Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Big D Sussex Medium Turnout Blanket

Big D
- Item #16487
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Blankets with features on their mind. VELCRO® brand and double buckle closure reduces sagging and rubs. Rear darts are tailored instead of just folded over. Tough 210 Denier taffeta show coat lining limits coat damage while 240 grams of fiber fill provides plenty of warmth. Adjustable bias surcingles and removable elastic leg straps reduce blanket movement. Rip-stop, waterproof and breathable exterior is 450 Denier.

Imported.
 
Please note: Embroidery is recommended on the surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing abilities.

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

Favorite Features

  • Tailored Shoulder Gussets
  • Double sewn seams
  • Fleece wither for rub prevention
  • Tail Flap
Key Specifications
  • Denier: 450
  • Fabric: Rip-stop
  • Fill: 240g
  • Closure Style: VELCRO and double buckle

Specifications

Denier 450
Fabric Rip-stop
Fill 240g
Surcingles Low-cross surcingles
Lining Taffeta show lining
Gussets Yes
Closure Style VELCRO and double buckle
Neck Style Standard
Leg Straps/Tail Cord Leg straps
Tail Flap Yes
Neck Rug/Hood No
Special Features Waterproof. Stress points are reinforced, seams are double sewn and heat-sealed, rear darts are tailored.
Customizable Embroidery
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in ...
    Description:
    "The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in 1 - Simply detach the removable liner to choose the level of warmth for your horse making this blanket extremely versatile, you'll be using it all season! Made from 1000D ballistic nylon, ...
    "This is the blanket that inspired it all! ...
    Description:
    "This is the blanket that inspired it all! The Rhino SmartPak Collection Wug Turnout was created exclusively for SmartPak by the experts at Horseware Ireland for the most fashionable and functional turnout around. Rhino’s exclusive Barrier Technology means that even ...
    "Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and ...
    Description:
    "Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Keep your horse warm and dry with the SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout blanket! This blanket includes all of the great features of the SmartPak Deluxe Turnout blanket but with a ...
    "The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Wug is new ...
    Description:
    "The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Wug is new to the Bravo range, and features Horseware's high cut neck design and V-front closure for a snug fit. 1200D polyester outer with polyester lining and front leg arch. Imported. Also Available: Matching ...
    "The Rambo Wug Turnout with Leg Arches is ...
    Description:
    "The Rambo Wug Turnout with Leg Arches is the Wug you love but with great new features! This blanket offers high-neck protection from rain and snow providing a snug fit and eliminating wither pressure. Ballistic Nylon outer shell and nylon ...
    "Protect your horse from winter’s worst with the ...
    Description:
    "Protect your horse from winter’s worst with the ultimate in turnout armor! The SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket is our toughest waterproof blanket yet. This blanket features a heavy-duty nylon that resists rubs and tears, making it the ideal choice for ...
    "The All American features the Big D Diamond ...
    Description:
    "The All American features the Big D Diamond Pattern and contoured design for added warmth, fit, and comfort. This stable blanket is a Big D classic! Open or closed front, forest w/ beige trim or navy w/ silver trim. Also ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Big D Sussex Medium Turnout Blanket is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 41.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits well and keeps him warm I bought this for a fully clipped, 16.3 h, warmblood gelding who I moved from Maryland to Vermont in late December. The fit is great, the fabric and features are super, and he's been toasty even on the 10 degree nights.
    Date published: 2017-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely blanket-great price! Purchased as a Christmas present-the blanket was delivered faster than expected. Very nicely made and would definitely buy again.
    Date published: 2016-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well-fitting & Durable! I love this blanket! This is an extremely well fitting blanket. It fits my Arab perfectly, and hasn't caused any rubs or hair loss in the 2 months he's been wearing it. It stays in place, too -and my horse is extremely active when he's turned out.I absolutely love this blanket - and just ordered another one for one of my other horses, too!
    Date published: 2016-12-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for In-between Days Warmer then a turnout sheet with good drop and great fit for Quarter Horse shoulders and rump. Only wish it had snaps with the front buckles for a fifth star. Second blanket, my first lasted 8 years! Still the muddy day spare.
    Date published: 2016-12-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice and warm Bought this on 11/9 and it keeps my horse nice and warm. I wish the denier was just a little heavier
    Date published: 2016-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Blanket! Bought this blanket a few weeks ago for the colder weather and its perfect! I have a very large thourobred and it fits great! True to size, nice night neck so it doesn't slide down.
    Date published: 2015-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big D Sussex Medium Turnout Blanket I absolutely love this blanket! The fit and quality are wonderful. I just bought my horse and he moved from a moderate climate to a snowy climate and he is warm, dry and comfortable every night. This is a quality, durable, good-looking product-I highly recommend it!
    Date published: 2015-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfectly fitted, well-made Blanket! I purchased this blanket for my extremely active & destructive Arab, and it held up perfectly all winter, still looks like new! It's extremely durable, and very well fitted -no blanket rubs. I plan on purchasing 2 more of these blankets this year to replace my other horses' blankets -which were made by other manufacturers. I can't say enough about this blanket!
    Date published: 2015-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from fit perfect Bought two of these blankets and they are great. Covers my horses and they don't slip around.
    Date published: 2015-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from PERFECT For a QH! We have a 4 yo, growing, 15.3 hand, 1000 pound QH. This was also our first experience buying a blanket online---needles to say we will do it again! This blanket fits our guy perfectly! Goes a little high up on his neck, covers his whole chest, (So now I feel comfortable giving him a bib clip) he has worn it for 2 weeks now and it still looks like the day i got it...(he is a stall slob) Very pleased with our purchase!
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! I just got my second one of these blankets for my 2.5 year old. Love the fit through the shoulders (securely around neck in front of shoulder/wither), little bit of added length in the body, and the full-coverage tail flap. Quality is very good, the fit is excellent, and great value for money. Works well as a mid-weight turnout blanket. I use mine two on warmblood mares.
    Date published: 2015-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent fit and quality My horse has two of these blankets. Most of my friends' horses have them and most recently purchased one for another friend. Love the fit and the quality.
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great turnout blanket. He is a 3 1/2 year old quarter horse plus something else and is more on the narrow side. He ruined a stable blanket and we are hoping this one works out better. Tried ashore blanket and it was tight in the shoulders and big elsewhere. The customer service people are terrific. This blanket has a 10 year warranty.
    Date published: 2014-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good blanket This blanket fits my stocky, 15'2 thoroughbred well (the smartpak blankets did not fit). No rubs yet, though we haven't used it much. Looks good and she seems to like it.
    Date published: 2014-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Blanket I would have given this blanket five stars but the batting moved a little when I machine washed it. Bought a second one for my new horse. These blankets sit up higher on the neck than some other blankets so it really stays in place and seems to give them more freedom of movement through the shoulders. My horses have not had shelter of any kind, not even a tree, for the past several years and these Big D blankets have kept them comfortable.
    Date published: 2014-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! I bought this a couple months ago and absolutely love it. It fits my horse perfect. Isn't terribly heavy but not thin either. The buckles and straps are very durablee, extra padding over the withers and love the color. Its everything I wanted. Very good buy for the price!
    Date published: 2014-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket! I bought this about a month ago after having tried and returned (thank you smartpak) many other blankets. It fits my Dutch mare great, and I love the color. I had it embroidered and it looks beautiful. The blanket also looks like it's going to help a lot with a mane rubbing issue she has from previous blankets (well padded and great fit). The only complaint is that the leg straps are pretty short even extended all the way :( Still a great blanket!
    Date published: 2014-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice turnout blanket. I really like this blanket. I bought a 78 for my 15.1 paint mare and it fits her great. She gets turned out for 4-6 hours in the winter, as long as the weather is decent. Wearing this blanket, I know that she will stay dry and warm. I prefer Big D blankets, because they last a long time.
    Date published: 2013-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good quality This blanket fits my Quarter Horse mare really well. The straps are easy and quick. All for a cheap price!!! A good blanket.
    Date published: 2013-11-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Blanket Seems to be a nice blanket for the price. Not sure how durable it will be
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good if you have a horse that it fits. It seems to be a very good blanket. It is holding up well to a fellow horse pulling on it most of the time! I bought it for my average size Belgian draft in a size 86 (I measured her). The blanket is very nice, however it does not work well for her conformation. She has a large neck so the breast strap is a little tight while the rest of the blanket is slightly on the large side. I forwent the velcro and buckled it as loose as possible to make it a little looser so it is ok, but she can't graze with the top strap buckled. I would not recommend this particular blanket for draft breeds.
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Big D blanket for draft horse This blanket is a good value and is a very nice blanket for my large draft. The only problem is that it is a little tight at the neck and the front straps barely can be buckled. My draft is very large especially thru the shoulders, where it is tight. The belly and leg straps fit great.
    Date published: 2012-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Nice Blanket This is a really nice blanket for my horse, who lives outside. Fits him perfectly, he's an 84". A couple of other horses at our barn have them and the buckles are really nice and it is very easy and accessible.
    Date published: 2012-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WINTER BLANKET Very nice winter blanket!! It gets cold on the coast and this blanket should keep my gelding warm!!
    Date published: 2012-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best purchase ever great blanket.
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product Couldn't be better. Also washable in front loading machine. I bought them for all 7 of my horses and they fit all sizes and shapes.
    Date published: 2011-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Big D! Love the Big D blankets. They are usually not recommended for thoroughbreds, but fit all mine great. Never had a tear or problem with them. I have 2 that are years old and then this new one for my new horse.
    Date published: 2011-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Might be a bit long for my 14.1 hand pony, but she needed the 72 for her bus length body!
    Date published: 2011-10-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good and Bad news The blanket fits beautifully. However, in the month that I've had it, it has gotten ripped TWICE. It needs to be stronger.
    Date published: 2011-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-02-01
    • y_2017, m_3, d_25, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_39
    • loc_en_US, sid_6487, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders