Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Cotton Rope Hay Net

Item #10490

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

High quality, heavy duty, Cotton Rope Hay Net with natural fiber cotton. Perfect for horses on the go. Comes with rope to hang in stall. 42 inches long.

Hole Dimensions 6"x6"



*Hay nets and bags should always be hung at a sufficient height to avoid the risk of entanglement. To withstand the pulling and chewing associated with a hay net in use, the materials are extremely durable and will not give under pressure. As a result, it’s important to ensure hay nets and bags are safely secured and won’t become loose as the hay is consumed.

Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Cotton Rope Hay Net is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 35.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like it! Although may people have issues with the large holes in the hay nets I love them! I rarely leave my horses unattended with these haynets, but they're perfect for horses at shows ans such.
    Date published: 2013-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice haynet I've run the gamut over the years between rope and poly haynets and hay bags and I've returned to the standard, rope haynet of my distant childhood. True, they're not as easy to fill as a hay bag, but they're cheaper for the initial purchase price and although they probably waste more hay than a hay bag, I don't think by much and in my case, I'm not using it all that often. I did try the small hole haybag (also bought from Smartpak) and it was so efficient in conserving hay that it ticked my mare off. She couldn't get any hay out of it at all, which defeats the purpose. So, I like this haynet and so does my mare. It's fairly easy to fill (they're all dexterity puzzles), it ties nicely as it comes with an attached rope that's long enough to loop around things, and my mare can get hay out of it. What's not to love? Reasonably priced, too.
    Date published: 2013-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like it! I bought this for my gelding for showing, but I did not want him to have to starve and eat from the little holes in other hay nets! It works very well, holds at least 5 flakes, and will last you the whole day! Great price!
    Date published: 2013-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hay net! This hay net is great but my horse was very messy with this net due to the big holes so I got him the other hay net below! both work excellent my horse is simply neater with the smaller holes!
    Date published: 2013-04-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good hay net! My horse makes a mess of his stall so I got him this in hope that he would keep his stall neater. This worked perfectly he still enjoys his hay but now also has a clean stall. The hay net also makes him eat a little slower which makes the hay last longer!
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for trailering... I purchased a hay net to use for trailering, and it does work well! I had to rig it up to hang right in front of the divider in our two horse trailer, so that it doesn't swing around when we are on the road. It seems to work out that way! Other than being a little bit tricky to get the hay in...and I think all hay nets this style are that way!...it is great! Definitely recommended. This is always a fixture in our trailer!
    Date published: 2013-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! This is a great hay net to use if you want to offer free choice hay. It easily holds 40-50 lbs. of hay. The holes are large so the horse doesn't have to work at eating. There's less waste vs. feeding them in a feeder or on the ground. The only thing that I didn't like was how long the tie rope was, so I cut it off and used a carabiner to hook through the metal rings and clip it to an eye bolt.
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rope hay bag. I have one already. They last forever. I bought one for friend and another one for me. I think the price for a hay is high but if you can keep up with it and don't loan it to folks that will not return it it will last. I have had one for 14 years and used it at least 30-40 times a year in & out of the trailer, shows, and overnight in stalls. I like that you can fit the whole bale and then cut the strings. I wish I could have gotten it a color other than white.
    Date published: 2012-09-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good and sturdy My mare has trashed nylon hay nets in one trip, but this net shows no signs of fraying after 4 trips this summer. It also holds 3 flakes easily. I would give it 5 stars if I'd used it a bit more to see how long it would hold up. A very good hay net at a good price.
    Date published: 2012-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Value and Function Extremely soft cotton rope and large enough to easily fit 4-6 flakes of hay. The rope portion to hang the net is extra long so you can hang in mulitple types of situations. I hang it off a screw eye in my stall so I do have to loop it thru twice to make sure that it hangs high enough. The only thing that would make this better is if it came in black instead of white!
    Date published: 2012-06-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from dissapointed I bought 2 of these and one broke the first time I used it. I'll probably be going back to the nylon kind
    Date published: 2012-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I wanted.... Just what I wanted. Long hanging rope, opens to accept 3/4 bale of hay. Bought two, I was so please with the Cotton Rope Hay Net. You will love it
    Date published: 2012-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hay net This net works great. It's big so you can put alot of hay in it. It's durable and doesn't fall apart like some of the other hay nets I've used.
    Date published: 2012-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from As advertised This net works well. I like the fact that the manufacturer provides lots of extra rope to tie up the net so you can lengthen/shorten it to fit any number of situation.
    Date published: 2012-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hay Net I like this net! It's easy to deal with and isn't rough like nylon. I bought this because it is cotton and it does not disappoint! Would highly recommend.
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good hay net smaller holes would be nice, but otherwise it is a well made durable product
    Date published: 2011-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hay Net I love this net. It's cotton, easy to manage and very nice weight. I would recommend it!
    Date published: 2011-08-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good purchase I purchased this hay net to use in the pasture with my horses to reduce waste. Because it is in all elements, I did not want a nylon hay net. It is thick cotton rope, and well made. The only issue is that the holes are wide, so it must be hung high enough that they can't reach it by pawing. Good product, reasonable price.
    Date published: 2011-08-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from not great Tie rope is way too long and unless you tie it up tightly, horse runs the risk of stepping in hay net. Used once.
    Date published: 2011-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Everyday Hay Net I purchased this hay net to use in my horse's paddock on a daily basis - it has held up well to his constant battering and is easy to fill and easy to hang. Would gladly purchase it again.
    Date published: 2010-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from the way to go I love these haynets. They are soft on my hands, hold a ton of hay, and actually let the horses eat the hay without frustration.
    Date published: 2010-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality, sturdy hay net This is a very nice hay net, made of heavy duty cotton. It's much nicer than some of the flimsy nylon hay nets out there. It is large, with large holes, and holds a lot of hay. It's perfect for the trailer.
    Date published: 2010-06-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Returned the hay net was very long with large holes and could get caught up in the horse's feet so I returned it. Did not use it.
    Date published: 2010-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this hay net! No more cheap nylon hay nets that get all fried in the sun! I love the heavy cotton rope that this hay net is made out of. So much easier to work with than the thin nylon.
    Date published: 2009-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice, holds a ton of hay This haybag has very soft and easy to use ropes. It holds a ton of hay and was easy to use in the trailer and later in the stall.
    Date published: 2009-02-06
    • 2016-02-07T15:05CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_30
    • loc_en_US, sid_490, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.