Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
SmartCalm® Ultra Pellets
SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #17477
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Best-selling calming formula

  • 10,000 mg of magnesium, 1,000 mg of vitamin B1, and 2,000 mg of inositol for nervous system function
  • Also includes 500 mg of l-tryptophan, an essential amino acid that may help calm & soothe
Is your horse especially anxious, spooky, or unfocused? SmartCalm Ultra Pellets are an herb-free formula designed to support proper nervous system function, helping to minimize skittishness. SmartCalm Ultra Pellets offer a comprehensive approach to calming by providing 10,000 mg of magnesium, 1,000 mg of vitamin B1, 2,000 mg of inositol (a B vitamin relative), and 500 mg of L-tryptophan. This essential amino acid is converted into serotonin, a hormone that may increase feelings of well-being and contentment, helping to calm and soothe. SmartCalm Ultra Pellets have a tasty apple-banana flavor your horse is sure to love!
View our Calming Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 60 g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (60g) daily)
  • Magnesium
    10,000 mg
  • Taurine
    5,000 mg
  • Inositol
    2,000 mg
  • Thiamine (B1)
    1,000 mg
  • L-Tryptophan
    500 mg
Inactive Ingredients:: Alfalfa Meal, Artificial Flavor, Corn Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles, Grape Pomace (Ground Grape Seed and Skin), Lignin Sulfonate, Stabilized Rice Bran, Vegetable Oil (Cold Pressed).

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 - 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 - 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Directions for Use: Administer 60 g daily, 1 scoop = 60 g.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Perfect Prep EQ Extreme Paste is a proprietary ...
    Description:
    "Perfect Prep EQ Extreme Paste is a proprietary blend of natural ingredients that helps maintain relaxation and focus in horses under stressful conditions. Feed 90 minutes before performance or trailering; effects last 6-8 hours. Contains L-tryptophan, magnesium, thiamine (vitamin B1), ...
    "Probiotic for horses with beneficial bacteria, yeast culture, ...
    Description:
    "Probiotic for horses with beneficial bacteria, yeast culture, enzymes, and fructooligosaccharides (FOS) to help enhance the digestive tract and overall health. The unique combination of ingredients enhance nutrient absorption, encourage the growth of fiber-digesting bacteria, stabilize digestive tract pH, and ...
    "This herbal liquid mix helps to support a ...
    Description:
    "This herbal liquid mix helps to support a healthy, balanced hormonal and nervous system in mares throughout the year, or throughout the season. Some geldings or stallions may also benefit from this mix. Learn more about Hilton Herbs View our ...
    "Mare Magic is a customer favorite for calming ...
    Description:
    "Mare Magic is a customer favorite for calming and moodiness. It provides pure, dried raspberry leaf to help influence a quiet disposition in mares and geldings. Raspberry is an herb widely known for its benefits to mares because it is ...
    "If you’re struggling with an irritable, cranky mare, ...
    Description:
    "If you’re struggling with an irritable, cranky mare, SmartMare Harmony is the ideal formula to help take her from moody to mellow! These tasty pellets provide carefully selected herbs including chamomile and passion flower to help maintain a calm disposition, ...
    "SmartVite Thrive provides the right selection of essential ...
    Description:
    "SmartVite Thrive provides the right selection of essential vitamins and minerals to help meet your horse’s nutrient requirements for optimal health. This highly targeted formula is carefully designed to offer ideal nutrition for adult horses in light or no work. ...
    "SmartVite Perform provides the right balance of essential ...
    Description:
    "SmartVite Perform provides the right balance of essential vitamins and minerals to help meet your working horse’s nutrient requirements and power optimal performance. This highly targeted formula is carefully designed to offer ideal nutrition for adult horses in moderate to ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartCalm® Ultra Pellets is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 1320.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Calming Aid My boy hasn't been on this very long, he's pretty calm but can suddenly go the other way. He's been pretty calm so far- but did have a bit of a surprising flair up the other day. I may need more "calming" than this. Time will tell.
    Date published: 2016-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the investment We have a 14 yr old Warmblood gelding who is quite reactive and nervous about most everything. It was getting to the point that we were thinking of selling him as he is my "green" husband's horse. This combination of calming ingredients has completely turned him around and he has become a completely different horse. He is now the quiet one even when the fly spray bottle comes out!! We are very happy.
    Date published: 2016-09-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Calm and Connected I have had my Morgan gelding on Smart Calm Ultra for 3 months now, and the difference is amazing. Overall, his energy has gone from fast and scattered to calm and connected. His eye is quiet, his head isn't in the air all the time, he is thinking more and reacting less. I've recommended this product to friends who swear by it as well.
    Date published: 2016-09-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works really well My horse had to be on stall rest for 3 months helped a lot
    Date published: 2016-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great change Tried this on my Hackney driving pony and what a change. Settled, but not lost his spark. Took the edge off and allows me to get his best.
    Date published: 2016-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works very well! My mares behave much better with Smart Calm Ultra pellets! Takes the edge off and helps me have a more comfortable ride!
    Date published: 2016-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! My mare had to be on stall rest for 60 days. She's an alpha mare and a stall kicker. I don't know what I would have done without this product! It kept her calm the whole time. She didn't fuss. She didn't kick. This product is amazing!!
    Date published: 2016-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does help take the edge off my nervous gelding. A little more relaxed.
    Date published: 2016-08-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Has definitely made a difference. My spooky horse has been on UltraCalm for about 6 weeks. It has definitely helped him control his emotions. It has not been a 100% cure, but is definitely worth using.I think the pellets smell terrible, but my horse gobbles them up instantly!
    Date published: 2016-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good supplement I bought a rescue horse and shes very nervous. I bought this supplement to see if it helps her, its only been a month so i cant say it cured her but it seems to make her a little less anxious.
    Date published: 2016-08-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from DOESN'T WORK!! This supplement is horrible! I've used it on my OTTB who is anxious about everythig and always want to go-go-go for a month and it didn't work! I did not see any improvement in her behavior, she did not become calmer (she is not spooky at all). No improvement in behavior for the whole month! I did not order a further pack as THIS IS JUST A WASTE OF MONEY
    Date published: 2016-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful supplement I originally ordered this product for my 6 year old Paint gelding who can be occasionally spooky at things like cows in the pasture next to where I trailer out to take riding lessons, or people suddenly coming out of the porta-potty. I was going to be showing 4H this summer and wanted something that wasnt 'illegal'. My mom and I have noticed a big difference in the way he behaved at shows, and at lessons. He seems more settled and much calmer. We decided to try it on my mom's 18 year old very grumpy and occasionally spooky gelding. He used to get easily agitated at our other horses and 'charge' them for no apparent reason. When he is on the smart calm it takes the edge off this nasty behavior. He still has the behavior, but it MUCH softer and subdued. It seemed to take the grumpiness edge off. WE love smart calm ultra.
    Date published: 2016-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No More Nervous Nelly I have had Comanche on this supplement for about 5 months. Can I just say he is a whole other horse! He doesn't pace around at the trailer and neigh like crazy anymore. He is still very aware of his surroundings and can be a little "watchy" but nothing like he was before this supplement. He is a pleasure to be around and now I am not so nervous around him because he is manageable. He still has a work ethic and enjoys getting out on the trail or working in the arena. I am so glad I found this supplement.
    Date published: 2016-08-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a Good Match For My Horse I've had my horse on this for about two months. He's young and a bit spooky at times, so I thought adding this to his SmartPak would help him focus. I can't be sure, but I'm pretty sure these are hurting more than helping. His anxiety has gone through the roof. We can't get through a show without a tube of Quietex now. I will be taking him off them to see if it helps. I don't think this is a bad supplement because it has worked for so many, it just wasn't the right fit for my gelding.
    Date published: 2016-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeping calm! My horse would spook on the trail. He has been taking Smart Calm for a couple years now, he is a happy calm horse on trail! Smart calm is a miracle!
    Date published: 2016-08-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy to use
    Date published: 2016-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! My very high strung rescue saddlebred has changed completely on this supplement. We also paired it with smart gut ultra! Worth the money I have a changed horse and couldn't be happier!
    Date published: 2016-08-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Improved behavior! I bought this a little over a month ago and am starting to see a change in our 16yr OTTB gelding, he stands better in the cross ties, for the farrier and when bathing...it's not perfect but I definitely see a change. The supplement smells great and our boy loves the flavor!
    Date published: 2016-07-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good I bought this a month ago because my big guy had been on strict stall rest for four months and was honestly and quite understandibly losing his mind. it has seemed to make all the difference in the world since a week into starting it.
    Date published: 2016-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Zen moment For some reason over the last year my horse turned into a grumpy old man. I tried this product to see if I could improve his attitude and it did. He is a much happier horse which makes me a much happier rider.
    Date published: 2016-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Calm This seems to be a great product and it's really helped with the focus factor also
    Date published: 2016-07-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great! I use this on my OTTB I wanted just a bit more calmer and I saw results days within starting to use it! He went from a jumper to know a hunter!
    Date published: 2016-07-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from does help Takes edge off, does not make tired, could be a little stronger for price.
    Date published: 2016-07-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't notice a difference Bought these pellets hoping it would take a bit of nervous edge off my horse. Did not notice any difference at all and he wasn't crazy about finding them in with his breakfast.
    Date published: 2016-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I've been using this product for about a month and have noticed a great improvement in my horse's attitude. He used to pin his ears and run away from people and seemed very unhappy. Now, he's the first one in the barn to come and greet you and seems much more content.
    Date published: 2016-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just takes the edge off My son's mare is sometimes overly aware of her surroundings. The supplement has taken the edge off and kept her attentive without being spooky.
    Date published: 2016-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT PRODUCT I was skepitcal at first, but it has worked like night and day on my mare. She was always spooking from things outside the ring. I was always nervous riding her and I could not enjoy my rides. She is focused and training well.
    Date published: 2016-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this supplement! I bought this about 6 weeks ago for my 6yo Arabian gelding, Chance, who I use for trail riding. It smells good and he eats it easily. I believe it is working to help take that "ready to bolt every time the wind blows" edge off of him! I read many of the other reviews on SmartCalm Ultra before buying, and I am glad I did. It really does help my horse be more focused and calm.
    Date published: 2016-07-08
    • y_2017, m_1, d_19, h_2
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_130, tr_1190
    • loc_en_US, sid_7477, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders