Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Heritage Extreme Winter Gloves

Heritage Gloves
- Item #19807

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Heritage Extreme Winter glove was designed for riding in the coldest weather conditions. The Extreme Winter glove is made with all waterproof materials, 3M Thinsulate® insulation and Polar Fleece liner making this one of the warmest riding gloves available.

Features:

    • Stretch Nylon Spandura® outer shell bonded to a waterproof inner membrane
    • Super Grip® synthetic grain leather - Breathable Super Grip increases grip on reins
    • Waterproof and breathable liner
    • Four barriers of of protection and a warm comfortable fit keep the cold, wet and wind out 
    • 3M Thinsulate® insulation is bonded to a thick polar fleece liner
    • In seamed construction means no exposed seams to the elements 
    • Long knit cuff with elastic band
    • Zippered hand warmer pocket (can alternately be used for ID card, money or keys)

 Imported.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Heritage Extreme Winter Gloves is rated 4.1429 out of 5 by 35.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not a bad glove I bought them for christmas for my girls and myself.  I do like the way they fit.  I dont have much luck with the the touch area on the finger tips for my phone.  My hands take a while to warm up inside when it is real cold but on normal days they work well.  Lack of bulk is a great feature.  Not sure about the waterproof aspect yet.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very warm! Living in Southern California I have not had many opportunities to wear this glove but when I did they kept my hands very warm.
    Date published: 2014-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter schooling gloves I received these gloves as a Christmas gift and absolutely love them. Usually my go-to gloves for winter have been the SSG leather winter training glove but I've always had to replace them annually because they lose their grippy feel. These are new favorite winter riding glove because they are grippy AND warm! I would have to agree with other reviewers that they run a tad small. I ordered my normal size 7 and they are a little small, but I was able to ride in them just fine. Initially I was worried about the bulk of glove when riding and was pleasantly surprised that they didn't feel bulky at all when riding.  The gloves are very warm too. I used them in the 20s and my hands were warm without being too warm. I would highly recommend these gloves for those riding in the colder climate.
    Date published: 2014-01-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very warm These are great gloves, and I plan to keep them. However, they are a bit tight to get on, but that is just to keep a snug fit around the wrist, not a bad thing, just wanted to point this out for future shoppers.  They are a tiny bit too bulky for me for riding, but maybe that is just because i have other winter gloves that are not as bulky that I prefer to use. So far, they keep water out, as I've had to put my finger in cold water buckets and no water got inside the glove, so 5 stars on the waterproofing so far.  They are warm. however ends of my fingers get cold, but I also have poor extremity circulation, so that might just be me :-)
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall good gloves I bought these gloves a couple weeks ago and have not worn them in extremely cold weather yet, but I look forward to. I love the pocket for hand warmers/keys/cash and they fit my hands the way the sizing guide told me they would. The only reason I did not give these gloves 5 stars was because if my hands are cold and I put them in the gloves my fingers stay cold. Otherwise these gloves are great in the wind and water.
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from These gloves are very warm! I really like these gloves a lot. They have a nice long wrist elastic section to keep this area warm in between the end of the coat and the beginning of your hand that often gets VERY cold when riding! They are very waterproof and well insulated. The only drawback to these gloves is that they do not breathe very well. If my hands get sweaty during my lesson, the inside of the glove does not dry out at all unless I turn the glove inside out and lay them on a heat register in my house. This has resulted in cold wet fingers on a couple of occasions because I couldn't get them dry. Overall a GREAT glove but maybe not the best for serious, athletic riding sessions. 
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The first pair I purchased, went back to SmartPak as it was the older version without the zippered pocket. SmartPak's customer service was extrememly helpful in making sure I got the newer version sent to me.The glove itself seems very warm (I do have SSG silk glove liners to add when it gets really cold), though a little bulky for my taste. They seem to be very well put together, but I haven't had them long enough to comment on durability.
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for Very Cold Weather! I have had these gloves for several weeks now, and have ridden in them in the 30's as well as the recent negative digit weather with a "feels like" in the -20s, so they have been very thoroughly tested. These gloves are almost too warm for me in the mid-to-upper 30's but kept my fingers very nice and warm in the colder temps. They are bulky and I find myself taking them off to tack up, and have started to wear different gloves for that part of my day and swapping into these for my rides. While they are bulky (mine, at a size 8, are a little large for me- I wear a SSG ladies universal and an 8 in heritage's cheaper show gloves) I have not struggled to get or keep a hold on the reins, which is a blessing. Warm, waterproof and windproof. I love the pocket for the hand warmer, but haven't needed to use it. Construction is very nice, and these gloves washed well, but took a very long time to dry (and needed to be turned mostly inside out to get completely dry). Phone finger pad doesn't work all that well, but isn't a feature I would use a lot either way. TL:DR: Great glove for very very cold weather. I would suggest something lighter if you're consistently riding in temps around or above freezing, as my hands (which are usually cold) sweated on warmer days. These were a lifesaver in the -20's temps I rode in yesterday, and I didn't have to worry about the gloves while trying to control my rambunctious 4-year-old
    Date published: 2013-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am very happy with the gloves. My hands are finally warm.
    Date published: 2013-12-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-03-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great! ... with a few comments This glove is a wonderful purchase. I got it right before we (the Northeast) were hit by that terrible cold spell. While the glove doesn't warm up my hand if they are cold, it will keep them warm if I put them in warm. I usually just run my hands under hot water, get the circulation going, then slip on the gloves and I'm golden for the rest of the ride.The gloves are thinner than most snow/winter gloves that are not rider specific, which is very helpful. They are made of a very sticky leather on the inside of the glove, so if you need to pick up small objects or do up the buckles on your bridle, you don't really need to take them off.These gloves do run a bit small!!!! I ordered a 7 (which is my show glove size and I am usually true to size), the fingers are a tad short, but more importantly the palm is a bit small. The wrist begins on top of the bulbs of my palm. It didn't bother me too much, and as I said we were about to hit 5 degree weather, so I opted to keep them rather than exchange them. My advice: definitely order a size up.The material seem extremely durable! I am very impressed with the quality.
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my gloves! I have only had a few opportunities to wear my new gloves. They are very comfortable, not bulky, and warm. When I first went out in cold weather with them, I thought they were not going to be warm enough, but they seem to keep my body heat in and become very nice and warm! I like 'em a lot!
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice Gloves I needed some warm, good fitting gloves for winter riding and these fit the bill. They are comfortable, fit well, and stretch when I close my hands. I have not yet had the opportunity to ride in them, but I think they will be great!
    Date published: 2013-01-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from VERY WARM!!! I gave them only 4 stars becuase I just got them and have only worn them once so I am not sure about their duarbility. I really like them so far though. They are very warm and have great grip to them. I had the SSG 10 below last year and they only last about a year before i had to replace them. These gloves are much warmer than the SSG 10 below and I belive they are also more weather/water proof. I hope that they will be more duarble as well.
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice gloves! very nice gloves, took a bit to break in but they fit great!
    Date published: 2013-01-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best I've found so far These gloves are the best I've found so far that are the right combination of being warm and water-proof without being too bulky to be functional. They are definitely warm, although I've only experienced down to about 30 degrees so far, they about made my hands sweat so I think they'll be fine in the warmth aspect. I always find it tough to get gloves that are the proper finger length, there's always a finger too long and one too short, but these gloves come the closest to fitting all my fingers the best. They are a little bulkier than I was hoping, so don't try to pick up anything too small, but for the most part, I can groom, tack up, and ride without taking them off. I really like the texture of the palms and shavings don't stick to the outer material. Pretty much everything I wanted, maybe warmer than needed, but the dexterity could be a little better. They seem like they will hold up for a long time, so I'd say they are worth the money.
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Better than most I wish a manufacturer would come up with gloves that really keep your hands, all the way down to the tip of your fingers warm. On the other hand, keeping the flexibility of the gloves in tack. I have tried many brands and yet to find what I really want.I ride multiple horses each day so for the money these gloves are well made and hold up well. They do run a little on the small size.
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keeping my Raynaud's hands warm I have tried so many gloves over the years trying to find a glove that will keep my Raynaud's syndrome at bay when I'm at the barn. I received these gloves about a week ago, and so far, my fingers have been warm - too warm when the temp is in the thirties! I rode with them today for the first time, and they were a bit bulky and stiff, but I got used to them fairly quickly. I was able to fully tack up without removing the gloves. My only complaint so far is the horrible chemical smell they had straight out of the packaging. I'm really hoping that smell subsides. The fit is true to size for me. Temperatures will be dropping into the teens and single digits over the next few days, so these gloves will really be put to the test, but so far so good!
    Date published: 2014-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very warm I wore the SSG 10 below gloves all last winter but decided to try these to see if they were any warmer . They are! I get very sore hands and live in a cold climate where it is frequently between 0-10 degrees inside the barn. These have kept my hands warm to the point of sweating at times. I'm thrilled to FINALLY have a pair of warm gloves. They are ok to ride in (though I usually switch to a lighter glove) and are hardy enough to do barn chores in.
    Date published: 2013-12-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm for winter These gloves keep my hands warm in the cold weather. I do need to put them on in the warm house before I go out to get all my fingers warm.
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality I bought these gloves as a gift for someone and they were quite happy with them. I gave them 4 stars instead of 5 because he has not had a chance to test them in really cold weather.They were comfortable to ride with and were not bulky. He was able to fully tack up the horse without removing the gloves. They should be great for riding but would not recommend for heavy duty chores.
    Date published: 2012-01-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from winter gloves returned for size correction -have not rec. the new size yet
    Date published: 2013-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome gloves! Keep your hands warm in very cold weather without being too bulky. Wear great, the palm and pointer finger wore the fastest for me.
    Date published: 2013-11-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from New use for great gloves I haven't been able to use them riding too much yet but I did recently use them to protect my hands while icing my horses face after he got into something he was allergic to. They kept my hands perfectly warm and I could barely feel any cold coming through from the ice bags and I was icing him for 15 mins. They fit great and stay really warm. They're somewhat bulky but not anymore so than any other winter glove made for the same temperature range. My only complaint is that they smelled AWFUL when I first got them. I don't know if it comes from the waterproofing chemicals or what but the smell still didn't come completely out after washing them so I've just been using them even more so they'll hopefully air out. Only gave them a 4 in durability because I haven't had them long enough to comment on that yet.
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.