Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

SmartGut® Ultra Pellets

SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #20990
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
Choose size & ship frequency
DAILY DOSES Top Pick

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?

Gastric support backed by clinical research

  • GastrAvert®, a blend of sea buckthorn and other specialized ingredients, supports stomach health
  • Soothing herbs plus 5,000 mg of calcium & 5,000 mg of magnesium to help neutralize gastric acid
SmartGut Ultra is clinically researched and shown to support gastric health. In a university-led research study, SmartGut Ultra helped maintain stomach health in horses under stress. This enhanced formula includes GastrAvert®, a proprietary blend of sea buckthorn, glutamine, aloe vera, pectin, and lecithin. Loved by riders and backed by research, SmartGut Ultra is the best choice for supporting horses under stress from training, competing, traveling, and living in a stall, as well as those with occasional gastric problems. Patent pending.

View Clinical Research on SmartGut Ultra 

View our Gastric Supplements Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 80 g:
(Maintenance Dose = 2 scoops (80 grams) daily)
  • GastraVert® (a proprietary blend of Sea Buckthorn, L-Glutamine, Aloe Vera, Pectin, Lecithin)
    17,000 mg
  • Calcium Carbonate
    5,000 mg
  • Hydrolyzed Collagen
    3,000 mg
  • Magnesium Carbonate
    3,000 mg
  • Deglycyrrized Licorice
    2,000 mg
  • Magnesium Silicate
    2,000 mg
  • Fructooligosaccharides (FOS)
    1,500 mg
  • Mannanoligosaccharides (MOS)
    1,500 mg
  • Glycine
    1,000 mg
  • Gamma Oryzanol
    600 mg
  • Slippery Elm
    350 mg
  • Marshmallow Root Extract
    300 mg
  • Sodium Copper Chlorophyllin
    112 mg
  • Orthosilic Acid (Silica)
    100 mg
  • Lactobacillus Acidophilus
    750 million CFU
Inactive Ingredients: : Alfalfa Meal, Corn Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles, Dried Aspergillus Oryzae Fermentation Extract, Dried Bacillus Subtillis Fermentation Extract, Fenugreek Seed, Grape Pomace (Ground Grape Seed and Skin), Lignin Sulfonate, Maltodextrin, Propionic Acid, Vegetable Oil (cold pressed).

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 1 scoop
500 – 1000 lbs. 2 scoops
1000 – 1500 lbs. 2 scoops
Over 1500 lbs. 3 scoops
Directions for Use: Administer 80g daily, 1 scoop = 40g (2 scoops daily)

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Gastro-Plex Pellets are a palatable supplement designed to ...
    Description:
    "Gastro-Plex Pellets are a palatable supplement designed to support healthy gut function. The key ingredients in this comprehensive formula include antioxidants, amino acids, licorice, and a propriety blend of herbs (slippery elm, aloe vera, marshmallow root powder, fenugreek seed power ...
    "LifeLine Equine Elite is a serum-based performance supplement ...
    Description:
    "LifeLine Equine Elite is a serum-based performance supplement designed for horses experiencing the stress of training, travel, and competition. AgeWell is a pelleted formula specifically formulated for older horses with an age-appropriate serving of the potent active ingredient BioThrive®. This ...
    "In nature, horses graze and secrete saliva constantly, ...
    Description:
    "In nature, horses graze and secrete saliva constantly, which buffers the stomach from gastric acid. When horses are stalled, this natural buffering mechanism is disrupted, and acid indigestion often results. Neigh-Lox is designed to support normal stomach function and promote ...
    "Antioxidants may help your horse's body fight the ...
    Description:
    "Antioxidants may help your horse's body fight the damaging effects of free radicals and oxidative stress. SmartAntioxidant Pellets are a potent, cost-effective antioxidant formula containing vitamin C, vitamin E, grape seed extract, super oxide dismutase and citrus bioflavonoids. SmartAntioxidant Pellets ...
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus ...
    Description:
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus bromelain and quercetin, two herbs that help support a normal inflammatory response. This customer favorite includes the antioxidants grape seed extract, super oxide dismutase, vitamin C, and bioflavonoids to support respiratory cell ...
    "Is your horse nervous, tense, or inattentive? SmartCalm ...
    Description:
    "Is your horse nervous, tense, or inattentive? SmartCalm Pellets are an herb-free formula designed to support proper nervous system function, helping to minimize skittishness. SmartCalm Pellets offer a multifaceted approach to calming by providing 5,000 mg of magnesium, 550 mg ...
    "Is your horse anxious, spooky, or unfocused? SmartCalm ...
    Description:
    "Is your horse anxious, spooky, or unfocused? SmartCalm Ultra Pellets are an herb-free formula designed to support proper nervous system function, helping to minimize skittishness. SmartCalm Ultra Pellets offer a comprehensive approach to calming by providing 10,000 mg of magnesium, ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartGut® Ultra Pellets is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 222.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Convenient Started the auto ship two months ago and it's very convenient and arrives on schedule.
    Date published: 2017-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product I love Smart Gut Ultra. I first used it over a year ago. My picky eater of a horse was showing symptoms of ulcers. I started him on Smart Gut Ultra and within a week he began to enjoy eating again. Also as a bonus, he became less of a hard keeper. Since then, I've put 6 other horses on it and they have all flourished. Smart Gut Ultra has become my go to supplement for my horses. Thank you SmartPak!
    Date published: 2017-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from seems to work I started my older gelding on ulcer supplements due to herd bound issues,anxiety, and occasional gas colic. He is more comfortable and relaxed. Probably the magnesium is a big factor. He eats it greedily. It seems this has made a difference.
    Date published: 2017-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works like Ulcerguard My horse gets tummy trouble every time he has minor episodes of pain - a shoeing issue; his saddle needs adjusting; he gets vaccinations - well you get the picture. He's a sensitive guy. Sometimes it takes me a bit of time to sort out where he is uncomfortable and by then he's gassy and showing several signs of an ulcer. He has scoped positive in the past. He gets Smart Gut Ultra Pellets every day - 2 scoop. One time when he was showing signs of an ulcer, I decided to double up on his Smart Pak and found within a week he was fine. Since then I keep a 5 lb. of SmartGut on hand and if we hit a rough patch, I add an extra scoop each day. I have not had to use Ulcerguard in a long time.
    Date published: 2017-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works for my ulcer-y gelding I treated my horse for ulcers and was using enteric-coated omeprazole granules as a preventive for 2+ years. Expensive, but waaay less than GastroGard or UlcerGard. When there was a hiccup in shipping the granules, I had to find something else. After much online research, I chose SmartGut Ultra -- it was the only product that had research to back up the claim that it prevented the rebound effect of taking a horse off omeprazole. It's been 18 months now and it's working great. No problems with palatability at all and no ulcer-yness whatsoever.
    Date published: 2017-06-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Recommended by my vet It is still early on to see if this keeps the ulcers away, but my horse is happy to eat it!
    Date published: 2017-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this & my horse loves this! Absolutely love this! My gelding needed a supplement to help support his gut & this has worked wonders. His personality is sweeter & has less gastric stress.
    Date published: 2017-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product. Easy to use Bought this at the recommendation of my vet. Good purchase
    Date published: 2017-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this My mare had grade 3 ulcers and after healing them my vet recommended the SmartGut Ultra. She is doing so well no with no sign of the ulcers returning! It is on the expensive side but it's well worth the money!
    Date published: 2017-04-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't work but very palatable My horse stopped eating grain and hay when he was moved to a new barn so I treated with omeprazole for a month weaned him into 1/4 dose and started feeding smartgut ultra and stopped omeprazole after three days. Seven- eight days of just smartgut ultra, no omeprazole, and he went off grain and hay again after coming home from a trail ride over to his old barn. the anorexia wasn't as bad as 6wks ago but I'm back treating with omeprazole and disappointed the smartgut ultra didn't work well enough. He liked the taste until the day he went off grain again
    Date published: 2017-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeping my horse comfortable! I ordered this product after consulting your very knowledgeable person as a follow up to prescription treatment for ulcers. There has been no recurrence of signs of discomfort and the horse has returned to his former happy disposition prior to diagnosis and treatment. I plan to continue using this product. Smart Pak wins again!
    Date published: 2017-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I bought this for my horse who became girthy and very very spooky. He had never been like this before. I wanted an ulcer medication, but I wasn't sure what would be easiest. These smartpaks are so easy, and the medicine works great! I have my horse back, and he has been doing phenomenal.
    Date published: 2017-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Produck I purchased this when my new horse had stomach issues. Started him on this product and it seems to have helped a great deal
    Date published: 2017-03-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy feed Easy to feed and picky eater actually likes it!!!!
    Date published: 2017-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Success! I started my horse on this two weeks ago. He was treated for ulcers three months ago, but he started biting the cross ties and acting up again when his belly was groomed this month. I decided to put him on a supp to manage what appears to be a reoccurring problem. The first week was hard to tell since we had severe weather but now? I curried his belly today and he dozed. My horse is not at all picky (he's a hoover) so him eating every bit is not much of a measure, but there you go. Yes, it's a spendy supp, but I'm happy to pay it in exchange for his calm, happy demeanor when I handle him. Should be a life saver when the show season starts up again and he's on the road. I like feeling like I'm being proactive keeping him comfortable.
    Date published: 2017-02-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happier Horse!! Seems less sensitive and less agitated. A lot less teeth grinding
    Date published: 2017-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Product I put my mare on this two months ago. I feel much better knowing I'm doing all I can to maintain her daily health with a vigorous training schedule.
    Date published: 2016-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made a huge difference for my horse My horse was treated for ulcers about a year ago, and started showing symptoms again, not wanting to eat, tense and nervous under saddle, dropping weight. I will be treating him again, but needed something to make him more comfortable while I come up with the funds. I started him on this supplement and within a couple of days he was back to finishing all his grain, and much happier under saddle. After a few weeks his weight was back up. I am beyond thrilled with the results!
    Date published: 2016-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves this product I have been purchasing this product since my vet first gave me a free one month container. My horse has ulcers from neglect from his previous owner. This is my 2nd automatic delivery of this product. I plan to keep him on it for the rest of his life. He is 18 years old and has been doing 100times better since my vet gave us this product.
    Date published: 2016-12-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horse seems to like these supplements My horse seems to really like the supplements. He can be pretty fussy when he wants to and doesn't hesitate to pick around some of the supplements he's gotten in the past.
    Date published: 2016-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from After treating a 19 year old retired gelding for pyloric ulcers I made the decision to do preventive therapy for him. After an extensive literature review in the peer-reviewed veterinarian journals, I selected SmartGut Ultra. To-date he has been ulcer free!
    Date published: 2016-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results! I started my horse on Smartgut ultra after being scoped and finding grade 4 ulcers. I was thrilled when after his 28th day check on treatment of gastrogard we could begin weaning him off treatment as his ulcers were nearly fully healed. I definitely believe Smartgut ultra played a huge role in making him more comfortable during treatment.
    Date published: 2016-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good info. My horse seems much more comfortable on this product.
    Date published: 2016-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Horse Ultragut is a great product to keep on top of the need to prevent ulcers in competitive horses and keep my horse at its peak condition and health.
    Date published: 2016-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My guy finally is filling out. I bought this for a rescue I got in May. He came to me very thin, pretty lame, colicky, cribbing after every meal and he had signs of having been on painkillers/meds for some time. I suspected (due to scars, symptoms) that he had had some injuries that kept him stall bound and on meds for a good part of his recent years and likely suffered gastric issues from that. After 2 months of 24 hour pasture/turn out and good feed, he still seemed uncomfortable, cribbed and wouldn't fill out, especially in the rear and top line. After just 3 weeks on SmartGut, he looks great! His hind end has filled in, and his spine is far less prominent. He is also much better tempered and LOVES his food. The cribbing still happens, but far less and only after feed times & if he has access to something he can grab with his teeth- otherwise he doesn't bother. I highly recommend this product for anyone with older, thin horses just to help them out.
    Date published: 2016-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! Started my new competition horse on Smart Gut pellets on the recommendation of my vet. Noted improved attitude and overall willingness.
    Date published: 2016-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for ulcery horses I like that there's research to back it up! My horse had colic surgery and I think this helped him get rid of his ulcers after!
    Date published: 2016-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super product We have several horses on this product and are very pleased with the results.
    Date published: 2016-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's working for my ulcer-prone Warmblood After treating my horse for ulcers, I used a more expensive treatment for prevention. When I took him off that, he developed ulcers again. After treating the second bout of ulcers, I put him on SmartGut Ultra Pellets. I'm very pleased to report that a recent scope showed no evidence of ulcers, which confirmed that this supplement works.
    Date published: 2016-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Consistent I have been using this product for several months now and Carrie seems very comfortable. Her stooling is consistent and always has a sheen of moisture in appearance. the pellets are easily eaten mixed with her feed.
    Date published: 2016-08-26
    • y_2017, m_12, d_11, h_21
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_28, tr_194
    • loc_en_US, sid_10990, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 78ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders