Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner

Carr & Day & Martin Ltd
- Item #10080
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner is an award winning formula that keeps the mane and tail sleek and tangle free. Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner reduces breakage and repels dirt, leaves the hair manageable, luxuriously soft and with an immaculate oil-free shine. Contains citronella to help repel flies. 

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner is rated 4.8551 out of 5 by 207.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! I have tried many different Mane and Tail conditioners,and I think this is one of the best I have used.I spray this on,and then braid and bag their tails.When you take bag off to comb out ,their tails are really silky and tangle free.
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is awesome GREAT product. I recently bought this for my Percheron/TB cross. He has a really coarse mane, and this stuff made it feel so soft and smooth in just a few sprays, and his mane hadn't even been recently washed. He also lives outside, so he gets quite tangled up, and this still cut through everything. I'll definitely buy more when this runs out; his mane and tail feel fabulous!
    Date published: 2013-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelieveable! This product was introduced to me two horses ago..I have shown for many years and tried eveything..I use this on the mane to keep it from rubbing out under sleezies and it is unbelievable. I make sure I spray it down the ridge of the neck(mane) and all through the mane and do it twice a week at least. I have not lost any mane on any horse since!It isn't sticky or waxy...great product and worth every penny!!!!!
    Date published: 2012-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect mane and tail conditioner! Move over Show Sheen, this product is wonderful and leaves no greasy residue or buildup in my gelding's mane or tail, just soft silky hair that is tangle and stain free! Dirt brushes right out too. He even got a bad rub on his tail from the trailer, I sprayed some of this on it and the hairs brushed out nice and sleek again.
    Date published: 2012-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great Definitely works to detangle long, very tangly manes and tails. Definitely helps keep them snag and tangle-free between brushings. Smells great - fresh and not too flowery.
    Date published: 2012-10-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really good! I've tried everything and this IS superior to other products. I found it works best if the hair is clean and dry; spray it in the tail and let it dry before brushing....it seems to work better that way!
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Silky mane and tail with no residue... Canter is an excellent conditioner. Both my horses have natural long manes and full tails and so require some management in order to keep them free of wind braids. This is the best product I have tried to maintain condition and control breakage. It does not leave a "plastic" residue either.
    Date published: 2012-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best detangler ever! I LOVE this stuff. Spritz it on the nastiest tail, give it a moment, and then you can comb or brush through anything with minimal if any, hairs being pulled.I use it a couple times a week. It seems to keep the tails manageable for a couple of days and I am able to keep my tails untangled and organized. Cannot recommend it enough!
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works really well This conditioner works really well. I really only use it at shows because I don't brush my horses tail at home but it lessens the damage done at shows when I'm brushing her tail at least once a day.
    Date published: 2012-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Love this! Keeps my horses tail tangle free. Her Mane & Tail even seem thicker.
    Date published: 2012-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product My horse tail remains silky even after days of application.
    Date published: 2012-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it. Love it. Not greasy and no buildup. Three sprays will get you through a thick long tail in a couple of minutes.
    Date published: 2012-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff This product works great! It detangles instantly and is not sticky at all. My Gelding has a very thick long tail, and this has kept it looking awesome! It also lasts for several days.I have found this mane & tail product to be the best!
    Date published: 2012-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Canter mane and tail conditioner Does a great job of detangling and smells great, too. Very pleased, and will definitely order again!
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great conditioner One of the best conditioners I have used. Thick wavy tail stays tangle free and silky for a week or more!
    Date published: 2012-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best detangler/coat conditioner! I LOVE this stuff! It's far superior to any other detangler or conditioner I have used. It smells lovely, leaves no residue, and leaves tails and manes absolutely silky smooth for days. I cannot recommend this highly enough!
    Date published: 2012-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely The Best This is by far the most superior mane and tail grooming spray on the market. You use a little and grooming becomes a breeze but best of all manes and tails feels so soft and have an incredible sheen. It does help to repel dirt too and you don't have to use it all that often. It is worth it!
    Date published: 2012-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous!! This stuff is honestly THE best mane & tail conditioner I have ever used in my 16 years of riding. My OTTB was aptly named Marley due to his thick, nappy, and LONG tail, mane, AND forelock. I had been using mediocre products on my Appendix (who has a poor excuse for a tail and forelock, so it didn't bother me too much) but was having no luck on Marley. I wasn't so sure HOW to attack this abundance of hair until I tried Canter Silk! Most other conditioners I tried left a nasty residue that just acted as a place for dirt and grime to live. This stuff leaves Marley's hair SO soft, SO silky, and tangle FREE !! The best part is, one application lasts several days at least.... and I still feel the effects after a week+!! Try this stuff out... you won't regret it. Time for me to stock up again!
    Date published: 2012-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps Mane and Tail Soft I love this product. It works really well and is worth the money. It keeps the mane and tail tangle free and healthy!
    Date published: 2012-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Coat Spray EVER! Great stuff - have used nothing else for the last 8 years! Just a light mist detangles, conditions & shines - with no residue or slippery feel!
    Date published: 2012-03-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from ok, but not as efficient as Mane 'N Tail Detangler Tried both items, Mane 'N Tail Detangler by Straight Arrow works better. I have a palomino with a beautiful white mane and tail and this keeps his mane and tail managable and helps it keep growing.
    Date published: 2012-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product! Canter is fantastic. Gets out the worst knots, no matter how large. Leaves mane & tail silky soft. I've tried several products & am sold on Canter.
    Date published: 2012-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase What a great find. works so much better than all other detanglers I have tried. Leaves tail soft not brittle or sticky
    Date published: 2012-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Stuff! I have suggested this conditioner to almost everyone I know. Not only does it help with my youngest horse's tail tangles (he has his bob marley days) but it's also helped my older horse grow back his forelock after being ripped out by the previous owner.
    Date published: 2012-02-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fabulous product Canter Mane & Tail Conditioner is a great product. I use it on our pony's tail and it remains tangle free for up to a week. It is also not sticky like other products I have used. A little pricey, but a small amount goes a long way.
    Date published: 2012-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Canter Mane and Tail Product untangles mane and tail and makes soft and shiny; very effective.
    Date published: 2012-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Silky and Shiny Tail!!! I will never use another mane/tail detangler again!! This stuff works fast. This is the first thing I do when I groom my horse. It works fast enough that al I have to do is curry and brush and it is ready to go!!
    Date published: 2012-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product this conditioner is the best. one person at our barn bought it, and now we all have it. it doesn't work great on wet tails, but if you spray it on while its wet and come back to brush it after the tail has dried, it silky soft and easy to untangle. if you use it on a dry tail its like magic. and it doesn't yellow a white tail like some products can. love love love Canter!
    Date published: 2011-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'll never go back! I can't believe that I have been in horses for over a decade and I JUST found this product. I've been a Show Sheen girl, a Cowboy Magic girl and now - I'm a CANTER girl!!! Just a few sprays and my horse's tail is shiny, detangled AND conditioned. I love having an all-in-one product. I know he will look wonderful and also have healthy hair. You don't have to worry about it making your hands slippery and it smells great. This product has won me over. I'm a Canter girl for life :-)
    Date published: 2011-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from NEED TO BUY MORE!! I bought this around a year ago, and shoved it in my tack room. I recently found it, and started using it on my horse. Now I use it one a week, and it helps me brush through her super thick tail. It is hard to use it on her mane, but thats just because she is afraid of the bottle, nothing to do with the product. I also had a friend use it, and she was begging me to get her some for Christmas/her Birthday. It is a GREAT purchase!!!
    Date published: 2011-10-23
    • 2015-05-27T09:31CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_188
    • loc_en_US, sid_80, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.