Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Tredstep Donatello Field Boot

Tredstep Ireland Ltd.
- Item #19485
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Tredstep presents the "rebirth" of beautiful, classically designed boots reinterpreted to offer the rider unparalleled performance, comfort, and fit. Incorporating the first ever design of a top class boot which flexes with the rider, this boot enhances the effectiveness and comfort of the riding experience. This innovation is enveloped in exquisite leather and beautiful lines offering unsurpassed sophisticated luxury.

Favorite Features

  • Rear stretch panel and top gusset ensure a slim, contoured fit
  • Innovative ankle flexion design reduces break in time
  • Side spur rests
  • Rolled toe cap
  • Full-length heavy duty YKK coil zipper
  • Imported

Sizing It Up

37 (US 6.5-7)
38 (US 7.5)
39 (US 8-8.5)
40 (US 9)
41 (US 9.5-10)
42 (US 10.5)

Field Boots Comparison Chart
 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tredstep Donatello Field Boot is rated 4.505 out of 5 by 200.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! If you like stiffer leather that can polish to a high shine, this is it! I love the contoured fit of the boot- it fits my narrow ankle AND my curvy calf. They're also durable and look great for a long time. My only complaint is that they DO stretch with use/sweat, so go with half-inch narrower than you think you measure.
    Date published: 2014-12-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from donatello boots I loved these boots so much that as soon as I wore them out I ordered another identical pair.
    Date published: 2014-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I took the plunge with these boots and am thrilled After borrowing my friend's tall boots for a schooling show I knew I couldn't go back to my paddock boots and half chaps. After doing a lot of research for my price point (I'm an undergrad student and fund all of my riding on my own) and looking for designs I liked I went to my local tack shop and took the plunge with the Tredsteps. I love them. They're my first tall boots and I was very concerned with the fit. I have a small ankle with a large calf. Usually this make my life a nightmare in finding half-chaps (the last time I got a new pair it took hours to find a pair that fit properly) and I was expecting that nightmare with tall boots. INstead Tredstep makes so many increments that these boots fit like a dream! They were a bit tight until they broke in, but now they're like a second skin. They've held up to riding every day and even to having to lead my horse through a brook and a three hour hunter pace. I adore these boots and am so happy that I took the plunge into tall boots with Tredstep. I do recommend that if you're unsure of your boot size to go to a store to be able to try them on especially with all of the size options.
    Date published: 2014-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful boots at a reasonable price. I bought these boots for my daughter who needs a slim calf boot. While the X-Slim was too tight, the Slim was perfect. The Tredstep boots have a much better fit that other brands of boots that offer a slim calf. They are snug but have enough give to be comfortable. My daughter wore them in a show only days after receiving them in the mail. The boots had not dropped yet and gave her bruises on the backs of her knees but that is to be expected from new boots.
    Date published: 2014-10-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unfortunate Choice I bought these boots for my daughter and the zipper broke the first time in a lesson. We were able to get them rezipped but they broke again. Smartpak accepted the return without any problem and suggested she try the Ariat Heritage. The Tredsteps also rubbed her ankle severely resulting in blisters. The Ariat Heritage boot was perfect the moment she wore them the first time and the first show she got two first place ribbons in flat and fences! As a college rider we see a lot of boots. You either have a great opinion of the boot or don't like it, usually the rubbing is the worst mishap.
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! I purchased these boots for my daughter, and she loves them! Soft supple leather, stylish, and a reasonable price.
    Date published: 2014-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just bought my 2nd pair I just purchased my second pair of these boots. Love my first pair - I am still using them for everyday riding, however I haven't taken the best care of them and they are no longer show-ring acceptable.The break in on my left heel took a bit of time and some discomfort, and I have had to replace the zipper on the right boot twice as of last week. That said, they ride amazingly and are insanely comfortable and stylish. They held up to nearly two years of daily barn wear, in and out of the wash rack and arena.
    Date published: 2014-09-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Impressed I was skeptical, but bought these after realizing that Ariat does not make my size. When I first got them, I was able to zip the boots over my calves, but had a hard time zipping it up at the back of my knees.Good thing the snap at the back was wide enough for me to snap the tops together in the meantime. I was also nervous about getting these because Tredstep does not make boots in "short" and I'm 5'2". I figured the boot would drop and it did, after just 2 rides. I'm able to zip it all the way up and it fits great now. Had no issues flexing my ankles from the beginning. The tops of the boots are still a little tall, but I didn't get any bruising or sores from it. The footbed isn't as comfortable as Ariat boots, but they provide good support. I get rubs in the back of my ankles when I walk, but if I wear moleskin, it's not an issue-- I'll do this as the boot continues to drop and soften. Right now, it's more comfortable to ride in than to walk in. The inside of the boot does bleed orange onto my breeches though-- hopefully this will stop as I wear it more. Overall, great boots for a great price. I am happy with my purchase and very relieved to be able to find boots that fit me.
    Date published: 2014-09-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to break in, laces broke quickly though I bought my first pair of Donatellos about three months ago before my new job. I'm riding 7-8 horses a day and I'm really pleased with how the leather has been holding up, however the elastic laces on one of my boots snapped after about 7-8 weeks. Definitely frustrating but is really the only issue I have had. The boots broke in quite quickly and I like the way they fit me (I wear a 41 slim) and the way they taper through the ankle. With the heavy use they get the leather doesn't seem to hold the black dye quite as well as I was hoping, but with a good polish even my schooling pair looks good as new. I recently bought a second pair for shows.
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love these! I bough my first pair last year for show boots. they looked and felt great. they broke in really easily and were very comfortable! The boots got a little short on my but thats cause I grew! These boots conform to you calf very nicely! I just purchased another pair for only showing. but over all there durable comfortable and look great!
    Date published: 2014-08-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice boot for the price I had to purchase these due to an upcoming clinic and was worried about quality. I was pleasantly surprised! They fit perfect and broke in quite easily. I would recommend the Donatello.
    Date published: 2014-08-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just Didn't Fit Right While I really appreciated some of the extras these boots came with (like heel lifts and inflatable trees) in the end, they just didn't fit me well. I thought the quality was nice and the design was beautiful, but from the moment I put them on at home, I just didn't think they flattered my shape, and they didn't feel comfortable.
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice boot for the price - widths didn't work These boots did not work for me, but they are nice looking and the leather is very flexible. My calves measure roughly 16 1/4. The medium was too small, the full (which I don't think is offered anymore) was too big and the plus (new offering in lieu of the full?) was too, too big. I think the medium may have stretched enough to fit, but I could tell the ankle would be difficult to break in for me (I have large ankle and calves), and I was not crazy about the footbed. It just didn't feel that supportive or stable and my ankles tend to roll out (over-pronate). The only other negative is I felt the calves looked funky even though they fit, almost like they were overly contoured so they sort of stuck out. That being said, I could see where these would fit for someone with large calves and small ankles, or a slimmer leg overall.
    Date published: 2014-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boots for the price! Purchased these boots about a year and a half ago. Love them! From the beginning they were very soft and giving. Over a year later, I can say that they are holding up very well also. Very early on, I had a zipper give way. I called Smartpak and they offered to replace the boots, or pay to have them repaired if I had them broken in and hoped to keep them. I took them to a reputable repairman and he tweaked what was simply a bent tooth of the zipper. The zipper gave one more time and I straightened it out as he showed me and have never had a problem since. I really like the boots and appreciate Smartpak's willingness to back up their products, even though it wasn't necessary in this case. (Also really love the boot repairman who talked to me about boots, zippers, zipper replacement, etc for at least a half an hour as he fixed my zipper for free and told me I didn't need his services. Does it get any better? Would I ever go anywhere else if I did need boot repair?!)
    Date published: 2014-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! These are great boots! They were recently purchased for me as my first pair of tall boots. I am so glad I chose these too! After reading all of the horror stories of breaking in tall boots these posed NONE of the same issues. At the tack shop I tried on some other brands (all of which were nearly twice the money) and none even compared to the fit of these. They were a tiny bit stiff at first but that is to be expected of brand new boots. The leather is supple, durable and flexible. These boots don't get those weird crease lines some boots develop and they don't drop very much compared to other boots. They also clean up very easily and look very sharp in the show ring. I reccomend these to anybody, whether you are showing on the 'A' circuit or just plodding around the trails.
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for Schooling I had these boots a few years back and outgrew them. However, I remember that I adored these boots. I recently got another pair, and was somewhat disappointed. You get what you pay for, and these boots have very thick, low quality leather. They were also terrible to break in. I had my shoe guy put them in a shoe stretcher for a weekend, and only after that were they actually rideable. Now, I don't have a problem with them. In the future, however, I think I'll pay a bit more money for something of higher quality.Also, I found these boots run a bit small. If you're stuck between sizes like I am, go for the bigger size.
    Date published: 2014-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! Just bought them and wore them twice - one was a clinic.. they were easy to wear right out of the box, beautiful fit for my funny legs and instantly fell in love with their look as soon as I pulled them out of the box. Please don't stop making these! (Although I do hope they last a long time...)
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great first pair of boots I bought these for my 13-year old daughter as her first pair of tall boots. The extra-slim calf fits perfectly. After warning her in advance about the horrors of breaking in new boots, it was a total non-issue. The backs of her knees were a little sensitive for a few days, and that was it. She loves them and says they are very comfortable.
    Date published: 2014-04-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good until.. I bought these boots in July last summer, so I have owned them for just under a year now. When I first bought these boots I was in love. I loved all the size options, and they fit like custom. I didn't get a single blister breaking them in. I got a ton of compliments on them. Later this winter, the boots began to drop dramatically, and especially around my ankles, it know pinches me when I walk. Also the zipper pulls continuously get stuck in a twisted way that makes it impossible to unzip my boots, and eventually fell off. The leather has held up very nice. I would still recommend these boots however. Although I will probably have to replace them in a couple months, my feet were outgrowing them anyway.
    Date published: 2014-03-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a great buy I've had and been using these since September of 2013. At first, I loved them. They looked great, were tall enough, fit like customs, and didn't hurt. But, just like all Tredstep products (I've been through probably 6 pairs of Tredstep half chaps in 6 months), the zippers gave out on me around December. Now I can't even get once around the ring without the zippers being down on my ankle and the back of my calf uncovered. Plus, I noticed a few weeks ago that they're no longer black, but a dark green color. I can't imagine why this happened, especially because I take great care of them, keeping them clean and conditioned regularly. I'm going to take them in to my local shoe repair guy to get the zippers replaced because I don't have the time to send them back or deal with that, but as for the ugly coloring, I guess I'll just have to make sure I get black polish on them right before I go in the show ring and pray it works. I don't know why I thought these would be different, but I guess I was hopeful. In hind sight, no, I wouldn't buy or recommend to others.
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase! I bought these because someone on my IHSA team had them and loved them.. Took 2 rides to break them in and the leather is super soft. They fit like a glove! I bought them because 2 pairs of my Ariats have busted zippers and I wanted to try a new brand.
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Falling apart after a year of light use. I bought a pair just barely a year ago and they have already developed 2 holes on the outside part of the calf where the rear stretch panel is pulling away from the seam (a few more wears and you'll be able to see my socks through them!). This has been with relatively light wear--my horses live with my trainer in a different state so I've only worn them an average of 4-5 times every 2 months over the past year. I had rather liked them and they fit me pretty well for an off-the-rack boot, so I'm really disappointed.
    Date published: 2014-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I needed new tall boots and I went to my local tack store and these were one of the first kinds I tried one. They were a little tall, they had heal lifts, which were helpful
    Date published: 2014-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boots I've Ever Owned After ordering and returning, and I kid you not, 7 pairs of boots from various stores, I finally got these in the mail, tried them on, and instantly fell in love. They are so comfortable and took very little time to break in. Overall, an absolutely wonderful boot!
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from were fabulous, but newer ones have issues I have a pair I have ridden in for a few years, and they were fabulous boots. The new pair I got had one fabulous boot, and one with weird, plastic-like leather. I sent them back and Smartpak sent me another pair. The leather is lovely. But the zipper pulls don't have a double joint, so the pull sticks out, looks bad, and can stratch the saddle. I will take them to a shoe repair shop to see if they can replace that.
    Date published: 2014-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, But... I ordered these boots to replace my beloved Ariat tall boots I've had for years. When these boots arrived I was very impressed at the quality of the leather and overall beauty. Unfortunately, I am a size six and the smallest size these boots come in is a 6.5/7.5. I was hoping they ran a bit small but they were true to size. I had to return them because the foot was just a little too big. However the rest of the boot fit and looked great!
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful boots! My trainer recommends these boots to everyone so I decided to get my own pair. unfortunately, I made a mistake in the measuring and they did not fit so I returned them. Personally, I can't speak on the quality and durability of this product because I haven't had mine long, but my trainer has had her's for several years and adores them.
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Of the Bunch! Really all I can say is GREAT BOOTS! They are durable, comfortable, attractive andthey clean up really well. I don't show much but when I do these always rise to the occasion. I school, do barn chores and through general walking and working, have put these boots through a LOT. I describe them as "the cheapest customs on the market" There are so many options in size and height anybody can get a fit for them. I have average size calves but I'm pretty tall so I got the tall height and the regular calf. They break in fast, clean up super easily and are comfy. They stand for running errands after being at the barn or riding in the rain. I am on quite the budget so these came from a gift from my parents, grandparents and husband. Get these boots! (I am just now retiring these boots after six years of daily use)
    Date published: 2014-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! a must have I ordered these boots about 3 weeks before I took my mare to her first big show. I got them about a week before the actual show I probably rode in them 3 times before the show and the were awesome. The broke in nicely and fit perfect.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product, good service I bought these boots as a Christmas present for my wife. The phone help from SmartPak was excellent, as that helped me choose the proper size. The free two-way shipping for potential returns was also a major bonus. As it turned out, the fit was good out of the box. Positive overall experience.
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    • 2015-03-01T06:52CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_195
    • loc_en_US, sid_9485, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.