision
  • Provides coverage of ears

Imported

Sizing It Up

Large Pony/Yearling
Arab
Horse
Warmblood
Draft 

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    A fly mask that lasts! The Kensington Fleece ...
    Description:
    A fly mask that lasts! The Kensington Fleece Fly Mask is constructed of the innovative, extremely durable, fully breathable mesh Textilene fabric, a breathable mesh fabric that's vibrant and durable. It's made to withstand tough outdoor use. The densely woven ...
    The SmartPak Classic Fly Mask is just what ...
    Description:
    The SmartPak Classic Fly Mask is just what your horse needs to keep summer's pests at bay at a price you'll love! Favorite Features Durable PVC mesh that holds its shape and keeps flys off your horse's sensitive face Soft ...
    The Kensington Fly Masks with Removable Nose features ...
    Description:
    The Kensington Fly Masks with Removable Nose features double fastening VELCRO Brand closure with heavy elastic neck strap for safety and double eye darts for maximum room in the eye area. Favorite Features Full mesh coverage of the ears, lined ...
    Allow your horse to relax with the Crusader ...
    Description:
    Allow your horse to relax with the Crusader Quiet Ride protecting his tender eyes and face. Eliminate insect-driven head tossing, with a much quieter (and safer!) ride. Favorite Features Same design and quality of the Cashel Crusader&trade pasture fly mask ...
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Crusader Fly Mask - Quiet-Ride is rated 4.6949 out of 5 by 177.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well Constructed Fly Mask I turn my horse out in the quiet ride as opposed to the standard fly mask that Cashel puts out. I find he doesn't sweat as much, if at all in this mask. I like the light weight material better than the standard ones. This mask doesn't seem as firm around the eyes so you have to do some finagling to make sure it doesn't touch their eyelashes. Overall pleased with the purchase.
    Date published: 2013-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what it should The gnats have been terrible where I live (upstate SC) because of all the rain. This mask lets my horse be comfortable during our work-outs and allows her to focus better. It fits well over her bridle, and has room in the ears. It also helps cut down on eye-damaging UV light on those really bright sunny days.
    Date published: 2013-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this mask! I bought this mask for my 5yo OTTB gelding a few months ago. I LOVE IT!!! It's definitely not durable enough for a turnout mask, but the mesh is very soft and easy for him to see through. The darts keep the mask away from his eyes, and the ears are very roomy--even a WB with huge ears could fit in this mask. My horse is a fine boned 16.1hh TB--he fits right in between a cob and a horse. I bought the horse sized mask, and it's a hair big on him, but he's very comfortable in it. If your horse has a smaller head than he does, order a cob. His size or bigger--horse will fit!
    Date published: 2013-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My mares loves it! I like this fly mask because it is light weight and easy for my mare to see through. The ears are nice too and the little biting gnats can't bother her at all. I love the soft, screen like texture and my mare's name is on the nose which brings lots of friendly comments from the rest of the ranch.
    Date published: 2013-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It stays on! My horse hates flymasks. But he hates flies. I have tried every flymask on the market and he takes them all off. This one stays on all night! And he doesn't appear to be hot or uncomfortable. Excellent product.
    Date published: 2013-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly mask for riding This fly mask is super cute and gets the job done. It keeps bugs away from my horse's face and allows him to have full visibility on the trails. He doesn't mind wearing it at all. I am definitely happy with the quality of this fly mask.
    Date published: 2013-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I can see his face! I love that this mask shows the horse face so that was a big selling point for me. I hate seeing a horse with a grey fly mask on and no face can be seen. I have a delicate thoroughbred and was not sure the horse size wouldn't be too large for his slender nose but it fit fine. Also, I can't rate the durability because I have only tried it on, not used it yet. I got my horses name embroidered on the nose and it looks great. Other reviewers said they got this service free, but I had to pay for it and it is worth it. The only thing I am wondering about is that the area at the eyes is quite close and doesn't stand out very far at all like most masks so I do hope it wont cave in and bother my horses eyes. The fabric is not stiff at all but quite soft so maybe that will not be an issue. It is a soft mask with soft edges so I think you will be happy with this one.
    Date published: 2013-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fly mask Fit the pony great, easy over bridle. Exactly what I wanted.
    Date published: 2013-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for bug free riding Got this mask for trail riding but will probably also use it in the ring too on buggy summer days. I like how see through it is and it fits well under my Rockin' SP headstall :)
    Date published: 2013-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flies no more! I bought this easy ride mask to relieve my gelding from the mutitudes of flies and other crawly things we encounter in the woods of OH while trail riding! It is an amazing product and you can tell he loves it, because he no longer shakes his head an I no longer have to swat them off of his ears while riding! I also love that I got it embroidered so everyone knows who he is when he is on trail! It is so cool!
    Date published: 2013-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! This fits my horse really well! I use it when I go on trail rides and it keeps the bugs away! The embroidery is beautiful and I love how it looks and fits my horse. I would suggest anyone purchasing this fly mask to get the custom embroidery it is amazing!
    Date published: 2013-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Fly Mask I have not used this mask yet, I ordered it to get ready for the fly season. It seems to be of nice quality, for the price.
    Date published: 2013-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great protection I use this mask while riding to keep bugs out of horses face and ears. I used to use just a reg Crusader flymask but this looks so much better on my horse. I put it right over the bridle. He seems very comfortable with it. He's 17.2 and the ears are a bit big on him so I'd say it runs slightly large.
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous! I half-lease an Appaloosa with uveitis, and these masks help a lot with his vision so not everything is a huge monster and he can more easily focus on me.
    Date published: 2012-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks dumb, works good Not a fan of loading down the horse with excess tack and equipment, but when when the summer swarms hit and fly spray and garlic supplements have failed you, this fly mask will step up. Makes horses look like aliens, but it absolutely ends bug-related head-swishing. I like to think horses might appreciate a slight "sunglasses" effect in bright sun, too. Delicate mesh, so don't use it for regular turnout.
    Date published: 2012-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No worry ride ... Using these masks while on rides is very comforting for my husband and myself. With black flies, deer flies, etc., "bugging" our horses, our horses ride without having to deal with them around their face and ears. The mask also does not obstruct their view in any way as the mesh is clear. Love these.
    Date published: 2012-09-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lightweight, good visibility. Ear covers helpful. I had hoped our gelding would leave this fly mask alone but either she got it off or he took it off (his favorite activity). So, it got torn within 2 days so I sewed it up and now just use it for trail rides.
    Date published: 2012-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent mask My horse is so much better on the trail with this mask. It has made her so much more comfortable.
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Mask! This is a great fly mask. I've been using this brand for many years. Unlike the crocheted/cotton masks which annoy my horse and make his ears sweat like crazy, this mask gives him a lot of coverage and the lightweight material over the ears is nice & comfortable for him. My only suggestion is that it would be great if they offered it in a lighter color, such as tan. Otherwise, it's terrific.
    Date published: 2012-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have for buggy day riding Great face fly protection for riding. The horses don't mind it at all especially once they figure out it keeps the bugs away. Light weight and washes well in laundry (even with the saddle pads).
    Date published: 2012-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from every one should have one Wouldn't ride on the flat without it, keeps the flies away from Honey Buns face so we can concentrate on our work. Easy to put on, stays in place, and comfortable for the pony.
    Date published: 2012-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saves the ride! I have used the Crusader fly mask for riding for many years. It makes a tremendous difference to my horse, making a day out fun for her. When she is happy, I'm happy. The mask is easy to put on; she sees through it fine. I LOVE the monogram SmartPak put on it, as my masks previously kept being "borrowed" at the barn. Now, I KNOW which one is mine!
    Date published: 2012-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Crusader" against nasty gnats and flies! This is aptly named and accurate: Quiet Ride. I left it home one day since purchase and had to spend my whole ride trying to keep the deer flies off of my hroses ears and face. This mask WORKS!
    Date published: 2012-07-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect fit. My horse finds it comfortable. Light weight. Haven't had it long enough to know durability.
    Date published: 2012-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best fly mask ever I have used the quiet ride mask for my sensitive TB who lives in & out 24-7. Amazingly it has held up through rolling, scratching, rainstorms and anything he can throw at it...3 years later - it;s in great shape. I just got one for my new horse - he's a Houdini at removing fly masks that he finds uncomfortable...he approves - has not removed this one once! I would definitely recommend this mask.
    Date published: 2012-06-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not for turnout, but nice fly mask Very nice fly mask and the free monogramming was great. It worked perfectly when riding. But this fly should only be used when riding as it is not sturdy enough to be used for turnout. My daughter left it on her horse for a day as she couldn't find his other fly mask as when she went to take it off he had ripped in in three different places. It is just made for use while riding. We learned that the hard way.
    Date published: 2012-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well as a field fly mask I have used this mask for riding in the arena only, I have not tried it out on a hack because I am a little concerned about restricted vision. I also have used it as a regular fly mask for turnout and I like like it for that.
    Date published: 2012-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for riding during buggy season. I love this for riding and would not go into the woods without it. I also use it for schooling when the bugs are bad. It fits well and I love the free monogramming. Everyone at my barn has this product, and now mine will never get confused with someone else's mask.
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! This works great! I ride mostly in the evenings when it's really buggy out and my horse was constantly shaking his head. With this fly mask he has quit tossing his head at the bugs, it has worked wonders. I use it out on the trail, too.
    Date published: 2012-06-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works Okay I purchased 2 of these. In the add I liked the sheer look of the mask. I like being able to see the horses eyes and find most fly mask require you remove the mask to check eyes. I've not had to do this with this mask however, I don't find they stay on the horse very well. I might get a day or two before I find them somewhere in the pasture. They need to come up with a better fitting mechanisim before I would recommend this product.
    Date published: 2012-05-30
    • 2016-02-05T14:56CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_27, tr_150
    • loc_en_US, sid_1218, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.