Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Magnesium 5,000
Med-Vet Pharmaceuticals (MVP) — Item #18286
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Supports a healthy nervous system & muscles

  • Provides 5,000 mg of magnesium

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (56.7 grams) daily)
Ingredient Per Serving Per Pound
Crude Protein, Min 7,380 mg 13%
Crude Fat, Min. 3,400 mg 6.0%
Crude Fiber, Max. 5,680 mg 10%
Magnesium, Min. 5,000 mg 8.82%
Ingredient Statement: Wheat middlings, rice bran, magnesium oxide, mangesium proteinate, soybean oil, calcium propionate, natural and artificial flavors.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Feeding Directions: (Enclosed measure approximates 2 oz) Adult Horses (900-1,100lbs): Maintenance: Provide 2 ounces daily. Working/Performance: Provide 2-4 ounces daily.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Total Blood Fluids Muscle was developed to replenish ...
    Description:
    "Total Blood Fluids Muscle was developed to replenish the vital nutrients lost during stress and exercise. Fortified with essential B vitamins, minerals, and iron to help increase oxygen-carrying ability and red blood cell count. Contains branched-chain amino acids to aid ...
    "Omega Suregut is a fully comprehensive digestive supplement ...
    Description:
    "Omega Suregut is a fully comprehensive digestive supplement containing both probiotics and prebiotics. Both are crucial to help ensure the production of beneficial bacteria throughout the digestive tract. Omega Suregut is also formulated to include stabilized ground flaxseed, yeast, and ...
    "SUCCEED Digestive Conditioning Program is a once-a-day Functional ...
    Description:
    "SUCCEED Digestive Conditioning Program is a once-a-day Functional Feed™ supplement program that provides a natural, nutritional approach to digestive health. SUCCEED delivers highly specialized nutrients that support the healthy structure and function of the entire digestive tract – including the ...
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus ...
    Description:
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus bromelain and quercetin, two herbs that help support a normal inflammatory response. This customer favorite includes the antioxidants grape seed extract, super oxide dismutase, vitamin C, and bioflavonoids to support respiratory cell ...
    "Supporting muscle health is essential to power peak ...
    Description:
    "Supporting muscle health is essential to power peak performance and encourage normal recovery after exercise. The right blend of ingredients may help to support efficient muscle function and manage muscle discomfort associated with exercise."
    "Is your horse anxious, spooky, or unfocused? SmartCalm ...
    Description:
    "Is your horse anxious, spooky, or unfocused? SmartCalm Ultra Pellets are an herb-free formula designed to support proper nervous system function, helping to minimize skittishness. SmartCalm Ultra Pellets offer a comprehensive approach to calming by providing 10,000 mg of magnesium, ...
    "SmartMetabo-Lean Pellets are designed to help manage insulin ...
    Description:
    "SmartMetabo-Lean Pellets are designed to help manage insulin resistance, a condition that is part of Equine Metabolic Syndrome, and frequently associated with obesity. This comprehensive formula supports healthy metabolic function by providing ingredients such as chromium and magnesium to support ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Magnesium 5,000 is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 221.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Supplement! Noticed a difference within the first three weeks. Still will experience a "mare moment" but dialed down. Much more social/relatable now. Very happy with results. Cannot beat the price!
    Date published: 2017-02-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great supplement, but my horse is still a jerk I gave it several months but we decided that it didn't make a difference with my horse. He meets all the symptoms (not just mentally but physically as well,) of a magnesium deficiency, but he hasn't changed. He had issues back when he was a show horse, and now he's just kinda lost his mind after retirement. Some days he's cool as a cucumber, other days he's nervous, rearing in cross ties, kicking, biting, etc. Always fine under saddle, it's just the ground that he's a nightmare. He has a custom fitted saddle and everything a horse could want. But unfortunately he's still crazy. He's 23 though so we don't do much with him, so we put up with him. I DEFINITELY recommend this product for horses that meet the clinical symptoms of mag deficiency. It's a good quality, awesome price, and you know it's safe to feed. Just remember that each horse is different.
    Date published: 2017-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I was recommended to try this for a cresty neck and it's really helped my horse. I'm not even feeding it every day just a few times a week and it's really helped my horse. When I re-rdered I found Smart Pak to have the best pricing on this product.
    Date published: 2017-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly amazing In October, I bought a two year old thoroughbred gelding. He had only been handled for basic care, such as vet appointments, farrier, etc. He was EXTREMELY sensitive and reactive. He didn't like being touched and he couldn't seem to use the "thinking part" of his brain. A trusted trainer told me about supplementing magnesium, as our area and hay tends to be deficient. At the time, I was on a real budget, so, honestly, I bought the most economic Magnesium supplement I could find. My results: I started my gelding on this product a month after getting him, and within a week this horse started changing. He was much more willing to let me touch him, and wasn't so senstive that he became uncomfortable anymore. I finally made advances with his training. He was really starting to think and use that noggin of his. A month later, I had a completely different horse. Curious, playful, very intelligent, kind, and very willing. He's still a little on the sensitive side of the spectrum, but no where near as out of the ordinary as he was. In January, I decided to try a different "better quality" magnesium supplement, and I switched him over to Quiessence. It was a big mistake. Within two weeks of switching, I could see him reverting to his old ways. I still can't figure out WHY, but that magnesium supplement did not work for him one bit. He is now back on Magnesium 5000, and will STAY on Mag 5000! I really can't say enough about this product. It's been a miracle for us, and completely changed my horse. The fact that it is SO economical is a huge plus as well.
    Date published: 2017-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse seems happier Disclaimer: I'm not a huge believer in feed through supplements like this because I rarely think they actually do much (although they don't harm) so I periodically try things on a whim or if I inherit something. That said, my horse has been really good during the time he's been fed the magnesium so whether it is directly related to the supplement or other factors, I'm inclined to keep him on it for some time longer.
    Date published: 2017-02-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Palate-ability, Results? My horses are eating the product well but I am not sure I am seeing the same relaxation in muscle groups as another product I have used in the past but, is more expensive (hence why I was trying this). It would be worth a try to someone though.
    Date published: 2017-02-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to be helping both of mine! I bought this for my young horse who is prone to muscle stiffness and decided to he and his mother (retired old TB mare) on this. My mare is moving so much better (she has bad arthritis/hock issue) and my gelding hasn't been as sore after silliness and hard work.
    Date published: 2017-02-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Haven't Noticed Any Sort of Difference Been giving this to mare for a little over a month with the proper loading dose. I've noticed zero difference. She remains very distracted and always looking for something to spook at. I will say that my horse tends to be on the picky side and had zero hesitation eating this supplement mixed in with her feed. I wish I had boughten the supplement in SmartPaks instead of buying the giant bucket because in the event that it doesn't work for her, I would've wasted only a fraction of the cost. Since I did buy the biggest bucket I will continue to give it to her just to use it up because it isn't doing any harm. Hopefully I'll be able to update my review in another month and get to say that it's made any sort of improvement on her attentiveness. I'm someone who generally leans toward either depo or regumate, but because my newest mare is only 4 I wanted to try something less invasive and was suggested I try a magnesium supplement. I will probably still end up giving her regumate.
    Date published: 2017-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I started my gelding on this product after doing much research on magnesium deficiencies in working horses. I have noticed that since starting on this supplement he is overall a happier horse, less nervous in new or scary situations, less agitated, just over ally more comfortable. I'm very pleased with this product.
    Date published: 2017-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Improved Cracks in Hoof! Bought this for my Hanoverian who had some hoof cracks that were not improving. Saw a noticeable improvement after just 5 weeks, and even more improvement after his second trim since starting. I bet the cracks will be gone after the next farrier visit. My gelding's diet lacked magnesium & this product fit the bill!
    Date published: 2017-01-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Working for both of mine! I bought this for my young horse who tends to get stiff from tight muscles and decided to give it to his arthritic, retired mother as well. Sees to be helping both of them. My young man has been less tight after hard work, and his older mom has been having an easier time getting up and looks pretty good when she decides to run around.
    Date published: 2017-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from huge impprovement in head shaking for my mare
    Date published: 2017-01-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not for my horse I know many horses who thrive on this supplement, however my picky horse won't eat it!
    Date published: 2016-12-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Some improvement Takes a little edge off of my horse. No as much as I would like, but enough to keep him on it. Granted he has only been on this brand for 60 days. This product gave me the best results than the other Magnesium supplements out there.
    Date published: 2016-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cost Effective Way to Buy High Quality Magnesium I have a mare who had suffered several severe physical traumas before she came to me. She was a physical and mental wreck which made her perpetually tense and nervous. She was hyper alert and would spin out of control if upset. Even after a year of dealing with the physical issues and avoiding anything that might set her off, the mare was still hyper alert and hyper reactive. Her condition fit the description of a magnesium deficient horse. The magnesium didn't solve all the problems, but it certainly tipped the balance enough to get the horse back into work and starting to lead a normal life.Unfortunately, not all magnesium supplements are created equal. Many simply don't work. The one we were using at my barn worked really well but was very expensive. I was wary about changing brands ("If it ain't broke, don't fix it.") but when I couldn't get the usual brand, I tried a month's supply of MVP. It actually worked even better than the previous brand and at half the price.In fact, the MVP worked so well, we thought that the mare didn't need the magnesium any more. Not true. When we tried to titrate her off of it, she started to revert to her tense and reactive state. When we resumed the normal dose, she returned to being her new normal of relaxed compliance. Note: The mare remains a strong, keen, competitive horse with the magnesium. It's not going to turn her into an old school horse. But it does keep her sane and happy to do her job which is exactly what I was looking for.
    Date published: 2016-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helping my OTTB who is recently off the track!
    Date published: 2016-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great magnesium supplement! My TB gelding is very, very picky, and at first, he turned up his nose at these pellets. But after cutting the dosage in half for a few days and gradually working up to a full dose, he now happily scarfs them down. He's had some muscle soreness and having hay and pasture tested, we've found his diet is likely deficient in magnesium. Since starting him on the MVP Magnesium 5000 pellets, his hoof and hair quality have really improved, and his muscle soreness has dissipated, as well. This is a great product backed by the NASC seal, so you can rest easy knowing you're getting a high-quality supplement.
    Date published: 2016-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Needed supplement We had our soil tested and found that, among other things, our hay was lacking magnesium. We discussed the situation with our vet.This supplement has helped complete the horses' diet.
    Date published: 2016-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing results! I have used Magnesium 5000 on several nervous/spooky/flighty horses with great success. I have tried pretty much every calming supplement out there and have had the best results by far with Magnesium 5000.
    Date published: 2016-09-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Can't tell a difference yet I have been using this product for almost 2 months now. Haven't noticed a huge difference yet. So I am going to give it another month or so before I make a decision so that it will be fair. I have noticed she is gaining some weight, but I also recently switched over to a different grain, so hard to tell which one did that. She is a little calmer now, but still a little moody. I did notice she was calmer on the trail though. When winter hits I will be able to tell a lot more, since she is usually a pacer in her stall. But she still paces in her paddock. Again, I want to give it more time before I decide for sure.
    Date published: 2016-08-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, The horses like the taste. Calming supplement. Does it job works wonderful. Have to feed 2 hours after you feed it.
    Date published: 2016-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magnesium the missing mineral Sturdy bucket, easy to handle. Economical packaging.
    Date published: 2016-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MVP / Magnesium 5,000 This is the first time I've used a "Calming" product for my mare. I have a 13 year old Quarab (grade) that tends to be a little "hot" and I just moved her to a new barn / new location and needed something to help "settle her down" so she could adjust to her new surroundings.
    Date published: 2016-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results! I bought this product a month ago and have already seen an attitude adjustment from my mare.
    Date published: 2016-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing results He is so much more focused and relaxed. Makes total sense with the mineral deficient soil can be
    Date published: 2016-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Calmed my ottb About this for my 4 year old OTTB mare that was very anxious under saddle. Within a week of being on the product, I noticed a tremendous difference as soon as I got on her back
    Date published: 2016-07-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Assuming it works My horse doesn't like the taste at all, but she's been eating it sometimes. She's really hot normally and we still have some issues, but she listens a lot better now. She actually let me carry the American flag off of her at a huge rodeo and listened very well and went in the alley fine. She works better warming up as well, but I have not witnessed a miracle in her anxious personality.
    Date published: 2016-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product and a good price I love this stuff! I use the magnesium 5000 for when I go to to shows. It works really well for a nervous horse. Brings them down to a calmer state with more focuse and won't effect your horses drug test for the show.
    Date published: 2016-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Calms my horse with ulcers My horse is a TB with ulcers. He used to be nervous, get upset over any change. If the other horses were not in sight he would become so upset he wouldn't pay attention to me and becoming a little dangerous. I did some research and read that if a horse has a magnesium deficiency that is the way they can behave. I started him on Magnesium 5000. It took about 10 to 14 days for me to notice a difference. And WOW what a difference, He has been on Magnesium no for the past 2-3 months and is calm, I no longer worry if he will move quick and knock me down because he's upset about something. He's not a plug act normal in every way just not a nut anymore. Wish I knew about Magnesium before he may not have ulcers now?.
    Date published: 2016-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to feed I have been using this for about a year, for my horse who has Shivers. It seems to take the edge off whatever he chooses to stress over-such as, a farrier hot shoeing another horse or pulling out an electrical cord. I have found stress negatively effects Shivers.
    Date published: 2016-06-20
    • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_5
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_22, tr_199
    • loc_en_US, sid_8286, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders