Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Rambo Replacement Bungee Tail Cord

Horseware Ireland
- Item #19535
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Rambo Replacement Bungee Tail Cord can be used to replace the usual tail strap on Horseware blankets.  The elasticized PVC covered cord is flexible and easy to clean taking the pressure off fittings and straps.

Sizing It Up

30cm - 60-69 blanket
40cm - 72-75 blanket
50cm - 78-81 blanket
60cm - 84-87 blanket.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo Replacement Bungee Tail Cord is rated 4.5862 out of 5 by 58.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Such a good idea... But a little expensive for an add on...why isn't this standard on all Horseware blankets?
    Date published: 2014-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Special blanket accessory Easy to clean, durable and interchangeable on all your blankets and sheets.
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great replacement for poop straps These are great replacements for the tail cords and straps on horse clothes. You know, the "poop collectors", whose snaps become frozen with gunk. I have different sizes and depending on where Dee rings are located, I use a 30, 40 or 50 cm length. SO much easier to keep clean, and they have held up pretty well through 2 or 3 winter seasons so far.
    Date published: 2014-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great idea! I bought this to replace the leg straps on a blanket that I use on a mare that sometimes kicks when I fasten leg straps. Works great and the blanket stays in place.
    Date published: 2014-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better design I have replaced the tail straps on several blankets with Rambo Replacement Bungee Tail Cords. I like the flexibility of the tail cord but I especially appreciate the plastic coating/sleeve. It makes it easier to clean and minimizes the inevitable debris that remains behind as the blankets are taken on and off a horse. The clips can be challenging to attach depending on the size of the attachment rings.
    Date published: 2014-08-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product, I got the smallest size I was flummoxed as to which size to get and had to go to the barn and measure, just get the smallest size, I'm not sure why you'd want it bigger unless your blanket was too small - it just needs to reach across and under the tail. Certainly a better option than using baling twine when the old one breaks, which rips their hair. Rated it a little low on value and overall b/c of the price, I would think $10 would be fairer but I finally got 2 b/c I wanted to preserve my horse's tail.
    Date published: 2014-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm ordering them for all our blankets! This has worked out so well, we have decided to replace all of our tail cords with this. The PVC coating really helps keep it cleaner (which means healthier!) and it's easy to remove when needed.
    Date published: 2014-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile! I purchased this over a month ago to use with my schnieder turnout blanket in place of the leg straps and it works great. It's so much faster blanketing without leg straps. I have even used it with the schnieder turnout attached to a rambo liner without shifting. My horse is a size 78" blanket
    Date published: 2014-01-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Replacement cords I'm thankful for replacements and hoping the new cords are more durable in low temps...as here they come...
    Date published: 2014-01-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Way to Upgrade Old Rambos I bought four of these tail cords for some of my older Rambos that are still serviceable but came with the nylon tail cords. I was tired of trying to clean the manure off of them, and found that the metal clips broke, got stuck on things, etc. So I decided to purchase these as replacements for the nylon tail cords. I like them much better, as they are easier to clean. My only concern is that the clips are plastic, and I'm not sure they will be able to take a hit. But I thought they were worth a shot for the price and convenience.
    Date published: 2014-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant idea! Love this - SO smart! The Rambo Bungee Replacement tail cord is the perfect answer to the yucky problem of constantly dirty blanket tail cords. It's a clear plastic tubing covering a bungee cord, it's very pliable, and is so much easier to clean that I don't feel like I need to "glove and gown" to maintain it. The clips are really tight, so be careful adding or removing. The length should be listed in inches, not cm, both the relaxed length and the maximum extension of the cord.
    Date published: 2013-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great accessory for Horseware products! Got one for each of my horses going on 2 years ago.  They've been on various sheets and turnouts probably 400 days and nights per horse and still in good shape.  So much nicer than what comes with the Amigo and Rhino range blankets.  The plastic tube keeps them clean, no rubs, the plastic clips haven't broken or gotten stuck and  they are easy to thread through liners.  My trainer requested a pair for Christmas for her horse! (Shhhh - Don't tell her)
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works really well Works well , better than the tail cords or straps. I bought 40 cm for a size 81 ameigo stable blanket. I would definitely purchase more for other horseware blankets I have.
    Date published: 2013-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best blanket accessory purchase ever! My mare has stomach issues and these tail straps are the easiest ever to clean. She is blanketed a good part of the winter and I have used these tail straps on all of her blankets for several years and they are all still in good condition and continue to make her blankets more comfortable to wear.
    Date published: 2013-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect I bought a used rambo blanket and it was missing the tail strap. This works perfectly. Thanks for carrying these and making it so easy to add stuff in for free shipping along with my smartpaks every month!
    Date published: 2013-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great replacement for any blanket I use this tail cord on all of my blankets and coolers, regardless of brand. They are super easy to keep clean and have held up well against my rambunctious cow horse. For the blankets/coolers that have nylon straps for the tail cord, I added dee savers, and they work great. Also easy to keep clean.http://www.smartpakequine.com/dee-saver-4153p
    Date published: 2013-10-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the Easy Clean Covering I love the freedom a tail strap gives the active turned out horse over leg straps that either rub or set in blanket to high, low forward or back for horse's comfort. I hate how gross tail straps get and they are impossible to keep clean and maintain and can cause skin fungus, dreaded tail itching and draw flies if not kept spotless. This is a perfect solution, fits well, works well and if you have 2 of them you can just change out each morning and wash/dry hang the spare for next day.I only have one complaint - the plastic snaps. They are super hard to get on and off and almost break while doing so. If you have cloth dees for the tail strap area, forget about it - they will never go on so I use this on my blankets with metal dees. Thin and light weight metal snaps would be a Huge improvement on this already great product.
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best tail cord I've ever used This tail cord is the best I've ever used. So easy to clean, doesn't get disgusting like the previous ones I've used, which are impossible to get completely clean in my opinion. Would definitely recommend and they are all you will find in my barn ;-).
    Date published: 2013-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a much improved tail cord from the one that comes with their blanket.
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Goo replacement tail strap It's difficult to find replacement tail straps for horse sheets and blankets. This is a good find.
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fix Some days this winter I went to find an entire manure stuck onto one of the nylon butt straps. I got this to fix the problem and it seems to be great. I went with a 40 cm one on a 78" blanket for a big TB because when i measured what I had the adjustable tail strap as that was close and I dislike arriving at the barn to find the wind has blown the blanket up over her butt.
    Date published: 2013-03-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good replacement tail strap for blankets Product runs smaller than you'd think. I like that it is coated with plastic. Not sure how long the plastic snaps will hold up, but they may surprise me.
    Date published: 2013-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Common Sense Win! Great idea, beats those nylon straps that get crusty and stiff!
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke within a week Don't buy this bungee cord, mine broke within a week!
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They should have come up with this sooner! Such an improvement on the poo-caked nylon tail straps. Much more sanitary!
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from clean hind legs! I love the shoulder/neck/body fit of the Rambo/Amigo blankets, but the tail strap was directing, ahem, waste all over my mare's hind legs. She's more wide than long, so the blanket that fits best drops off her croup a bit and the tail strap was in just the wrong place. Waste builds up on it instantly and makes the problem worse. Her legs were stained all winter, and I was worried about flies and skin problems from being dirty so much of the time. This vinyl-covered round cord bounces less waste onto her legs and doesn't get build-up. It's a big improvement.
    Date published: 2013-02-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bungee Tail Cord I like the PVC covering over the bungee, but after 2 months of use the plastic snap broke. Not sure if I will buy another due to the cost.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great These tail cords are great! Very easy to clean. A little tricky if you are unhooking them each use, but fine if you are able to leave hooked. I am replacing all my tail cords with these! Some people have been concerned with durability since they are plastic. I have all four of my horses wearing these on their turnouts and not one has been broken in over a year.
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this thing! I bought a Rambo sheet back in the Summer. My horse is turned out alone and isn't hard on his blankets and sheets. I loved the tail cord on my sheet so I ended up getting another one! They are very tough and not easy to get off (which is a good thing). I have never had any problems finding the blanket up over his butt. This was a good buy!!
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These should be on every blanket. This tail replacement cord should be the standard that every company puts on their blankets/sheets/coolers/etc. The PVC coating is so easy to clean, and the whole product is very durable and made to last; it really helps keep the blankets on as well. Highly recommend any flimsy tail cords be replaced with this one!
    Date published: 2012-11-26
    • 2015-03-03T06:51CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_57
    • loc_en_US, sid_9535, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.