Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Cowboy Magic Detangler & Shine

Item #11073
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Cowboy Magic Detangler & Shine moisturizes and strengthens hair; neutralizes static electricity. Cowboy Magic Detangler & Shine is non-oily, repels dust, dirt and sand. Concentrate: contains no water or alcohol. UV protectant.

Safe for use on Dogs.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Cowboy Magic Detangler & Shine is rated 4.8681 out of 5 by 144.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this stuff! This stuff REALLY IS magic! The horses went though a phase where they would come in with burrs in their tails and forelocks. I would just put some in between my fingers and work it through the hair and the burrs would just slip right out. I also put it in my soapy water for pony bath time. AND I put it in my own hair. This product is just so amazing.
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works fine It will get the tangles out and make it easy to comb through mane or tail. My horse has especially thick hair so its helpful. But it is very oily feeling so is hard to get off your hands. Even used a little to oil a sticky door lock so there are multiple uses.
    Date published: 2012-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and smooth Our pony has a really thick and unrulely mane. This product made it soft, smooth, and actually laying down. Doesn't make the hair oily at all. It also helped his thick and coarse tail.Where we live, we have black clay dirt. He loves to roll in the mud. So when he does, the dried mud seems to come off easier on areas where I used it.
    Date published: 2012-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS IS GREAT STUFF! WORKS GREAT FOR TAKING OUT BURRS FROM HORSES TAIL AND WORKS GREAT FOR HUMAN HAIR ALSO!
    Date published: 2012-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic I love love love this product. Buy it, it works well.
    Date published: 2011-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works! This worked well on an tail that had failed standard spray on show sheen. Did not seem to leave the tail sticky or feeling like it had heavy product build up on it. A small amt goes a long way.
    Date published: 2011-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Little goes a long way Nice product, leaves tail gleaming and easy to brush. Long lasting.
    Date published: 2011-12-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from YUCK! This stuff made combing through my morgans thick tail a breeze but it feels the WORST on your hands, I felt like I couldn't grab anything and even after washing my hands I could still feel it on my hands
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast and Simple This product is fast and simple! Great for shows! i wear gloves though as it's sticky and hard to get off and your hands can slip on the reins if you ride right after using it :)
    Date published: 2011-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! My mare has a thick wavy mane and tail and Cowboy Magic keeps it smooth and tangle-free! I have not used any other product that works as well as this for detangling manes and tails easily.
    Date published: 2011-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Love this product! I have been using it for years on horses that have long thick manes and tails. It not only helps untangle them but it helps them to stay that way. It is wonderful to help remove burrs too!
    Date published: 2011-10-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I Am Not Completely Thrilled With This I feel as though I have to use a whole lot of this detangler to get results. It does indeed detangle and it does add shine, but I don't find that the results truly last. One thing I absolutely hate about this product is the icky residue left on my hand after I apply it to my horses' tails. Usually, I would just wipe my hands with a baby wipe after applying this type of product. With the Cowboy Magic, I need to wash my hands with soap and water before continuing to groom my horses!
    Date published: 2011-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful product This has to be my favorite hair detangler product. I used to use it on my own hair also when i had long hair. it works great.
    Date published: 2011-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creates the Softest Tails I am not a big fan of show sheen on horse tails since it makes the hair brittle. This works well after a bath - just leave it in, and then brush when it's dry...no tangles or breaking hair.
    Date published: 2011-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Product! Cowboy Magic is Magic!! I keep my horse's tails up all winter and due to my conditions, I am unable to wash them in the winter. I apply Cowboy Magic when I take them down in the spring and I can comb thru the tangles with ease and I don't loose many tail hairs. (My tails on my two show horses are about 8 feet long.) They are thick and lush as well. This truly is an amazing product.
    Date published: 2011-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never without it! My grey gelding's tail is prone to breakage and this stuff not only perfectly detangles after a bath--I am able to comb out his tail for days after without a single hair showing up in my Oster tail brush, and even the shavings just comb right out without tangling for several days.My go-to program is to shampoo his tail with Quic Silver, rinse, condition with a rinse-out (human) conditioner, then work plenty of this Cowboy Magic through his tail, comb and leave to dry. Voila! Perfect sparkly grey/white tail for days! I don't use it on his short mane or his body, this is a tail-specific product for me.
    Date published: 2011-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Put on your sunglasses! Absolutely love this stuff for my guys thick, wavy tail and ultra thick main. I squeeze some into my hands, work it through his entire tail, and in literally less than 3 minutes his tail is detangled and ultra shiny! Plus, it smells great! Can't find a thing to complain about with this product!
    Date published: 2011-05-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from maybe it will work better for you My horse has a really thick & soft mane, i was hoping to get a good shine, did not get it.
    Date published: 2011-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Grooming Product Outstanding grooming product! Not only does this product detangle your horses mane and tail it leaves a gloss that looks even more radiant in the sun. It puts an immediate shine on my horse's hair and it smells great too!
    Date published: 2011-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from COWBOY MAGIC THE VERY BEST I LOVE SMARTPACK, SHIPPING IS VERY FAST AND ALL THE PRODUCTS ARE TOP OF THE LINE, BUT THEY ARE PRICED COMPETIVE WITH ALL THE OTHER COMPANIES OUT THERE. COWBOY MAGIC IS THE BEST PRODUCT FOR MAIN AND TAIL. LEAVES IT SILKY AND DETANGLED AND EASY TO MANAGE, ALSO LEAVES A NICE SHINE.
    Date published: 2011-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from How do people live without it? "Magic" is the right word for this stuff. Detangles like you wouldn't believe, and that SHINE! I don't step into the show ring without having put it in my horse's mane & tail! Everyone at my barn loves it, and uses it for show, or just to untangle a mane or tail.*People that show, just remember not to put it in before braiding, since it makes the hair too slippery to grip well. =)
    Date published: 2011-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best detangler Cowboy magic detangler works so on, my horse super long tail. When I take his tail out of his tail bag I always grab this product to help work out the knots. When I get done his tail is so shiny and soft and it has a nice sent to it. The best thing is a little goes a long way!
    Date published: 2011-03-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product I have used this product for years have yet to find anything that works better.
    Date published: 2011-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent I get the impression from using it that it is not as synthetic or drying as other products. it doesn't seem to build up either.His tail is awfully soft and haven't felt the need to shampoo him. It is a good thing because it is frigid!
    Date published: 2011-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cowboy Magic This is absolutely the best mane and tail product on the market today! It lasts for days and helps manes grow longer!
    Date published: 2010-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healthy Shine Just a little dab goes a long way. Makes manes and tails looks so healthy - they just shine. Great for shows - doesn't attract dust. I don't brush out a mane or tail without some of this on the hair first.
    Date published: 2010-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cowboy Magic Detangler & Shine I have used many different detangler products on my two boys (one is a half arab, the other a full arab) and this is, by far, the best product for combing out manes and tails...even the most unruly of manes and tails!! And, it doesn't leave behind a sticky residue. I find I have less mane/tail hairs on the brush after using this product; and less hair breakage, as well. I like that it is not in a spray bottle. This allows me the opportunity to put it right where it needs to be. I highly recommend this product and I do believe my horses would too!
    Date published: 2010-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Shiny Results Loved how bright my Paint looked after applying Cowboy Magic. The tail was so easy to brush out once I applied this product. I'll continue to use it to train the mane to lay properly.
    Date published: 2010-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Tails I've been using Cowboy Magic on my youngsters tail since she was 7 months old. I get teased that other horses have tail envy for hers. I put it on first thing before brushing her to let the oils soak in and it allows the tangles and shavings to work out almost on their own.
    Date published: 2010-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cowboy Magic Detangler & Shine For me, this product is fantastic. I've been using CM Detangler & Shine since the product hit the market. My warmblood boys have lovely manes and tails, and I use this product on a daily basis. Excellent product! :)
    Date published: 2010-11-16
    • 2015-05-28T09:38CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_124
    • loc_en_US, sid_1073, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.