Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Cowboy Magic Detangler & Shine

Item #11073

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Cowboy Magic Detangler & Shine moisturizes and strengthens hair; neutralizes static electricity. Cowboy Magic Detangler & Shine is non-oily, repels dust, dirt and sand. Concentrate: contains no water or alcohol. UV protectant.

Safe for use on Dogs.

Made in the USA

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    COWBOY MAGIC Super Bodyshine is formulated to give ...
    Description:
    COWBOY MAGIC Super Bodyshine is formulated to give hair a super shine. Helps repel show ring dust and dries fast. COWBOY MAGIC Super Bodyshine is concentrated and ready to use. Formulated from nature's natural ingredients just spray it on and ...
    Voted by The Horse Journal as a top ...
    Description:
    Voted by The Horse Journal as a top choice for producing a maximum, oil free shine that will last for several days. Magic Sheen hair polish is a specially formulated silicone blend that produces maximum shine and a lustrous, healthy ...
    It's no secret how great Argan Oil works ...
    Description:
    It's no secret how great Argan Oil works in your hair so why not do the same for your horse with the ShowSheen Detangler Gel with Argan Oil?! This amazing product nourishes and hydrates hair while saturating deep to quickly ...
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Cowboy Magic Detangler & Shine is rated 4.8758 out of 5 by 153.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works well I've used Cowboy Magic on my horses tails for the last 5 years. It works great at detangling and does not dry out the tail. It also makes the tail nice & shiney for show days!
    Date published: 2012-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Detangler The mare I am riding does not have a luxurious tail so I am quite worried about her losing what hair she does have. Cowboy Magic keeps the hair shiny and slick so there's little to no tension when I brush her tail.
    Date published: 2012-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than show sheen! For years I used show sheen for detangler and shine. This product was given to me by a friend while I was taking care of her horse. Its amazing! I recommend this product more than show sheen! The hair is silky and shiny and reflects all the light! My horses sparkled in the show arena.The only problem is if the bottle spills. My bottle spilled in my tack box. It covered my brushes and combs in thick gel. Even with soap and water I cannot get the gel off. With time it will rub off but in the mean time everything is slippery.This is the best product for shine, just dont spill it!!!!
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super product! I've been using Cowboy Magic for years and it's a wonderful mane and tail detangler. I apply it to damp or dry mane and tail with great results. Doesn't leave hair feeling oily or greasy but soft and moisturized.
    Date published: 2012-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can Use It All Year Long I agree with another reviewer that this product is nice to use in the winter months when it's too cold to bathe. Keeps the tail conditioned by just fingering through. A very small amount goes a long way. Smells great too.
    Date published: 2012-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this stuff! I've used Cowboy Magic Detangler for years. Great for getting burrs and other small debris out of my horse's tail. Just a small amount in my palm works for the whole tail. Awesome product!
    Date published: 2012-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product! Cowboy Magic is the best detangler I've found, and I've tried DOZENS. I put it on my horses's tails right after washing and they dry with a nice shine. It's then easy to fingercomb their tails and spread it more evenly. I don't brush tails from October through March when it's too cold to bathe and keep them clean, but I will occasionally use CM detangler and fingercomb in the winter. It keeps my horses's tails from breaking and looking yucky once summer rolls back around.
    Date published: 2012-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cowboy Magic Detangler & Shine I love this product!! It always works on my horses' manes and tails, and I use is for my own naturally curly hair! I have passed it on to one of my granddaughters who has looonng thick hair, she loves it too, because then the tangles don't pull!! Thanks for a great product!
    Date published: 2012-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I need this product This always works great.Dab on your hands, rub, and stroke the tail.Quick and effective.
    Date published: 2012-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is amazing! I used it for the first time on my gelding last night, and it worked like magic. His mane & tail were not only left tangle-free, but shiny and silky, too. :)
    Date published: 2012-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't groom a tail without it This product does a fantastic job of getting rid of the tangles in manes and tails, with the result of pulling out fewer hairs when you run the brush through. Works on my poodle's tail too!
    Date published: 2012-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is great! I love this stuff! A little goes a long way so the big bottle will last a long time. I use this for my mare because she has very thick, wavy mane and tail hair and it's hard to brush/comb even though it isn't tangled. I've tried using Healthy Hair Care, but it only works for her on wet hair. I use this on dry hair about once a week and just comb through using my fingers so I don't pull out too much hair. I love that it keeps the hair smooth and untangled all week so I can comb through it every day without having to add more. It is a bit oily on your hands at first, but it does not leave an oily residue on the hair and does not attract dirt. It does, however, tend to stay on your hands, so have a towel handy when you're done or it will make everything else slippery for a few days! I didn't realize that it had UV protectant in it so I will be sure to coat her black mane and tail well this summer to keep from from getting the orange highlights.
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this stuff! This stuff REALLY IS magic! The horses went though a phase where they would come in with burrs in their tails and forelocks. I would just put some in between my fingers and work it through the hair and the burrs would just slip right out. I also put it in my soapy water for pony bath time. AND I put it in my own hair. This product is just so amazing.
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works fine It will get the tangles out and make it easy to comb through mane or tail. My horse has especially thick hair so its helpful. But it is very oily feeling so is hard to get off your hands. Even used a little to oil a sticky door lock so there are multiple uses.
    Date published: 2012-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and smooth Our pony has a really thick and unrulely mane. This product made it soft, smooth, and actually laying down. Doesn't make the hair oily at all. It also helped his thick and coarse tail.Where we live, we have black clay dirt. He loves to roll in the mud. So when he does, the dried mud seems to come off easier on areas where I used it.
    Date published: 2012-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS IS GREAT STUFF! WORKS GREAT FOR TAKING OUT BURRS FROM HORSES TAIL AND WORKS GREAT FOR HUMAN HAIR ALSO!
    Date published: 2012-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic I love love love this product. Buy it, it works well.
    Date published: 2011-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works! This worked well on an tail that had failed standard spray on show sheen. Did not seem to leave the tail sticky or feeling like it had heavy product build up on it. A small amt goes a long way.
    Date published: 2011-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Little goes a long way Nice product, leaves tail gleaming and easy to brush. Long lasting.
    Date published: 2011-12-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from YUCK! This stuff made combing through my morgans thick tail a breeze but it feels the WORST on your hands, I felt like I couldn't grab anything and even after washing my hands I could still feel it on my hands
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast and Simple This product is fast and simple! Great for shows! i wear gloves though as it's sticky and hard to get off and your hands can slip on the reins if you ride right after using it :)
    Date published: 2011-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! My mare has a thick wavy mane and tail and Cowboy Magic keeps it smooth and tangle-free! I have not used any other product that works as well as this for detangling manes and tails easily.
    Date published: 2011-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Love this product! I have been using it for years on horses that have long thick manes and tails. It not only helps untangle them but it helps them to stay that way. It is wonderful to help remove burrs too!
    Date published: 2011-10-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I Am Not Completely Thrilled With This I feel as though I have to use a whole lot of this detangler to get results. It does indeed detangle and it does add shine, but I don't find that the results truly last. One thing I absolutely hate about this product is the icky residue left on my hand after I apply it to my horses' tails. Usually, I would just wipe my hands with a baby wipe after applying this type of product. With the Cowboy Magic, I need to wash my hands with soap and water before continuing to groom my horses!
    Date published: 2011-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful product This has to be my favorite hair detangler product. I used to use it on my own hair also when i had long hair. it works great.
    Date published: 2011-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creates the Softest Tails I am not a big fan of show sheen on horse tails since it makes the hair brittle. This works well after a bath - just leave it in, and then brush when it's dry...no tangles or breaking hair.
    Date published: 2011-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Product! Cowboy Magic is Magic!! I keep my horse's tails up all winter and due to my conditions, I am unable to wash them in the winter. I apply Cowboy Magic when I take them down in the spring and I can comb thru the tangles with ease and I don't loose many tail hairs. (My tails on my two show horses are about 8 feet long.) They are thick and lush as well. This truly is an amazing product.
    Date published: 2011-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never without it! My grey gelding's tail is prone to breakage and this stuff not only perfectly detangles after a bath--I am able to comb out his tail for days after without a single hair showing up in my Oster tail brush, and even the shavings just comb right out without tangling for several days.My go-to program is to shampoo his tail with Quic Silver, rinse, condition with a rinse-out (human) conditioner, then work plenty of this Cowboy Magic through his tail, comb and leave to dry. Voila! Perfect sparkly grey/white tail for days! I don't use it on his short mane or his body, this is a tail-specific product for me.
    Date published: 2011-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Put on your sunglasses! Absolutely love this stuff for my guys thick, wavy tail and ultra thick main. I squeeze some into my hands, work it through his entire tail, and in literally less than 3 minutes his tail is detangled and ultra shiny! Plus, it smells great! Can't find a thing to complain about with this product!
    Date published: 2011-05-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from maybe it will work better for you My horse has a really thick & soft mane, i was hoping to get a good shine, did not get it.
    Date published: 2011-05-17
    • 2016-02-11T15:36CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_133
    • loc_en_US, sid_1073, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.