Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Harwich Elastic Breastplate by SmartPak

Item #19843

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Harwich Elastic Breastplate is made with eye catching SmartPak Blue elastic which also allows for greater freedom of movement for your horse while he is moving or jumping. The elastic allows the shoulder to move more freely yet still stabilizing your saddle. Includes running attachment.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Harwich Elastic Breastplate by SmartPak is rated 4.24 out of 5 by 25.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice for the price I was worried about purchasing this breastplate since it only came in one size. I have a very typie, feminine, 16 hd thoroughbred who is generally a cob size on bridles and breastplates; however, she is almost always on the last holes. I tried the HDR cob breastplate, and it was too small. Then I tried HDR horse breastplate, and it swallowed her. I really wanted a 5 point, but I figured that would be even harder to fit, so I figured with free return shipping why not try this one.I was pleasantly surprised. I make it a point to never buy tack made in India, but this is good quality for Indian leather. The color is very dark, which matches my saddle well. The navy elastic is one of my XC colors, so that was a bonus. It fit her great! She is narrow in the chest and shoulders, and I had to put it on the smallest setting on the d-rings.I am very happy with the purchase.
    Date published: 2013-05-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice - Like The Elastic Leather quality not what I expected for the price.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I have been using this breastplate for a couple weeks and am thrilled not to have spent an arm and a leg on something so lovely! The leather is very dark and looks especially great after being oiled. I like that the martingale attachment is fully adjustable. I do have everything adjusted to the smallest size to fit my 16.1hh TB. If it stretches I will need to punch new holes, no big deal. My only wishes are that the martingale would come with a snap or clip to the breastplate for easy on/off, and a snap/clip on the girth attachment would be nice too. I noticed some of the super expensive all-leather breastplates also have a little padding on the round center section of the breastplate that sits mid-chest, which I suppose would make it a bit more comfortable. But my guy seems fine with this, and I imagine the leather will continue to soften up over time. It does look quite excellent and gets the job done.
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Way Darker than I expected I ordered this with the Harwich Fancy Stitched bridle so that it would match but the breastplate is almost black in color and the leather isn't as supple as the bridle leather.
    Date published: 2013-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Customer-Great Price and Quality! I have not tried this breastplate on my horse yet, but I was really pleased with the leather quality. This is the range I can afford and this is the best quality that I have ever bought for an average price range product - maybe any price range! Not to mention - I love the free shipping and discount for SmartPak users!
    Date published: 2012-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Breastplate/martingale! This thing is BEAUTIFUL! I LOVE it! The breastplate fits my horse pretty well but it does run large, especially the martingale attachment. I had to punch holes and it's still a bit long. Still trying to sort out how to make it shorter. However, I'd buy it again, even knowing the martingale attachment runs big.
    Date published: 2012-11-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Breastplate for the Price I was nervous about ordering this breastplate for 2 reasons. 1) I have a GIANT Tb Belgian X and was worried that the one size wouldn't fit him. 2) I was worried because some of the reviews said that it wasn't very good quality.This breastplate fits my big 17.2 hand draft X great - not even on the last holes! The elastic is nice - blue and white, as advertised. The leather isn't the best quality, but is very good for the price. I will recommend this product to friends looking for a breastplate - overall very satisfied with my purchase!
    Date published: 2012-10-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful, durable The breastplate is gorgeous, durable and cleans very well. I use it for xc and jumper shows and love the elastic fit. My 16.1 medium build OTTB has very thin skin and this does not rub or irritate him at all, even on long rides in sweaty summer heat! The only issue is that it does run big, I had to punch holes in the girth strap and the saddle straps, but that is an easy fix. I would absolutely recommend this product!
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Breastplate Very nice breastplate, does the job and looks good. I punched two extra holes for the girth strap, my horse is a TB, not a WB. I love how easily it attaches to my saddle and the blue elastic straps are handsome. Would definitely get another and recommend.
    Date published: 2012-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this breastplate! I bought this breastplate for my 16.3 TB, who is a tad narrow. I had read in other reviews that it runs a bit small, especially on the big warmbloods. On my narrow TB, everything is on the second to top hole, and fits perfectly! I had wanted elastic because he's very active with his shoulders, and his old leather one was a bit too big, and rubbed him, and I felt like he just did not like it. Now, in this one, he looks amazing, and I'm at peace of mind that he's not being restrited.
    Date published: 2012-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits very nicely I did not have any fitting issues that were encountered in some of the other reviews. I have a 17.3 TB, but he is pretty narrow. I ended up putting the adjustment for the dee-ring/clip straps on the smallest holes, and the girth strap on the second from the smallest hole. The leather is nice and softens up quickly. The only quibble I would make is that I will need to punch extra holes on the dee straps if the leather stretches out. I also can't really comment on durability as I have only used the product for less than a month, but the stitching looks like it will hold up well.
    Date published: 2012-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality The leather on this is better than you would expect for the price. I love the elastic--it's got give but is firm enough to keep things in place. I don't use the included running attachment, but it's decent. The strap to the girth is quite long and the straps to the dees aren't as long as I would like. It fits my 15.2hh mare (large chest/shoulder) with the dee straps as long as they go. I wish the dee straps were longer so the center ring would sit lower on my horse's chest, but it's a minor thing.Overall, a good purchase and I'd buy again.
    Date published: 2012-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Breastplate! I bought this breastplate when I was at Rolex after looking at it online for about 4 months. It's a beautiful color and the leather is nice and supple right out of the bag! I saw no signs of discoloration that some have said in other reviews. I have a TB who is very narrow so I was concerned that it only came in a full size but with it on the smallest hole it fits him great. I've used it now for about a month and it still looks brand new. I couldn't be happier!
    Date published: 2012-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't Be Happier! I was hesistant to buy this based on the reviews of how it fit. I have two TB's of different builds and was looking for one breatplate for them to share. One is 17h with a solid build, the other 16.1 with a slighter build. The breastplate was soft and supple right out of the box and the navy elastic is very stylish and looks great! It fit both of my horses with plenty of adjustability! Very happy and satisfied, will be buying another one soon!
    Date published: 2012-02-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed I bought this breastplate hoping it would fit my stocky 17.2 hh warmblood. I was very disappointed when I took it out of the box, it is NOT blue and white but instead blue and a pinkish color like the dye bled. There were also a few flaws in the elastic itself. The leather quality is good for the price. I was not surprised when it did not fit my horse, it was a concern when I ordered it. However, the breastplate runs incredibly small. It would fit a 15 hh horse perfectly and MAYBE a little bigger horse if you were handy with a holepunch. The breastplate in the picture is not the one I recieved. Thankfully SmartPak provides amazing customer service and I was able to quickly make an exchange for saddle pads with the selle francais brand.
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very attractive breastplate I ordered this breastplate for a new horse that I recently purchased. I thought the blue would look really nice on him, and it does! It fits great, although I did need to add a hole or 2 at the bottom where it attaches to the girth to not have it be loose. Not a big deal though and everything else fits perfect. I gave it 4 stars on the durability just because I haven't used it for very long. Seems like it will hold up really well to being used, so far so good!
    Date published: 2011-12-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not What I Expected. I will preface this review by saying that Smartpak customer service let me know that there was a mistake with the shipment for the breastplate I received. I had called to find out about the coloring, which ended up being navy and pinkish - like the navy dye ran. Assuming this was the mistake, then Smartpak has I'm sure fixed it already.However, I could not fit this breastplate on my 16.2 hh, regular bodied TB. It literally would not attach to both d rings, even when adjusted to the last hole-- it was that short. It seems that a horse like mine would be the exact target audience for this product, so maybe this was part of the mistake as well. Either way, I'm returning it. Bummer because it looks beautiful in the picture (although, if you look closely, it is adjusted to the last hole, so it's small on the model horse even).
    Date published: 2011-11-29
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.