Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Blocker Tie Ring

Myler Bits
- Item #16004
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Blocker Knotless Tie Ring prevents injury to you or your horse. When a solid-tied horse spooks or falls, it can panic - then something breaks or the horse injures itself (or both). Quick-release knots and panic snaps put you in danger as you try to reach them. The Blocker Tie Ring works WITH the horse. When the horse pulls hard on the lead, some of the rope slips through the tie ring - releasing pressure AND the source of panic. If the horse falls in a trailer, it can pull enough slack to get itself back up. 

Imported

Favorite Features

  • Blocker Tie Ring is truly a quicker, simpler, safer way to tie any horse
  • Adjustable: you can regulate the degree or amount of hold by the size and type of lead rope used
  • No more injuries to the horse's neck or vertebrae from pulling back against the lead
  • No more injuries, or even death, when the halter snap, lead rope, or bungee cord breaks, sending the horse against a post or flipping over onto a concrete floor. 
  • Blocker Tie Ring is invaluable in trailers, answering the age-old question "to tie or not to tie." If a solid-tied horse falls down in a trailer, it can't get up. With a Blocker Tie Ring, the horse can solve its own problem without you risking your life trying to free it
  • Chrome plated
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Why We Love This Tired of rummaging through ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Tired of rummaging through your tack box just to find a matching pair of wraps? And when you finally do, have them be unraveled and twisted? The Double Wire Rack can solve this problem! It is great ...
    "The Hanging Boot Organizer provides easy and convenient ...
    Description:
    "The Hanging Boot Organizer provides easy and convenient storage for horse boots and equipment. Perfect for use at home or at shows, the Hanging Boot Organizer keeps important equipment safely stored, and easily accessible. The mesh material makes boots easily ...
    "Equine liability laws are helping property owners, barn ...
    Description:
    "Equine liability laws are helping property owners, barn managers and trainers by providing a measure of immunity from lawsuits involving the inherent risks of equine activities. In many states, failure to comply with the requirements concerning warning signs, notices and ...
    "Why We Love This The Fortiflex Flat Back ...
    Description:
    "Why We Love This The Fortiflex Flat Back Bucket Wall Bracket is a patented aluminum bracket designed specifically to hold flat back buckets, securely against a wall or post, indoor and outdoors. *Mounting hardware is not included."
    Why We Love This This easy to use ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This This easy to use 40" Grooming Cart with attached heavy duty wire baskets is a complete storage system for all your grooming supplies. 10" wheels make for great portability at shows, barns or while working out ...
    "These Horseshoe Cross Tie Anchor are strong and ...
    Description:
    "These Horseshoe Cross Tie Anchor are strong and durable. 3 inch square mounting plate with hinged pony shoe. Black powder coat finish. Cross ties not included. Pair."
    Why We Love This The Leatherman Scissors give ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Leatherman Scissors give you top quality and durable grooming shears. These utility scissors are sharp and can cut just about anything. Perfect size for barn or tack trunk! Favorite Features • Great utility scissors - can ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Blocker Tie Ring is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 103.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product I bought this a few weeks ago and absolutely love it. I have two now. One I keep in my horse trailer and one at the barn. Peace of mind knowing that my horse can move back and not injure himself if something should spook him. Love, love, love it.
    Date published: 2014-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality We used blocker tie when we first rescued our horse because she was pulling back. Resolved problem. We had a big move from Hawaii to Texas and she started pulling back again. Blocker tie releases her enough to settle her. Calm again after using it for a few weeks.
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for all types of horses quiet or anxious Have 3 of these trailer, wash stall ,and aisle of barn. Sent thoroughbred for Natural Horsemen training and he is much happier using this tie than being cross tied.
    Date published: 2014-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice tie ring. Nice, heavy duty tie ring. Perfect for younger horses or horses that don't tie well. Easy to install.
    Date published: 2014-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only way to tie a horse In my opinion, this is the best way to tie a horse. It may look simple but it works. There are three levels of tension: first level allows the lead rope to slide (but not too easily), second level provides more resistance but still slides; the third level the rope almost doesn't slide at all.
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Increased safety This seems to be solving the problem of pulling back and panicking. Haven't used it for long but pleased so far.
    Date published: 2014-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Portable too! I have these in wash racks, tack areas and carry a set in my trailer for shows! Once you get use to using these they are the best!!!
    Date published: 2014-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from safety first for handling a horse for animal and p I saw these used at a farm, wouldn't use anything else
    Date published: 2014-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Boo loves it! When I first got Boo she couldn't be trusted to tie at all, once I got the tie ring and a little guidance from Clinton Anderson I can leave her tied for hours without worry! I do have to say that the chrome plate has a habit of flacking off and rusting, but they do make a stainless steal one.
    Date published: 2014-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the BEST way to tie ANY HORSE I have used this on my mare for Years and had a friend that could NEVER tie her horse it would break halter, Trailer rings and Leads! I used the one I bought from you and used it on her horse on a trail ride, She was VERY sceptical! We tied her mare the mare thought I can get out of this and when she did not get resistance she stopped trying and just stood there! My friend will buy one soon!
    Date published: 2013-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safety first Really like these. Replaced all my bungie ties with theses for both barn & trailer. Panic snaps can become a missile if they release suddenly on a bungie. These, on the other hand, release slowly, easing out only as much as needed to eliminate panic. There are instructions for creating several levels of tension and I use them on the second loop tension. My only minor criticism is that for this price they should be stainless steel.
    Date published: 2013-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great This works great. No more worrying about my horse damaging his nose from pulling up or back when tied.
    Date published: 2013-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product I have used the blocker tie ring a lot at my last barn where my horse was boarded. The blocker tie ring is amazing, I loved using it when I was introducing my OTTB to clippers for the first time, it worked so well when Finn would get nervous about the clipper and would pull back he didn't panic that he could pull and the rope would loosen up.
    Date published: 2013-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more trailer ties for me! I can't say that I have a horse that pulls back or has tying issues, but this is much safer and easier to use than trailer ties! No more worries about freak accidents when the trailer tie breaks and the snap goes flying, your horse getting loose without a lead rope on, or getting tangled up in everything. I always used to use trailer ties and leave a lead rope on my horse, just to be safe....until I had one get tangled up in the mess. I had another horse who was the master of unlatching the trailer tie snaps and just wandered away multiple times. I've seen many trailer ties break and hurt people. This tie ring seems like the safest way to tie for everyone. My mare pulled back once or twice as a yearling before I had these tie rings, fortunately she never made a habit of it but I wonder if she would have ever tried more than once if she were tied this way. I use these everywhere now, in my trailer, on the side of my trailer, in the stall, etc. I did notice that if your rope isn't just the right thickness, it's easy for your horse to just walk away without realizing they are pulling. I agree, it would be nice if there was a brochure with diagrams on how to use this ring for different tying methods or rope thicknesses. I also love the genius little magnet at the back, it just makes it that much better!
    Date published: 2013-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from safe and easy to use I have a 7 yr. old Thoroughbred (rescue) mare who is now standing much quieter because of this product. I have been using it with her for about 3 weeks now. I like it because when she pulls back she gets resistance, but not so much resistance that it really panics her to where she tries to break a rope or halter. I also use a long 22' rope with it so that I can catch the end of it before she pulls it all the way through the tie ring and is able to run off. SHe still occasionally will get startled and will pull back, but since she can take a few steps back now rather than hit the end of a rope, she is staying calmer. I think the knowledge that she "can" move back if she needs to, is helping her figure this out. The snap clip allows me to take the tie ring and use it in my horse trailer as well, which is convenient. My only "wish" to make it even better would be a brochure or something that shows the different ways to thread the rope through the ring to get the various levels of resistance- would be handy to have that in the barn/tack room. I went online and found a video that showed "how to" from Clinton Anderson. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who has a horse that pulls back when tied, or has learned to break those "breakaway" halters so that they can run off.
    Date published: 2013-06-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I had hoped We have a horse that occasionally pulls back, so I thought I'd give this a try. I found that it really didn't hold the rope very well at all; with the horse tied to the trailer, all he had to do was pull firmly but gently and he'd gotten enough play so he could graze. I don't think he even really realized he was tied. I think it could be somewhat useful for holding a horse that really doesn't tie well, say long enough so you can walk a short distance to grab some tack or something, but I wouldn't be further than a few steps away from a horse attached to one of these.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A safe way to tie I have several blocker tie rings. I use them inside my horse trailer, in my barn, and at the hitching post. It's the only way I tie my horse anymore
    Date published: 2013-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Fix" Pulling Back This ring is THE tool for helping horses that pull back when tied. To have the best success, watch the Clinton Anderson video. He tells about seeing this item and it's inventor at a horse trade show, testing it himself at clinics and the best way to have horses train themselves to stand tied. Unlike the old school "hard tie to something they can't break until they give up the fight" method for horses that habitually pull back, the tie ring re-trains the horse to not panic when they put pressure on the line as they can "move their feet". I used this tool w/ great success to help a 15 year old 17h horse that pulled back EVERYWHERE he was tied. By the third day, he stood quietly no matter what the stimulus or fright. The horse's owners and professional trainer were blown away w/ my backyard results. Most importantly, a really sweet horse wasn't scared of being tied anymore: perfect.
    Date published: 2013-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great investment I have a 4 year old thoroughbred that has broken every halter, lead rope ect, this teaches him doesnt have restrictions, he gives it a pull and he is fine he doesnt freak out!!!! only thing i regret is that i didnt buy it sooner!
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great solution for my horse! My older OTTB has an aversion to cross-ties but stands quietly on the blocker tie ring. A huge positive difference. Highly recommend this product!
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tool, Great Price I use the DUH method on my trainer horses and this is what Clinton Anderson's suggests using for a horse who pulls back or gets impatient. I was a spectulative at first, but once I tried it, I loved it. I now have 2 andam planning on buying more if that gives you an idea on the quality.
    Date published: 2012-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product Bought a pair of these to use on my horse trailer. Worked great. Built to last.
    Date published: 2012-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A really great idea I have used these before at a barn, and thought they were a great safe idea. When we got our own place, that was on the list of must haves. They really work. I use mine as a single tie for my horse in the barn aisle. I think they would also be great as part of a cross tie too. The only draw back is in the price, especially if you would want two. I highly recommend them.
    Date published: 2012-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blocker tie ring Great product - use in stall when saddling. Quick and safe to use.
    Date published: 2012-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works I have only used 1 time. It really does what it says. A friend as had one for years and loves it.
    Date published: 2012-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blocker Tie Ring Saves the Day I purchased the Blocker Tie Ring for my horse trailer. Thankfully I had my horse tied to it when he unexpectedly decided to pull back. Not feeling any tension, he immediately stopped and he did not break away while on our trail ride.Thank you Blocker Tie Ring!
    Date published: 2012-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clever! I love these! Not only do they make tying your horse up quick and easy, but they are great for those horses that like to pull back. It releases a little at a time, allowing the horse to not feel trapped and giving you enough time to grab the lead rope before they're free.My only complaint is the cost - they're a lot more money than I expected - but it really is worth it!
    Date published: 2012-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from As advertised I have only used this for a week, but it is a well made product, great instructions included, and works as advertised/described.
    Date published: 2012-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best investment I already had one of these and bought another so that I could cross tie. My "tie broke horse" had a mishap and tore herself up pretty bad (tied with a slip knot) I couldnt get to the knot fast enough and since then I've used the tie ring. She's tried to pull back once with the tie ring and as soon as the rope gave she quit and stood like nothing happened. I never have to worry about tying her again!
    Date published: 2012-06-26
    • y_2017, m_5, d_23, h_7
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_96
    • loc_en_US, sid_6004, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders