Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Ariat® Volant Vented Tall Boot

Ariat International, Inc.
- Item #19405

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Ultimate performance technology meets innovative design in the Ariat Volant Vented Tall Boot!  Using premium leathers and advanced materials and construction, the Ariat Volant Vented Tall Boots have a sleek-looking exterior with premium comfort in the footbed.  Designed to create a great looking, fitting and feeling boot that will ensure peak performance for all equestrian athletes. Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Made from premium European calf leather and breathable stretch mesh for an ergonomic and breathable fit
  • Cobalt Quantum technology provides superior support, control, and stability in the footbed
  • Reinforced Tec-Tuff heel counter and overlasted construction for added durability
  • Duratread outsole is highly resistant to barnyard acids, oils, and slips
  • Spur cradle with two height options

Sizing It Up

Field Boots Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Ariat Extreme Tall H20 Insulated Boot is ...
    Description:
    The Ariat Extreme Tall H20 Insulated Boot is a part of Ariat's extreme weather footwear featuring advanced technology for enduring comfort, waterproof construction and insulation engineered for maximum warmth and protection. Favorite Features Waterproof, full-grain leather and suede combined with ...
    The Ariat Challenge Contour Field Boot features a ...
    Description:
    The Ariat Challenge Contour Field Boot features a premium European calf upper with full leather lining and a full length elasticized panel on lateral side for ultimate fit and comfort. Favorite Features Elastic gusset at inside knee for comfort Contoured ...
    The DeNiro Salento Field Boot is a completely ...
    Description:
    The DeNiro Salento Field Boot is a completely handmade riding boot that features DeNiro's superb performance and quality Favorite Features Exquisite Italian calfskin WRAT leather preserves long-lasting color, durability, and water-resistant protection Grain calfskin lining provides superior quality Full length ...
    Ariat Westchester Zip Dress Boots feature traditional and ...
    Description:
    Ariat Westchester Zip Dress Boots feature traditional and refined styling for versatility across disciplines.  Features include: Soft and shineable premium calf leather uppers Contoured fit through ankle High Spanish cut topline Elegant piping details in toe cap, topline, and swagger tab ...
    The Ariat Heritage Contour Field Boot features a ...
    Description:
    The Ariat Heritage Contour Field Boot features a full grain leather upper and full leather lining. This boot contains a full length elastic panel on lateral side for fit and comfort. Favorite Features Elastic gusset at inside knee for enhanced ...
    The Ariat Youth Heritage Contour Field Boot is ...
    Description:
    The Ariat Youth Heritage Contour Field Boot is designed specifically for young riders and offers long lasting performance and comfort. With the removable Ariat Booster Bed featured in all Ariat's kids' boots, a child can keep their favorite boots even ...
    Why We Love This Ariat's integrated premium technology ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Ariat's integrated premium technology takes another step forward in Fit, performance, craftsmanship, and innovation -- this is the Ariat Quantum Crowne Pro's competitive advantage with a look of confident, elegant authority. Made with a integrated insole system ...
    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Ariat® Volant Vented Tall Boot is rated 4.3617 out of 5 by 47.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Second Pair of Ariat Boots Nice boots...I already have the pair that are NOT vented...both pairs are difficult to break in...this pair...(the vented) are not as nice as the non-vented...the leather on these is almost like pleather...and for almost $500 I would think the quality would be a bit better...I like how they look and will keep working on breaking them in...
    Date published: 2014-05-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I wish these boots were all they say they are I really wanted these boots to be as good as my other Ariat boots have been. But they fell apart over the top of the foot and there was a big hole over my toe and foot. This happened at a show in one day. So I tried another pair, and the same thing happened! very disappointing. Now I am wearing another brand.
    Date published: 2014-03-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good boot for heavy use I bought these boots almost a year ago and they're still holding up great! I ride 5 to 6 days a week and also do ALL of my barn work in them because they are that dang comfortable!!! I am starting to see some of the stitching unravel a little bit but if you catch it early and snip them off right away you should be fine. Okay so to anyone wondering about the fit... These boots have pretty thick leather and will only drop down about a half an inch. They are pretty quick to break in, but i would for sure use some heal lifts to help out!! The only reason I gave this boot 4 stars is because they are super hard to stay clean because of the seams and stitching. The zipper on these boots are super duper sturdy which is the best! I will be buying these boots forever!
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just right for me! I bought these boots for lessons and clinics.  I only ride about 3 hours a week, so I do not expect them to fall apart anytime soon.  I will not be doing barn work in them, and I always clean them.  They were comfortable right away.  I have one bad ankle and put my own orthotic footbed in.  it fit perfectly and my ankle stays in the correct position.  And, living in Arizona, the vents area plus.  I chose to buy the boots from smart pak because of the excellent conversation with the sales person, free shipping, and very prompt delivery.
    Date published: 2013-11-15
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from They will fall apart I absolutely loved these boots when I got them, they are comfortable, fit well and seemed to hold up to daily wear. However, after a year and a half they completely fell apart and were not able to be fixed. All of the seams of the boot split open exposing parts of the inside of the boot and in some places my sock! Ariat did replace the boots but I assume the exact same thing will happen again this time next year. I talked to a local tack store and they have decided to no longer carry Ariat because they have had so many complaints about quality control. Choose another brand.
    Date published: 2013-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very happy with them The boots are very comfortable I could wear them the whole day. They are also very true to the size. I have only wore them for about 2 weeks and they required about 2 days to break them in. Also due to the small amount of time I have had them I can't evaluate quality, value and durability well so I chose the 3 stars as average.
    Date published: 2013-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Boots These boots are the best ever! I recently bought a pair and became in love! They break in easily, and the non - leather parts made them sooooo much more comfortable and molded to your foot and calf! Thanks again, Ariat!
    Date published: 2013-08-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love-hate these boots. Love to ride in them. Hate to walk around the barn in them. For an everyday schooling boot, these are awesome for riding, they're well vented and comfortable at first ride. Not to mention beautiful, they also clean up really well. However, they are not very comfy to walk around the barn in and I hope that after they break in a bit more that I will stop getting blisters on my heels. I undo the flap on the back of the ankle and that helps when I'm not riding, but still, for the price there should not be any blisters at all.
    Date published: 2013-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from In Love These boots are absolutely awesome! Ive been wanting a pair for a year and got them as a gift for my birthday, but I would still pay for them myself if I hadnt. They breathe unlike my paddock boots and half chaps and are also very attractive and comfortable. Im not usually a tall boot fan because I dont like the limited ankle flexion but I have no problem with these (Probably due to the fact that theres no laces) I highly reccomend them as a schooling boot.
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from most comfortable boots I recently purchased the Volant boots and love the ease and fit. Given the choice between my custom boots and the Volants, I reach for the Volants.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit like a glove after the 2nd fitting The first pair indicated to me that these boots run large in the calf. I swapped out for a smaller fit and they are wonderful. So comfortable even after the first ride. The footbed is cushy like a tennis shoe. Love them!
    Date published: 2013-05-30
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Expect some pain! I am really disappointed with these boots. I work for a trainer and am at the barn on my feet pretty much all day - every day. I thought these boots would be comfortable to walk and ride in as every day boots and I liked how they looked.Well these boots gave me a ton of blisters and bruises on my ankles and worse behind my knee, not only while breaking in, but still to this day a year and a half later. I have gone to a couple local tack stores and talked to employees about these boots and they all tell me they hear lots of complaints about how bad these boots give blisters. I have even compared blisters with other people who ride in these boots more than once. Of course blisters are a given when breaking in, but a year in a half later I would expect these to be broken in by now?The footbed runs a little narrow too; much more narrow than my other Ariat tall boots (Heritage and Quantum) I have had. They gave me calluses on the side of my feet and I really believe they even were the culprit to my right foot fracturing. Shortly after feeling like I broke them in (besides still blistering) I was walking around my barn when my right foot felt super tight and then I felt a pop with super intense pain following. After feeling like I wanted to cry for several minutes and hobbling around I took off my foot to find a faint bruise that continued to darken (pictured). I went to the doctor and x-rays shows I fractured my 3rd metatarsal bone, telling me to wear a foot brace and stay off it for 6 weeks - like that is possible when you work at a barn. I bought some Ariat paddock boots, which I should have bought from the start, after the fracture and wore those around trying to take it easy on my feet. Several weeks later my foot did heal but still after a long day of walking I will feel a slight pain where the fracture was as a reminder. I mostly wear paddock boots at the barn now days but every now and then I will wear these boots because I paid so much for them and feel like I should use them. I have been meaning to buy Equifit Gel Bands to try and reduce the blistering but for now these boots remain pretty much useless because I can't show in them for hunters and my paddock boots are 100 times more comfortable.The left boot also split at the seams in the section right behind your toe. It was $30 to get it repaired from my local tack store. The person who repaired it commented that they were surprised at how well they held up for being as old as they were. Not a good thing to hear.The plus: You will get tons of compliments on these boots or will spark conversation about them but the coolness factor is not worth the pain. I would never repurchase them!
    Date published: 2013-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! Well, I haven't had them very long but so far I love these boots! They are so comfortable! I've been looking for forever (it feels like) for a tall boot that is comfortable enough to walk in as well as ride in and these seem to fit the bill. I do have to use boot lifts but that is pretty much par for the course for me, otherwise the fit seems pretty true to size to maybe just a little large.
    Date published: 2013-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Comfy This boots look great and are the most comfortable boots ever!
    Date published: 2013-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sturdy boots! We ride 10-12 horses a day and these boots are not only comfterable but hold up great!
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cannot Find Fit Beautiful boot! Would have loved to keep if I could find a pair that would FIT me. Finally after 4 returns, I said, "I Give Up". The 8-1/2 was larger than the 9, and the 9.5 was way too big. For that amount of $$$, you want it to fit. I may try to reorder later, but got really frustrated with the fitting issue.
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good while it lasts I purchased a pair last fall when my old ariats finally kicked the bucket. The volants we comfortable and seemed like the perfect boot for me. The design was cool looking while still being conservative enough to take in the dressage ring at events.Five months ago I left for Argentina for a working student position, riding 4 to 6 horses a day, six days a week. The leather has held up great but within 2 months the stitching on the foot started to come undone. Completely disappointed! A fellow rider down there had the same problem as well. These boots are advertised as durable and for riding a lot but I can not recommend them if the stitching is just going to rip out. Very disappointed in ariat, especially after my last pair of boots which lasted 5 or 6 years of abuse and still cleaned up great.
    Date published: 2012-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots So, it was really difficult to shell out five hundred dollars for boots......but I am glad I did! The boots require very little break in, they are super comfortable, and they are grippy on the parts that touch the saddle. The zippers work very well too.The boots are quite snug in the calf so it was easy to opt for the wide. Smart pak graciously agreed to send me to different sizes with free return shipping for the pair that did not fit...a win/win!
    Date published: 2012-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and Comfortable I ordered these and the Volant front zip (in all black) at the same time based on hours of research trying to find a comfortable boot for my vertically challenged frame... I am 5'4" 123lbs, athletic build with 13" calves. I previously wore the Ariat Crowne Pro and was in agony ALL the time from my crinkled ankles to the bruises and abrasions behind my knees. I thought I would have to wear 1/2 chaps forever. I chose this boot over the front zip because it felt more substantial and more comfortable walking and with heels down. It feels more like an athletic shoe than a tall boot and the vents at the front of the ankle completely eliminate the painful scrunch. The high topline is also much nicer than the front zip. The panels stretch a bit, so you can wear a thicker breech and/or sock in winter. Also the spur holder is smoother than the front zip version which feels a bit sharp and unfinished. At first I was a little hesitant on both of them based on their progressive design, but I am totally in love with these boots after riding in them. Every day they get more comfortable and I get tons of compliments, from trainers to students, everyone says, "Wow, those are really cool boots!" I hope they will wear well.
    Date published: 2012-10-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great durable boots! These are awesome boots as usual for Ariat. They are durable and clean up very easily with some effax. I love the vents near the ankles because they make putting your heel down very easy from the beginning. The only think I don't like is that unlike normal tall boots, they do not drop down very much. If they are too tall for you when you first try them on, then try a different size. I have been wearing these for a few months and they are still leaving blisters and bruises on the back of my knees when I ride hard. Other than that, they are awesome boots!
    Date published: 2012-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Didn't Want To Like Them I have ridden horses my whole life. i have also given into what I thought was COOL as to not embarrass myself. But at the tender age of 56, I needed paddock boots/half chaps But really wanted to ride in in my custom boots so. . . .I was geting some bad vibes about the Ariat Volant but did it anyway. All I can say is go do it. You will not regret it.
    Date published: 2012-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from *FEELS JUST LIKE A TENNIS SHOE!!!! ~I LOVE THESE TALL BOOTS~A#1 PURCHASE!!!!!~I absolutely LOVE my Ariat Tall Vented Boots! They are no doubt worth each and every penny spent! I am new to riding English and had heard horror stories about breaking in new riding boots.I loved the look of the volants when I first saw them so I went ahead and purchased them.They literally are like wearing a tennis shoe! (I had read some of the designers at Ariat have backgrounds indesigning for Reebok.I don't know if that is in fact true but from my experience wearing the volants, I would guess yes! :) I didn't need any break in time! Just put them on and went and so happy that I did! I wear an 81/2 and they ran very true to size.(I have a 161/2 calf and I'm 5'5). I bought an 81/2B-medium full-regular height boot & they fit perfect!! The insoles are wonderful and so very comfortable! I never imagined tall boots could be this comfy.I often times stay in these boots when I leave the barn to do a day's shopping! They are truly that COMFY! My next purchase will be the waterproof H2O lace up pair! If I had the money I promise I'd buy each style they're that impressive!
    Date published: 2012-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't wait - buy them today! I have worn paddock boots and half chaps for more than 25 years. I always thought they provided the comfort, control and security in the saddle I needed. The purchase of these marvelous tall boots has completely changed my mind. My feet, ankles and legs are much more secure and more correct than I ever thought was possible. I waited almost a year to actually purchase these boots because I just wasn't sure about the cost, style and fit. Now that they are here, they are PERFECT. If you are considering paddock boots/ half chaps - the difference in cost is negligible and the benefits of tall boots are phenomenal. And they look and feel GREAT!
    Date published: 2012-07-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really loved them, but.... I purchased these a few days ago and fell in love with them. They fit very nicely right from the box, but...after wearing them for a couple days the feet stretched way out. I would definitely order a half size smaller then what you are used to, they will be snug for a few days, but it is better than having too big shoes. I will hopefully be purchasing a smaller pair to keep from tripping around the barn like I have been.
    Date published: 2012-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Them This boot isn't for everyone as it is a very contemporary look. However, the foot (like all ariats) feels like a running shoe and the leg is awesome. I bought them to replace paddock boots and half chaps I wear every day. After 40+ years in the Hunters I am having the time of my life in the jumper ring and I just may wear them in the ring. I feels like a rebel! I love them and recommend them highly.
    Date published: 2012-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything I wanted! These boots are fantastic! I love them! I really wanted a pair of tall boots but needed to have ones that I could walk around in all day. I do Parelli so I spend alot of time on the ground and in the saddle. I wanted boots that I could go from saddle to playing on the ground and back to the saddle without missing a step. They needed to be super comfy and supportive but not tight like a vice grip on my leg. I love that these boots are not very traditional but are still subtle. They're like athletic shoes for equestrians! The best part is that they start to break in the minute you put them on!
    Date published: 2012-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these boots I already have the front zip, red lining style and wanted to add the dressier ones. You kindly sent me 4 different sizes to try, and the 4th pair fits like a custom boot.Congratulations, Ariat! Thank you, SmartPak
    Date published: 2012-06-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Couldn't handle the style I really, REALLY wanted to like these, but I just could not deal with the "style" of them when they arrived. The little vents in the front of the boot put me off completely, as did the overall plastic look of the heel and sole. Some of the stitching was coming out on side panels, but I'm sure that wasn't normal, probably just my pair. The boot in general seemed study (good zipper) and a the footbed was comfy... but, I sent it back mainly because I just couldn't deal with such a non-traditional looking boot. Just not for me!
    Date published: 2012-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! I've purchased many boots in the past and I've always ended up returning them for a refund because they didn't fit well (either the boots were too big or the height of the boots would annoy the back of my knees). I decided to try the Volant Vented tall boot as the reviews were all favorable, I wore mine for the first time yesterday and I was impressed. It fit well (it is definitely true to size), the 16-1/2" height did not bother me (even though it is an inch higher than what I would have wanted it to be), it kept my lower legs in correct position, and was very comfortable as it had the "broken in" feel. I have arthritis in my feet and ankles, and normally I will experience much pain and/or bruising from whatever I wear at the end of a ride. Wearing these boots------no pain! Even my instructor and another rider in the arena, were amazed that I did not go out limping. They also like the looks of the boots and had a lot of questions as to comfort and fit. At the end of the day, I told them.......save up and buy a pair. They won't be disappointed. I simply LOVE mine!!
    Date published: 2012-04-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great boot Great boot but very warm. The ankle is snug. I have normal size ankles and I do get rubs. They break in immediately and they are like a great pair of tennis shoes. They are easy to get your ankle down in and walk and bath and do all your chores in after a day of riding. They stay damp longer than most boots so air them out. I take a 7.5 in an Ariat and these are 7's. I could have gone comfortably into a 7.5. But they break in and stretch to fit your foot just like tennis shoes. I would say they are not narrow but not wide. THEY WILL STRETCH in the foot. They will be like a glove everywhere else. My biggest complaint is they are warm. But, they look custom.
    Date published: 2012-04-11
    • 2016-02-13T14:53CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_47
    • loc_en_US, sid_9405, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.