Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Magnesium 5,000
Med-Vet Pharmaceuticals (MVP) — Item #18286
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Supports a healthy nervous system & muscles

  • Provides 5,000 mg of magnesium

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (56.7 grams) daily)
Ingredient Per Serving Per Pound
Crude Protein, Min 7,380 mg 13%
Crude Fat, Min. 3,400 mg 6.0%
Crude Fiber, Max. 5,680 mg 10%
Magnesium, Min. 5,000 mg 8.82%
Ingredient Statement: Wheat middlings, rice bran, magnesium oxide, mangesium proteinate, soybean oil, calcium propionate, natural and artificial flavors.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Feeding Directions: (Enclosed measure approximates 2 oz) Adult Horses (900-1,100lbs): Maintenance: Provide 2 ounces daily. Working/Performance: Provide 2-4 ounces daily.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Total Blood Fluids Muscle was developed to replenish ...
    Description:
    "Total Blood Fluids Muscle was developed to replenish the vital nutrients lost during stress and exercise. Fortified with essential B vitamins, minerals, and iron to help increase oxygen-carrying ability and red blood cell count. Contains branched-chain amino acids to aid ...
    "DMG by SmartPak is an economical way to ...
    Description:
    "DMG by SmartPak is an economical way to support your horse’s normal muscle function and recovery. DMG may be beneficial for horses prone to muscle soreness and tying-up. DMG also serves as an antioxidant and helps support a healthy inflammatory ...
    "Supporting muscle health is essential to power peak ...
    Description:
    "Supporting muscle health is essential to power peak performance and encourage normal recovery after exercise. The right blend of ingredients may help to support efficient muscle function and manage muscle discomfort associated with exercise."
    "Biotin II 22X is a super-concentrated pellet that ...
    Description:
    "Biotin II 22X is a super-concentrated pellet that contains 22 mg biotin, 1,895 mg methionine, 1,563 mg sulfur, amino acids, trace minerals, and live stabilized microbials for optimum feed utilization. Biotin II 22X provides sound nutrition and carefully balanced rations ...
    "Mega-Cell™ (Pellet) is a well-balanced multi-vitamin and mineral ...
    Description:
    "Mega-Cell™ (Pellet) is a well-balanced multi-vitamin and mineral supplement formulated to coincide with current NRC (National Research Council) recommended daily requirements, to accommodate feeding programs consisting of grass-type hays (timothy, coastal, Bermuda, native grass)/grain-based diets. The ...
    "SmartMetabo-Lean Pellets are designed to help manage insulin ...
    Description:
    "SmartMetabo-Lean Pellets are designed to help manage insulin resistance, a condition that is part of Equine Metabolic Syndrome, and frequently associated with obesity. This comprehensive formula supports healthy metabolic function by providing ingredients such as chromium and magnesium to support ...
    "Metaboleeze contains a digestible source of chromium combined ...
    Description:
    "Metaboleeze contains a digestible source of chromium combined with B-complex vitamins and organic trace minerals. Metaboleeze may be appropriate for supporting horses with Equine Metabolic Syndrome/insulin resistance, as well as some types of tying-up. Work with your veterinarian to determine ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Magnesium 5,000 is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 207.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cost Effective Way to Buy High Quality Magnesium I have a mare who had suffered several severe physical traumas before she came to me. She was a physical and mental wreck which made her perpetually tense and nervous. She was hyper alert and would spin out of control if upset. Even after a year of dealing with the physical issues and avoiding anything that might set her off, the mare was still hyper alert and hyper reactive. Her condition fit the description of a magnesium deficient horse. The magnesium didn't solve all the problems, but it certainly tipped the balance enough to get the horse back into work and starting to lead a normal life.Unfortunately, not all magnesium supplements are created equal. Many simply don't work. The one we were using at my barn worked really well but was very expensive. I was wary about changing brands ("If it ain't broke, don't fix it.") but when I couldn't get the usual brand, I tried a month's supply of MVP. It actually worked even better than the previous brand and at half the price.In fact, the MVP worked so well, we thought that the mare didn't need the magnesium any more. Not true. When we tried to titrate her off of it, she started to revert to her tense and reactive state. When we resumed the normal dose, she returned to being her new normal of relaxed compliance. Note: The mare remains a strong, keen, competitive horse with the magnesium. It's not going to turn her into an old school horse. But it does keep her sane and happy to do her job which is exactly what I was looking for.
    Date published: 2016-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helping my OTTB who is recently off the track!
    Date published: 2016-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great magnesium supplement! My TB gelding is very, very picky, and at first, he turned up his nose at these pellets. But after cutting the dosage in half for a few days and gradually working up to a full dose, he now happily scarfs them down. He's had some muscle soreness and having hay and pasture tested, we've found his diet is likely deficient in magnesium. Since starting him on the MVP Magnesium 5000 pellets, his hoof and hair quality have really improved, and his muscle soreness has dissipated, as well. This is a great product backed by the NASC seal, so you can rest easy knowing you're getting a high-quality supplement.
    Date published: 2016-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Needed supplement We had our soil tested and found that, among other things, our hay was lacking magnesium. We discussed the situation with our vet.This supplement has helped complete the horses' diet.
    Date published: 2016-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing results! I have used Magnesium 5000 on several nervous/spooky/flighty horses with great success. I have tried pretty much every calming supplement out there and have had the best results by far with Magnesium 5000.
    Date published: 2016-09-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Can't tell a difference yet I have been using this product for almost 2 months now. Haven't noticed a huge difference yet. So I am going to give it another month or so before I make a decision so that it will be fair. I have noticed she is gaining some weight, but I also recently switched over to a different grain, so hard to tell which one did that. She is a little calmer now, but still a little moody. I did notice she was calmer on the trail though. When winter hits I will be able to tell a lot more, since she is usually a pacer in her stall. But she still paces in her paddock. Again, I want to give it more time before I decide for sure.
    Date published: 2016-08-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, The horses like the taste. Calming supplement. Does it job works wonderful. Have to feed 2 hours after you feed it.
    Date published: 2016-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magnesium the missing mineral Sturdy bucket, easy to handle. Economical packaging.
    Date published: 2016-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MVP / Magnesium 5,000 This is the first time I've used a "Calming" product for my mare. I have a 13 year old Quarab (grade) that tends to be a little "hot" and I just moved her to a new barn / new location and needed something to help "settle her down" so she could adjust to her new surroundings.
    Date published: 2016-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results! I bought this product a month ago and have already seen an attitude adjustment from my mare.
    Date published: 2016-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing results He is so much more focused and relaxed. Makes total sense with the mineral deficient soil can be
    Date published: 2016-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Calmed my ottb About this for my 4 year old OTTB mare that was very anxious under saddle. Within a week of being on the product, I noticed a tremendous difference as soon as I got on her back
    Date published: 2016-07-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Assuming it works My horse doesn't like the taste at all, but she's been eating it sometimes. She's really hot normally and we still have some issues, but she listens a lot better now. She actually let me carry the American flag off of her at a huge rodeo and listened very well and went in the alley fine. She works better warming up as well, but I have not witnessed a miracle in her anxious personality.
    Date published: 2016-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product and a good price I love this stuff! I use the magnesium 5000 for when I go to to shows. It works really well for a nervous horse. Brings them down to a calmer state with more focuse and won't effect your horses drug test for the show.
    Date published: 2016-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Calms my horse with ulcers My horse is a TB with ulcers. He used to be nervous, get upset over any change. If the other horses were not in sight he would become so upset he wouldn't pay attention to me and becoming a little dangerous. I did some research and read that if a horse has a magnesium deficiency that is the way they can behave. I started him on Magnesium 5000. It took about 10 to 14 days for me to notice a difference. And WOW what a difference, He has been on Magnesium no for the past 2-3 months and is calm, I no longer worry if he will move quick and knock me down because he's upset about something. He's not a plug act normal in every way just not a nut anymore. Wish I knew about Magnesium before he may not have ulcers now?.
    Date published: 2016-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to feed I have been using this for about a year, for my horse who has Shivers. It seems to take the edge off whatever he chooses to stress over-such as, a farrier hot shoeing another horse or pulling out an electrical cord. I have found stress negatively effects Shivers.
    Date published: 2016-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective and affordable Have been using this product for almost a year. Effective; takes the reactive edge off while allowing the horses to remain alert and responsive. Affordable, too.
    Date published: 2016-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps muscle tone and just enough calming factor I bought this for 3 of my 4 guys that all had a little bit of a spooky nature - one too dependent on others, one high strung when solo, and the other after being off almost 1 1/2 years before I got him spooked at a lot! The later also had muscle atrophy from a neck injury. After a month on the magnesium they are calmer, and it seems to have improved their muscle definition. I have one guy I am hesitant to try this on since I don't want him any calmer but will wait and see how things go with the others and may also put him on it too for his muscles for recovery since I ride him the most.
    Date published: 2016-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product My 1/2 Arabian 1/2 Paint gelding is overly alert & spooks at his own tail. After having been on Mag 5,000 for about a month, there have been positive results. He is much more relaxed and even seems to enjoy getting groomed now. I mix the pellets with a little oats in his feed pan. He eats every last drop. No waste. I have read other reviews about horses not getting ticks while taking this. So far, I've found only 1 tick on him. So, that is another great benefit. I highly recommend anyone to give Mag 5,000 a try.
    Date published: 2016-06-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best way to encourage our horses to get magnesium Mixed into their minimal ration balancer, both picky boys eat this and are calm in spite of great pasture right now
    Date published: 2016-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great on my mare ! Took about 2 months to see a change, but this has definitely made a difference in my mares ability to focus.
    Date published: 2016-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A calming supplement that works! My off the track TB is a typical TB...this supliment has helped him to recover better when he exerts himself and has helped to calm him down as well. And he will eat this supliment and of course he's a picky eater ... He's a TB!
    Date published: 2016-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product! I bought this two months ago and my Warmblood Gelding loves it and I like the price! Helps calm and keep him focused at home and away from the barn.
    Date published: 2016-05-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't work for my horses, but...... Wasn't sure how to rate this as it didn't work for my 2 horses, but I think it's just my horses! Guess I just want to convey, that like everything in life, there's no guarantee! Bought it primarily for my mare who has the "fake spook", then run like crazy thing down pat! Also tried it with my quieter gelding who has a worried mind and anticipates a lot of things, like lead changes. His mind gets in the way! Didn't work with him either. Both horses have been on double dose (2 scoops per day) for 6 weeks. Will go a full 2 months. If nothing after 2 months, will abandon! However, I do believe this is a very helpful product for many horses. The price is great and my horses ate it with no problem whatsoever!
    Date published: 2016-05-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from So bummed it didnt work I was so excited about this product because of the excellent reviews, but unfortunately I am one of the very few who didn't notice any difference in my 5 year old OTTB.
    Date published: 2016-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I was recommended by my equine Chiropractor to give this to both my horses to help with their tight muscles. 2 months later she commented on how much better they were doing, making her job easier !!
    Date published: 2016-05-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Joint Regimen Component An equine chiropractor recommended magnesium as a joint health supplement to help slow arthritis. This product is the closest to straight magnesium I could find.
    Date published: 2016-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This seems to really help my horse be more free in his back and shoulders. I love it. He will also eat it right out of my hand,
    Date published: 2016-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Magnesium has filled a void that was really left open in my horses nutrition.
    Date published: 2016-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works fabulously Works to help allow horses to stay focused and relaxed in thier work. So very thrilled with results
    Date published: 2016-04-14
    • y_2017, m_1, d_20, h_20
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_21, tr_186
    • loc_en_US, sid_8286, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders