Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Rambo Replacement Bungee Tail Cord

Horseware Ireland
- Item #19535

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Rambo Replacement Bungee Tail Cord is PVC coated, making it easier to stay clean.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Rambo Replacement Bungee Tail Cord is rated 4.5682 out of 5 by 44.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best blanket accessory purchase ever! My mare has stomach issues and these tail straps are the easiest ever to clean. She is blanketed a good part of the winter and I have used these tail straps on all of her blankets for several years and they are all still in good condition and continue to make her blankets more comfortable to wear.
    Date published: 2013-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect I bought a used rambo blanket and it was missing the tail strap. This works perfectly. Thanks for carrying these and making it so easy to add stuff in for free shipping along with my smartpaks every month!
    Date published: 2013-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great replacement for any blanket I use this tail cord on all of my blankets and coolers, regardless of brand. They are super easy to keep clean and have held up well against my rambunctious cow horse. For the blankets/coolers that have nylon straps for the tail cord, I added dee savers, and they work great. Also easy to keep clean.http://www.smartpakequine.com/dee-saver-4153p
    Date published: 2013-10-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the Easy Clean Covering I love the freedom a tail strap gives the active turned out horse over leg straps that either rub or set in blanket to high, low forward or back for horse's comfort. I hate how gross tail straps get and they are impossible to keep clean and maintain and can cause skin fungus, dreaded tail itching and draw flies if not kept spotless. This is a perfect solution, fits well, works well and if you have 2 of them you can just change out each morning and wash/dry hang the spare for next day.I only have one complaint - the plastic snaps. They are super hard to get on and off and almost break while doing so. If you have cloth dees for the tail strap area, forget about it - they will never go on so I use this on my blankets with metal dees. Thin and light weight metal snaps would be a Huge improvement on this already great product.
    Date published: 2013-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best tail cord I've ever used This tail cord is the best I've ever used. So easy to clean, doesn't get disgusting like the previous ones I've used, which are impossible to get completely clean in my opinion. Would definitely recommend and they are all you will find in my barn ;-).
    Date published: 2013-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a much improved tail cord from the one that comes with their blanket.
    Date published: 2013-04-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Goo replacement tail strap It's difficult to find replacement tail straps for horse sheets and blankets. This is a good find.
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fix Some days this winter I went to find an entire manure stuck onto one of the nylon butt straps. I got this to fix the problem and it seems to be great. I went with a 40 cm one on a 78" blanket for a big TB because when i measured what I had the adjustable tail strap as that was close and I dislike arriving at the barn to find the wind has blown the blanket up over her butt.
    Date published: 2013-03-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good replacement tail strap for blankets Product runs smaller than you'd think. I like that it is coated with plastic. Not sure how long the plastic snaps will hold up, but they may surprise me.
    Date published: 2013-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Common Sense Win! Great idea, beats those nylon straps that get crusty and stiff!
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke within a week Don't buy this bungee cord, mine broke within a week!
    Date published: 2013-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They should have come up with this sooner! Such an improvement on the poo-caked nylon tail straps. Much more sanitary!
    Date published: 2013-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from clean hind legs! I love the shoulder/neck/body fit of the Rambo/Amigo blankets, but the tail strap was directing, ahem, waste all over my mare's hind legs. She's more wide than long, so the blanket that fits best drops off her croup a bit and the tail strap was in just the wrong place. Waste builds up on it instantly and makes the problem worse. Her legs were stained all winter, and I was worried about flies and skin problems from being dirty so much of the time. This vinyl-covered round cord bounces less waste onto her legs and doesn't get build-up. It's a big improvement.
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bungee Tail Cord I like the PVC covering over the bungee, but after 2 months of use the plastic snap broke. Not sure if I will buy another due to the cost.
    Date published: 2013-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great These tail cords are great! Very easy to clean. A little tricky if you are unhooking them each use, but fine if you are able to leave hooked. I am replacing all my tail cords with these! Some people have been concerned with durability since they are plastic. I have all four of my horses wearing these on their turnouts and not one has been broken in over a year.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this thing! I bought a Rambo sheet back in the Summer. My horse is turned out alone and isn't hard on his blankets and sheets. I loved the tail cord on my sheet so I ended up getting another one! They are very tough and not easy to get off (which is a good thing). I have never had any problems finding the blanket up over his butt. This was a good buy!!
    Date published: 2013-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These should be on every blanket. This tail replacement cord should be the standard that every company puts on their blankets/sheets/coolers/etc. The PVC coating is so easy to clean, and the whole product is very durable and made to last; it really helps keep the blankets on as well. Highly recommend any flimsy tail cords be replaced with this one!
    Date published: 2012-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from About time! This PVC coated tail cord is long overdue. So much easier to clean and weighs more than the previous strap, so seems to help keep the back of the turnout from blowing open as much (we have amazing wind here). I bought one size smaller than recommended just to help keep the wind out, and it seems to help. If you don't have wind issues, I would do with the size they recommend.
    Date published: 2012-10-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not so great I like that the cord is covered in plastic so it's easy to wash. However, the clips are very hard to squeeze open and clip to the metal rings. I had one break on me the first time I tried to clip it. Thank you SmartPak for replacing it promptly and free of charge!
    Date published: 2012-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A "MUST HAVE"!! This is the best tail cord EVER! When they started showing up on new Rambo's people at my barn would say "finally!" and "brilliant!". I recommend my clients get SmartPak blankets and buy this tail cord to replace the SmartPak leg straps (which are too stretchy and have buckles that stick). Best of both, for only $13 more! the plastic keeps them clean, dry, and are so easy to clean. A MUST HAVE FOR BLANKETS OF ANY BRAND!!!!
    Date published: 2012-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from About Time! One of the frequent gripes people have about HorseWare horse clothes is the lack of leg straps. I understand they are designed so they should not need them. But their blankets, coolers, layers and quarter sheets often have just a 'filet string', which we all know is there just to collect..... grime. This replacement strap is a much better idea: flexible plastic tube with slightly stretchy bungee inside, and plastic clips on either end, attaching to the rear D or V rings. "Grime" and manure is much easier to clean from these. (SP does not want to see the word p**p on these reviews, it seems!) HorseWare should consider using THESE instead of the useless 'filet string' on their items, especially given the cost of their products. The filet string seems cheap, not in line with their product image. Not certain on the durability of the plastic parts, but replacements cost about the same as a pair of leg straps. Thanks, HorseWare, for finally hearing your customers' critiques.
    Date published: 2012-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from RAMBO TAIL CORD JUST GREAT! I am so happy with this great Rambo tailcord . I bought 10 , then, I just got my 2nd ten so I can replace all tale cords in the barn!This product is really really great if you have a very old horse or a Mare ! I hope they hold up!
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great replacement tail cord especially for mares i replaced the tail cord on my mare Rambo lite weight blanket because I no longer wanted to take off and wash the urine soaked tail strap.The plastic covered Bungee tail cord is great. Does not get soaked just wipe it off once in awhile.
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Should come with ALL Rambo blankets I, like everyone else I know, HATE the nylon tail cords that used to come with most Rambo and Amigo blankets. They get totally covered with manure in a short time, and they are very difficult to clean. The plastic-covered replacement bungee tail cords from Rambo are a huge improvement, but why on earth did they decide to use plastic snaps on the ends that are SO hard to operate? I am using the force of both my hands and I can hardly get the snaps open, plus they don't seem to be very durable. The d-rings on the back of the blankets are metal, so why wouldn't they use metal snaps?? Especially when they charge $20 for a single tail cord!! Very strange design choice. At least the length/fit of the tail cord when placed on the blanket is good. Nevertheless, I would recommend these simply because they are so much better than the tail cords since they are easy to clean, but Rambo, please fix the plastic snap issue!!
    Date published: 2013-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy To Clean I bought this because the tail cords I had were always to long even if I adjusted them all the way. I think these are so much better of a fit for my blankets (even the ones that aren't Rambos) & they are so easy to clean off! Thanks Smartpak!
    Date published: 2012-02-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Surprisingly Disappointed - Clip Broke Let me just note that my horse is completely outfitted in Horseware/Rambo blankets. I love the quality and design as well as how they hold up. I just purchased a Rambo Wug Medium with this tail cord and an extra tail cord to add to his stable blanket.I came to the barn to find this tail cord hanging by one end off of the rambo wug. The plastic clip on the end had partially snapped off. I searched around to see if my horse had gotten caught on something and I cannot find anything. Besides his love for rolling in the mud, he is NOT rough on blankets in any way and was quite bummed to see this. He's only been wearing the Wug with this strap for 3 weeks at best.I love the idea of the easy to clean strap, I just think maybe a different clip would be better.
    Date published: 2013-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Idea This bungee is a great idea from rambo...it should come standard on all their blankets.It is easy to clean..I would preferdifferent clips on the ends that are easier to use.
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great idea This is a nicely made strap..easy to clean. The 30 is really small..somehow smaller than when you look at the measurement on a measureing tape :)
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Replacement Bungee Tail Cord Bought both sizes - the larger one is very long- probably best suited for draft size horse blanket. The smaller size is perfect for my 72" & 81" blankets.Easy to clean - just started using them so not sure how well the plastic clip will hold up - but so far so good. Love that I can easily clean it!
    Date published: 2011-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish all my blankets had this! What a great idea! Not only is this easier to clean than a regular tail cord, it doesn't hold manure on it like the regular ones, which means my horse stays much cleaner. I put this one on my horse's fly sheet, which he lives in during the summer and so far I'm very happy. Will have to get another for his winter blanket.
    Date published: 2011-06-01
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2013 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.