Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

IRH ATR Helmet

International Riding Helmets
- Item #18283

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The All Terrain Rider is the latest innovation in all-around riding helmets from IRH. The sporty, low-profile, ultra-lightweight helmet is perfect for long trail rides, riding rings, or anywhere else you may ride. Twelve vent ports, a sun-blocking visor and a washable lining ensure your comfort, and the durable Ultra Suede covering will keep you—and your helmet—looking great ride after ride.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    IRH ATR Helmet is rated 4.3846 out of 5 by 26.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Might return I really liked this helmet when I opened it.. Looks really good but it is too long in the back for my head, and to be honest it looked a little bit mushroom head for my liking.I ordered the brown one, lovely color.My husband thought it looked nice, style and color wise.
    Date published: 2012-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for hot days! I bought this after finally being tired of roasting in my regular helmet, which does have vents, but they don't seem to do much. I wanted a truly vented helmet that wasn't a "bubble" helmet, or shiny plastic, and this helmet perfectly fits the bill! It is light-weight, stylish, and when there's a breeze I can feel it on my head! A real plus with the hot and humid summer we had this year.My only complaint with this helmet is that the "removable lining" is really only a front and back foam piece that are velcroed directly to the helmet. There is no real lining that even some of the less expensive helmets have. For the higher price of this one, I would have expected a full real lining. But I love everything else about this helmet so much, that I will be keeping it.
    Date published: 2012-09-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought this to replace my old Troxel I got when I first started riding. I like this one much better- the visor is built as part of it, so no velcro to melt off in the Texas heat and the general fit actually matches my head better, so no pressure points or wobbling. The chin strap is much more comfortable - no digging into my jaw or neck.
    Date published: 2012-07-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Summer Helmet Shopping for a cooler summer helmet (My Jr8 Charles Owens is a great helmet, but kind of a hot box) and I came across this and liked the profile of it. Reviews also mentioned that it fits an oval head and i have one on those, so I ordered it. It does indeed fit an oval head and is a LOT cooler than my other (now winter) helmet so I am most pleased with my purchase.
    Date published: 2012-07-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from great look, bad fit I really love the look of this helmet. It's so cute and the low profile makes it look more like a baseball cap than a helmet. I had the same experience as other reviewers regarding fit. My hat size is 7 so I ordered a medium, but even with the thick pads and the straps cranked tight, the helmet slipped around easily. I exchanged it for a small, but unfortunately the small (with the thin pads) gave me an instant headache, with lots of pressure on my forehead. I really wanted this helmet to work out. The free return shipping is a lifesaver. I only wish they made a size in between the medium and small!!
    Date published: 2012-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice helmet Very nice helmet - looked good and built well, but large was too big for me (and I have a large head and have had a hard time with some large helmets being too small). Did send it back due to poor fit for my head - may order a medium later. Did like the helmet, just need to get a better fit.
    Date published: 2011-12-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disapointed this helmet was too narrow for my head. I had a friend try it too and it was the same for her. We have both worn a size M in other IRH helmets, so I am disapointed to have to pay the shipping both ways for something that didn't fit. Other than that, it looked great.
    Date published: 2011-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally Found a Helmut! I've been looking several months for a replacement for my old IRH schooling helmut and was having no luck until I came across this one! Most stores mainly carry the Troxels and I've never cared for how they looked on me. I love the sleek black styling without the big price tag. The IRH brand fit me so much better w/o the mushroom look. Simple straps with a soft, secure fit. Hopefully the fabric wont collect too much dust! I've only had it a month.
    Date published: 2011-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasantly surprised! Good quality, suede gives classy appearance as does IRH printed on sides. Ordered small, good fit, snug without the headache!. Good fit in the back too, nice brim and a pleasing profile - no bubblehead! Compliments 1st time I wore it! Nice alternative to the velvet caps.
    Date published: 2011-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy the Correct Size! RE: Review by undefined in Upstate NY, if you have to stack the foam pads (attach them together), you bought the wrong size. They are intended to be used individually, that's why they don't attach together. Instead of giving a bad review to a helmet that is too big for you, exchange it for the right size. It's not a bad reflection on the helmet's quality if you made a mistake. This helmet does run large, as almost all of the other reviews have stated. For those people who are smart enough to figure that out, this is a great helmet.
    Date published: 2011-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sad it didn't fit I really liked this helmet, but it did not fit. Apparently my head is round - this fit was more oval. Too tight at temples. Had to return it.
    Date published: 2011-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet Ever! I bought this helmet in late June and love it! I use it for schooling dressage and long trail rides. It fits extremely well; it's low profile; and it's well ventilated. What really makes this helmet stand out to me though is the visor. It's longer than traditional visors but without the duck look. If you like the fit of other IRH or Ovation helmets, you'll love this one. I will buy another one of these helmets!
    Date published: 2011-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice trail helmet Wore this on a high altitude pack trip, and it did a good job keeping the sun out of my eyes. I bought the brown color, which was easy to brush off and keep from looking too dirty. I agree with other reviewers that this helmet fits large - I normally wear a M and ordered a S, which fit just right. This is a nice low-profile helmet that looks a lot less dorky than other more expensive trail helmets that give you a huge head.
    Date published: 2011-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from lightweight with great air flow I usually buy IRH helemts because they seem to fit me well. I really like this one, lighter in weight, same great fit, and the extra air flow vents are wonderful! It has a slightly bigger brim so it is great for outdoor arena use. Also liked the style of this one as well, a little different look than others.
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really comfortable helmet. Just replace a Tipperary with this IRH ATR helmet and am very pleased. It's low profile, which is great for my smallish head, really comfortable and has removable pads which will make it easy to clean. I have only had it a few weeks, so don't have an opinion on quality and longevity, but I suspect that it will hold up just fine. It is probably not the "correct" profile for a show helmet, but for schooling and anything else it's a definite keeper.
    Date published: 2011-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool and Comfortable The ATR is actually designed for endurance, but I use it for schooling dressage. The California heat usually turns my helmet into a head sauna, but so far this has been pretty comfortable. Plus, it's waterproof, which means I can just hose it off after a sweaty ride. It's a lovely daily helmet at a price that won't make me cry if I crash it and trash it. Runs big: normally I am a 6 7/8 or a medium, but I had to switch this one out for a small.
    Date published: 2011-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Low profile helmet This helmet is perfect for my western trailriding here in California. The soft, chocolatey brown material covering the helmet looks and feels nice and blends well with western tack and clothing. The low profile looks good and avoids that "pumpkin head" look. It is lightweight and comfortable to wear and the wide visor means I can ditch the sunglasses. Best of all it cost half of what my husband paid for his "western helmet".
    Date published: 2011-03-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very attractive helmet with a very poor fitting system. There were 6 pieces of foam filler of various thicknesses that came with the helmet with no instructions. I normally were a 7 1/4 and ordered the large size. I need three pieces of foam in both the front and back to get a good fit. The foam attaches to the helmet with velcro, but there is no means of attaching the additional foam pieces to each other. One of the velcro attachments on the front of the helmet (forehead area) detached while I was trying to make adjustments, revealing a screw head underneath it in the body of the helmet!
    Date published: 2014-03-07
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2013 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.