Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Back on Track Hock Wraps

Back on Track
- Item #17769
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Back on Track Therapeutic Hock Wraps use state-of-the-art fabric which contains polyester thread embedded with a fine ceramic powder.

Designed to reflect the horse's own body-warmth, it creates a soothing far infrared thermal heat, which can help alleviate pain associated with inflamed muscles, ligaments, tendons and joints. The Back on Track therapy works with your horses own body heat. Used for both injury prevention as well as injury recovery.

Material is a cotton/polyester blend infused with Back on Track's revolutionary ceramic infused fiber. Three VELCRO® brand straps. Pair.

Small (Cob), Medium (Horse) or Large (O/S)

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Back on Track Hock Wraps is rated 4.493 out of 5 by 71.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Noticed a difference 1st use! These are a great buy! Noticed a difference in my horse's movement after I put them on him the first time for 2 hours before I rode him.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use I've only used these a few times and put them on while I tack up and after I ride for about 20-30 minutes. My horse does seem to warm up much faster since I've started to use them however I have also recently had his hocks injected so I can't say for sure how much these are contributing. I figured anything that will give more comfort to his hocks is worth trying and I like every Back on Track product i've tried before. They are easy to use and the Medium fit my 16.2 hand thoroughbred perfect. I believe they would fit a larger horse as well as my smaller 15.3 hand thoroughbred since the straps have stretch to them.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works? I bought these boots after having to do injections on my horse's hocks. I went into DO EVERYTHING mode which included new supplements and these boots to help ease his discomfort. He's moving great, whether it's because of the boots or the injections or a combo of both, I cant really say. The boots are interesting, they absolutely generate heat. When I take them off my horse, even on a chilly day, his hocks are little damp with sweat. For $75 they're worth a try in my opinion!
    Date published: 2013-03-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from horse wouldn't wear them Be careful with these. They are expensive and they really bothered my horse. He gets figity when they have been on even for a very short time. I'd recommend you try before you buy if possible.
    Date published: 2013-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! Got it for my horse who has a bog spavin and comes out stiffs for rides sometimes. After putting this on for about an hour prior to ride, he feels great! Put it on at night and the bog spavin has almost disappeared!
    Date published: 2013-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays on Great!! Bought these for my Irish Sport Horse mare. They fit well, and securely, and they are always still where they are supposed to be when I come back to take them off.
    Date published: 2013-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best purchase ever! I put these on my 19 year old quarter horse gelding for 2 hours the first time. I ride him right after I took them off and he felt amazing!! It was like he had a whole new hind end on him. I can't afford to have his hocks done so these were my next option. Planning on showing him this summer at big shows and these babies will be the trick to keeping him happy and moving freely. Well worth the money.
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have only been using these boots for a short time but I think that they have greatly helped my gelding. He was in for 2 days due to weather and typically he would come out of his stall a bit stiff but after wearing these boots he warmed up really quickly and seemed more comfortable. I will say that for the money they seem to be poorly made. My horse has used them for maybe 40 hours total and the stitching is coming loose, the velcro looks like it won't last very long either. I ordered a size Large for my 17hh BWP gelding and they are a bit small for my taste on the middle strap. Otherwise love these.
    Date published: 2013-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Already seeing results! I purchased these boots to keep on my gelding with chronic hock issues overnight. I also purchased the Back on Track No Bows, the combination of the two has been great! His hocks seem to feel better and the windpuffs on his hind legs have actually gone down some. He is able to lay down in the boots and they do not slip or get turned in any way. They have been way worth the price!
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Job / Great Quality I've purchased several BOT products and have been satisfied with them all. I noticed swelling in my geldings hocks & stiffness coming out from the stall. A friend recommended getting hock wraps & there was no doubt that the ones to buy were BOT. They are easy to use, great quality & durable enough to withstand extended use with little show of wear and tear. They wash up beautifully & my warm up time has reduced greatly. Even though he may feel a little goofy wearing them at first!
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! Made great, should hold up a long time. No problem staying in place and I leave them on over night on my mare that likes to lay down a lot, still in place the next day. Have seen improvement in her movement, and less stiffness. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stays in place well I don't know how much they're helping my mare's arthritis, but they don't appear to be hurting either and it makes me feel better to be doing something about it. The wraps stay in place exceptionally well, even while riding and overnight in her stall. They are NOT easy to get on straight, but I'm sure that's more about the shape of the hock than the boot itself, which has a bit of an elaborate system of strapping. Once I'd put them on and off a few times, it got easier to judge the placement.
    Date published: 2013-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THESE WRAPS!!!! These hock wraps are the best investment I've made in horse products. My horse moves much better behind with even strides. The amount of heat that is localized to the hock area is really amazing. I am very happy with them and have suggested the wraps to other owners in my barn.
    Date published: 2013-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent wraps I have a 29yr old mare with severe hock arthritis and they actually spasm up on her. Have been using the boots nightly now (worked up to it slowly) 3 weeks on and 1 off. She is actually comfortable now and not dragging her back feet or pulling her legs up in pain. I just want her to live her life out comfortably! Thank you Back on Track!
    Date published: 2012-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome product Bought these for my soon to be 21 year old gelding who is getting some stiffness in his hocks. After 4 days of use for about 5 hours each day he backed up normally without the usual stiff legs! Love them!!
    Date published: 2012-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent hock boots These are great and fit my 17.1 WB, who has big hocks, very well. Highly recommend! He seemed very happy to have them on :)
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Easy to use, stay in place. Not only do they warm up the joint but they also protect the hock really well from bed sores.
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love BOT Have multiple BOT products and love them all. THese boots help my horse with stiffness in stifles.
    Date published: 2012-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great preventative tool after a thorough review in a blogpost advocating how great these were I decided to buy them myself. I use them before I tack up, during my walk and lateral suppleness warmup, and after work during stretches, grooming, and while I clean the tack. I also use them for shipping and for farrier time.I have found he has a better range of motion and flexion behind after I warm up in these. Not sure if this is a huge contributor but I did step up his game regarding quality of gaits after I got these in and he is compliant.Some folks on the blog indicated it will prevent hock injections...not sure on that one but it may prolong the benefits of previous injections.After I bought a pair another rider with a big Freisian purchased a pair as well.
    Date published: 2012-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Product These hock boots are well-made and so far are proving to be durable. The boots have 3 straps that make for a very secure fit.
    Date published: 2012-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from He loves his new "Hockey Boots" These are great. Joplin loves to wear them, they provide almost instant relief and after wearing them for a couple of hours he's looser and more comfortable and ready for a nice ride. They have well-placed velcro and a good design too.
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It seemed to work for me! Last year, my horse suffered a devastating injury to her hock. She was kicked in the front part of her hock, which resulted in a tear to her joint capsule which caused synovial fluid to leak, swelling her hock. The vet made several incisions to drain the fluid, this resulted in an infection inside that joint capsule that almost killed her. The vet performed surgery to clean out the infection and found the tear which could not be repaired due to the location. The antibiotics and care she received saved her life, but at that time we were unsure of her outcome - just hoping to make her pasture sound. I bought the Back On Track hock boots and leg wraps, because at that time, I was desperate. Its been about three months since her surgery, I have been riding 2 months w/t and introduced cantering a few weeks ago. Her hock continues to improve, she is sound, no swelling or puffiness. Heck, I think she is ready to return to jumping soon! I would highly recommend all BOT products. One of the women at the barn recommended them to me because she has all their products. She is a believer and I am a believer too! My horse has not recieved any hock injections since leaving the hospital and is only on a 1/4 - 1/2 tab of previcox daily. While I found the wraps expensive, I find they were a good investment. I presently use them overnight maybe twice a week.
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BoT Hock Wraps Own a 7 year old gelding who was very stiff in his hocks for awhile so I chose injections back in AUG 2011. Bought these to help for preventative purposes and to help space out the injections if they are even still needed. He doesn't mind them on and can walk in them. I only put them on to warm his hocks prior to riding maybe about 20-30 minutes while I groom and tack him up and then put them back on after our ride while he eats his dinner for about an hour or so. I do this a few times a week and have not noticed a huge difference probably due to those injections, but he is not stiff at all and I see no decline so would recommend these! Oh and I have the ones with the holes for the joint. They seem to stay up, but we have not tried them overnight, so can't say. Have had them a month now.
    Date published: 2012-02-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glad I got them While my 12 year old Oldenburg doesn't have bad hock issues, I want to be as ahead of any trouble as possible, so I purchased these. Also, I had noticed that with the colder weather starting he was coming back after a day off pretty stiff through his hind end, including his legs.I had started out using them before I would ride and have them on while I groomed him and got him ready. He was very tense with them on and didn't want to move his hind legs at all as I'm sure they felt strange never having had something like that around his hock before. I decided to use them on the days I give him his body work massages and not ride him. He wears them fine in his stall and after a few "high steps" in them he moves around freely and isn't tense about wearing them.What I have found is that having him wear these two times per week for an hour to an hour and a half each time does seem to help when I ride him the next day. He no longer feels stiff through his hind leg joints and our warm up goes quickly and he feels very fluid.
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from These are great - but..... These are great and they do seem to really help, however they are somewhat difficult to stay in place.I got the ones with wholes, and would be curious to see if the ones without wholes stay put better. I have to use them with a BOT quick wrap on underneath (this helps them stay up better). One night I left them on and the top strap rubbed too much and created some swelling over the achilles area.So, now I just don't leave them on overnight. Just put them on about 1 hour before working, or while the horse can be monitered to make sure they are not slipping too much.
    Date published: 2011-11-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome! They have seemed to make a difference on the three western pleasure horses I've used them on regularly! They can rub the hocks a little bit, as they tend to try and sink down, but love them regardless!
    Date published: 2011-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Actually fits and works! Well, I absolutely love my Back on Track standing bandages because they clearly increase circulation, are easy to put on and care for, and support my horse's legs. So, I thought about the hock wraps for a long time before purchasing them because I already had Norfield magnetic hock wraps.I found that I prefer the ceramic material to magnets, and the design and fit of these are far superior as well.My horse is a big warmblood so his joints are big....one size only hock magnets and ice wraps don't work so well for him. Additionally, he has bogs, and his left leg is pretty big, larger than the right. So between being a big guy with big joints and big bogs, the option to have a large size was really important. I find that the hock boots fit perfect, I couldn't be more pleased...my Norfield's are too small and the velcro doesn't keep them in place. But the Back on Track hock boots are so well designed that they stay on no matter what he does. and they're adjustable, even within the large size. They have three straps, with varying lengths depending on the stress likely to be incurred on that particular part of the hock.My horses hocks feel warm when I take them off , suggesting increased circulation and support. My horse shows no objections to wearing them or when thy're placed on his legs, and he's able to move without restriction.Really, these are the ones to buy. Oh, and they're easy to clean too, which is something to consider in addition to whether they are effective and whether or not they fit and stay on.
    Date published: 2011-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I am a huge back on track fan! I bought these boots for my 17 y/o TB mare. She is a little stiff behind and lives outside 24/7 so winters are a little tough on the old girl! I put these boots on her for two hours the fist day and could feel a difference. She just seemed more pleasant to ride and was tracking up after 5 mins as opposed to the ususal 20 it takes her to get lose. My mare is 15.3 and I bought the horse size. They fit great. They also fit my 15.1 appendix well too! The horses don't seem to mind having them on overnight. The three velco fastenigs are in good places and don't interefere with the horses movement. I love em!
    Date published: 2011-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stretch out hock injections Are you ready for a Back on Track infomercial? After wearing a Back on Track mesh sheet for two weeks, my vet arrived to inject my horse's sore back. After palpating it and getting no response, it was decided he didn't need the injections. The sheet just paid for itself and several months later, he still continues to be free of back pain.That's why I purchased the hock boots. Cheap money if you can stretch out hock injections. The same horse has been wearing them nightly for 2 weeks. He is comfortable in them and they stay on nicely without any wraps to support them on his lower leg. He rides better than he did, prior to their use. I also use Back on Track No Bow wraps on another horse with a tendon injury and I have had better results than using a poultice.. I would use any Back on Track product!
    Date published: 2011-01-25
    • 2015-05-26T09:37CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_67
    • loc_en_US, sid_7769, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.