PLEASE NOTE: You may experience errors on our site when using Internet Explorer 10 or lower. Please consider updating your browser, or download Google Chrome.
Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 1-800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email anytime!


SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #16313
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
Choose size & ship frequency

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?

Daily hindgut support

  • Probiotics, prebiotics, and digestive enzymes for healthy digestion
  • Ideal for stressed horses, hard keepers, horses on antibiotics, and those with loose stool
SmartDigest is designed to support a healthy hindgut by providing probiotics, prebiotics, and digestive enzymes. This formula is ideal for stressed horses, hard keepers, horses on antibiotics, and those with loose stool.

View our Digestion Supplement Comparison Chart


Guaranteed Analysis per 15 g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (15g) daily)
  • Crude Protein (Min)
  • Crude Fat (Min)
  • Crude Fiber (Max)
  • Yeast Extract (Mannanoligosaccharides)
    750 mg
  • Fructooligosaccharides
    500 mg
  • Fenugreek Seed
    300 mg
  • Aspergillus Niger
    262 mg
  • Active Dry Yeast
    16 billion CFU
  • Direct Fed Microbials supplying the following:
  • Lactobacillus Acidophilus
    7.5 billion CFU
  • Enterococcus Faecium
    1.5 billion CFU
  • Lactococcus Lactis
    1.25 billion CFU
  • Enterococcus Lactis
    370 million CFU
Ingredient: : Corn Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles, Heat Stabilized Rice Bran, Active Dry Yeast, Dried Whey, Yeast Extract, Brewers Dried Yeast, Fructooligosaccharide, Fenugreek Seed, Linseed Meal, Dried Aspergillus niger Fermentation Extract, Vegetable Oil, Dried Lactobacillus acidophilus Fermentation Product, Maltodextrins, Dried Enterococcus faecium Fermentation Product, Salt, Dried Bacillus subtilis Fermentation Product, Dried Enterococcus lactis Fermentation Product, Dried Aspergillus oryzae Fermentation Extract, Coconut Oil, Vitamin E Supplement, Natural & Artificial Flavor, Citric Acid (Preservative).


Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 – 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 – 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Feeding Instructions: Feed 15 g daily, 1 scoop = 15 g.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "dac® Digestive Feed Additive is designed to support ...
    "dac® Digestive Feed Additive is designed to support healthy digestion in horses. This formula includes Yea Sacc®1026, a live yeast culture derived from the specific yeast strain Saccharomyces cerevisiae 1026, to support proper nutrient absorption. It also provides Bio-Mos®, which ...
    "Time-released hindgut buffer to decrease risk of hindgut ...
    "Time-released hindgut buffer to decrease risk of hindgut acidosis in at risk horses. Horses consuming grain as part of their daily ration or grazing lush pasture have an increased risk of developing hindgut acidosis due to starch or fructan overload ...
    "LifeLine Equine Elite is a serum-based performance supplement ...
    "LifeLine Equine Elite is a serum-based performance supplement designed for horses experiencing the stress of training, travel, and competition. AgeWell is a pelleted formula specifically formulated for older horses with an age-appropriate serving of the potent active ingredient BioThrive®. This ...
    "Probios powder is a probiotic supplement for horses ...
    "Probios powder is a probiotic supplement for horses that contains guaranteed levels of Lactobacillus plantarum, Enterococcus faecium, Lactobacillus casei, and Lactobacillus acidophilus. Probios is the world's most widely recognized, researched, and used brand of DFM (direct-fed microbial). View our Digestion ...
    "Probiotic for horses with beneficial bacteria, yeast culture, ...
    "Probiotic for horses with beneficial bacteria, yeast culture, enzymes, and fructooligosaccharides (FOS) to help enhance the digestive tract and overall health. The unique combination of ingredients enhance nutrient absorption, encourage the growth of fiber-digesting bacteria, stabilize digestive tract pH, and ...
    "Horses grazing in sandy areas are at increased ...
    "Horses grazing in sandy areas are at increased risk for experiencing sand colic. Psyllium Pellets by SmartPak provide high-quality psyllium seed husk to aid in fecal sand clearance. Providing psyllium may reduce the possibility of digestive colic in horses grazing ...
    "Sand Clear contains psyllium seed husk, a natural ...
    "Sand Clear contains psyllium seed husk, a natural soluble fiber that increases feed ration bulk. Sand Clear includes apple and molasses flavoring horses love. Psyllium contains more soluble fiber than oat bran and wheat bran combined. There is 80% soluble ...


    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
    • Competitor:


    SmartDigest® is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 380.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Haven't used long enough to decide. I think that this product may be improving my horses loose stools. I am reordering to investigate further.
    Date published: 2015-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from smart Digest My gelding had mild colic occurrences several times a year and , since starting on Smart Digest 2years ago, has not had even one incidence. Very happy and he cleans it up.
    Date published: 2015-08-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from delicate digestion My horse kept having diarrhea even though he seemed to feel fine and nothing in his diet had changed. I tried probiotics, no help. Decided to order SmartDigest and within 2 or 3 days, he was normal. That was more than a month ago and all is still good.
    Date published: 2015-08-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not working yet My 4 year old mare has been on this product for about 6 weeks. I still have not seen a difference in her manure. She doesn't seem to mind it mixed in to her grain tho.
    Date published: 2015-07-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product small price I ordered this a month ago and in 30 days my horse has been able to keep the weight on even while traveling and under stress
    Date published: 2015-07-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helped my boarder's horse This is my fifth week with this product, using it on a very gassy, loose-manure boarder's horse. It has helped quite a bit, but hasn't eliminated the problem. Will go through the month, and I figure that should tell whether to keep him on it or not.
    Date published: 2015-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my Cushings Horse I have a 31 year old quarter horse that was dx with Cushings at age 10. Everything was fine up until a couple of years ago when we added a prescription to his diet to control the symptoms of Cushings. He his appetite all but disappeard and he lost 200 pounds. We all know how hard it is to put weight back on a horse, but a horse that is older with Cushings seemed impossible! We were thinking of having to put him down before winter, but decided to add Smart Digest and Smart Pituitary as a last resort. We took him off the prescribe medication as it read one of the side affects was loss of appetite. We started the Smart Paks and immediately his appetite returned! Nothing is better than watching a horse eat again!! He has slow put back on about 100 pounds which seems like miracle. He has shed about 80% of the hair, drinks and eats well and the future looks good. He has had no problems, and eats all of the supplements! You won't be wasting your money! Thank you Smart Pak for giving my horse a second chance! (I've also posted this on the SmartPituitary page.
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! I couldn't believe it worked! I am not one to think of a supplement as a cure, but this was part of the answer! When my little gelding had developed a consistently loose stool from finally starting on pasture, I called the vet a bit worried. We had transitioned him over to it gradually, but it was still a bit too rich for his system. The vet tossed out several suggestions, but said start with the mildest treatment: A prebiotic (not so much a probiotic). Specifically, hammered home good yeast content. I immediately got on SP and added one for the next shipment which was many days off, then, to get us through until then, went to a brick-and-mortar store and picked up a bag of a big brand, highly regarded probiotic. That one worked - if I kept him on double dosage. And even then, while improved, I wouldn't say his manure ever firmed up how I would like it. If I missed a dose, or tried to revert to the recommended dosage, we were right back to loose again. I finally got my SP shipment and started him on this SmartDigest instead. Wow. Four days and he was PERFECT. His attitude even changed for the better. He was feeling and looking good on this. The barn manager even was impressed and has asked for more information so that he may recommend it to others who also experienced what we did. I was very pleased overall.
    Date published: 2015-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happier horse My horse has had occasional gas colic, and he used to insist on stopping to poop. Now he can poop while walking, and hasn't had gas colic since I started him on SmartDigest. And he's happy to eat it, which is nice!
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not all picky eaters like this.... My horse is not a picky eater per say, but is very suspicious of new supplements in her meal. She is not crazy about this supplement thus far and I am hopeful she will start to eat it. I've tried wetting it and adding it to her beet pulp in the PM but she just stopped eating her dinner and other supplements. Now it goes in her AM ration and she is not thrilled. Fingers crossed she changes her mind. It smells great so I am not sure what her problem is.
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Colic Prone Horse Needs It Took mare off for one month. First time in 3 years(the amount of time she's been on SmartDigest) she colicked due to huge temperature/season changes. Added back to her SmartPak immediately! When we started it 3 years ago, mare finally begin to flourish and maintain her weight.
    Date published: 2015-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! This stuff works great. My gelding had some digestive issues and loose and watery stools. SmartDigest starting working within the first week. Apparently it tastes great because my gelding will eat this by itself.
    Date published: 2015-06-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from STARTED OUT GOOD This is the second time I have used this product. My elderly horse has chronic diarrhea which makes a formerly over weight horse under weight. It cleared it up after about a week, but it has come back, though not as bad. Sprinkled over his sweet feed he eats it with no problem. I am hoping with continued use it well clear him up so he can gain more weight.
    Date published: 2015-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Purchased this for my AQHA mare who is a senior and has a tendency to get gas and have loose stools.Smart digest helped with that and my mare gobbles it right up.She is not a picky eater though.
    Date published: 2015-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Smart Digest was recommended to me by a respected trainer. It had worked well with a couple of horses with mysterious hind gut issues. My horse's intermittent loose stool is pretty much a thing of the past. The longer he is on Smart Digest the better his digestive system seems to work. Thank you for having a great product.
    Date published: 2015-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of mind My barn manager recommended this product and I'm very glad she did. I would do anything to ensure the health of my horse.
    Date published: 2015-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results!! My horse has improved dramatically since starting him on smart digest! Within days his loose manure was subsiding and he was better behaved under saddle. I plan to keep using this product as it seems to be very beneficial and making my guy happy!!
    Date published: 2015-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Palatable and so far good results I wanted to try a new probiotic for my boy. He's been on smartdigest for about 3 weeks and he's started to put on weight! I was concerned he would turn his nose up at it but he's been licking his bowl clean!! I'll definitely be ordering more
    Date published: 2015-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Results already! It seems like it is working. Poop is looking much better!
    Date published: 2015-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Offers peace of mind I decided to try SmartDigest, just to cover my bases and offer digestive support (can't hurt). My mare finds it palatable, and though it's difficult to tell how it's working internally since she wasn't symptomatic, I've noticed that she's much less gassy.
    Date published: 2015-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Stomach relief! This product gave our horse the perfect balance and relief he needed. He's back to his true self and working hard!
    Date published: 2015-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my gelding My gelding had been dealing with off and on loose stool for about 3 months. I was told to try this product by my boarding facility. Sure enough! It worked! No more loose stool. He is actually a picky eater but he eats this stuff right up!
    Date published: 2015-03-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from She was not impressed I liked the product but unfortunately my mare wouldn't eat it. It seemed like a good mix but something about it put her off both it and her feed (and her other supplements). We had to work hard to convince her to eat it, enough so that it really wasn't worth the effort.
    Date published: 2015-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from smells wonderful while it does its job I tried a couple of gut supplements before this one, and no one would eat them. They smelled foul. This smells good enough to eat, and therefore it's easy to get in the horse, so it can have a chance to do its work. I am using this for support, not necessarily for a problem, so I can't say that it "fixed" but it's helping my older horses keep weight through this brutal winter so I'd say it's a win!
    Date published: 2015-03-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Worked with My last horse not so much my new horse I bought this over a month ago for new horse after it worked so well with the last horse I had. I never had a problem with my last horse when he was on this supplement. About a week ago my horse started to colic in her stall she came around right away and I never needed to call the vet. We have been having done crazy weather at the barn latetly so that might have been why she started to colic. This supplement might have been why she came around so quickly. It would be easier if she could just talk to me but I will keep her on it because it has worked so well for me in the past.
    Date published: 2015-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from smart digest is a smart choice I have used this product on two of my horses, One is a horse I use for cow work and she travels often.. she has a propensity after traveling to have mild colick symptoms. Since I started her on Smart Digest she has been symptom free, even after long hauls and new settings. My other filly is a TB off the track who definitely had ulcers and I believe that this product, Smart Digest has helped her ulcers heal more quickly and has kept her well and ulcer free. I highly recommend this actually for any horse, keeps their digestive tract healthy which directly relates to a healthier immune system
    Date published: 2015-03-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product I decided to try smart Digest for my horse with ulcer issues. He is already on smart gut. He ate this up well and seemed to do quite well. No loose manure at all!
    Date published: 2015-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have tried several others from here and this is the only one that finally worked. Although I have to feed a bit more than the recommended dose as my horse been diagnosed with Inflammatory bowel disease, the higher dose works for him. I may try to reduce the amount at some point in time.
    Date published: 2015-02-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from have to wait and see Haven't been feeding this long enough to know how it will do, but my horses find it palatable, which is a good start!
    Date published: 2015-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked perfectly! My filly has always had a bit of runny manure. We had tried so many different things but nothing worked. Being a dominantly white mare and a gypsy you can see where this could be extremely frustrating. She is also incredibly picky and is next to impossible to sneak anything in. However with Smart Digest this was not necessary. Not only did she eat it with no problem it worked pretty quickly. The results were undeniable. My filly will always be on this product. Thank you Smartpak! Will continue to recommend this product to my friends!
    Date published: 2015-02-17
    • y_2018, m_3, d_16, h_21
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_34, tr_346
    • loc_en_US, sid_6313, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk,
    • CLOUD, getContent, 110ms

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders