Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

APF - Advanced Protection Formula

Auburn Laboratories Inc — Item #12285
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
Choose size & ship frequency
DAILY DOSES Top Pick

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?

Help protect your horse from stress

  • Concentrated liquid extract of adaptogenic herbs shown to support cellular immune function
Advanced Protection Formula (APF) is a highly concentrated liquid extract of adaptogenic herbs, developed by an equine veterinarian. This supplement helps protect horses from stress, supports the immune system, and aids in healthy recovery. Recommended for daily use.

View our Immune Supplement Comparison Chart

View our Metabolic Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis for 1 SmartWafer:
  • Protein
    3.25 g
  • Vitamin A
    56.9 IU
  • Vitamin C
    2.46 mg
  • Thiamine
    0.125 mg
  • Riboflavin
    0.394
  • Niacin
    1.35 mg
  • Vitamin D
    54.1 IU
  • Vitamin E
    0.227 IU
  • Vitamin B6
    0.122 mg
  • Biotin
    0.009 mg
  • Sodium
    17.8 mg
  • Potassium
    197 mg
  • Calcium
    41.2 mg
  • Iron
    1.39 mg
  • Phosphorous
    91.2 mg
  • Iodine
    40.3 mcg
  • Magnesium
    42.3 mg
  • Zinc
    0.706 mg
  • Copper
    0.141 mg
  • Selenium
    9.7 mcg
  • Chromium
    <0.220 mcg
  • Manganese
    0.484 mg
A water-alcohol extract of: Eleutherococcus senticosus, Schizandra chinensis, Rhodiola rosea, Echinopanax elatus.

SmartWafer Ingredients: Whole wheat, corn, barley, triticale, millet, rye, wheat bran, flax seed, alfalfa seed, dulse (a bottom growing sea vegetable), unsulfured and blackstrap molasses, filtered water.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Suggested Usage:

Foals up to one year: 1/2 to 1 ml daily
Yearlings: 1 ml to 1 1/2 ml daily
Horses in light work: 2 ml to 3 ml daily
Performance horses and all horses during periods of intense training or stress: 4 ml to 6 ml daily

For horses which are laminitic or whose tests show elevated insulin levels and/or Cushing’s Disease, please use 2 mls per 250 lbs as a daily dose.

1 U.S. Fluid Ounce = approximately 30 ml, so a 4 oz bottle of APF contains approximately 120 ml

Therefore, a 4 oz. bottle will lasts 60 days when fed at a rate of 2 ml per day, will last 40 days when fed at a rate of 3 ml per day, will last 30 days when fed at a rate of 4 ml per day, etc.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "dac® Orange Superior is a vitamin and mineral ...
    Description:
    "dac® Orange Superior is a vitamin and mineral supplement designed for use in the diets of working horses, broodmares, and stallions. Minerals play a critical role in numerous metabolic functions, including: reproduction, bone development, nerve function, immune function, and hoof, ...
    "Elevate wasdeveloped to provide a highly bioavailable source ...
    Description:
    "Elevate wasdeveloped to provide a highly bioavailable source of natural vitamin E tohorses. Vitamin E, a powerful antioxidant, limits the damage caused by everydayoxidative stress. It maintains healthy muscle and nerve function and supports ahealthy immune system in horses of ...
    "Elevate SE was formulated to supply a combination ...
    Description:
    "Elevate SE was formulated to supply a combination of powerful antioxidants. Natural vitamin E and organic selenium yeast support healthy muscle, nerve, and reproductive functions, and help maintain a strong immune system. Selenium works in concert with vitamin E to ...
    "Farrier's Magic FLEX-n-ACTION Pelleted Joint Product supplies researched ...
    Description:
    "Farrier's Magic FLEX-n-ACTION Pelleted Joint Product supplies researched ingredients including glucosamine HCl, hyaluronic acid, chondroitin sulfate, and generous levels of ultra pure MSM. All of these connective tissue components are blended in a very palatable base of premium quality timothy-based ...
    "Superior joint support at an incredible price. The ...
    Description:
    "Superior joint support at an incredible price. The proven support you expect from Finish Line, combining the ""building blocks"" for healthy joints with the extra support of hyaluronic acid (HA). HA promotes healthy joint function by aiding in the lubrication ...
    "Omega Horseshine® is a premium omega 3 essential ...
    Description:
    "Omega Horseshine® is a premium omega 3 essential fatty acid supplement made with fortified, stabilized, ground flax. Horse Journal's: ""Product of the Year!"", ""Our First Pick - Most Concentrated Source of Quality Omega-3"", & ""Recommended Immune-Boosting Product"". Recommended by John ...
    "Probiotic for horses with beneficial bacteria, yeast culture, ...
    Description:
    "Probiotic for horses with beneficial bacteria, yeast culture, enzymes, and fructooligosaccharides (FOS) to help enhance the digestive tract and overall health. The unique combination of ingredients enhance nutrient absorption, encourage the growth of fiber-digesting bacteria, stabilize digestive tract pH, and ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    APF - Advanced Protection Formula is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 79.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for cellulitis My horse was quite prone to cellulitis, getting it several time a year. I started him on APF and, knock on wood, have not had a single case of it since and it has been over a year. I started with the high end of the dose recommendation and have weaned him down to 1 ml twice a day. I like the liquid as I can easily adjust the dosage if need be.
    Date published: 2016-10-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from still looking for a solution for heaves second product i've tried, but still not quite solving the respritory issues. will keep trying.
    Date published: 2016-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT RESULTS! I have a 9 yr old mare ...never had any problems until early fall of 2015 after show season. I use her western pleasure and last year she started to show slight signs of allergies ...symptoms would come and go...wasn't too concerned until fall she broke out in HIVES! and for 5 months.Wanted to avoid steroids because of side effects...started to research ...ended up being stress..contacted smartpaks and they recommeded APF .shipping was quick and started the day i received supplement and within 2 days hives were GONE! I highly recommend this product for daily maintance for immune health and my mare seems more comfortable than before
    Date published: 2016-03-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from No noticeable benefit My mare has allergies and PPID. I have been feeding APF for several months with the hope that it would provide additional support for her system. Unfortunately, I did not notice a difference while feeding this and she still gets hives despite being on a daily dose. It is too expensive to feed "just because." I am disappointed since my picky mare didn't mind the taste! I appreciate that SmartPak offered this on their SmartWafer - my horse always ate it!
    Date published: 2015-12-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product The product is easy to feed, the small amount of liquid soaks readily into the pellets and seems very palatable. My mare never hesitated to eat her ration, as per usual. She is doing well on it, seeming less concerned about cold and rain, environmental stressors that used to send her into shivers. I previously gave the same supplement to a rescue horse that had a breathing problem. It was miraculously "cured" with the APF Formula!
    Date published: 2015-11-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I bought this product on the recommendation of a group helping horse owners deal with the inappetence associated with Prascend administration. Unfortunately I could only get it in his mouth with a syringe. He hates the taste!
    Date published: 2015-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results My horse really moves forward when on his daily dose of apt.
    Date published: 2015-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really a miracle My mare suffers from hives every year starting in springtime. I gave up on the recommended vet medication years ago because the hives come right back after the course of treatment and the drugs are not good on an ongoing basis. I just got a bottle of APF last week and it really worked like a miracle. Whinny was covered in huge, oozing welts all over her barrel and chest. They went away literally overnight after the first day of using APF. I am a big skeptic and did not really believe the reviews, but now I'm a believer. If your horse has hives, this is the product to try first. I hope it works for your horse as well as it worked for mine!
    Date published: 2015-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle worker! My Morgan gelding has suffered from horrible, oozing hives all over his body for over a year now - they appear out of nowhere, in every environment (hot/cold temperatures, indoors and outdoors, at home and at shows). We were never able to isolate the cause of the hives and were unable to find any relief for my gelding besides the usual pharmaceutical remedies (which aren't good in the long term). I came across APF while doing some online research on herbal remedies, hoping not to have to keep him on prescription drugs any longer. I ordered the recommended dosage on SmartPak wafers. My gelding's hives literally disappeared overnight and haven't returned since! His coat is shiny, his eyes are bright, his energy level is through the roof - he is the best possible version of himself, even after lowering the dose a bit for cost savings. I would recommend this product to anyone!
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is fantastic! I started my horse on this in the spring because I read that it might help with anhidrosis. He had an injury early in the summer and was on stall rest for the month of July and was just walking for the month of August. He has not lost muscle or much topline and looks fantastic for a horse that spent 60 days basically doing nothing. My friends horse spent some time on stall rest over the spring and did not look anywhere as good as mine. They are both older TBs. I definitely believe the APF is the reason my horse looks so good. He's also been sweating pretty normally all summer.
    Date published: 2014-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from incredible My Morgan picked up a bad tick while showing and came down with a severe case of Lyme Disease. He was at the "help him or put him down" stage. I was looking for anything, and I mean anything, that might help. I already had him on Smartpaks so I decided to try APF. That was 5 years ago. At first I thought the Lyme flare ups that happened when I ran out of the product were just a coincidence. Nope. Now I keep my boy on this product daily without fail. I even keep spare bottles at home in case the barn's bottle is out. Seriously. While it didn't cure the Lyme (nothing did, not even 3 weeks in intensive care on IV antibiotics) I believe it helps prevent the flareups that endanger his well being. Incredible stuff.
    Date published: 2014-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver! My OTTB has a long list of medical problems--founder, laminitis, club feet and arthritis just to name a few--and then last April, he started developing hives. At first we chalked it up to the changing season, pollens, flies, etc., but no matter what we did the hives remained. I had lots of expensive allergy testing done that was inconclusive, and he was on a series of different allergy medications with no success. By December, he STILL had the hives, and had also become very listless and depressed, and I feared we were nearing the end. As a last ditch effort I called Smartpak and asked to speak to a supplement specialist, and the lovely lady I spoke with suggested APF. Within DAYS the hives were almost gone, and within in a week he was hive free. He also perked up and is back to his normal personality, and has been consistently sound since he started APF. He has been on it for nearly 6 weeks now, and the hives have not returned. I am extremely impressed with this supplement---it may have saved my horse's life!
    Date published: 2014-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprising results! I tried SmartBreathe for my poor IR guy who has allergy issues which cause labored breathing and runny eyes when it is hot and humid but sadly it caused stomach upset. In desperation, I spoke with a representative who suggested I try this, so I did. Within a week I noticed his breathing was significantly improved. What I wasn't expecting was that the scratches I had been fighting for 8 months were clearing and he wasn't as itchy all over. His eyes stopped watering too. The giant scabs from scratches that I had tried nearly every product known to man daily, were going away and healthy skin was appearing. Great surprise! He loves the cookie form. I love the results so much I added these to the SmartPak of my other horse. I wish I had known to try this sooner. They seem to work for everything that ails you. Maybe I should start eating them myself. :)
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good Dixie has barely been on it 2 months, but I do see an improvement in her energy. Thank you. I'll keep using it.
    Date published: 2013-05-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's ok I think, for us, this works better as something to use before travel than for general health. My 11 year old guy is recovering from EPM, and I haven't noticed that it's helped him regain weight or muscle better than without. I've been using it for about 2 months now. It might be a better product if your horse has other reasons for weight loss and muscle ataxia.
    Date published: 2013-05-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great to help with stress I heard about this product on the Yahoo Cushings group, as a way to help horses deal with stress (medication, moving, injuries, etc) and tried it on my mare during a recent stressful move. She seemed to handle things more calmly than previously, and she just gobbled it right up. Seems like a great product to have on hand.
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from APF helps horse with severe allergies Excellent results and my Vet approved of the product too.
    Date published: 2012-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greatcwaybtobadminister APF I like the wafer for administering the APF, so much easier than drops which can get over done. Cost is still pricey, but that is because of the overall APF cost, not what Smart Pak has done.
    Date published: 2012-07-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from really effective I give this to a 9 yr old mare who was seriously underwieght when purchased, but going into 3rd level dressage work- she is a very hard keeper, but her wieght is now normal despite a full training schedule, her muscle tone is amazing, topline is lovely- she is also keeping her "cool" which has always been a problem-
    Date published: 2012-05-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from 118 days? No way! I haven't given this to my horse long enough to know how well it works. It does seem to be quite palitable. However, I don't know where they came up with a bottle lasting 118 days. Recommended dosage on the label is 4 to 6 ml per 1,000 lbs. for a horse in light work and 6 to 10 ml for a horse in moderate to heavy use or if you are treating for an illness. By my way of thinking, a bottle will last only a month. Pretty expensive! I hope it works. I will have to come back and adjust the star rating if I see good results.
    Date published: 2012-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best supplement investments This supplement has been an absolute lifesaver for me. I have had my horse for the past 10 years and over the past 3 years, he has had some trouble with skin conditions, especially scratches. I had been battling a horrible case of scratches since October of 2011. I tried pretty much every topical I could think of, used proper management for cleaning, etc and they wouldn't improve. Since scratches can be related to a weakened immune system, I decided what better way to help support him there than with this supplement. I started to do 4ml a day on a SmartWafer and within a week and a half, his scratches are 75% gone. I absolutely attribute this to the APF. And, on top of it, my horse LOVES the way it tastes. Win, Win!
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of Mind This product produced a noticable slimming and energizing effect on my aging Arab mare - exactly what I was looking for. Khemalowa went Top Ten at AHA Sport Horse Nationals 2011 at First Level!
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Immune booster After a summer of Lyme treatment and fall bee stings, I am using APF to bolster the immune system before moving indoors for the winter. Terrific idea putting the drops in a horse cookie! "The girls" become quite excited when the "treat" is handed out.
    Date published: 2011-11-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Eases anxiety away from home My trainer used this product instead of ulcer guard on an easily upset and anxious mare that previously needed ulcer guard to maintain her appetite away from home...worked like a charm!
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful product This has helped my horses following antibiotics for lyme. They were back to themselves in only a couple of days. Now they take it all the time to keep their immune system strong.
    Date published: 2011-09-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from change for the better Since I started my 21 year old Cushings mare on APF (on Smartwafers) about two months ago, I have seen some positive changes. Her coat is smoother and shinier. Her attitude seems less grumpy, and she is arguing less with the gelding stalled next to her. I would say she is both more mellow and more energetic. She thought the Smartwafers tasted weird at first (much head-shaking and mouth-gaping) but after a couple of times, she started looking for them. I started seeing the more positive attitude after only a couple of days on the APF. So I will be feeding it as long as I can afford it.
    Date published: 2011-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product! My aged gelding has Cushing's and, since putting him on APF (in wafer form), he is doing great!
    Date published: 2011-08-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better for use as needed My horse is generally a pretty mellow guy, but tends to get lots of little cuts and injuries because he does like to play in the field, and he takes a little longer than usual to heal up from them. I started him on APF to help with his overall immune response and give him a boost. However, I don't think I can keep him on it every day as it seems to have given him a little *too* much energy. He's much more high strung now than he ever was before, even as a 4 year old! I think I will set the wafers aside and give them to him as needed since I do think he experienced an overall improvement in immune response and at the very least how well he *feels*!
    Date published: 2011-07-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from APF I have just started using it. Hauled my horse up north and she appeared calmer.
    Date published: 2011-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! This was recomened by my Vet. I did not try it for a while because of the price and most of the things I had tried did not make differance. My horse shows sighns of insulin resistance. Combined with grass hay, no grain, working 1-2hrs 4 days a week, which she was already doing. APF and the IR Changed everything. She lost wieght and its stable. More energy and no creaty neck or fat pockets.
    Date published: 2011-06-13
    • y_2017, m_12, d_17, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_69
    • loc_en_US, sid_2285, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 15ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders