Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Blocker Tie Ring

Myler Bits
- Item #16004
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Blocker Knotless Tie Ring prevents injury to you or your horse. When a solid-tied horse spooks or falls, it can panic - then something breaks or the horse injures itself (or both). Quick-release knots and panic snaps put you in danger as you try to reach them. The Blocker Tie Ring works WITH the horse. When the horse pulls hard on the lead, some of the rope slips through the tie ring - releasing pressure AND the source of panic. If the horse falls in a trailer, it can pull enough slack to get itself back up. The Blocker Tie Ring is truly a quicker, simpler, safer way to tie any horse. And it is adjustable: you can regulate the degree or amount of hold by the size and type of lead rope used. No more injuries to the horse's neck or vertebrae from pulling back against the lead. No more injuries, or even death, when the halter snap, lead rope, or bungee cord breaks, sending the horse against a post or flipping over onto a concrete floor. The Blocker Tie Ring is invaluable in trailers, answering the age-old question "to tie or not to tie." If a solid-tied horse falls down in a trailer, it can't get up. With a Blocker Tie Ring, the horse can solve its own problem without you risking your life trying to free it. Chrome plated.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Blocker Tie Ring is rated 4.7848 out of 5 by 79.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from As advertised I have only used this for a week, but it is a well made product, great instructions included, and works as advertised/described.
    Date published: 2012-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best investment I already had one of these and bought another so that I could cross tie. My "tie broke horse" had a mishap and tore herself up pretty bad (tied with a slip knot) I couldnt get to the knot fast enough and since then I've used the tie ring. She's tried to pull back once with the tie ring and as soon as the rope gave she quit and stood like nothing happened. I never have to worry about tying her again!
    Date published: 2012-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I feel a lot safer using the Blocker Tie Ring Recently at a show my horses were hard tied to the trailer. For some reason while saddling one spooked and caused both to set back on their leads. I got knocked down by my mare and broke my wrist. She slipped and fell and rolled onto my daughter, causing a slight concussion and hyper-extended her back.I strongly feel we both could of been hurt a lot worse, even killed because the horses had no where to go but back up to the trailer. My mare set back at least twice with me under her.I WILL NEVER HARD TIE MINE AGAIN!!! With this tie ring they can get away from you.STRONGLY RECOMMEND.
    Date published: 2012-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe & easy to use My barn uses these in the cross ties, but I wanted to get one of my own because there isn't one in the farrier area, and I thought it would be nice to have one when traveling to shows. Sadly, the first time I used it, I accidentally left it on a hook by my horse's stall and it walked away... I found a local store that carries it for five dollars less, so I guess I'll pick it up there next time. I do wish SmartPak carried the stainless steel version (local store doesn't either). As with most chrome-plated items, I expect it will start flaking off eventually.
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! My OTTB has problems being tied. The blocker tie ring has helped with that a lot! Im able to tie him without any problems or worries now!
    Date published: 2012-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as advertised I have tried many different types of ties for horses. I could never get to the quick release ones in time to help the horse. Then I tried an automatic relase one which did prevent the horse from getting hurt but didn't really teach him anything because he got away. With the blocker tie ring the horse pulls back and as soon as he feels the slack he stops and there is usually enough rope left that he doesn't get completely away. When the pressure stops he stops. Of course the ideal is to teach him to give to the pressure but this works great in the meantime and he doesn't have a bad experience. It wouldn't be good to leave your horse on one if you weren't right there in case he did get away although there are alternative ways to tie them to give you a little more security. Overall, I am very pleased with the function and quality of this product.
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easiest Way to Tie Horses I always worried about solid-tying my horse, and often used a loop of bailing twine at the tie post as a breakaway. But not any more! The Blocker Tie Ring is quick, easy to use and, most importantly, safe. It's a bit pricey, but the quality is excellent. Hope the chrome-plated finish holds up here near the ocean.
    Date published: 2012-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe, Effective, Easy to use I am a trainer and use this item many times a day with all breeds/ages of horses. I highly recommend the blocker ring. No more broken snaps or halters. Use in the trailer or at the barn for the horse that pulls back. The horse will stop pulling back after a while of using the blocker ring. It works best with 1/2 " rope. If your horse learns to pull the rope out intentionally, use a thicker cotton rope, or tie a knot at the end of the rope. If using outdoors year around, pay more for the stainless steel ring. The chrome plated ring will rust a bit in the weather, but should be usable.
    Date published: 2012-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good investment. I have used the Blocker Tie Rings for a couple of weeks now, and am glad I bought them. If you just single loop the lead rope through the ring, it slides out VERY easily. So to use it that way, you have to have a horse that absolutely does not apply any pressure whatsoever to the lead rope. One of my horses figured out that he could lower his head to the ground and pull the rope through, and then walk off and pull it the rest of the way through. So for him, you have to do the more complex tying pattern to hold him. I LOVE not having to tie knots in ropes anymore to tie horses up! Just run the rope through, and you're done. I would like to use these inside my horse trailer, and I imagine for that I will need to use the more complex tying pattern, but that is no problem. My horses know how to tie and haven't pulled back yet (knock on wood!) so I don't know how they work in a panic situation. But for a convenience item, I am very glad I bought these, and I will eventually like to buy a few more. The cost is quite high for what you actually get, but that's just how things are these days :-)
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Second Blocker Ring After experiencing too many "pull back" episodes with my horse, and trying many other so-called solutions, I bought a Blocker Tie Ring. Not only did it CURE my horse from having panic attacks, it helped me to overcome the fear that I had developed as well. This tie ring is not a gimic - it solves the problem at the source. As long as I have horses, I won't be without one. This one goes in my trailer.
    Date published: 2012-02-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Waste of Money With recommendations from Clinton Anderson I expected this to be a wonder product. I tried this product with all my leads and none of them seemed like they would pull through even a little bit. This product has many good recommendations and it is well-made, but I don't want to risk a broken fence pole in midwinter from what I've seen as to how it works.
    Date published: 2012-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from necessary barn and trailer equipment! We now have a bunch of these: two for tying to the trailer, and one at each cross-tie in the barn. They're perfect for every horse, but especially for any that might, just might, pull. Wish they'd been invented at least 20 years ago! Very highly recommended.
    Date published: 2012-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great design I have a 'Clip' which I think was the original concept but I really like this Blocker Tie Ring since it can be more easily separated from the lead rope. Great design and quality.
    Date published: 2011-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great way to Tie I was worried when i bought them that they wouldn't have enough tension to hold a nosy horse, but found that a respectful horse, with even minimal training, respects, but does not become afraid of being tied when tied with the ring. I highly recommend this for everyday use, for every single horse.
    Date published: 2011-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Convenient and Simple Solution I bought the Blocker Tie Ring after seeing a demonstration. I LOVE IT! It makes tying your horse up super easy and quick. And I don't have to worry anymore about repairing fences, tie rings or posts when a horse pulls back. Not to mention the money saved on broken halters and lead ropes. A real lifesaver! Will definetly order more soon!
    Date published: 2011-12-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Blocker Tie Ring works My horse used to fine with tying until he had an accident and flipped upside down. Now he panics whenever he hits the end of a rope. The ring helps, he's still worried, but he just backs up pulling the rope through the ring. It slows him down enough that I can safely grab the rope before he gets completely loose. If your horse has tying issues, I recommend it. For $25, it might solve your problems.
    Date published: 2011-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have several of these tie blocker rings in my barn in various locations and also in my horse trailer. They make securing and releasing the horse a breeze.
    Date published: 2011-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great invention! This tie ring was recommended to my by several people, including my trainer. I finally decided to try it. It works great, and I am mostly working with my mare to stand in one place without being restrained by cross-ties. An ingenious device to keep a horse from feeling panic.
    Date published: 2011-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Purchase Helped both my very young mares learn to stand cross-tied without incident. Plan on also using them for my trailer.
    Date published: 2011-10-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Like it..... BUT..... The idea behind the product is great, however, it has been my experience that when the line is threaded for more tension (following the enclosed instructions)...when the horse pulls back the magnetic clip releases and lets the horse go. For the cost (close to $40.00) after tax and shipping....I was a little disappointed.I made it work by threading it through the actual ring instead of around the clip...now it serves it's purpose.
    Date published: 2011-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product This tie ring is great! I have it chained to a tree, and it's so convenient to tie my horse. I would love to have one attached to my trailer.
    Date published: 2011-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safest Tie on the Market The blocker tie ring is the safest way to tie your horse. I have 2 thoroughbreds who tie pretty well, but have moments of panick and will break away on a regular tie. Since using only the tie ring they are both more relaxed and when they do pull back they are calm immediately because they get a little slack. So no more loose horses or dramatic scenes. Get one for every day, the wash stall and the trailer. Also use the long blocker lead rope for maximum effectiveness. It's 12 ft long so your horse can pull lots of slack without getting loose.
    Date published: 2011-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tie Blocker Ring No more broken halters or leads! NO more panicky horses.
    Date published: 2011-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from way to tie! What a great idea. If only this product had been around years ago my older horse would not have broken so many halters, cross ties etc.I am teaching my youngster to tie with the blocker tie ring, and so far it's a piece of cake!
    Date published: 2010-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the updated design I love how this product works. I use it to tie several horses with different temperaments. Works great for all. I really like the updated design with the carabiner clip. Means I can easily move the unit between different locations.
    Date published: 2010-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 stars I have blocker tie rings in all of our trailers, barn and wash rack.We have slant load trailers which require a person leading the horse into the slot. With the Blocker Tie Ring, should a horse set back, it will get some release and will not panic and jump on the handler.These are the best for teaching a horse to tie, especially a young horse.
    Date published: 2010-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Mst Have For Every Barn My young mare was badly spooked while tied. The Blocker Tie Ring enabled me to safely retrain my filly to tie. She now ties like a dream. I always use the Blocker Tie Ring when tying a horse in the barn or on my trailer.
    Date published: 2010-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome tie, great for trailering! I love how it's convienant to just clip and unclip. And you can take it anywhere you need to go! (: Definately a must have for the spooky horse!
    Date published: 2010-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I love these ties!! My horse would never want to stand in the cross ties. My trainer suggested these so I tried them. He backed up twice on the first day, but only a few steps because he realized that he was not trapped. Also, he couldn't get loose because of the give that the ties offer. Now he stands just fine! They also give me peace of mind if I have to run into the tack room or something because I know he cannot get hurt.
    Date published: 2010-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy on my horse My horse tends to spook and break his halters. I started using the blocker tie about a month ago and it sure has saved my wallet as well as my horse's piece of mind. He no longer breaks and runs. The movement it allows him when he spooks seems to settle him down. Everyone should tie up to these even if your horse dosen't spook. They are mobil too!
    Date published: 2010-03-10
    • 2015-05-25T10:24CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_74
    • loc_en_US, sid_6004, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.