Product Image
Additional Views

SmartGut® Pellets

SmartSupplements by SmartPak
- Item #18245
Form: Pellets
Maintenance Dose: 2 SmartPak Wells



Research shows that over 60% of performance horses have gastric ulcers. Ulcers can adversely affect your horse's performance, attitude, body condition and overall well-being.

SmartGut provides comprehensive gastric support through a selection of ingredients that allow natural healing mechanisms in the stomach to take effect.  These include ingredients to neutralize excess gastric acid, probiotics, prebiotics, soluble fiber, the amino acids L-Glutamine and Glycine, soothing herbs and other safeguards for a healthy stomach lining.

View our Ulcer & Gastric Health Supplements Comparison Chart

View Product Label 

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartGut® Pellets is rated 4.7079 out of 5 by 315.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very pleased I own a Morgan who was at high risk for ulcers due to her nervous nature. After using this there is no more tail swishing or signs of stomach discomfort!!
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST Ulcer Supplement There Is It's truly the best ulcer supplement there is. My horse has never seem to be this healthy. She has always had ulcers and now they are gone and so is all her symptoms. Hercoat is gleaming, she is finally putting on weight, and has no more stomach pain. Thank you Smartpak for being the best!!
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product I bought this about a month ago and noticed that she was less annoyed when brushing her girth and belly
    Date published: 2014-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product I purchased this product after treating my 8 year old OTTB mare for ulcers. I wanted something that would serve as a preventative as well as a probios and could be used long-term.She has maintained her good attitude, is no longer touchy around her belly and her weight and coat have improved. She eats it right up too. She looks great and is back to her normal self. I will continue to use this product.
    Date published: 2014-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Picky Eater Approved My mare had ulcers a few months back and I wanted to give her some extra support now that they are all cleared up but was worried she would not eat the supplement as she has left almost everything I have tried in her bucket! I decided to give it to her straight and she gobbled it right up and was looking for seconds! Feed separately from magnesium supplement as it will augment the absorption :)
    Date published: 2014-02-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The only thing that works for my gelding I have a 28-year-old Arab gelding who has been a life-long cribber. The habit was established long before I bought him, and is impossible to stop. The only product that has ever made a dent in the amount of cribbing for him has been Smart Gut. It works. Period.
    Date published: 2014-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase~ My horse began the smartgut pellets approximately 3 months ago. He is a 3 year old in a heavy training program, and we were dealing with some gut sensitivity. A few weeks after starting this product, we saw most of his symptoms (loose stool, girthiness, etc) resolve. Definitely recommend this as an addition to your smartpak!
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2014-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trying something new Haven't seen a lot of change yet but I just started the supplement!
    Date published: 2014-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product!!!!!! I have a young stallion the just had a attitude problem! He always wanted to bit, always concerned of his mares and was very hard to handle on the ground. (It would take two people to walk him)I was running out of options on how to handle him! I put him on this product back in September and he has became a completely different horse. Very easy to deal with he has gained a ton of weight and he seem so much more relaxed and content. I am now able to take him places with out worrying about if he is going to misbehave or get all upset about the mares. So many people I have him around can't believe the difference in him. I am very thankful for smart pak !!!  I highly recommend this product for any horse that does a lot of work, traveling and is stressed
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used with Multiple Show Horses - works with all I originally purchased this product 3 years ago for a 2yo filly that would drop weight the further we got into training. After putting her on this, she began maintaining her weight. Once we got a ROM on her, we were able to show her in Performance Halter where she racked up the wins, Championships and Reserves. We would have not been able to do that with out this product. I have since used it on all of my show horses and I don't see any weight loss as the show year progresses.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS STUFF WORKS!!! I have been using SmartGut for about two years now.  I had seen it work on some of the "sensitive" horses within an hour of their eating it.  The real proof came this week, though, when a horse my husband has had in training for a few years got his first dose...  Scoot had always been a bit "frantic" in whatever he was asked to do, putting forth a lot of unnecessary effort and emotion into the task.  About two hours after breakfast, Jess was riding Scoot and asked how quickly he'd see results because he could not believe the difference in the horse after only one dose!  He asked for leg yield and got only leg yield.  A flying change was only a change, not 23 of them with a few gallop strides, etc... as well.  All of us at the Pretty Good Horse Barn thank you for such a great, effective, affordable product!
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Feeling better now!! My TB boy coliced about two months ago during a cold front. During that time my vet diagnosed him with ulcers. He was miserable for the week while we waited for the supplement to come in. He was running from me in the pasture and pinning his ears at me anytime I came near his side. His attitude has changed completely to a easy going boy that deals well with sudden change in weather and has put on weight! I give ulcerguard to him in stressful situations to help him out a little more but this supplement has really helped his system on a daily bases. 
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from very tasty My horse eats his grain better with this supplement included compared to when I leave it out. Can't say whether it helped prevent ulcers as I use omeprazole during stressful situations to prevent ulcers. The barn cats also think these pellets smell amazing
    Date published: 2014-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful I bought this product over a month ago and my horse had had such a turn around! His ulcers and attitude have greatly improved 
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as the Ultra I bumped my OTTB down to the regular SmartGut for the off season, however he started showing signs of ulcers again. I would recommend the Ultra, because he is ulcer free when on that. Still a used product around the barn, but for high stress horses probably need something more. 
    Date published: 2013-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ulcers be gone This product helped my crabby mare, that is in training. Her rank behavior subsided once she started eating this product c
    Date published: 2013-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great product!!  It has made a huge difference and has helped our horses so much. 
    Date published: 2013-11-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product The powered form was much more palatable. My horse does not do well with alfalfa/ molasses. 
    Date published: 2014-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't believe it but it works! Skeptically, I thought I'd try this on my sensitive skinned, girthy, cribbing, OTTB. I could never curry his barrel because he would flinch, and put his ears back and try to nip. Within a few weeks I realized that he no longer minded but was relaxed while I curried vigorously. Still a bit girthy (habit) but also strikes out less when I use my leg on his barrel -- I seriously can tell that his tummy is feeling better! (Now I am experimenting with smartcalm and will review with any results I notice).
    Date published: 2013-10-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from skinny gelding I had stopped the smart gut and my gelding started loosing weight so I placed him back on it and will see how long it takes to put the weight back on.
    Date published: 2013-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-10-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to work I'm using Smart Gut instead of a maintenance level of omeprazole and so far my horse has remained symptom free of ulcers. He's a picky eater but loves the taste of these pellets! It is cheaper than maintenance omeprazole (from a compounding pharmacy) but more expensive than some other ulcer preventative supplements.
    Date published: 2013-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ulcer relief This past winter my mare struggled to maintain weight and had a sour attitude. After a month of smartgut I saw a noticeable improvement in her attitude and weight maintenance.
    Date published: 2013-09-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didnt work for my horses. Tried this product on two of my horses, I was using GUT but wanted to switch not knowing I could get GUT in Smartpaks. Anyways when they come off of the GUT its like the SmartGut didn't pick them back up, I didn't notice a change in behavior like I did with the GUT. When I first started GUT the next day I put them on GUT they acted more happier and as if their stomachs felt better. I tried the SmartGut for about 1 month and didn't notice a difference- I understand that some supplements take longer to get into their system to work.. Unfortunately they didn't work for my guys.
    Date published: 2013-09-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Soothes her belly! So far, so good! My Appy mare came with ulcer symptoms when I got her 3 years ago. Never had horse with ulcers, so had NO idea what to do. Tried many herbal mixtures and prescription drugs (which I don't want to do), she is not allowed grain, corn, molasses, etc. Fed only alfalfa/orchard hay. Been on SmartGut 3 months - seemingly effective. No biting at her sides or teethgrinding for last month. When's she's happy, I'm happy!
    Date published: 2013-11-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good stuff! I like SmartGut, as it is comprehensive in not only helping my horses deal with stress, but it also helps heal the stomach issues I've created in the past. I've not taken the leap to Smartgut Ultra, however, I do think that regular SmartGut in the powder form is more appropriate and faster-acting in the stomach.
    Date published: 2013-08-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff Maynard! I have used Smart Gut for years and it is good stuff. I use the pelleted form for my gelding with the talented nose that sorts out all powders in his grain.
    Date published: 2013-11-11
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.