Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Bite Free Stable Fly Trap

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13715
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Uniquely shaped Bite Free Stable Fly Trap provides an ecomonical solution to those persistent and potentially harmful Stable Flies.

Also known as Dog Flies, these pesky flies attack horses, livestock, dogs, and humans, leaving you and your animals prone to secondary infections, disease transmittance, and persistent stomping and scratching.

Stable Flies bite humans and livestock on the legs, and dogs and cats on the ears. Bite Free Stable Fly Trap provides relief from these pests in an easy to set up, insecticide and odor free, disposable trap.

Simply place trap at least 10 feet away from barns, houses, gardens, and kennels. For maximum fly control, use in conjunction with the EZ Fly Trap. Individually boxed with an informative brochure. Sticky Fly Trap.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Bite Free Stable Fly Trap is rated 3.6667 out of 5 by 27.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Deadly Design for Birds There is a fundamental design flaw to this sticky fly trap - it looks like a bird feeder. After the second bird landed on it, resulting in a no-doubt painful death, we took the remainder of the case to the recycling center.By the way, relatively few flies were ever trapped. Also note that we subsequently tried to modify it by adding "bird protection" netting to its outside...but this did not work either.If the manufacturer provided a bird protection "cage", it might become a better product.
    Date published: 2013-07-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sticky but not that attractive to flies If flies land on this trap, they do stick. Initially, I only had yellowjackets stuck to it. It was only when I placed it directly in a tub of manure that the flies were inclined to land on it.So it does work but it will never make a dent in my fly population since they are not drawn to it.
    Date published: 2013-06-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fly trap Except for rainy and stormy days it has been hanging on a plant hanger between the barn and small paddocks. Seems to be catching flies, gnats, and 1 wasp. Hung it 3-4 feet off the ground on an plant hanger. Fly season is just starting here so we'll see if it helps with the small stable flies. They were terrible last year, maybe not so bad this year. Ordered a 2nd one to put on the other side of the barn.
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Catch a Lot of flys! Great for catching a lot of stable flys. I hang two near my barn within 4 feet of the ground. In several years of using one bird has been caught in them. No problem to me as we have plenty of birds. The hawks around here whack more birds than these traps. Great pest control.
    Date published: 2013-05-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Death Trap for Birds We try to attract insect eating birds to the barn and paddock area. After three days near the barn, the trap caught a few insects and 3 chickadees, drawn to the trap by the bugs. I'm sure they would have eaten more flies over the summer than the trap would. Pulled out most flight fathers trying to escape. Beyond saving. WHY NO WARNING? You must have known this would happen. Kicking myself for not foreseeing it.
    Date published: 2013-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wise buy very pleased with the amount of flies attracted,long lasting fly control. Will be buying this product again!
    Date published: 2012-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flys are gone! I am so happy with the use of these fly traps this year! I started putting them up first thing this year! I also bought WAY more than I did last year, I cannot tell you how great this year has been with flys for us! I have one horse that is alergic to flys and I have yet to give him medication and he is doing well with very minimal signs of sweet itch! I am very satisfied! I was worried I would catch a lot of bats because last year I did catch a couple bats, I had to take them into the wildlife shelter and it was very stressful, however, last year I also had massive flys comparing to this year to attract the bats! I have not caught a bat and I also hung my fly traps on the East side of our barn, a friend said to. I cannot remember why? But it was worked!
    Date published: 2012-07-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Traps everything but Stable flies I purchased this as it is advertised to specifically trap stable flies. I check it daily, and still no stable flies, but bees, beetles, etc. Also read somewhere that it can be reused, but the package says it is disposable. Too pricey to not reuse and not do what it is supposed to.
    Date published: 2012-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big and Effective Love these fly traps. They catch flies better than fly paper, look nicer and no foul odor! I also discovered if you hose them off once, you can reuse them!
    Date published: 2012-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly catcher ever No more mixing water and that smelly liquid. This fly catcher is worth every penny. Just take out of the box and hang.Planning on buying a few more!
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Yes it does catch birds I read on the manufacturer's site that these traps can catch birds.I hung the trap and on the second day I had a gold finch stuck in it.It does catch lots of flies, not sure the risk to the birds and butterflies (caught two in those two days) is worth it.We did take the second trap I bought (at the same time as the first) and put wire mesh all around it. Does not catch as many flies but the birds are safe.
    Date published: 2011-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great traps! These traps really helped catch the biting flies. Within minutes of hanging them up flies were sticking to them. I ordered 3 at a time and ended up ordering 3 more after those became full.
    Date published: 2011-09-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from NOT UP TO MY EXPECTATIONS CONVENIENCE IS GREAT BUT DOESN'T CATCH FLIES LIKE I EXPECTED
    Date published: 2011-06-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from it caught a bird... i was very pleased with the trap at first as i though it would be another environment-friendly weapon against insects, but after about five days on a post outside of our small barn, i was horrified when i found a young sparrow trapped and frozen on the sticky substance...with great difficulty i removed the young bird but it did not survive as the sticky substance was all over its underside and wings.. cannot recommend this.
    Date published: 2011-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! I hung it on an electric fence near where my horses stand during the day. It had a few flies by the time I got it attached to the fence. By the end of the day there were hundreds. I was amazed how many and how soon it attracted flies. I tried another near my cows water tank with similar but not quite as good results. I have ordered some more of these traps.
    Date published: 2011-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps Reduce Paddock Pests To reduce flies in my horse's paddock, I targeted the area where they were concentrated, which was around her feed and water troughs, and set this up as directed (about 10 feet away). It began collecting flies immediately. I use it with the EZ Trap for maximum effectiveness. Its ease of use--I can set it up and forget about it, no refilling water or attractant--and effectiveness guarantees it will have a permanent place in my premises control.
    Date published: 2009-07-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sticky trap I didn't realize immediately from the catalog description that this is a sticky trap. I don't usually use sticky traps because they can also kill birds. The label says it will catch 7000 stable flies. After hanging 4 traps as directed, I had maybe 20 insects on each of the traps after a week, but most of them were not stable flies. I left the traps up for 3 weeks, until I found a dead bird on one of the traps... then I threw all 4 of them away wrapped in paper so that there would not be other non-insect casualties.
    Date published: 2009-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attracted tons of flies I love this trap because it attracted tons of flies. I hung this in the barn and the flies stopped bothering the horses. There is a lot of surface area because of the design which means it doesn't have to be replaced as often. A very good fly trap.
    Date published: 2009-02-09
    • 2015-05-22T08:41CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_26
    • loc_en_US, sid_3715, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.