Product Image
Additional Views

Garlic Flakes

Hilton Herbs
- Item #18285
Form: Crumble
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

Garlic Flakes are one of Hilton Herb's very best garlic supplements for horses. Garlic is one of the most widely used medicinal herbs in the world. It is believed to have numerous health benefits for horses, from supporting the immune system to helping deter biting insects. Hilton Herb's human food grade garlic flakes are rich in bioavailable sulfur, oil and B vitamins.

Learn more about Hilton Herbs

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Garlic Flakes is rated 4.1698 out of 5 by 53.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from REAL garlic Wow, I expected flakes like one would find in the grocery store...no, these are the real thing. Seems to be working...less bugs!
    Date published: 2011-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great organic product! My horse just LOVES this garlic! It smells like a pizza is baking while he's eating it.
    Date published: 2011-10-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a bug deterrent Unfortunately, this product did not work as a bug deterrent . My horse did eat it, however (he eats everything). Not sure what the other health benefits are.
    Date published: 2011-08-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product I was looking for a natural bug repellent for my mare since she is very thin skinned and gets eaten alive by flies and mosquitoes. I ended up ordering the flakes even after reading a few reviews that horses wouldn't eat it. I have the pickiest mare....She won't eat her grain unless its wet down just right, mixed correctly, facing north, and delivered by rollerskates (last two are an exaggeration but gives the idea). The first couple days, she wasn't too sure but and picked around it a little but now she inhales it no problem. I've noticed the flies don't bother her as much but it doesn't work all that well in the back country with biting flies, etc. Seems to work pretty well with mosquitoes too.
    Date published: 2011-08-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Garlic Flakes do help I have purchased Garlic Flakes to help my warmblood with his respiratory issues, and it seems to help. After I stopped giving him his flakes, he started coughing again...stopped after re-starting the garlic.Also, give the Garlic Flakes to my Arabian for overall health and summer fly control. Can't comment really on the fly control as I don't really see much of a difference, but boy his coat is shinny! Don't know if that's to do with the garlic or not. He doesn't mind the taste at all, eats every bit.
    Date published: 2011-08-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does not last 166 days... Love this product but there is NO way the large bag lasts 166 days! I have had it for a few weeks and have been following the dosing based on the enclosed scoop. I have 2 horses and the bag is almost gone. I would say it lasts more like 66 days for 1 horse (maybe if that).
    Date published: 2012-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bye bye bugs Duke has been on Garlic Flakes for about a month now and it has really made a difference! When we are out riding with friends, he's not the horse the bugs go to anymore.
    Date published: 2011-07-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ok purchase... I bought this in the large bag..was hoping it would help keep the gnats from eating him and making him rub his tail out from being so itchy. He's been on it a month (had him on it for a month or two a month before this) and I don't think it's done squat... =( I really hoped it would. He's on 2sc a day...thought about upping him to 3sc but I don't want to hurt or kill him. lol Though, he's a slow eater and is on pasture 24/7...he gets the flakes in the morning and doesn't really eat all his grain at once..but throughout the day. The garlic flakes DO keep the flies from swarming his sweet feed though. I'll use the rest of this product, but doubt I'll buy it again. =/Oh, and he's PICKY about what he eats...but he'll eat the flakes no problem...actually will eat them out of my hand like a treat.
    Date published: 2012-05-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not to par for equine palate NONE of the 5 horses I tried feeding this to liked it, even my 'vacuum cleaner' pony who eats absolutely everything. No amount of sweet freed or treats could get them to eat it, so after a week of throwing out their evening supplements, I opted for the fly spray. And, as my daughter pointed out, can't we just give them regular garlic at a fraction of the cost?
    Date published: 2011-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't go without! My horse was a little hesitant about eating this at first, but once he got used to it he was fine. He has a fine haircoat and I keep his tail in a bag, even in the Summer months. He hardly swishes. Went on a trail ride today in 85 degrees with 95% humidity, and he was definitely not phased by any bugs. Great supplement, he would normally be in panic mode less than halfway through due to bug bites. :) And the best price and value ever!!!
    Date published: 2011-06-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Garlic that is easy to work with These garlic flakes are the easiest garlic product to use. It is easy to feed and it won't leave you smelling like garlic the rest of the day, even if you happen to get some on you, which is less likely to happen than the messy powder products. I started with just a few flakes in my horses feed to get them used to the smell and worked my way up to 1 or 2 scoops, which they eat with no hesitation now.
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Actually saw a difference! Definitely saw a difference in the flys in my horse's stall after I put him on this supplement. He loves it!
    Date published: 2011-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Mosquitoes! Love this supplement. The mare I have it on is not finicky and eats it right up. This year she is very dappled, shiny, and not a flying pest around her. She is allergic to mosquitoes and rubbed her mane and top of her tail out completely by summer. This year no rubbing! Yeah! Great product!
    Date published: 2012-05-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from My Horse Disliked. This product is good if you sprinkle the garlic chips around your horse, but my horses hated it in there feed. They wouldn't even touch there grain, I had to pick it out. If you sprinkle it around them on the ground, the flies do, kinda leave them alone.
    Date published: 2010-09-07
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.