Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
BioFlax 20
HorseTech, Inc. — Item #11263
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

The original biotin & flax supplement

  • Biotin, methionine & lysine for strong hooves, plus omega 3 fatty acids for healthy skin & coat
  • "…the hands-down choice for coat, skin, and hoof problems," according to Horse Journal, June 2000
BioFlax 20 is "...the hands-down choice for coat, skin and hoof problems" - Horse Journal, June 2000 issue. Biotin supplementation has been shown to be helpful in improving hoof quality, including improvement in density and overall integrity. Rich in natural omega 3 fatty acids, BioFlax 20 also helps to promote healthy skin, a shiny coat, and hooves that are less prone to drying out and cracking.

View our Hoof Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (1 oz) daily)
Ingredient Per Serving Per Pound
Crude Protein (min) 24%
Crude Fat (min) 21%
Crude Fiber (max) 20%
Biotin (min) 20 mg 320 mg
Ingredients:: Milled Flaxseed, Yeast Culture, Biotin, DL-Methionine, L-Lysine Monohydrochloride, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Calcium Carbonate.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Feeding Directions: Feed to horses at the rate of one ounce (one level scoop) per head daily. Each one ounce feeding will provide 20 mg of premium quality biotin.

The enclosed 60 cc scoop will hold approximately one ounce (28.4 g).

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Omega Suregut is a fully comprehensive digestive supplement ...
    Description:
    "Omega Suregut is a fully comprehensive digestive supplement containing both probiotics and prebiotics. Both are crucial to help ensure the production of beneficial bacteria throughout the digestive tract. Omega Suregut is also formulated to include stabilized ground flaxseed, yeast, and ...
    "Cool Omega 40+ provides a unique blend of ...
    Description:
    "Cool Omega 40+ provides a unique blend of fat and proteins for today’s active horses. Perfect for supporting a healthy weight without the negative impacts that come with increasing your horse’s serving of grain, these pellets are easy-to-use and highly ...
    "The stresses of everyday life can lead to ...
    Description:
    "The stresses of everyday life can lead to bad gas, loose stool, digestive upset, and other conditions. Probios® Treats are specially formulated for the overall wellness of your best friend. Apple-flavored. 1 lb resealable pouch (about 70 treats). What are ...
    "Grand Vite is a comprehensive vitamin and mineral ...
    Description:
    "Grand Vite is a comprehensive vitamin and mineral supplement that provides balanced ratios of key vitamins, chelated minerals, amino acids, and botanicals. Grand Vite contains active yeast cultures that support the digestibility of nutrients. View our Multi-Vitamin Comparison Chart Learn ...
    "SmartHoof Ultra Pellets are the solution for weak ...
    Description:
    "SmartHoof Ultra Pellets are the solution for weak hooves in need of more aggressive nutritional support! This formula provides 35 mg of biotin for promoting healthy hoof wall growth. Higher levels of the key ingredients lysine, methionine, threonine and vitamin ...
    "Biotin II 22X is a super-concentrated pellet that ...
    Description:
    "Biotin II 22X is a super-concentrated pellet that contains 22 mg biotin, 1,895 mg methionine, 1,563 mg sulfur, amino acids, trace minerals, and live stabilized microbials for optimum feed utilization. Biotin II 22X provides sound nutrition and carefully balanced rations ...
    "The best of sea and soil! Providing a ...
    Description:
    "The best of sea and soil! Providing a balanced blend of vital nutrients to support healthy hoof growth, deep coat color, quality skin and coat condition, and all-year-round optimum health. Learn more about Hilton Herbs View our Hoof Supplement Comparison ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    BioFlax 20 is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 150.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tons of growth Bought this for my TB mare who was having some highly unusual foot issues for her and had tremendous cracking and splitting and splaying. Switched shoes and put her on this to help jump start some foot growth to help blow out the cracked areas of her feet. My farrier pulled her shoes, stopped, looked at me and asked what the heck I gave her :). She grew enough we were able to almost completely correct the issues in one cycle. Her feet are back to looking awesome like they used to. Have also stuck my OTTB on this and he did show some growth, but not as much (normal for him as he isn't as prone to quick reactions to supplementation like my mare). 100% will recommend to clients and friends.
    Date published: 2016-07-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought this for my mini but he wasn't on it long enough to notice a difference but his coat did seem healthier.
    Date published: 2016-07-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very palatable I added this supplement to an existing smart pak because it was so economical. My horse had no problem eating this additional supplement .
    Date published: 2016-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works really well! I put my 18 year old OTTB on this 2 months ago because his hooves were showing very poor growth and were cracking terribly. He had tremendous healthy growth his past cycle and his hooves are looking better than ever! My horse is extremely picky when it comes to supplements and he gobbles it up!
    Date published: 2016-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse's coat has never been shinier This product was recommended to me by a friend when I mentioned wanting to put my horse on a hoof and coat supplement. The price was very affordable so I decided to give it a try. My horse is picky when it comes to anything that isn't pelleted so I wasn't sure if he'd eat it but I haven't had any problems, he loves it. I was noticing a difference in his coat within just a few weeks! I am pleased to say that his coat has never been shinier than it is right now while on this supplement. I wish I could say I saw as big of a difference with his hooves but I don't notice much change there. He doesn't have terrible feet to begin with though. Regardless, I would recommend this product.
    Date published: 2016-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product Bought this to put my mare on that had to have her hoof resectioned, because of white line disease, vet recommended a biotin supplement to increase hoof growth. My mare is picky but is eating this just fine mixed with her feed and her hoof growth is doing well. Plus her hair feels great too.
    Date published: 2016-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it works great have noticed a growth in tail would recommend it
    Date published: 2016-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my ottb I chose this product because of budget and the great review it had. But I am so happy I did. I recently rescued a thoroughbred straight from the track. Before pulling my geldings race shoes I opted to start him on this to help his hooves once barefoot. Well 60+ days on this supplement and barefoot his hooves are holding up fantastic. Not to mention is his coat is beautiful and shinny. My boy is not a fan of brushing so I know his shinny coat is a result from the bioflax
    Date published: 2016-05-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Shiny healthy coats I purchased this product and have used only about a month. The horses were looking pretty slim, dull coats, and one horse has soft soles. Their coats are looking much better, and the gelding seems to be putting on some weight. I am not sure about helping soles yet, as it is still early. The trainer even noticed how much better they looked!
    Date published: 2016-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Results! My mare has been on this supplement for almost a year and I am very happy with the results. When I got her a year ago, she had a short, scruffy tail and dry, cracked, chipped hooves. Using this supplement along with coat and hoof conditioners, I noticed a difference in her coat within weeks. Her hooves began to improve within a couple of months and her tail has grown out and is thicker. She did have to get back shoes put on but is in work year round and has your typical Thoroughbred hooves. Overall they are greatly improved and she no longer loses shoes. She eats this supplement no problem but is not picky.
    Date published: 2016-04-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Shines coat I wanted to add flax to my horse's diet for coat shine. This product offered good levels of flax and biotin for the cost. After feeding for about 4 weeks I can definitely see more shine on my horse's coat. It will take a lot longer to see if this product helps with hoof or tail growth. My horse seems to eat the powder with no complaints, but he generally isn't picky.
    Date published: 2016-03-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent combination of flax and biotin I just reordered a bucket. It is palatable, and contains ground flax (better for teeth than whole) and a good amount of biotin. Many biotin products don't contain enough to make a difference. The only troubling side is the smell when first opened. Let it breathe before feeding.
    Date published: 2016-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Love the fact that this one product does the same as two products I was using before, and in a smaller amount.
    Date published: 2016-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT! Has really improved my horses hair coat as well as hoof condition!!
    Date published: 2015-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy Bought this over a month ago and I am extremely happy with the product I have seen a considerable amount of growth in my horses mane, tail, and hoofs. I love the smartpaks so easy to use . They are quick easy and no mess.
    Date published: 2015-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Shiny!! My horse's hair and coat quality have both greatly improved!! He shines like a new penny, and his mane has grown over an inch, just in the 45 days he's been on it! In love with Bioflax!
    Date published: 2015-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse eats it! This has enough biotin to be a good hoof supplement, I tried it because I also wanted my horse to have flax and the omega 3. It's economical. I pulled back shoes in April and feet look great all around.
    Date published: 2015-08-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from very good product
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hoof and coat! I switched to this supplement from the more common Farrier's Formula Double Strength in order to alleviate the strain on my wallet. I am more than happy with the results! My horse's feet have remained healthy, been holding shoes well, and my horse is GLEAMING! I love that this supplement has less ingredients, including flax (which has so many additional benefits!), and that it has 20g of biotin (one of the highest amount of biotin compared to other hoof supplements on the market). Overall I am a happy customer! My only complaint is that it's sometimes left at the bottom of my horse's bucket...but that could very well be due to the electrolyte he gets and that he gets a very small amount of grain.
    Date published: 2015-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast results! It has not even been a full 28 days (maybe close to 20-22) with my mare on this supplement, but I already see amazing results! Her hooves are still recovering from years of neglect and so I decided to try this because I saw it not only supports healthy hooves, but also skin and coat as well for a great price. Just the other day I picked her hooves, and saw pretty patterns and colors I didn't know she even had, as well as a much improved frog. Her skin used to be flakey, not anymore. Her coat used to be dry and dull, but now vibrant and soft! Can't wait til she's all shed out to see what her summer coat will look like!
    Date published: 2015-03-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Far it is Working. My mare was battling a severe case of thrush that caused her heals to rot badly. Once I got the thrush under control, I added BioFlax 20 to her SmartPak to encourage fast heel and frog growth. I think this review request is a bit premature, because it hasn't been that long. However, I do see active new heel and frog growth.
    Date published: 2015-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! This really works! I live in the mountains of Colorado where the winters are very cold and dry. I began noticing that my horse had dry skin and his coat was a little dull and dry, so I ordered BioFlax 20. After one month his coat is glossier, fuller and most importantly, his skin is in much better shape. His hooves have benefited, too. This is a great product at a very reasonable price. Plus he loves it. No problem at all with getting him to eat it.
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recommended by the Farrier My farrier recommended starting my Morgan Gelding on a Flax supplement because of concerns with soft hooves that might warrent shoes. This supplement is a good price, and met the requirements. After only a short time taking the flax, there is already an improvement in the hoof, and the farrier has confirmed that shoes are not needed. If you are looking for a hoof supplement that will yield results in just a couple of months, this is a good one to look at.
    Date published: 2015-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from wanted to get some extra biotin in my horse's diet Really too soon to tell if the biotin helps my horse's hoof growth. This product seemed the perfect thing to add to Micro Phase multivitamin/ mineral and it was in a flaxseed base.hooves take 6-9 months to replace themselves , so at this time I cannot say if it helped or not.
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bio Flax Several of my young horses rubbed in some broken cedar tree branches last summer and just ruined their manes. The regrowth after several months on Bioflax has been remarkable. And the horses love it. Only wish that I could afford to feed it to all of my horses all the time.
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! I bought this a month ago after speaking with my vet and farrier. My horse eats it right up and what little new hoof growth I can see looks nice and healthy!
    Date published: 2014-11-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Shiny coat Originally got this after noticing some flakey spots on my horse's coat and she had started tail rubbing. After 60 days, her coat is substantially shinier and the dry spots are 100% better and her tail is growing out. The big down side is that it gave her really bad gas at first, which has gotten slightly better over the 60 days. Also of note is that the 5 lb bucket is running out at 60 days instead of 80. I'm not sure if I'll reorder this or try something else to see if it suits her stomach a little better.
    Date published: 2014-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Shiny & Licks it Up After sweet itch this summer, my geldings tail was dry and top half rubbed off to about 4 inch hairs. Now, his winter coat is super shiny, farrier commented on hooves, and tail is re growing!
    Date published: 2014-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from He likes it We have been using this for two months now and our horse eats it no problem and he is not throwing his shoes as much as he used to I think it is because he has a stronger hoof.
    Date published: 2014-11-01
    • y_2017, m_1, d_18, h_15
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_136
    • loc_en_US, sid_1263, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders