Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
SmartCalm® Ultra Pellets
SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #17477
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Best-selling calming formula

  • 10,000 mg of magnesium, 1,000 mg of vitamin B1, and 2,000 mg of inositol for nervous system function
  • Also includes 500 mg of l-tryptophan, an essential amino acid that may help calm & soothe
Is your horse anxious, spooky, or unfocused? SmartCalm Ultra Pellets are an herb-free formula designed to support proper nervous system function, helping to minimize skittishness. SmartCalm Ultra Pellets offer a comprehensive approach to calming by providing 10,000 mg of magnesium, 1,000 mg of vitamin B1, 2,000 mg of inositol (a B vitamin relative), and 500 mg of L-tryptophan. This essential amino acid is converted into serotonin, a hormone that may increase feelings of well-being and contentment, helping to calm and soothe. SmartCalm Ultra Pellets have a tasty apple-banana flavor your horse is sure to love!
View our Calming Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 60 g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (60g) daily)
  • Magnesium
    10,000 mg
  • Taurine
    5,000 mg
  • Inositol
    2,000 mg
  • Thiamine (B1)
    1,000 mg
  • L-Tryptophan
    500 mg
Inactive Ingredients:: Alfalfa Meal, Artificial Flavor, Corn Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles, Grape Pomace (Ground Grape Seed and Skin), Lignin Sulfonate, Stabilized Rice Bran, Vegetable Oil (Cold Pressed).

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 - 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 - 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Directions for Use: Administer 60 g daily, 1 scoop = 60 g.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus ...
    Description:
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus bromelain and quercetin, two herbs that help support a normal inflammatory response. This customer favorite includes the antioxidants grape seed extract, super oxide dismutase, vitamin C, and bioflavonoids to support respiratory cell ...
    "SmartHoof Ultra Pellets are the solution for weak ...
    Description:
    "SmartHoof Ultra Pellets are the solution for weak hooves in need of more aggressive nutritional support! This formula provides 35 mg of biotin for promoting healthy hoof wall growth. Higher levels of the key ingredients lysine, methionine, threonine and vitamin ...
    "SmartVite Thrive provides the right selection of essential ...
    Description:
    "SmartVite Thrive provides the right selection of essential vitamins and minerals to help meet your horse’s nutrient requirements for optimal health. This highly targeted formula is carefully designed to offer ideal nutrition for adult horses in light or no work. ...
    "If you’re struggling with an irritable, cranky mare, ...
    Description:
    "If you’re struggling with an irritable, cranky mare, SmartMare Harmony is the ideal formula to help take her from moody to mellow! These tasty pellets provide carefully selected herbs including chamomile and passion flower to help maintain a calm disposition, ...
    "SmartVite Perform provides the right balance of essential ...
    Description:
    "SmartVite Perform provides the right balance of essential vitamins and minerals to help meet your working horse’s nutrient requirements and power optimal performance. This highly targeted formula is carefully designed to offer ideal nutrition for adult horses in moderate to ...
    "Levelor™ is designed to help support normal hormone ...
    Description:
    "Levelor™ is designed to help support normal hormone levels and healthy nervous system function. Perfect for helping maintain a quiet disposition in mares and geldings, this formula includes a combination of raspberry leaf, taurine, magnesium, dong quai root powder, and ...
    "SmartMuscle Mass Pellets provide all 10 essential amino ...
    Description:
    "SmartMuscle Mass Pellets provide all 10 essential amino acids from high-quality protein sources to support lean muscle development. This formula also includes gamma oryzanol, branched-chain amino acids, and bioactive whey to aid in the normal muscle-building process. Strong, defined muscles ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartCalm® Ultra Pellets is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 1351.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to be doing the trick! Seems to be doing the trick for our 8yr. OTTB !!!It has helped him learn to relax :)
    Date published: 2016-12-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs more tryptophan I use pure tryptophan for myself and wish this contained more, alone it is OK, but I combine with Vision for best results.
    Date published: 2016-12-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I decided to try this after watching the results of another horse. It seems to help my mare focus and calm down faster when she gets excited. When something really grabs her attention her heart beats so hard you can hear it and feel it through the saddle. That still happens but the duration seems to be much shorter and it doesn't seem to escalate as much. Thanks for this product.
    Date published: 2016-12-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to help my anxious QH I've been using smartpak calming products for several months now, starting first with SmartTranquility and now SmartCalm Ultra. I have to say that I'm very pleased with the SmartCalm Ultra. My anxious quarter horse gelding turns into a spooky monster when the temperatures drop in the fall/winter time. Since he's been on SmartCalm Ultra, he definitely seems to have a better head on his shoulders. While no calming supplement is a cure-all or a replacement for daily work (the best remedy for a spooky horse, I think) I certainly do notice a difference in the ring and even in turnout (not blowing around like a nut anymore) I would recommend this product to anyone with a nervous, anxious or "flighty" horse.
    Date published: 2016-12-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Gross I used to use this supplement and had amazing results. I put my horse back on this supplement and she absolutely HATES it. She won't eat it and it's just been wasted money. It seems to have the opposite effect on her due to all of the sugar in it. You can't calm an anxious horse down when you're feeding them a supplement with sugar in it. Wouldn't recommend it or use it again. Definitely a waste of money.
    Date published: 2016-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from After feeding Smart Calm Ultra to my 16 yr old, well trained mare, I noticed a difference in about 3-4 weeks. She tends to have an inner anxiety and seemed to often have a slightly nervous edge when I would ride. Now, while she still can get that bit of nervousness, it is less often. Over all I feel that she is much more relaxed. Plus she eats the pellets with no problem.
    Date published: 2016-12-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This works! I've been using SmartCalm for a little more than a month. I've noticed a big difference in my boy's focus during our training sessions and lessons. I'm really glad I started using!
    Date published: 2016-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lifesaver supplement SmartCalm is looking to be a lifesaver for me and my highly spooked horse. I haven't used it long but am already seeing some positive effects. He takes new objects/obstacles without wanting to bolt...he still looks intently at the little piece of plastic on the floor, but he doesn't do a side dance now. Very pleased.
    Date published: 2016-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great I have Ben giving this supplement to my 7 year old paint. He has a good mind, but his energy level was thru the roof. He reminded me of a child with ADHD. Since being on this supplement, he is more focused when I work him and while still energetic, I don't feel like I am riding a keg of dynamite
    Date published: 2016-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brand new horse Cicero was edgy, dominate with other horses, not unlike a stallion and overreacting to minor stimuli. Being a quarterhorse type, this did not fit the expectations. His training progressed but was very challenging, kicking and biting at me, rebelling etc. On a hunch, I started him on the supplement before I took him to the stable for the winter. I wasn't able to start riding him immediately but when I went to the stable, I learned they'd turned him out with another gelding and the other horse was the boss! Bingo, I knew I had a solution to the behavior problems. He is now working like any ordinary, decent young horse. I say thank you for the new horse. He's going to the dressage ring this summer. I am so happy!!
    Date published: 2016-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Supplement! My gelding is sooo much calmer on this supplement, I really recommend this!
    Date published: 2016-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from it works great! Dramatic difference this winter in my horse! Very confident and relaxed! A great value for the money. Also muscles stay relaxed which allows much better dressage movement.
    Date published: 2016-11-26
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Still Nervous! My horse is nervous riding out and I have had her on this for 2 months. It is not working. I will try something else.
    Date published: 2016-11-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to be working on our moody mare I'm happy with the product, however I am on auto ship every month and we end up running out for a few days before the new shipment gets here. Very frustrating.
    Date published: 2016-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Calming My gelding gets excited on the trail when he sees other horses. He snorts and the tail goes up. I started him on the Smartcalm Ultra Pellets a month ago. I immediately saw a calmer horse in the barn and he's much better on the trail. I'll keep in on this supplement but may increase it from the maintenance during this busy fall riding season. It's truly made a difference and he will remain on it.
    Date published: 2016-11-18
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Watch out for adverse reactions! So I bought this supplement before we left to go on a week long trip to the Kentucky horse park, my horse is a very calm relaxed kind of horse but I wanted to give him something to "take the edge off" for while we were on the road. In less than of week of feeding this supplement my horse'ersonality changed dramatically. (Mind you I've had my horse over 10 years) he was a complete handful and borderline dangerous. Running, rearing, slamming himself against the wall in the stall, jittery and spooky under saddle. It was bad and completely out of character for him. Ended up having to call a vet out to give him a shot of a tranquilizer in fears of him hurting himself. Even the vet told me he seemed to be having adverse reactions. So he continued to be this way even after a week of being home and being out in the pasture. So I took him off the supplement and a few days later he was normal again and went to a show the next weekend and was fine. I'm sure this product works great for some horses but if you know your horse is sensitive be cautious of feeding this or give it time to work before you travel to make sure you don't get adverse reactions.
    Date published: 2016-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Didnt think it worked..until I took her off it! I put my OTTB mare on this right around the same time she was prescribed Regumate as well. I didn't think the SmartCalm did much since the Regumate was more potent so I decided to stop the SmartCalm and boy was I in for a surprise! Her focus is so so so much better on this supplement and it takes off the extra edge she has. She hardly spooks at much on the supplement. I'm definitely not taking her off this again!
    Date published: 2016-11-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Horse seems much calmer The horse definitely seems calmer. He has been very forward and excitable for years. I just took a trail ride today and he only started to accelerate without direction one time and then responded quickly to a gentle reining and then didn't do it again.
    Date published: 2016-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart Calm Ultra Pellets We have a horse that has been on stall rest for several months due to injury. He is doing so well on the Smart Calm. Everyone in the barn has commented on how well he is handling the confinement.
    Date published: 2016-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Seems to be working good, I increased the amount my mini is getting to see if it helps even more if not I'm going to lower t back down. Other then that she eats it without any problem :)
    Date published: 2016-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just What I was Looking For These pellets keep my 20 yr old gelding relaxed and focused on me. He can be very spooky and reactive over the silliest things. I see a huge change since starting him on SmartCalm Ultra Pellets. He's also very fussy about what he smells in his supplements, but he gobbles these up. I've tried many other similar products and was not impressed with any of them. I would highly recommend this product...
    Date published: 2016-10-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work for my guy Used for 6 weeks and my non spooky horse started reacting to sounds and sights that were no issue before. This was the only new factor.
    Date published: 2016-10-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good I initially wasn't sure how I felt about calming supplements and whether or not they work. I've had my young gelding on this for about a month and I have noticed he acts less nervous and spooky when I'm riding him. He seems to have a more relaxed temperament so I'll definitely be keeping him on this supplement
    Date published: 2016-10-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works! Maybe too well... I tried this on a horse who was not the hot and nervous type, but he lacked focus and was sometimes over reactive. He became very calm, placid, and his focus was great, but he would lose steam and quit on me during our rides so I had to stop the supplement. My horse needed something less, but if I had one who was hot, nervous, and full of go I would definitely use this one again. I saw results within the first 7 days.
    Date published: 2016-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I had my horse on this for about a year and a half. She is reactive on the trail and can be unfocused and will get so absorbed in worrying about the boogyman in the bushes that she cannot focus on me at all. So, for the year and a half I had her on it we made great strides had awesome rides and I thought she was over it and the training had taken ahold. So I stopped the supplement. It has been six months. Each ride was getting progressively worse. Wet saddle pads didnt seem to make a difference and she was "looking" for stuff to spook at. She would "check out" and be so consumed with worrying about being scared that she would ignore all the training cues I instilled to get her to self calm (head lower etc) So on Sunday last week I ordered it again. I had a horrible ride on Wednesday. This came in Wednesday afternoon. I gave her a loading dose on Thursday and again today. Took her on a 10 mile ride and she was back to my quiet listening horse that was focused and a joy to ride. We encountered turkeys (lots of turkeys) and deer and she even went up enthusiastically to investigate some very large blow up Halloween decorations. I have my good horse back! I am sold and I will not take her off of this again.
    Date published: 2016-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable. Have used this for a year for a gelding that is very sensitive to surrounding noises and distracting actions in his environment. Prior to the use of this product he was just not safe enough for me to ride. Now I can comfortably take him just about anywhere. Great product.
    Date published: 2016-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product! Has significantly reduced my OTTB's anxieties and calmed her nerves.
    Date published: 2016-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Skeptical then wow! Added this supplement to my Smartpak's about two months ago. I have a warm blood/Arab/thoroughbred who is just off the wall most of the time. About two weeks in a found that he would calm down and get tired quicker when I was round penning before a ride. His attention didn't seem to wonder either. Ow it been two months and I am completely impressed!! I paired it with U-guard because I was pretty convinced he had stomache ulcers because he was a stressed performance horse. Now I feel I have his attention and his health at 100%. This supplement has been fantastic for my horse!
    Date published: 2016-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to feed it has helped my horse to be happier and more focused.
    Date published: 2016-09-23
    • y_2017, m_4, d_23, h_21
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_133, tr_1218
    • loc_en_US, sid_7477, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders