Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
APF - Advanced Protection Formula
Auburn Laboratories Inc — Item #12285
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Help protect your horse from stress

  • Concentrated liquid extract of adaptogenic herbs shown to support cellular immune function
Advanced Protection Formula (APF) is a highly concentrated liquid extract of adaptogenic herbs, developed by an equine veterinarian. This supplement helps protect horses from stress, supports the immune system, and aids in healthy recovery. Recommended for daily use.

View our Immune Supplement Comparison Chart

View our Metabolic Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis for 1 SmartWafer:
  • Protein
    3.25 g
  • Vitamin A
    56.9 IU
  • Vitamin C
    2.46 mg
  • Thiamine
    0.125 mg
  • Riboflavin
    0.394
  • Niacin
    1.35 mg
  • Vitamin D
    54.1 IU
  • Vitamin E
    0.227 IU
  • Vitamin B6
    0.122 mg
  • Biotin
    0.009 mg
  • Sodium
    17.8 mg
  • Potassium
    197 mg
  • Calcium
    41.2 mg
  • Iron
    1.39 mg
  • Phosphorous
    91.2 mg
  • Iodine
    40.3 mcg
  • Magnesium
    42.3 mg
  • Zinc
    0.706 mg
  • Copper
    0.141 mg
  • Selenium
    9.7 mcg
  • Chromium
    <0.220 mcg
  • Manganese
    0.484 mg
A water-alcohol extract of: Eleutherococcus senticosus, Schizandra chinensis, Rhodiola rosea, Echinopanax elatus.

SmartWafer Ingredients: Whole wheat, corn, barley, triticale, millet, rye, wheat bran, flax seed, alfalfa seed, dulse (a bottom growing sea vegetable), unsulfured and blackstrap molasses, filtered water.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Suggested Usage:

Foals up to one year: 1/2 to 1 ml daily
Yearlings: 1 ml to 1 1/2 ml daily
Horses in light work: 2 ml to 3 ml daily
Performance horses and all horses during periods of intense training or stress: 4 ml to 6 ml daily

For horses which are laminitic or whose tests show elevated insulin levels and/or Cushing’s Disease, please use 2 mls per 250 lbs as a daily dose.

1 U.S. Fluid Ounce = approximately 30 ml, so a 4 oz bottle of APF contains approximately 120 ml

Therefore, a 4 oz. bottle will lasts 60 days when fed at a rate of 2 ml per day, will last 40 days when fed at a rate of 3 ml per day, will last 30 days when fed at a rate of 4 ml per day, etc.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus ...
    Description:
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus bromelain and quercetin, two herbs that help support a normal inflammatory response. This customer favorite includes the antioxidants grape seed extract, super oxide dismutase, vitamin C, and bioflavonoids to support respiratory cell ...
    "Soothe and support your horse’s airways with SmartBreathe ...
    Description:
    "Soothe and support your horse’s airways with SmartBreathe Paste. This comprehensive formula provides 5,000 mg of MSM plus the herb quercetin to help support a normal inflammatory response. N-acetyl cysteine is included for its ability to help protect respiratory tissues ...
    "Advanced Cetyl M Pellets are uniquely designed to ...
    Description:
    "Advanced Cetyl M Pellets are uniquely designed to help maintain and support joint health and function in horses. In addition, this formula may also help ease the discomfort that can occur from heavy exercise, training, and competition. The unique omega ...
    "LifeLine Equine Elite is a serum-based performance supplement ...
    Description:
    "LifeLine Equine Elite is a serum-based performance supplement designed for horses experiencing the stress of training, travel, and competition. AgeWell is a pelleted formula specifically formulated for older horses with an age-appropriate serving of the potent active ingredient BioThrive®. This ...
    "Cetyl M® Joint Action Formula is a unique, ...
    Description:
    "Cetyl M® Joint Action Formula is a unique, natural formula for supporting joint and muscle health and function. it is specially designed with cetyl myrisoleate - a powerful certified fatty acid that promotes comfort and mobility in joints and muscles." ...
    "Elevate SE was formulated to supply a combination ...
    Description:
    "Elevate SE was formulated to supply a combination of powerful antioxidants. Natural vitamin E and organic selenium yeast support healthy muscle, nerve, and reproductive functions, and help maintain a strong immune system. Selenium works in concert with vitamin E to ...
    "Spirulina is a fresh water blue green algae ...
    Description:
    "Spirulina is a fresh water blue green algae known for its numerous health benefits such as supporting immune function and a normal response to inflammation. This ingredient has also been reported to help horses prone to respiratory issues, especially those ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    APF - Advanced Protection Formula is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 76.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from APF I have just started using it. Hauled my horse up north and she appeared calmer.
    Date published: 2011-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! This was recomened by my Vet. I did not try it for a while because of the price and most of the things I had tried did not make differance. My horse shows sighns of insulin resistance. Combined with grass hay, no grain, working 1-2hrs 4 days a week, which she was already doing. APF and the IR Changed everything. She lost wieght and its stable. More energy and no creaty neck or fat pockets.
    Date published: 2011-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from First time trying this I intially did not see a change in my horse with this product (5 year old Morgan mare) but with a few weeks' usage, I am starting to see a difference and will continue with this product as we continue with her training. She is more focused and less likely to "blow up."
    Date published: 2011-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from APF This product brought my horse back from lymes. The day after starting APF my horsehad more energy and has progressively gottenbetter. He also has a large sarcoid and it's starting to die off as I was told it would do with APF. It does take awhile-you have to have patience! APF helps the cells work/functioncorrectly. It's best to read the info on thisproduct since I'm not a vet...I do feel my horsemy need to stay on APF indefinitely. It doesnot taste great but my horse looks for the cookieit comes on and eats it first! So he doesn't seemto mind!!! This product has helped me get myhorse rideable again!
    Date published: 2011-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Treat Choice I have a Quarter Horse and a Paint that are both young and high strung. When I moved them from my trainers to my ranch, I worried about their "nerves". Because they tend to be easy keepers, I don't give them treats. The APF smart wafer not only keeps them balanced but allows them to get a great treat every morning! I don't start their day without it!
    Date published: 2011-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent...Wafers are easy and horses love them First bought the liquid....good results but wafers are much easier for measurement and my horse loves them. He looks for them in his feed and eats them first.....Purchased APF for horse to help with Cushings and balancing his system with all his meds. He looks great and is doing quite well. Although this product is pricey, it is well worth it!
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprising Results My 22 year old quarter horse mare loves this stuff. She is normally very finicky about anything added to her feed. It seemed to help with her cough & she has almost too much energy.
    Date published: 2011-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Product Ever We have used APF for years but the smartpak pellet makes it very easy to assure that the proper dose is being given. Our horse has not had a health issue since this product has been given to him regularly! Was suggested by a vet when he coliced at age 6 and we have been using it ever since !
    Date published: 2011-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from APF for PPID/IR I use APF or APF Pro to help my older mare with PPID (Cushings) and Insulin Resistance. She is definitely perkier when on the APF or APF Pro. Her insulin levels tend to be lower when on it as well. Her usual dose is 4-6 ml/daily. Once when I was going out of town and there was a new horse coming to the farm while I was gone, I had my pony sitter increase the APF to 10ml daily hoping to combat any stress associated with the change in routine. When I returned from my trip I found my mare (then 24) acting like a 2 year old...running, bucking and even rearing at the gate if she thought I was not getting her in quickly enough! Made a believer out of me, although I went back to our usual smaller dose!! I will switch to the APF Pro when she is not doing as well or I am having a harder time getting her symptoms under control.
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from WHILE VERY EXPENSIVE - it does work I have a 25 yr old QH gelding that has allergies & immune issues... he recently was cast in his stall and struggled to right himself and in the process - tore the inside left hind hoof away from the coronet band (more than 1/3 of his hoof)...I immediately ordered this to help with the immune issues trying to avoid major infections even though we did have to put him on large doses of anti-biotics for 2 weeks.I do credit this product with helping keep his allergies at bay while recouping from this.I recoment using the "cookies" since getting the right amount with the dropper is beyond impossible - so do it the easy way and save your swear words for something else ;)
    Date published: 2010-12-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Actually Seems to be Working! I bought APF for my hot TB mare on the advise of my vet. She has only been on it a couple of weeks, but I really am seeing a difference in her general attitude. She seems to have a whole lot more patience than before. No more frantic "it's feeding time and I don't work while others are getting fed" attitude. I like what I'm seeing -- she's still definitely her same charming self, just without the edge. My only complaint, and it's relatively minor, is that I have to disguise the APF a bit when I put it into her grain. She's a "suspicious" eater and notices immediately when something isn't quite right with her grain. A couple of tablespoons of molasses seems to do the trick. Overall, I definitely will continue to use this product and have been recommending it to others in my barn.
    Date published: 2010-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hopeful About Product! A friend of mine has her EPM horse on the APF liquid and she highly recommended I put my IR horse on it. His immune system has been compromised since contracting Potomac Horse Fever in 2008. I can't say for certain if it's helping him as yet since he just started on the APF a week ago, but he loves the SmartPak wafers that have his daily dose of APF in them, so I'm anxious to see improvement in the next few months.
    Date published: 2010-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Remarkable! I had a bottle of this on hand that I originally bought for a Great Dane with Sarcoptic Mange and never used it. I have a Donkey that was recently diagnosed with Equine Metobolic Syndrome. I started him on the APF I had on hand, 3ml, and noticed a difference in his temprament that day. He has been on it for about 7 days and has already begun to shed out his winter coat. This is June and I was a bit worried about his not shedding. He is also so swollen that he can't drop throug his sheath to urinate. I asked a rep at Smart Pak and she suggested MSM along with the APF. Waiting for UPS on that one, but I did notice a slight reduction in his size. He was a rescue and has never let me brush him and after 3 days on the APF he has remarkabley let me brush him and has even rubbed against me! It's a wonder suppliment for sure! I will always buy it!!
    Date published: 2010-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cured a cough I started my mare on this product 4 weeks ago because she was coughing from seasonal allergies. She was coughing to to 4 times every 10 minutes and I had to quit riding her once the pollen count started rising in early March. After 3 days on this product - 1ml/day (on a wafer, which she gobbles up) I noted her cough down to about once every half hour. After 3 weeks I was only hearing a cough every now, and in the past week I haven't heard her cough at all. The pollen count is extremely high right now but this product has made it so that I can ride my mare again in the beautiful weather. Thank you!
    Date published: 2010-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Smart Pack Innovation APF was recommended to me by my vet but daily administration of drops doesn't work in my current boarding situation. The Smart Pak individual doses assures me my old guy is getting his supplement. I have already seen an improvement in his breathing and overall demeanor. Way to go, Smart Pak!
    Date published: 2010-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth Every Penny APF is just as important to my IR mare's health as her low-sugar balanced diet. Her body and immune system were wrecked by Lyme and Anaplasma. I added APF to her regime a couple of years ago on the advice of my vet. APF has been a huge part of her recovery... along with repairing her GI tract and finding the right joint support for her. Her insulin numbers have dropped from over 100 to the 20's. She is now healthy, sound, back in full work and she looks fantastic. Well worth the price.
    Date published: 2010-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from APF I am on my second bottle, giving my horse3mls a day...he has just come back from lymes disease and has really increased in strength sinceI've started with APF. I think it tastes awful andhe licks it off my hand! So that's good for him!!! He also has a large sarcoidin his groin area and half of it has fallen off sinceI've been giving him APF! Thatis a small miracle...it was really ugly& growing witheveryday! I believethis is helping him. It's worth a try..I'vetried almost everything for the sarcoid prior toAPF.This is my story and I'm keeping my horse on it for quiteawhile...!!!Good luck!!!
    Date published: 2010-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I think this is helping I purchased this for an extremely insulin resistant chronic laminitic horse.It's only been 2 weeks, but I'm seeing her more calm and less fearful. Cresty neck is softening.I'll try this for the long term and hope for continued recovery. Will definitely buy again. Will also use for my show horses given what it has done for this horses demeanor.
    Date published: 2010-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My horse is insulin resistant and prone to laminits. Together with a managed diet APF has been very helpful in balancing his insulin levels and keeping him sound.
    Date published: 2009-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gotta Have It I use this for my IR Morgan. He willingly takes it because he knows it's going to make him feel better.
    Date published: 2009-12-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't work for my horse. I got this to help my Fjord gelding when he started on Pergolide. I started with 4ml APF four days in advance, and he was eating it fine. Two days after starting pergolide this horse, who had never refused ANY food before, lost interest in everything but hay, which made it hard to gets his meds and supplements into him. I continued the APF for another week+, but it didn't help break through the "pergolide veil." I finally stopped adding the APF, and he started eating again. I bought this because trials have shown that it helps with this problem, and would still recommend that others try it if necessary, but it didn't work for this horse.
    Date published: 2009-11-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from taste test I was hoping my fussy eater would like the wafer. Nope, no way. I will switch to the liquid and add to the daily syringe...
    Date published: 2009-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from APF I use it on my very allergic draftx. One thing I noticed is that when Tucker gets his allergy shots, since using the APF, he no longer reacts to the shots with a site reaction.
    Date published: 2009-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Help with Squamous Cell Carcinoma I have been using AFP (2ml) cookie from SmartPak for almost 4 years now. My Appaloosa gelding developed SCC in the nictating membrane (third eyelid) approximately 6 years ago, which was treated by surgery (removal) and localized chemo therapy. Subsequently, about a year after surgery, a second tumor developed in a salivary gland, which was removed surgically. There was no chemo after second surgery due to the fact that he coliced very badly after the first and the vet felt it might not be a good idea. The only treatment was to boost his immune system, which lead me to AFP on the cookie from SmartPak.He has been on AFP since the second surgery with no reoccurence of tumors. It will be four years in Nov 2009 and we just returned from the NC mtns trail riding. He is 15 and going great.THANKS SMARTPAK AND AFP FOR A GREAT PRODUCT!!
    Date published: 2009-09-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Life saver In these hard times buying supplements is tough. APF is a good investment to protect your horse or help him when he is sick. I always use before and during traveling to rides and also when my horse seems a little off. If I could afford it I would use APF all the time , but for now I keep a bottle on hand in my emergency kit.
    Date published: 2009-08-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Idea I purchased the APF trying to help our horses get through Strangles. The older horse has done very well. The yearling, is showing some improvement but it has only been a week. We will see what happens.
    Date published: 2009-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very important part of Cushings/ir treatment I've been using this product for my 21 year old gelding since he was diagnosed with IR 4 years ago. It definitly helped keep his insulin levels within normal levels (along with the other diet changes). It became more apparent just how helpful this product is when Tico developed Cushing's disease a year ago. If I ran out because I didn't order quickly enough, I was able to tell within 2 days because he would go off his feed. I also can say, as a veterinarian that this is a great product.
    Date published: 2009-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for IR horses. Great product for IR horses. Helps the immune system which also helps the metabolic system.
    Date published: 2009-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-06-01
    • y_2017, m_1, d_17, h_5
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_66
    • loc_en_US, sid_2285, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders