Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Cosequin® Equine Powder
Nutramax Laboratories — Item #10174
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

The #1 vet-recommended oral joint supplement

  • Combines 3,600 mg of glucosamine & 1,200 mg of an exclusive low-molecular-weight chondroitin sulfate
  • Helps maintain healthy joint tissue in horses in light work
Cosequin® Equine Powder is the #1 veterinarian-recommended oral joint supplement. Cosequin is used by champion horsemen to provide their horses with comprehensive joint support. Cosequin® Equine Powder contains an exclusive low-molecular-weight chondroitin. 3600 mglucosamine and 1200 mg chondroitin sulfate combination backed up by extensive clinical & field testing.

View our Joint Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis, each 3.3 grams (1 level scoop) contains:
(Maintenance Dose = 2 scoops (6.6 g) per day)
  • Glucosamine Hydrochloride minimum
    1800 mg
  • Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate minimum
    600 mg
  • Manganese minimum
    16 mg
Ingredients:: Glucosamine hydrochloride (derived from shellfish), microcrystalline cellulose, sodium chondroitin sulfate (derived from bovine cartilage), manganese ascorbate.

Cosequin® contains FCHG49® Glucosamine Hydrochloride and TRH122® Low Molecular Weight Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate, Nutramax Laboratories® exclusive veterinary researched specifications.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:

Initial Period (2-4 weeks) a.k.a. SmartPak Loading Dose:

Under 600 lbs - 2 scoops in AM & 2 scoops in PM
600-1200 lbs - 3 scoops in AM & 3 scoops in PM
Over 1200 lbs - 4 scoops in AM & 4 scoops in PM

Long-Term Administration a.k.a. SmartPak Maintenance Dose:

Under 600 lbs - 1 scoop daily
600-1200 lbs - 1 to 2 scoops daily
Over 1200 lbs - 2 scoops daily

Note: SmartPak Equine has received approval from the manufacturer to administer the Initial/Loading Dose once daily in SmartPaks.

Dosage may be increased at any time if needed. For most horses, Cosequin can be conveniently administered in their daily grain. For finicky horses, you can add a small amount of water or molasses to get the Cosequin to stick to the grains. With some horses it may be easiest to oral dose; simply mix Cosequin with a small amount of water or molasses and dose orally with a syringe.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Cosequin ® ASU Plus is the most advanced ...
    Description:
    "Cosequin ® ASU Plus is the most advanced Cosequin ® formula, providing the next level of joint support. Cosequin ® ASU Plus contains NMX1000 ® avocado/soybean unsaponifiables (ASU), FCHG49 ® glucosamine hydrochloride, TRH122 ® low-molecular-weight chondroitin sulfate and high-purity MSM. ...
    "#1 veterinarian recommended oral joint health supplement. Cosequin ...
    Description:
    "#1 veterinarian recommended oral joint health supplement. Cosequin is the only brand proven in published, controlled U.S. studies to be bioavailable in dogs and cats and to improve joint function. Cosequin SS has been specifically designed to meet the joint ...
    "Cosequin ® Optimized with MSM provides the same ...
    Description:
    "Cosequin ® Optimized with MSM provides the same improved formula as Cosequin ® Optimized, but with the addition of 5,000 mg MSM per scoop (16.5 g). Tasty, apple-flavored powder! View our Joint Supplement Comparison Chart"
    "When liver function is compromised, the exact cause ...
    Description:
    "When liver function is compromised, the exact cause can often be difficult to determine. Supporting the liver, regardless of the cause, is essential if function is to be improved. Denosyl has been shown to markedly increase liver glutathione levels in ...
    "The popular and respected equine and dog treatment ...
    Description:
    "The popular and respected equine and dog treatment for stiff and sore joints is now available in a feline formulation! Cosequin for Cats is one of the few feline joint products that is not simply a redosage of the canine ...
    "#1 veterinarian recommended oral joint health supplement. Cosequin ...
    Description:
    "#1 veterinarian recommended oral joint health supplement. Cosequin is the only brand proven in published, controlled U.S. studies to be bioavailable in dogs and to improve joint function. Cosequin DS has been specifically designed to meet the joint needs of ...
    "Cosequin ® ASU goes above and beyond the ...
    Description:
    "Cosequin ® ASU goes above and beyond the traditional glucosamine/chondroitin sulfate products on the market. Cosequin ® ASU contains NMX1000 ® avocado/soybean unsaponifiables (ASU) formulated with FCHG49 ® glucosamine hydrochloride and TRH122 ® low-molecular-weight chondroitin sulfate. Plus ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Cosequin® Equine Powder is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 201.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great stuff Good for my 12 year old quarter horse, way better than the acti-flex. I definitely see a better horse and he never becomes lame or is stiff.
    Date published: 2012-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent purchase this product is a must for my older horses. deffinate improvement
    Date published: 2012-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Joint Relief for a Veteran Since starting my 15 year old veteran hunter on Cosequin, there has been a definite improvement in the amount of spring in his stride. I use this supplement in addition to regular Adequin injections, and the combination of these therapies has worked wonders.
    Date published: 2012-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product This is an amazing product! It is highly valued by me.
    Date published: 2012-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT This supplement is just the best. I have tried everything out there for my gelding, especially as he starts to get a little older and needs more support. I can tell a big difference in the way he moves and his level of comfort. So glad this is offeren in Smart Paks, it makes it so much more affordable!!!
    Date published: 2012-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well. I have never used Cosequin before but I had heard that it was worth the buy. I was mainly concerned about my TB wanting to eat it since it is a powder. But he didn't have a problem after I didn't give a choice. He eats it fine now. His movement feels great and I think the supplement has made a real difference for him. I also have a couple others on it and I think they are doing well on it too.
    Date published: 2012-03-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from stiff?try it! I have been using for the past 2 years. It keeps my pony going!
    Date published: 2012-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Prior to starting my mare on Cosequin, I had used two other joint supplements with ok results. However, after a particularly bad flare of her degenerative arthritis, my vet recommended that I try Cosequin in addition to MSM. The results were great - she moved more freely, and was happy to be back in work. She was even able to start working over fences again at the age of 21! That was almost 9 years ago, and I have kept her on Cosequin ever since. In February she will be 30 years old, and she is still able to kick up her heels in the pasture and keep up with the youngsters!
    Date published: 2012-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 21 yr old mare playing again Sunny was having her ever stiffening arthritis flare ups and being ridden only occasionally. Since using cosequin I have seen her play with the other horse running and kicking up in the pasture. She is still only ridden occasionally but loosens up faster and moves out easier. Her whole manner seems lighter and if I saw her smile... would not surprise me!
    Date published: 2012-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my experience the horse is 29, world champion reining horse and xrays show bone on bone in coffin joints. it is hard for me to isolate which of the changes that i have pursued is actually helping. he appears happier and less stiff. it it can't help that particular joint because of its degeneration, i do feel he must have lots of arthritis and this product is probabally easing other joints. he refuses to take 'anything' in his feed so i syringe it with all of his extras together. i would recommend trying cosequin and msm as well.
    Date published: 2012-01-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-01-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from 3 out of 4 Won't eat it Can't comment if it works since as soon as they came in all but one backed away from their feed. Never had that issue with grand flex. Will go back to it.
    Date published: 2012-01-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product We have 10 therapy horses that are on Cosequine. This is a great product that allow our horses to change the lives of the special needs kids we serve. Thankyou Cosequin!
    Date published: 2011-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A different horse My 21 yr old QH does ok during the summer when ridden regularly but cold and off times her arthritismakes her so stiff she barely walks in the pasture. She's been on this for a couple of months now and I have seen her run and kick up her heels in the pasture regularly. No problem licking the bowl clean either. She deserves to run up for dinner when I call, like she did last night...in the dark! Very cool feeling.
    Date published: 2011-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Product My 11 yr old mare was called the barometer of the barn. She was always stiff every time the weather changed. Since she has been on Cosequin she is never stiff. She has great movement. A completely different horse.
    Date published: 2011-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-11-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from tried and true if your horse can't take msm and you want the reliability of cosequin than this is a great choice. every time i try another, i always comes back to the original, because it works.
    Date published: 2011-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-10-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have only been using this product for a little over a month but my TB feels great! Still slightly stiff in the beginning but not like he used to be!
    Date published: 2011-09-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not sure about results yet I have two of my horses on Cosequin. One is my 15 year old gelding and I give it to him as a preventative rather than for any known joint problems. My other horse is a 29 year old retired mare that I had on a different joint supplement that she ate readily for many months, then started refusing it. I switched her to Cosequin and she eats it up. She also has no known joint problems, but at 29 she is a bit stiff. I haven't noticed any changes in her for better or worse, but then she's very frisky for a horse her age.
    Date published: 2011-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cosequin Great product. Fine powder is much more effective that other products with a more coarse consistency. Also, products claiming pain relief and cost much more are less effective than Cosequin and Adequon injections.
    Date published: 2011-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Noticable difference I have had my 18 year old TB on several different supportive supplements over our 17 years together. While some have seemed to help, Cosequin has made a marked difference. At age 6, her left hip collided with a wooden beam. Recently, she has developed has some limited mobility in that hip. Cosequin has made all the difference, and she is balanced once more.
    Date published: 2011-09-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horse Refused to Eat I spent over $100 on the size that would "front-load" my horse with enough product. He absolutely refused to eat it -- no matter how I mixed it in his food or doctored it with Karo. So here I am stuck with a product that I paid a lot of money for and can't use. Customer service half-way offered me a credit after I complained twice. The first customer service rep asked me if I didn't have someone else that I could give it to. I was not too happy with the way this situation was handled. If Smartpak wanted to be "smart", they would offer all supplements in trial sizes to see if a horse will actually eat it before the owner invests a lot of money in useless product.
    Date published: 2011-09-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product My somewhat picky eater had no problem eating this and I feel good knowing I am doing something to help him stay healthy and comfortable for as many years as possible. It's a good product and the smartpaks are incredibly convenient!
    Date published: 2011-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can Feel A Difference I wasn't sure if a daily joint supplement could help maintain my horse between periodic doses of Adequan, and I can say that I do think it has helped her move freely and feel great for longer between doses. Have been using it about 2 months, but felt it helping her after only a few weeks. Also pleased that she eats it well because she can be suspicious.
    Date published: 2011-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-08-04
    • y_2017, m_2, d_20, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_49, tr_152
    • loc_en_US, sid_174, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders