Product Image

SmartDark & Handsome®

SmartSupplements by SmartPak
- Item #19476
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well



SmartDark & Handsome helps bring out a deep, dark shine in black, bay and brown coats. This unique formula provides a rich blend of Omega 3 fatty acids from Fish Oil, Flax Seed and Chia Seed combined with Paprika and Nutmeg. SmartDark & Handsome is not just for the boys – it’s great for mares, too. (We just couldn’t resist the name!)

Note for Competitive Riders: This product contains Paprika, which may contain trace amounts of Capsaicin.  

Have a horse of a different color? We recommend SmartShine Ultra.



Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartDark & Handsome® is rated 4.2994 out of 5 by 167.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product My bay mare was getting bleached out by the end of the summer so i decided to try this product. Of course i love it! Her coat is beautiful! Shiny and the color is no longer brassy. She also doesnt have any flaky dry skin from the winter. Buy this product!
    Date published: 2013-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from From Buckskin to Bay! One year ago, i got a Ottb rescue, typical TB with poor coat quality, come summer i decided he needed something from living outside he bleached from his lovely red/ dark bay color to a blond buckskin color, as well as he became very patchy/ rubbing hair off easily, within a few weeks of using this product his skin became A LOT healthier, his coat shiny and gorgeous. His skin cleared up and a healthy coat came in as well. I get compliments everywhere i go on his coat and how soft it is, grooming also has become easier since the coat is super healthy, will use this product all spring/summer every year to keep him looking his best!
    Date published: 2013-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I have written reviews for this product before but I wanted to put up pictures for it. Amazing results in just a few months. Only complaint is I wish it came in pellets.
    Date published: 2013-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I didn't believe it My light chestnut filly's coat faded badly and got very brassy over the summer and I asked Smartpak what might help her coat. They suggested Smart Dark and Handsome even though she was a chestnut. So I tried it to see what happened with her winter coat as it grew in and unbelievably her winter coat is a deep red rich color. She is a picky eater and has seasonal allergies but she ate it right up and did not get itchy. I am so pleased with her color. We get no sun in the cold north winter but I will put her back on it this spring when she starts shedding and hopefully she will not get brassy this year.
    Date published: 2013-01-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-12-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from horses wont eat it not only do i have to mix molassesWELL into his feed, AND add some senior feed to get him to even try to eat it, but it still takes him over a half hour to eat his one and a half scoops of feed!!! NONE of the other horses push him off of hi feed becusae they hate the paprika taste too. and after just one month no results. just not worth the money.
    Date published: 2014-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Great results for my horse, I body clipped him last year late winter and being on day turnout he bleached out pretty quickly. I saw this product and decided to try it. It made the biggest difference in his coat, I had him on it all the way to mid summer and he was dark and dappley. This year I am putting him on it again but this time before I body clip! I always recomend it to friends. Can't wait to see the results!!
    Date published: 2012-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse is gorgeous! I purchased my first horse in March and he was solid black. During the summer, his coat turned colors -- not really washed out -- just changed to a little brown, a little red and even a slight buckskin. He was still handsome just not black any longer. I started giving him SmartDark & Handsome in the middle of September. He is now jet black with a soft, shiny healthy coat. Everyone who sees him compliments me on his coat and asks how I get such a beautiful shine! He also loves the taste. All I do is sprinkle the supplement onto his grain and he devours it.
    Date published: 2013-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great even in Florida sun This is the first product I have found that works even if the horse is turned out in the hot Florida sun.
    Date published: 2012-11-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Effective Product I fed this to my faded chestnut mare and saw results within about three weeks. Even the tips of her mane, which had faded to a red-orange have turned dark.
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love this stuff! I switched to this after using Black as knight witch worked very well, but it had no nutrition to it. This turned my ponies coat dark black as well as making her coat shiny. She is also very prone to rain rot and so far it hasn't come back since she has been on this supplement!
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had been using another popular item on my two black mares. I had seen this product, it was less expensive and I decided to try it. The results were far superior to what I had been using, and several friends commented on how black my horses were. I can definitely see the difference and their winter coats are black! I am very pleased with this product, and friends of mine state they will try it on their dark bays.
    Date published: 2012-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff REALLY works! After about 60 days on this product my horse is now jet black! It really works! I also do not turn him out during the day to prevent him from sun bleaching. This is also extremely palatable! My gelding licks his bowl clean!
    Date published: 2013-03-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't work for my gelding My dark bay Thoroughbred gelding fades out very quickly in the summer. This spring I decided to try SmartDark & Handsome to see if it would make any difference. It really didn't seem to help at all. His coat stayed shiny, but he bleached out by May, to the point where people were saying they couldn't believe he is registered as dark bay. I will say that he was very reluctant to eat it and would leave it in the bottom of his bucket unless we wet down his feed, so maybe he just wasn't ingesting enough of it.
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Coat + Great Convenience I have a stunning dark bay Morgan mare with various shades of color accented by beautiful dapples. I have used a similar product separately for awhile now – THIS product (SmartDark & Handsome) seems to work as well. The product makes her coat very beautiful – she’s a Medallion Halter Class winner – seems to be proof of the product ‘working’. :)The BIG difference is getting it in the premeasured SmartPak with all my horses other supplements, makes this tedious food preparation process a breeze. This allows me to spend more quality time with my horse rather than wasting the time measuring etc.The convenience of automatically getting the supplements on time reduces the burden and worry about placing multiple orders and logistics of different supplements running low at different rates etc. And the cost is very competitive making the decision a “no-brainer”.
    Date published: 2012-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product This supplement was one of the only coat supplements that has actually made a substantial difference on every horse I used it on. Not only did I get shiny healthy coats, but all of my colors darkened/deepened (bay, black, chestnut, buckskin, palomino). I also like being able to provide my breeding stallions with extra DHA's.
    Date published: 2012-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Black Horse Supplement FABULOUS! Have been using on my horse for 12 months and he gets continuous compliments on how pretty his coat is. He stays dark while others fade out in the summer.....do not have to use any sort of protective sheet on him to keep him dark. Coat is glossy & he gobbles this right up. The name of this supplement says it all!
    Date published: 2012-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous! Our horse Casper was so bleached out and dull looking it was pitiful! We started using SmartDark and Handsome a month ago, and let me tell you he looks Fabulous already! His coat is back to it's orginal color and he has never been so shiny!
    Date published: 2012-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful This product worked great. It worked in two weeks. My mare went from a bleached out brownish/black to a very shiny black. I will use next summer to keep her black all year.
    Date published: 2012-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works great! I purchased this about 1 1/2 months ago because my black draft had faded to a reddish brown from being turned out during the day in the sun. I didn't want a brown horse! I had read the reviews so I was prepared when I first received the samples of the supplements. I tried to get my mare to eat it with her other supplements or with grain, but it was just too strong and she wasn't having it. She is an EATER so I was surprised. So, I mixed it with a few soaked alfalfa cubes and she still tried to pick around it, but eventually she ate it. I really wanted to see if the supplement would work, so I ordered it and continued giving it in the smartpak mixed with either grain/alfalfa (small amount)/or with other supplements and now she eats it up. It just takes some time for the them to get used to the very strong flavors. I literally watch Mia to make sure sure eats it and not tip over her feed bowl and dump it out. :) The results are AWESOME! She looks fabulous. She is dark black once again with the exception of a little light brown on her face, which is filling in. This product is great, but just be aware that you may have to coax them to eat it at first.
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pricey, but works! My TWH is black. I started giving this supplement a month before a horse show. Within about 3 weeks, I could see a difference in his coat. It definitely was darker, had a beautiful luster and shine to it. In the beginning my horse did not like it very well and would leave most of it to eat later when his hay was gone. But he eats all of it now. I did mix it with other supplements. It has a spicey smell which I do not think was appealing to my horse.
    Date published: 2012-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Immediate Results! I started feeding this to my 3 year old solid paint about a week ago. He was bleached out from the sun and lacking his dark coat that he maintains in the winter time. Just 8 doses and I'm already seeing drastic results! He's a black bay again!! Thanks SmartPak for making yet ANOTHER great product!
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than ever! I have been feeding Smart Dark and Handsome to my horse for about 2 and 1/2 weeks now. All I can say is WOW. Java is a 3 year old Black Standardbred Cross who has a tendency to bleach out in the sun and turn an ugly orangeish brown color. After a couple weeks on Smart Dark and Handsome, he is ALREADY looking darker and has a lot more shine to his coat.Thank you Smartpak! :)
    Date published: 2012-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Color enhancer My chestnut mare had bleached to a sand color. I began putting her in a stall for about 10 hours a day and on pasture for the rest of the time. I began giving her SmartDark and Handsome and within 2 weeks there was a noticeable difference in her color. She began getting darker and her coat began to shine more. She continues to get darker and is on her 5th week of SmartDark and Handsome.
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from dark and handsome Loves it and am starting to notice my horses coat become a little darker
    Date published: 2012-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my bay has not bleached out yet
    Date published: 2012-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of Complements Ive had my dark bay horse on this pretty much since it came out. I can not tell you the number of complements I have had on how great his coat looks! He is wonderfully dark and show ring shiny. Over the years I have tried feeding straight paprika, turning him out in a fly sheet, spray on coat sunscreen, and just about every combo of things to keep his dark coat dark. This product and a Bug Buster fly sheet (for extra sun AND bug protection) have proved the most effective in the hot Virginia summer sun for keeping him dark. The extra bonus is the shiny coat he has all year round thanks to this easy to use supplement. Thanks SmarkPak!
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Horse may not tolerate I got a few samples of this, and my horse seemed to eat it. Now that I have been buying it, there seems to be much of it left in the feed bucket. I am now trying to spray it with a molassas syrup to sweeten it up a bit, but the paprika is hard to disguise. I wouldn't call my horse a picky eater, but he does not like that paprika flavor or smell very much. I can't tell if it works.....
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Smart Dark and Handsome Have trouble getting him to comsume it.It's a powder and he flips dish upside down and picks out pellets. I have tried wetting pellets, and applesauce. I am using sheet to cover him but he is still turning reddish.
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.