Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Magnesium 5,000

Med-Vet Pharmaceuticals (MVP) — Item #18286
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
Choose size & ship frequency
DAILY DOSES Top Pick

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions

Supports a healthy nervous system & muscles

  • Provides 5,000 mg of magnesium

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (56.7 grams) daily)
Ingredient Per Serving Per Pound
Crude Protein, Min 7,380 mg 13%
Crude Fat, Min. 3,400 mg 6.0%
Crude Fiber, Max. 5,680 mg 10%
Magnesium, Min. 5,000 mg 8.82%
Ingredient Statement: Wheat middlings, rice bran, magnesium oxide, mangesium proteinate, soybean oil, calcium propionate, natural and artificial flavors.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Feeding Directions: (Enclosed measure approximates 2 oz) Adult Horses (900-1,100lbs): Maintenance: Provide 2 ounces daily. Working/Performance: Provide 2-4 ounces daily.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Botanical Animal® Devil Be Gone™ is designed to ...
    Description:
    "Botanical Animal® Devil Be Gone™ is designed to help animals feel calm and safe. Helps address willfulness, rebelliousness, hostility, aggressiveness, anger, or an obsessive need to protect the caregiver. Directions for Use: For best results, administer The Flower Essences directly ...
    "Botanical Animal® Obsess Less™ is a homeopathic remedy ...
    Description:
    "Botanical Animal® Obsess Less™ is a homeopathic remedy designed to help pets who manage their anxiety with negative, often obsessive, behaviors. Many pets are plagued with internal stressors that are expressed through obsessive-compulsive behavior. This can lead to self-destructive tendencies ...
    "Levelor™ is designed to help support normal hormone ...
    Description:
    "Levelor™ is designed to help support normal hormone levels and healthy nervous system function. Perfect for helping maintain a quiet disposition in mares and geldings, this formula includes a combination of raspberry leaf, taurine, magnesium, dong quai root powder, and ...
    "Perfect Prep EQ Extreme Paste is a proprietary ...
    Description:
    "Perfect Prep EQ Extreme Paste is a proprietary blend of natural ingredients that helps maintain relaxation and focus in horses under stressful conditions. Feed 90 minutes before performance or trailering; effects last 6-8 hours. Contains L-tryptophan, magnesium, thiamine (vitamin B1), ...
    "Perfect Prep EQ Gold Paste uses natural ingredients ...
    Description:
    "Perfect Prep EQ Gold Paste uses natural ingredients in a proprietary blend to support sustained relaxation and focus in horses during stressful conditions. Perfect Prep EQ Gold acts gradually. Its effects peak 8 hours after first administration, and last up ...
    "Perfect Prep EQ Gold Pellets offer the same ...
    Description:
    "Perfect Prep EQ Gold Pellets offer the same powerful calming support as Prefect Prep EQ Gold Paste in a pelleted formula for easy administration with feed. This formula contains a proprietary blend of ingredients that includes an amino acid complex, ...
    "Perfect Prep EQ Sane & Sound is calming ...
    Description:
    "Perfect Prep EQ Sane & Sound is calming supplement designed to provide the most complete solution for pre-event anxiety. It combines ingredients for a focused attitude, comfort, and a healthy stomach to help your horse or pony stay relaxed and ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Magnesium 5,000 is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 240.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, The horses like the taste. Calming supplement. Does it job works wonderful. Have to feed 2 hours after you feed it.
    Date published: 2016-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magnesium the missing mineral Sturdy bucket, easy to handle. Economical packaging.
    Date published: 2016-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MVP / Magnesium 5,000 This is the first time I've used a "Calming" product for my mare. I have a 13 year old Quarab (grade) that tends to be a little "hot" and I just moved her to a new barn / new location and needed something to help "settle her down" so she could adjust to her new surroundings.
    Date published: 2016-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results! I bought this product a month ago and have already seen an attitude adjustment from my mare.
    Date published: 2016-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing results He is so much more focused and relaxed. Makes total sense with the mineral deficient soil can be
    Date published: 2016-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Calmed my ottb About this for my 4 year old OTTB mare that was very anxious under saddle. Within a week of being on the product, I noticed a tremendous difference as soon as I got on her back
    Date published: 2016-07-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Assuming it works My horse doesn't like the taste at all, but she's been eating it sometimes. She's really hot normally and we still have some issues, but she listens a lot better now. She actually let me carry the American flag off of her at a huge rodeo and listened very well and went in the alley fine. She works better warming up as well, but I have not witnessed a miracle in her anxious personality.
    Date published: 2016-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product and a good price I love this stuff! I use the magnesium 5000 for when I go to to shows. It works really well for a nervous horse. Brings them down to a calmer state with more focuse and won't effect your horses drug test for the show.
    Date published: 2016-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Calms my horse with ulcers My horse is a TB with ulcers. He used to be nervous, get upset over any change. If the other horses were not in sight he would become so upset he wouldn't pay attention to me and becoming a little dangerous. I did some research and read that if a horse has a magnesium deficiency that is the way they can behave. I started him on Magnesium 5000. It took about 10 to 14 days for me to notice a difference. And WOW what a difference, He has been on Magnesium no for the past 2-3 months and is calm, I no longer worry if he will move quick and knock me down because he's upset about something. He's not a plug act normal in every way just not a nut anymore. Wish I knew about Magnesium before he may not have ulcers now?.
    Date published: 2016-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to feed I have been using this for about a year, for my horse who has Shivers. It seems to take the edge off whatever he chooses to stress over-such as, a farrier hot shoeing another horse or pulling out an electrical cord. I have found stress negatively effects Shivers.
    Date published: 2016-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective and affordable Have been using this product for almost a year. Effective; takes the reactive edge off while allowing the horses to remain alert and responsive. Affordable, too.
    Date published: 2016-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps muscle tone and just enough calming factor I bought this for 3 of my 4 guys that all had a little bit of a spooky nature - one too dependent on others, one high strung when solo, and the other after being off almost 1 1/2 years before I got him spooked at a lot! The later also had muscle atrophy from a neck injury. After a month on the magnesium they are calmer, and it seems to have improved their muscle definition. I have one guy I am hesitant to try this on since I don't want him any calmer but will wait and see how things go with the others and may also put him on it too for his muscles for recovery since I ride him the most.
    Date published: 2016-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product My 1/2 Arabian 1/2 Paint gelding is overly alert & spooks at his own tail. After having been on Mag 5,000 for about a month, there have been positive results. He is much more relaxed and even seems to enjoy getting groomed now. I mix the pellets with a little oats in his feed pan. He eats every last drop. No waste. I have read other reviews about horses not getting ticks while taking this. So far, I've found only 1 tick on him. So, that is another great benefit. I highly recommend anyone to give Mag 5,000 a try.
    Date published: 2016-06-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best way to encourage our horses to get magnesium Mixed into their minimal ration balancer, both picky boys eat this and are calm in spite of great pasture right now
    Date published: 2016-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great on my mare ! Took about 2 months to see a change, but this has definitely made a difference in my mares ability to focus.
    Date published: 2016-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A calming supplement that works! My off the track TB is a typical TB...this supliment has helped him to recover better when he exerts himself and has helped to calm him down as well. And he will eat this supliment and of course he's a picky eater ... He's a TB!
    Date published: 2016-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product! I bought this two months ago and my Warmblood Gelding loves it and I like the price! Helps calm and keep him focused at home and away from the barn.
    Date published: 2016-05-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't work for my horses, but...... Wasn't sure how to rate this as it didn't work for my 2 horses, but I think it's just my horses! Guess I just want to convey, that like everything in life, there's no guarantee! Bought it primarily for my mare who has the "fake spook", then run like crazy thing down pat! Also tried it with my quieter gelding who has a worried mind and anticipates a lot of things, like lead changes. His mind gets in the way! Didn't work with him either. Both horses have been on double dose (2 scoops per day) for 6 weeks. Will go a full 2 months. If nothing after 2 months, will abandon! However, I do believe this is a very helpful product for many horses. The price is great and my horses ate it with no problem whatsoever!
    Date published: 2016-05-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from So bummed it didnt work I was so excited about this product because of the excellent reviews, but unfortunately I am one of the very few who didn't notice any difference in my 5 year old OTTB.
    Date published: 2016-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I was recommended by my equine Chiropractor to give this to both my horses to help with their tight muscles. 2 months later she commented on how much better they were doing, making her job easier !!
    Date published: 2016-05-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Joint Regimen Component An equine chiropractor recommended magnesium as a joint health supplement to help slow arthritis. This product is the closest to straight magnesium I could find.
    Date published: 2016-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This seems to really help my horse be more free in his back and shoulders. I love it. He will also eat it right out of my hand,
    Date published: 2016-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Magnesium has filled a void that was really left open in my horses nutrition.
    Date published: 2016-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works fabulously Works to help allow horses to stay focused and relaxed in thier work. So very thrilled with results
    Date published: 2016-04-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to be helpful. My mare's additude and body condition are much improved.
    Date published: 2016-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has made a HUGE difference I have a flighty, on the muscle 5 yr old mare. This has made her so much more relaxed and less spooky. Shes by no means a dead head now, but so much nicer to be around! Took about 3 weeks to start working.
    Date published: 2016-04-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good mag supplement for the money. I have used this supplement for a couple of years on a mare that ties up occasionally and is nervous. It is palatable, she eats the pellets just fine. I feel like for the cost this is a good magnesium supplement.
    Date published: 2016-04-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Level headed I bought this for a mare that needed some helping thinking through her dressage work. I am very pleased with the results and will continue to use it. she has become a fantastic worker
    Date published: 2016-04-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works... A bit too well? I have an arab who is naturally a little flighty. Doesn't bother me, however the farrier minds and the barn staff minds. So my barn owner suggested I try Magnesium. A couple weeks in, I began noticing a change in how his muscle was building, and the elasticity of his stride. May or may not be related to this supp- i started B-L in the same month. But the problem is the calming effect. He's receiving the reccommended dosage, but he has a mildly stoned look most of the time and has lost ALL of his forward under saddle. He was already a little lazy but spooky. Now he's near impossible to move, but spooks very little. My horse is way TOO calm. Will be trying another supplement. It was not a good fit for us. However, my picky eater gobbles it up, and it does it's job. Its well priced. Just be warned, if your horse isn't extremely forward to start off with, you're gonna be left with nothing.
    Date published: 2016-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Noticed Results within Days! My instructor recommended this for my mare who tends to be anxious and tight in her muscles. Within a few days of starting her on it, I noticed she was MUCH calmer. I was really sick for 5 days and my husband didn't give it to her. I noticed she was more anxious after not getting it for those 5 days. Started her back on it and she's been doing great since. Her bodywork person could notice a difference in her muscles as well as her mind being more open to the bodywork. I took her to her first clinic since using the MVP and she was fabulous. I went with this brand b/c she won't eat powders (super picky) and she likes the pellets. She get this with a handful of Ultium.
    Date published: 2016-03-25
    • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_20
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_28, tr_212
    • loc_en_US, sid_8286, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 32ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders